11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Thief 4, Yes Its Official!

richard1226
post Feb 21 2014, 02:32 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 21 2014, 02:26 PM)
ah, dishonored low chaos ending. ok i think you will do well with thief.
well, in thief, you play the role of master thief - garrett.
he is normal human, no super natural powers.
well, super above average human thief skills i guess.
one of his eyes is mechanical though.

not sure what other enhancements he got throughout these years though.
heheh first person stealth games is macam dishonored lor.
i think deus ex human revolution can also considered first person stealth.
Ok count deus ex hr in. So this reboot would be a good fetch right?? Saw some previews and demo, looks promising but doesn't look good on the preview part (maybe its coz it was compared to the old thief games though), just hope not making the same mistake like the Bureau XCOM fiasco.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 21 2014, 02:49 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Feb 21 2014, 02:32 PM)
Ok count deus ex hr in. So this reboot would be a good fetch right?? Saw some previews and demo, looks promising but doesn't look good on the preview part (maybe its coz it was compared to the old thief games though), just hope not making the same mistake like the Bureau XCOM fiasco.
well for the thief reboot i saw a few videos and i like what i saw.
hmmm good fetch i dunno as i got mine from amd radeon rewards.
will pre load and play anyway.

the xcom bureau kinda sad rushed product though.
i pre purchased that for around usd30, played few missions, did not finish the game yet haha.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Feb 21 2014, 02:54 PM
richard1226
post Feb 21 2014, 08:31 PM

189 posts

Saw it while considering. Lucky for those who got it.

Vorador
post Feb 22 2014, 10:48 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

wow youtube go walkthrough video already... how they got to play it first !?

Anyway it totally stir me up, buy it!!! rclxm9.gif
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 22 2014, 11:08 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Feb 22 2014, 10:48 AM)
wow youtube go walkthrough video already... how they got to play it first !?

Anyway it totally stir me up, buy it!!! rclxm9.gif
erm.. someone already leaked the game. pirate version already up for torrent whistling.gif
richard1226
post Feb 22 2014, 11:41 AM

189 posts

First was TF2 now adding Dota 2 item

Pre-Purchase Thief on Steam Now and you'll receive 5 Genuine items in Team Fortress 2: The Fortified Compound, Cutthroat's Cloak, Dread Hiding Hood, Baronial Bouncer, and the Garrett Badge.

Additionally, you'll receive the "Tools of the Master Thief" item set for Drow Ranger in DOTA 2

BTW got the master thief edition preloading now

memphiz_zero88
post Feb 22 2014, 03:48 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Feb 21 2014, 08:31 PM)
Saw it while considering. Lucky for those who got it.

looks like preordering from other store than Steam will get the TF2 items too rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

and DOTA 2 too rclxm9.gif

deimos just confirm code from AMD reward doesn't give the items

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Feb 22 2014, 04:10 PM
Blackops981
post Feb 22 2014, 04:46 PM

82 posts

Nope, pre-order bonuses not available through AMD codes

sad.gif
Rei7
post Feb 25 2014, 03:30 AM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

All the reviews are really rough on Thief.
I've just finished chapter 2 and it seems to be great.
Soundtrack I kinda dislike it but graphic and gameplay wise quite good.
Need to really go 100% stealth mode though, game is really hard, to fight the guard 1v1 that is.

The lighting system of stealth somehow is not good though, and the AI sucks if you play on lower difficulty.
Need to raise the bar for the guards to have good awareness. AI needs some work as a whole.

This post has been edited by Rei7: Feb 25 2014, 03:45 AM
neoengsheng
post Feb 25 2014, 03:34 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 25 2014, 03:30 AM)
All the reviews are really rough on Thief.
I've just finished chapter 2 and it seems to be great.
Soundtrack I kinda dislike it but graphic and gameplay wise quite good.
Need to really go 100% stealth mode though, game is really hard, to fight the guard 1v1 that is.

The lighting system of stealth somehow is not good though, and the AI sucks if you play on lower difficulty.
Need to raise the bar for the guards to have good awareness. AI needs some work as a whole.
You made me go and read some of the reviews.

Most of the reviews that are some what negative toward this game have problem with the combat.

Seems like someone is just playing the game wrong and tries to kill everything that moves but got their a$$ handed to them.

People keep comparing this to Dishonored but they forget that you play an assassin in Dishonored while in Thief you played a lowly thief. In this game, you are punished if you choose to engage in combat because this is a pure srealth game which focus on avoiding combat.
Rei7
post Feb 25 2014, 05:34 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(neoengsheng @ Feb 25 2014, 03:34 PM)
You made me go and read some of the reviews.

Most of the reviews that are some what negative toward this game have problem with the combat.

Seems like someone is just playing the game wrong and tries to kill everything that moves but got their a$$ handed to them.

People keep comparing this to Dishonored but they forget that you play an assassin in Dishonored while in Thief you played a lowly thief. In this game, you are punished if you choose to engage in combat because this is a pure srealth game which focus on avoiding combat.
Yes this is the problem. I though they knew that Thief was all about the stealth. Playing it the non-stealthy why will be a death sentence to Garreth.
But the game is very closed as in the levels are shut tight unlike Dishonored which is fairly big an opened. Choice for Dishonored are more while Thief is very linear without that much of a choice to stealth.
devillightning1
post Feb 25 2014, 06:04 PM

246 posts

Maybe those idiot reviewers went in like Dishonored. The game wasn't meant for combat, but stealth is the key. I agree with Rei7 that it was really linear, but I don't believe that this game deserves something like a 6-7...maybe because I haven't played the older games...
The graphic's are damn beautiful, maybe because of next-gen. I really hate the "mash E to open window", damn stupid lah, makes my PC looks like last-gen having texture streaming problem, need time to stream lol...
RangerKarl
post Feb 25 2014, 06:42 PM

230 posts

Ya'll need to read the Sneaky Bastards review of Thief, if only to get an insight into what an NMA-level sneaker grognard thinks of this game. Sadly the page is ded sad.gif
Cheesenium
post Feb 25 2014, 07:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(devillightning1 @ Feb 25 2014, 06:04 PM)
Maybe those idiot reviewers went in like Dishonored. The game wasn't meant for combat, but stealth is the key. I agree with Rei7 that it was really linear, but I don't believe that this game deserves something like a 6-7...maybe because I haven't played the older games...
The graphic's are damn beautiful, maybe because of next-gen. I really hate the "mash E to open window", damn stupid lah, makes my PC looks like last-gen having texture streaming problem, need time to stream lol...
The graphics looks good because Thief is one of the first commercial games that is using Unreal Engine 4. Thats why it looked significantly better than other UE3 games.

If people went in and expect it to be another Dishonored, they are bound to be disappointed.
devillightning1
post Feb 25 2014, 07:51 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 25 2014, 07:31 PM)
The graphics looks good because Thief is one of the first commercial games that is using Unreal Engine 4. Thats why it looked significantly better than other UE3 games.

If people went in and expect it to be another Dishonored, they are bound to be disappointed.
Nah its Unreal Engine 3...dun think the UE4 is targeted for 7th gen consoles
Angel of Deth
post Feb 25 2014, 11:31 PM

1,242 posts

The way this game meant the be played. Screw those mainstream reviewers.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 26 2014, 08:30 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

yesterday i tried to play.

then whole row of houses power out because one of the nearby house tnb meter kaboom. then bakar bakar hangus rangup.

i picked pocket some jewelry shop guy and wanna knock out with black jack then black out.

duh
Cheesenium
post Feb 26 2014, 11:14 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I think this is probably the best review out there. Good Game is known for its fairly unbiased reviews, as they arent private company like IGN or Gamespot to begin with. The show is funded by government on their TV channel so i can say its harder for publishers to bribe.

The man, banjo was a thief fan from the original trilogy, while the lady is a new player to the franchise. So, you'll get a contrast on different views from the new and veteran player. And both of them play the game as a thief, not a murderer with a short stick.

Yeah, veteran player didnt like it but it seemed a bit more receptive to the new player.
SUSsniperz
post Feb 26 2014, 12:39 PM

2,464 posts

I am waiting for my copy from Impulse Megastore.
marfccy
post Feb 26 2014, 12:47 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,255 posts

good game so far, for those reviewers who complain Garret is too tofu...

hes a thief for goodness sake, not Agent 47 doh.gif

hes meant to lurk in shadows and steal not cheong in hack and slash

also, i knockout several guards for fun, gah missed out Ghost in the first chapter. im too paranoid for guards lurking about afterall

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0244sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:04 PM