Kia Forte, When will this beauty launch in MAS?

killdavid
post May 11 2009, 06:44 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ May 11 2009, 05:23 PM)
I seriously doubt they can achieve that sort of price for the 1.6L Sedan, as it's a Mazda3/Civic/Corolla competitor. I'd say high 80s to high 90s minimum. Must be pricier than the Latio, at least. Kia ain't cheap no more.
Forte should be in the range of a Hyundai Elantra. So if 2.0 expect it to be around 93K, if 1.6 expect it to be mid 70s to 80k.

This post has been edited by killdavid: May 11 2009, 06:46 PM
killdavid
post May 15 2009, 09:44 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

Malaysian mindset is very much brand oriented and not product oriented. For each guy here saying Kia is on the right path of improvement, 10 guys out there are saying korean cars guzzle fuel, expensive parts, no power, etc ... and they worship japanese brands.

My prediction is, at best case the sales volume would be something like the current Hyundai Elantra unless Naza gives an attractive price.

This post has been edited by killdavid: May 15 2009, 09:45 AM
killdavid
post May 15 2009, 02:14 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

Looking a numerous pictures there seem to be a few different front bumper design. Some are quite sporty and nice while the default one looks plain.
killdavid
post Jul 28 2009, 11:53 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

i doubt the report. the 2 door koupe will not help win market share as the demand for 4 door sedan will be many folds more than 2 door sedan.
killdavid
post Jul 28 2009, 04:07 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

There are still doubts. Doubts about Naza, their quality, their after sales service and availability of parts. Anyone care to share experience ?
killdavid
post Aug 20 2009, 11:08 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

From forums, looks like the forte got some quality issues. Lots of reported cracked windscreen for no reason. Due to its design and fitting.
killdavid
post Aug 21 2009, 09:50 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Aug 20 2009, 09:40 PM)
Here's the thing I don't get..when other brands such as Toyota, Honda or Nissan have minor problem..people just shrug it off..

And when it comes down to other car makers such as Proton, Perodua, Kia etc..such minor problems becomes a major problem for them =/
Well if you look deeper, you will see the issue is not as simple as you point it to be.

We know that there are reports that new Honda car can't start, parts are ill fitted and etc. These are quality issues, correct. But they are isolated case. Probably due to human error or unoptimized process. They can be fixed. Small matter.

The case with Forte crack windscreen, that is a big problem because it is a structural or design defect. Once you bought the car they can't just take back and redesign your car. You don't know if it is windscreen or your chassis mold problem.
killdavid
post Aug 24 2009, 11:39 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(MaXfly @ Aug 22 2009, 05:33 PM)
just TT with Naza Kia sales person, he told me forte only lanuch in 2009 as Naza still a lot of old spectra stock.
So will our Forte be fully locally assembled or will we be getting a Korean unit with small parts assembled here ?
Maybe your friend can answer this.
killdavid
post Sep 8 2009, 05:32 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

Does anyone has any inside tips on what kind of specs we will get. We always get watered down specs compared to other country.
killdavid
post Sep 11 2009, 04:16 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(leongwk15 @ Sep 11 2009, 02:54 PM)
7.5L/km with 17" wheel consider OK. May improve when the engine is "run in". If 15"wheel, I believe another saving of fuel by 10%.
Sure cannot compare to Vios and City, which is lighter and smaller.
LOL-ed on your typo ...7.5L per km ....are you driving a tank ? smile.gif
Seriously 7.5 L /100km is really decent. Same with my friend's latio.

killdavid
post Oct 14 2009, 04:59 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Oct 14 2009, 03:20 PM)
eventho u top up for another 8k for city premium, in terms of spec forte still better, bigger
the differences is only the badge lol and ppl's mindset
hmmm ...at 82 k I would rather go for the city. With a city :

- peace of mind, well proven and reliable platform
- honda has a better after sales service record
- parts availability is better
- second hand value
- fuel efficiency

all at a 4 - 8 K premium depending on spec.

The only way Naza could tempt me is a sub 80K priced car.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Oct 14 2009, 05:00 PM
killdavid
post Oct 23 2009, 04:07 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

what's the warranty coverage for Forte ?
killdavid
post Oct 30 2009, 09:38 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

I don't think this news is confirmed. None of the english dailies are running the story. It defies logic. >1.5L will affect a large number of proton users. The rakyat will go bonkers and this will not win the gov popularity points.

If they really want to implement such silly policy at least the cut off for full subsidy should be >1.6L cause that's entering C class vehicles.

killdavid
post Nov 4 2009, 09:18 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

About the UV-cut windscreen, does this mean that no tinting is required ?
killdavid
post Nov 4 2009, 11:13 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

the choice of color is quite disappointing. How come no titanium silver ? Such a popular color. Spicy red looks a little too bright. Would have prefer metallic maroon.
killdavid
post Nov 4 2009, 11:52 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

dark colors really brings out the sexy lines of the design
killdavid
post Nov 4 2009, 07:57 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

the only way for big discounts is that the Forte stock keep piling up, which i doubt will happen.

White is really nice. Just sat in my friends white Avante. Felt really good and luxurious. If we had 1.6 Elantra here I would have taken it. Now looking for 1.6 Forte.
killdavid
post Nov 5 2009, 02:36 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

in US forte comes with 5 year warranty. Maybe Naza not willing to cover that long
killdavid
post Nov 17 2009, 02:44 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(0hmyg0d @ Nov 17 2009, 02:00 PM)
went to branch at jln tun ali melaka...
white is metalic color.. any 1 can clarify bout this?
white and titanium silver can get the car faster than other color..

red and duno what color will be slower..

planning to get white if confirm is metalic..
wanted to get the silver wif blue color.. but too bad they dun bring in atm
Did they say how long have to wait ? I'm very confused with the color naming. What is the dark metallic silver called again ?
killdavid
post Nov 17 2009, 03:10 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Nov 17 2009, 02:50 PM)
well, there are only 5 colors available at the moment in msia market
white, black, gold, red & titanium silver (grey + brown) hahah i dunno how to mix colors blush.gif
The gold that you mean is bronze issit ? That's also dark color right ?
I never see any light gold Forte before. So what color you guys getting ?

0.0799sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:37 AM