Guitars Changing guitar nut and saddle, Where to do, price tag
TSsecondrate
May 11 2009, 08:48 PM, updated 17y ago
Hi fellow LYNers I want to change my acoustic's synthetic bone nut and saddle to the real thing. Where do you recommend I send it to and how much is it normally? http://www.theguitarstore.com.my/index.php?m=rentalGuitar Store charges RM 60 for both. I'm not sure if the saddle is compensated like my current one. Sifu any advice? Is Guitar Collection 1U okay? They sell my fav Martin strings there so I can restring at the same time and it's near GSC so I can catch Transformers next month  Planning to do it next month. Thanks! This post has been edited by secondrate: May 11 2009, 09:34 PM
garrettng
May 11 2009, 09:01 PM
hey there. i did my refretting there for my Acoustic and they did a pretty good job. the prices are also reasonable too. =)
i went to the shop in Mutiara Damansara. i think they send your guitar to one of their branch to repair, can't remember which branch. i dont think it's the One U branch though. so you can probably send it to one u and it will still end up in the same repair guy's hands. so the place shouldn't be a problem. cheers! =)
TSsecondrate
May 11 2009, 09:09 PM
Hey garrettng, thanks for replying. Which one sends the guitar places? G. Collection or G. Store? I was kinda hoping they would do it there  I'm the kind that doesn't like something as personal as my guitar to be out of my sight for any length of time My guitar's been serviced at both GC and GS before and they do pretty well. Better than a few shops around.
garrettng
May 12 2009, 03:04 AM
i think mine was the guitar store. wow. i don't think it's possible for you not to let the guitar out of sight. haha. they would have to send it to their repair guy which most probably won't be at the the store. (at least for the Mutiara branch) plus the repair might take a couple of days too depending on how many guitar repairs are before yours. anyway. you could always give them a call to ask for more info. =) just curious, what do you use?  Added on May 12, 2009, 3:08 amah dude. the main HQ is at Cheras. that's where the guitars go. here's the link for their contact and stuff. http://www.theguitarstore.com.my/index.php?m=contact_usThis post has been edited by garrettng: May 12 2009, 03:08 AM
TSsecondrate
May 12 2009, 01:55 PM
Hehehe just my luck I guess. I know the Guitar Store's HQ is in Cheras and their repair tech is there. An Ibanez PF60S. Very nice solid topped dread.  .
jejari7
May 12 2009, 05:44 PM
yeah.. guitar store techs are in their HQ in cheras. i always go there to service n setup my e guitar because of their good service and excellent workmanship. last time i also bought the bone saddle n nut there but install it myself on my acoustic. it's very simple to DIY unless u want to re-setup the action and tone of your acoustic.
TSsecondrate
May 30 2009, 12:46 PM
Update : I've sent my guitar there and it'll be back in a week or so. But one of the guys there said it wasn't nescessary to change them because they were still good (er I know  ) drawing flak from my mum