Renovations Kitchen Cabinet

feizaiII
post Jan 2 2012, 03:04 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Recently have a walk in Ikea, very love their kitchen design. Always heard people say don't ever buy Ikea cabinet due to cheap quality and yet expensive. Is that true?

If so, any recommended contractor or kitchen cabinet expert able to finish like Ikea design and with cheaper price?
feizaiII
post Jan 2 2012, 06:35 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 2 2012, 06:10 PM)
I loved Ikea designs too until a lot of cabinet makers and contractors assured me that their quality is not good. My contractor cum cabinet maker did my kitchen cabinet and it ended up as nightmare. It looks nice but bad quality and I highly doubt he'll let me claim any warranty later even though he says he'll come and repair for free within a year. My kitchen cost me 11.5K while Ikea quote is about 14K, both with solid surface but Ikea comes with the accessories and warranty. Also the Ikea price already include sink and tap. If I ever get a new house or renovate the kitchen, I will seriously consider getting Ikea. Of course let's not forget some kitchen cabinet maker (Unity Kitchen) that comes highly recommended here too.  biggrin.gif

You may go to their website, use their kitchen planner to draw out your plan, choose material and get the price. Then take the plan to Ikea and let them add in other charges for you. If I remember correctly the installation price is RM80 per foot run and RM160 if it's tall cabinet, usually adds up to a few hundred ringgit. Other installation charge : Sink and tap RM160, Oven RM80, Hobs and Hood RM160, Delivery RM60. Play around with the kitchen planner and you will then know how to cut the cost to get better price. Take note that Ikea won't do box up.
Thanks ...for your sincere advise icon_rolleyes.gif
feizaiII
post Feb 13 2012, 05:51 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Have appointed Unity Kitchen as my cabinet contractor, looking forward on it.

Will upload some picture here after all work done. biggrin.gif

Btw, Patric the one who serve us, very nice guy. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Feb 13 2012, 05:52 PM
feizaiII
post Feb 14 2012, 09:55 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(mi amor @ Feb 14 2012, 07:40 AM)
thanks steve from everskill design....
love my kc...my family and friends like it too..

Nice thumbup.gif I like white!
feizaiII
post Feb 16 2012, 10:08 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(lhsmedphy @ Feb 15 2012, 11:22 PM)
Sharing my kitchen cabinet  brows.gif ....designed and installed by Everskill Design. Contact person is Ivan, Steve's bro (if I remember correctly)
Granite top supplied and installed by Stone Studio India and partner.

Nice bro.. whole kitchen cost roughly how much ya?
feizaiII
post Feb 16 2012, 11:40 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(lhsmedphy @ Feb 16 2012, 10:52 AM)
Thanks. The cabinet around 6k++, granite top around 4k++, Zean's stuffs 3k++ so roughly around 14k excluding concrete base
Cool.. so much you have invested.. anyhow, worth it when see the end result.
feizaiII
post Feb 22 2012, 02:42 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(Erny_Looi @ Feb 21 2012, 12:27 PM)
haha, Thanks for your support la bor~
Let's see your kitchen now~ maybe there will be more coll and friends wana redo their kitchen.   biggrin.gif

Nice one.. Erny_Looi.. im still dilemma what color of cabinet. Have decided white but then ppl said, it easily turn yellow after a while. Our cooking freq will roughly 3-4times a week.

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Feb 22 2012, 02:43 PM
feizaiII
post Feb 22 2012, 03:55 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Feb 22 2012, 02:56 PM)
This 3G is using crystal class wont easy break and also wont turn into yellow as well.
Their showroom cabinet under the hot sunlight for many year...color never change at all.....

3G glass is easy to maintain...u wont scare it easy scratch.
Hi wrb7878, ur kitchen so nice!!
U make me feel confident on it, let me visit their showroom one day!

Where you plan to put your water filter?

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Feb 22 2012, 03:55 PM
feizaiII
post Feb 22 2012, 04:30 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Feb 22 2012, 04:20 PM)
I bought the cosway water filter put on top ofo soild surface, later on only have time to survey for under sink water filter.
I see. Saw your basin got a small tap, i believe that is for water filter in future.
feizaiII
post Feb 22 2012, 05:33 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Feb 22 2012, 04:32 PM)
Initiate plan is to buy under sink water filter for the small water filter, but we need the drinking water urgent.
so wait have time only add it.  any good recommend brand for under sink filter?
Any brand will do right, you just place the filter below sink. Correct me if wrong.
I plan to buy Amway eSpring, they have the accessories for that.
feizaiII
post Feb 28 2012, 11:20 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(adelechin @ Feb 28 2012, 07:28 PM)
hi JEff, wat's ur company's name?

Added on February 28, 2012, 7:31 pmbesides, i went to UK the other day and got to see the 3G and 4G. i prefer 4G then as there's no price difference. after getting our 3D design from UK. we really decide that we'll have the whole kitchen cabinet & top be done in Black as white top is hard to maintain (solid surface) and granite, it's EXPENSIVE!....

we are waiting for our contractor's quotation for other parts of the hse before we could confirm if we'll use UK. i basically love UK's design and also after seeing so much good recommendation from here... i m more confident with them too...

been to CLS, CK, Kubiq before but the best service is still UK... wink.gif good job UK...
UK h ave 4G design too?
feizaiII
post Mar 1 2012, 05:40 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:46 PM)
Ermmmm seems like UK business too good and have not get any response for more than 2 days with few message to ask for estimation time. Not even a single message inform about how soon they can revert. Perhaps their service not that great in Email communication. A bit disappointed, perhaps need to visit their showroom personally but  it is too far for me thought.
Why not u call them up. They will give u designer number and straight away go your house for measurement and quotation on the spot.
feizaiII
post Mar 3 2012, 11:23 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

anyone used matt surface as concrete table top? Can share or advise any bad of matt surface?

Go few tiles shop also said normally choose white or black shinning tiles as top...
feizaiII
post Mar 7 2012, 12:03 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Sifu sifu here.. Wanna ask a noob question. Normally is build a concrete table 1st or install kitchen wall and floor tiles first?
feizaiII
post Mar 7 2012, 10:39 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

see see.. different people give me different sequence... my contractor said after wall and floor thn only build table... by the time thy build table, my tiles will dirty lorrrrr...?
feizaiII
post Mar 7 2012, 01:37 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(corniecorn @ Mar 7 2012, 12:03 PM)
my contractor also follow that sequence, definitely build the concrete table first  smile.gif
Means Build Table -> Wall, floor and table top tiles. OK, let me tell my contractor.
feizaiII
post Mar 7 2012, 06:03 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(sewerside @ Mar 7 2012, 03:37 PM)
by right, your contractor should be the one planning this for you. This should not be a headache for you in the first place.
U r right, but always owner very care of all thing done in place.

Now the contractor say Wall Tiles -> Build Table -> Floor tiles

feizaiII
post Mar 13 2012, 04:12 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

EverSkill and Unity very hot promote in here. Both have similar design.. Is the time to show how good service they can provide to us.
feizaiII
post Mar 13 2012, 04:27 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 13 2012, 04:23 PM)
The market is very big....2 of them cannot eat all....haha
u see legend kitchen also very hot, every have 10 team install in diff places.....booking full until 3 month later.
Legend even promote in radio, website look professional and having a lot of package... but i read some bad comment on them. Not sure, just internet review, no personal experience. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by feizaiII: Mar 13 2012, 04:27 PM
feizaiII
post Mar 13 2012, 04:32 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 13 2012, 04:29 PM)
normally all material will not have much defect when come to your house, so all is based on good workmanship.
They have too many team ...need to depend on the luck.

My fren ask them to install, so far he happy with it...not sure the 50% promotion is really cheap???
How is Unity workmanship? I have appointed them for my kitchen cabinet.

0.0491sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:14 AM