Thief 4, Yes Its Official!

Nam226
post Mar 6 2013, 08:35 PM

110 posts

Looking good!! I'm a Thief fan too and enjoyed all the previous games especially Thief Gold and Thief 2 Metal Age for its dark theme biggrin.gif
Nam226
post Mar 7 2013, 11:22 AM

110 posts

I have never play any Splinter Cell game yet but in Thief, your primary weapons consist of shooting arrow in an arc flight path with your bow (in which you have various types from rope arrow for climbing, moss arrow for quiet sneaking, water arrow for douching torches, noisemaker arrow for distracting, explosive arrow, etc), rendering your unalerted enemy unconscious with the blackjack club, backstabbing with the dagger and sword fight when cornered. Mission can range from pickpocketing, assassination, treasure hunt, getaway, infiltration, etc. You will play by stealth by sticking to the shadows, avoid making too much sounds, hiding bodies, darkening areas, creating distractions, hearing footsteps, eavedropping, spying, sneaking, etc. You do all this because you're incredibly weak so any confrontations is best avoided. It's just you, your wits and your tools at your disposal biggrin.gif

I really hope that the developer will bring Mr. Stephen Russell to voice for Garrett again. His voice is what makes Garrett so mysterious and yet so cool at the same time tongue.gif
Nam226
post Mar 8 2013, 01:45 PM

110 posts

+1 for old school semi-animated comic-style cinematic like Thief 1 and Thief 2 thumbup.gif
Nam226
post Jan 21 2014, 05:05 AM

110 posts

Darn, I need to buy y410p to play this. My current laptop cannot meet the requirement at all doh.gif
Nam226
post Jan 28 2014, 01:56 AM

110 posts

Move over Assassin's Creed, Master Thief Garrett is back!!! laugh.gif

My only regret from the trailer is that they added auto-takedown mode with a button press which is lame. In the prequels, my playing style is sticking to the no kill rule because I find that harder and more satisfying than just pulling up an arrow and killing them from a safe distance. Therefore, I had to manually blackjack them moving guards and is harder because I can miss if I didn't get close enough since they're walking fast in front of me while I sneak slowly behind him or I overstep from the carpet/moss area into the solid concrete floor creating noise or too slow to wallop all of them patrolling guards in time or they noticed the body I was trying to hide.

All which then lead to I deciding quickly whether to cross sword with the guard and try to deflect as many strikes to survive and hurting him just enough without killing him so that he run away or leg it and run like hell to escape him all the while praying the other guards won't hear him calling for help. (Hence I take my time to blackjack all of them to make an area safe for escaping later, lol). That added to the tension because swordplay with multiple guards is likely to get you killed faster. When you're surrounded, you cannot dodge as easily as there's little space, and you have to play defensively to deflect their strikes and wait for your chances to manually attack after all you're a thief, not a super assassin who can counter and instant kill in a fight (I'm looking at you AC!). With this auto-takedown, I get no more satisfaction of a successful takedown by my own hands or risk failing a takedown!!! The game has been dumbed down as compared to its prequels doh.gif

The second thing is the third person cutscene mentioned by Adam Sessler. Well, there isn't any actual cutscene seen in the video which I can comment on but he said it was not so good. I hope they stick to the original art style cutscene of the first and second Thief game with pre-cutscene proverbs (which the third don't have) and not use an in-game cutscene. I like it that way.

As for the prequels, I rank Thief 2 > Thief Gold > Thief 3. I hope the AI is not as weak as the rumors said or this is very disappointing to a long time fan like me...haha biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Nam226: Jan 28 2014, 02:06 AM
Nam226
post Jan 29 2014, 12:29 AM

110 posts

Wow...I love the custom difficulty settings! Now there's a challenge for replay values~ wub.gif What is No Focus mode? What does focus do? Zoom in with the bow? Able to see guards locations?
Nam226
post Jan 29 2014, 01:02 PM

110 posts

That can be turned off and wouldn't be missed at all...haha.
Nam226
post Feb 26 2014, 01:22 PM

110 posts

Is there a level select after you complete a chapter? Like if you missed getting all the collectibles in chapter 1, can you go back and replay that chapter?
Nam226
post Feb 26 2014, 04:21 PM

110 posts

Should be able to get ghost easily if you ignore all the looting so you won't have to distract guards or blackjack them but where is the fun in that? laugh.gif We should act like a Thief and play it slow and cautious!

Nam226
post Feb 26 2014, 04:28 PM

110 posts

Ghost Playstyle

The Ghost playstyle is awarded to thieves that leave no trace of their presence. To achieve this, Ghosts call upon stealth and diversionary tactics to slip through areas unseen. Leaving guards unharmed, avoiding detection, and resisting opportunistic urges (such as extinguishing flames and picking pockets) all increase your chances of earning the Ghost playstyle. Though challenging to achieve, this playstyle often comes with the greatest end-of-mission rewards.

Opportunist Playstyle

Opportunistic thieves strive to maximize their material gains and achieve tactical advantages. Picking pockets without harming the victim and extinguishing flames to darken areas are the most common ways to earn the Opportunist playstyle. Cunning thieves can further ensure that this playstyle is received by exploiting the environment, such as by knocking down hanging objects onto unsuspecting threats. This tricky playstyle requires guile to achieve, but it’s possible if you avoid confrontation and utilize the environment.

Predator Playstyle

The Predator playstyle is perhaps the easiest to achieve, but it also comes with the greatest risk. Defeating guards in direct combat is one way to go, but this places you in peril. To achieve the Predator playstyle with minimal risk, get to higher ground and look to perform aerial takedowns on unsuspecting guards. Or simply slay guards with arrows from afar. Headshots are ideal for silent kills, but even crippling a guard with an arrow to the body or leg can set him up for a direct combat takedown. The main drawback to the Predator playstyle is the danger in which it places you, along with the cost of the arrows you’ll be using to achieve stealthy kills.
Nam226
post Feb 26 2014, 07:10 PM

110 posts

I started off at Normal/Thief level until the Clocktower part then I restarted a new game in Master-Custom level with 435 pts because I find it not challenging enough for my first playthrough. Here's what I observe, the guards performed the same walking patterns regardless of the difficulty but the alerted/searching time seems to last longer when distracted with thrown bottles and they are more easily alerted by your footsteps or even failed lockpick!!. Dunno if the fight with them will be harder or not by they doing more damage or have more health but this is a sneaking game, so doesn't matter. The point is to avoid fight entirely anyway. I agreed with Neoeng too, I suggest you start at Master level, Deimos since the game is not that difficult if you have unlimited mid-game manual save auto-checkpoints, items upgrades, and probably no end boss encounter (lol). You can always fall back on your last save if things screwed-up, right?

Next tips is if you sneak into the locker where you hide during non-combat situation, it will serve as a save checkpoint! (unless you have chapter save or iron man mode turn on in custom settings, then no). At first I thought I could hide the guard body inside ala MGS but no, I can't. Wonder why they didn't implement that.

Also another tips, if you blackjack the guard, continue holding the melee attack/takedown button to be able to drag the body rather than have it falling to the ground. Save you time to hide the body from other nearby guards. This move will auto pickup loot the guard is carrying too but won't count as pickpocket.

Cheese, what is Mirror's Edge? A stealth game? I know what you mean though by changes too much in some way since I, too completed all 3 Thief games before. The Thief 1&2 offered much freedom and less handguiding thus more challenging and rewarding experience. We just have to accept Thief 4 for what it is and be thankful it is even rebooted. I have been waiting so long for this...

Completed Prologue: Do not open spoilers below if you have not finish the prologue level.

This post has been edited by Nam226: Feb 26 2014, 07:53 PM
Nam226
post Feb 26 2014, 10:51 PM

110 posts

Oooh... while I was playing the prologue chapter chasing down Erin on the rooftop, I thought to myself, wow, why didn't somebody make a parkour game!? Mirror's Edge, eh? Sounds perfect for me laugh.gif

The core of Thief 4: Let's see...
emphasis on stealth = yep, you can play Master-Custom level with no alert on and only stealth takedown or even better, no kill/knockdown on to get Ghost rank.

dark = if you mean the story plot, I can't comment since I am just in chapter 1 but Thief 1& 2 has the best dark theme story plot with its religious cult of Hammerites, Mechanists, and Pagans and incredible casts of The Trickster, Father Karras, Viktoria, etc. The cutscene artstyle, the funny dialogue between the guards and the pre-level proverb which creates the atmosphere is amazingly dark and haunting. I am glad I am able to enjoy them in its prime time. Younger gamers nowadays may not be able to appreciate the older games in this current time as they are over-exposed to a saturated market of simplified, cutscene-galore, linear new gameplay style.. it's another case of Doom 3 vs Doom 1&2. Still, better than nothing...just move on with the changes and replay back the older games when nostalgia hit blush.gif

medieval cities = not far enough to comment on the level design yet. Thief series has some graveyard-like level with undeads, cave-like level with ape beasts, haunting castles and asylum level with ghosts, baron's mansion with human guards, towers with mechanical robots, etc. I hope this one will not disappoint but if you ask me, I actually prefer the older big ass massive level of older Thief seeing I'm an old-school fps gamer and not born from post-COD tight-action-long-corridor-level era...haha tongue.gif

crap combat = not sure about combat, I have yet to fight a guard head on but Thief is not meant for to be play that way so no worry there as long as Garrett is not uber powerful like Assassin's Creed, it's fine.

They made a Dungeon Keeper reboot!?? You're talking about the mobile game, aren't you? I didn't play that so no idea but I certainly enjoyed finishing DK2 by Bullfrog last time biggrin.gif It's good to be evil and torture them heroes (and my own minions too...hehe) up close and personal via possession~ As for Deus Ex and X-Com reboot, I haven't play those yet too... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Nam226: Feb 26 2014, 10:57 PM
Nam226
post Feb 27 2014, 12:54 PM

110 posts

I wonder if we finish the game, do we get like new game+ mode or the chapter select because so far the only way to replay the chapter is at the mission end screen. I thought this was standard feature in many games by now. I'm very glad they do have cutscene skip feature though, very important laugh.gif

Master is not that difficult lah wei~ There is already Youtube videos on players getting ghost rank on Master difficulty for all levels.

If you're not aiming for ghost rank, you can still kill/knockout guards to have a good time. Just you can't knockout/kill a civillian only mah but you can douse the flame nearby to hide yourself or distract him/her using thrown bottle. That is how I passed chapter 1

Also, in Master, the items found ie arrows is also lesser but you can always rely on your stealth takedown from behind. No aerial takedown as this will raise suspicions. Just drop down, pickpocket and do your normal stealth takedown and drag the body to hide. Upgrades and resources are also more expensive so only buy critical items and try not to waste resources. Focus rate deplete faster so use them sparingly, if at all smile.gif

Iron Man mode can save lah, no need drink red bulls and finish in one go..haha. You can stop and save your game to continue later on. Just that where any death or failed mission will causes a restart of the entire game from the beginning meaning you only have one shot at it. I tried this and it won't let me continue when I got alerted with no alert on tongue.gif

In a way it could be redundant to have free jumping now but back then, that's how Thief 1&2 was, it allows players to freely explore the area as they wish reaching non-scripted higher grounds and add to immersions. Still, nothing big to shout about if it's not implemented. Same with the sword, Garrett has no sword to combat in Thief 4 so avoid fight loh but he does have dodge and swoop so you probably can use them to run away and hide.

Tips: If you want zero suspicion, do not throw bottles to distract guards or douse a flame directly in front of the guard, no aerial takedown, no missed shot with your arrows, etc. As said by Neoeng, watch out for the eye symbol, if it's white eye, the guards are almost suspicious so hide fast, if it has 1-3 red dots, he is suspicious/distracted and if he has yellow eye, he draw his sword, knows someone is here but don't know your location yet.

Vorador, chapter 1 near ending guards you mean them?

Difficulty:
Rogue
- Opponents are weak and less aware (they're oblivious).
- Resources are low in cost and plentiful.

Thief
- Opponents are competent and aware (they're mediocre in the awareness department).
- Resources are affordable and available.

Master
- Opponents are deadly and civilian kills or knockouts are not tolerated (you better not make a single noise!).
- Resources and upgrades are more expensive.
- The Focus meter depletes at a much faster rate.

If you're aiming for that 700pts or more achievement, the same options are available when you choose Custom and that determines the "difficulty modifier" ... so getting above 700 on even Thief difficulty is IMPOSSIBLE because the Thief multiplier is 0.5 ... even with every custom settings on, it's only 650 total. But with all of them turned on with Master difficulty, the total points is 1300, so you can find a playstyle that is challenging and fits what you find fun around 700-800 fairly easily.

Tips: I noticed that I cannot achieve all 4 thieving challenge in chapter 1. The end mission screen just show me two thieving challenges only so perhaps it must depends on your rank. If you are ghost rank, the thieving challenge you get in the end is (almost always) remain undetected, if you are opportunist, the second challenge whatever it is, if you get predator, it's the third challenge and the last challenge "get all loot" is you always have regardless of rank. So just focus on what rank you want at the end and do the right thieving challenge.

This post has been edited by Nam226: Feb 27 2014, 12:56 PM
Nam226
post Feb 27 2014, 06:55 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Feb 27 2014, 01:56 PM)
wow man thanks for the write up  rclxms.gif  Anyway choosing Master difficulty somehow force players to play it the way Thief suppose to be: Stealth! I saw some online walk through where the fellow just knock everyone through entire mission... rclxub.gif Anyway the 2 guards I mentioned are not there, but not too far from the beginning. (Remember a place a single guard watching, and you're provided lots of bottle to throw? After passed the guard and climb up, the 2 guards are on another side, with some loots down there)
You're welcome smile.gif A stealth game has to be challenging to be fun. Just like example, playing NFS street racing game, if the police are not good enough to catch you, you will be driving solo the entire way and that is less fun tongue.gif Haha...that's my first playthrough style too in Thief where I knocked out EVERYONE or in Tenchu where EVERYONE is stealth killed or in MGS EVERYONE is tranquilized! blush.gif Easier to search for items and escape later~ Then when I'm more familiar with the maps, only do I do ghost mode. As long as you have fun, that's all that matters. The Youtube video I mentioned is from this guy Centerstrain01 played in Master and Ghost rank.
. He even started posting videos for Master-Custom Stealth / Iron Man / All Modifiers / No HUD display!!! That maniac~ sweat.gif

Nam226
post Feb 28 2014, 11:54 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(AhJetz @ Feb 28 2014, 09:44 AM)
For stealth part, I think MGS have more way to being stealth as it has more option to do on the enemy without getting spotted such as hidding in a box, putting a p0rn magazine on the floor haha biggrin.gif eventho MGS has an OP tranqualizer  sweat.gif For Thief I think that it has very limited on what you should do throughout the mission but still it is a great game tho.  icon_rolleyes.gif
^Agreed nod.gif Both are good in their own ways. By the time you're done with Thief 4, you can start on Metal Gear Solid: Ground Zeroes on March 18, 2014, if you have a ps3/xbox 360 or ps4/xbox one console laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nam226: Feb 28 2014, 12:07 PM
Nam226
post Feb 28 2014, 10:13 PM

110 posts

Great...great...I'm delighted to hear that~ Bring on the haunting experience, oh Thief laugh.gif
Nam226
post Mar 6 2014, 05:05 AM

110 posts

Wow...good find! rclxms.gif Thanks for informing. I noticed the Starting Points / Entry Points of Chapters, Side Missions and Client Jobs in Thief are not marked on the world map so here's a link if you want to find any of them.
You can replay all missions at any time (even after beating the story) to finish up missing collectibles, completing optional challenges or achievements.

This post has been edited by Nam226: Mar 6 2014, 05:15 AM

0.0279sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:10 AM