Kia Forte, When will this beauty launch in MAS?

JC999
post Nov 24 2009, 05:17 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Nov 24 2009, 05:16 PM)
yep 1.6 is using gamma ..actually same engine thats in spectra now...but i guess kia has tweaked it a little bit.

while 2.0 is using theta II..
I thought spectra fuel consumption is bad..Btw I thought they should feature similar engine with the hyundai I30? since they are under the same roof now
JC999
post Nov 24 2009, 05:29 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Nov 24 2009, 05:21 PM)
2.0 in forte is the JV engine

1.6 in forte is the new engine use in Spectra 5 , for forte it have been tunr up adding another 4hp (if I am not mistaken)

1st generation Spectra is only having 107hp
2nd 105hp with a better pick up
--------------------------------------  previously these engine mentioned doesn't have DVVT, VVTI or VSC

3rd gen I classify as Spectra 5  - > where Forte will adopt and an improvement have been done over it
Please don't be confuse of Old Spectra & Spectra 5 - probably with the name spectra they didn't sell well Kia Spectra = High FC !
So there is no CVVT for the 1.6
JC999
post Nov 24 2009, 05:41 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Nov 24 2009, 05:37 PM)
actually, i have no doubt the engine for the 1.6 forte will be better than spectra or spectra5 for that matter, partly due to Kia's maturity and experiance gained in fine tuning the engine.

i have to disagree tho they they are different engine, because valve timing dont make a new engine, altho most ppl assume it is. its more like engine fine tuning.

think Campro vs Campro IAFM vs Campro CPS, they are all Campro engine, which are basicaly a DOHC engine, with the exception that original Campro has NO cam profiling, therefore the weakest of all. IAFM is a Bosch valve timing (correction needed) and CPS is our own.

Basically, i am saying that even the old Gamma engine was already a beast, but was weak at that time with bad consumption etc due to Kia's lack of experiance then. but they have came very far now in a short period, and i think thats worth mentioning and admire.

the Theta II is a new generation of engine altogether, and sources have said tat until now, only Kia has managed to push the most power frm this engine. yep, not even Mitsu with their Mivec do justice to the engine. shows a point that Kia is really good now, at least with engine refinement is concerned.
Good to know, but a transmission play a vital role in transferring all the power from engine to wheels.

Wonder if they would sell a manual like sg
JC999
post Nov 25 2009, 12:15 AM

659 posts

pass by a naza kia showroom during my dinner time, got to see the car and must say that its definately a looker.

For the price range similar to a city or vios, this looks like a clear winner. Im not a city/ vios hater but looking at the finishing its definately a class above the city/vios. Just open the boot and check the seats, the trimmings are well sealed and the plastics feels of better quality. Maybe thats a clear difference being a CBU and CKD.

Did not get to test drive as its rather late, but the built quality is reasonable for that price. Safety features is definately a clear winner.

2 thumbs up for the design too, very continental.

Did read about the 4-speed but I would not worry so much about that, the vios is 4 speed, a lot of c-segment have 4 speed too and their fuel consumption is not too bad.

I specifically like the look from the rear with the diffuser and exhaust.
JC999
post Nov 26 2009, 01:17 AM

659 posts

well i read one of the comments on Paul tan; paul himself says that he had removed the line that 500 cars are CBU which is not true.

Naza had ask him to remove as that statement wasn't true.

I think they had mixed some CKD into CBU, how to define a CKD and CBU? any paperworks?
JC999
post Nov 26 2009, 11:58 AM

659 posts

Have you guys seen the Hyundai I30?

I saw an article in the papers forgot star or sun today.

The center console, air-cond vents for the I30 looks like the Kia Forte.

Do check it out

I took the pic from paultan but the local newspaper picture looks slight diff. more towards the forte.

JC999
post Nov 26 2009, 01:10 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Nov 26 2009, 12:13 PM)
in town use..around 9~10L/ 100 km ..can go worse if u stuck in jam(13L/100km)..

if highway 100% ...rm 60 can go 400km..8.23L/100km (at 120-130km/h)

if drive 90-100km/h ..can go down to 7.5L or 7.3L/100km

my car just over 7K km...power starts to feel better.
wah.. doesn't sound very efficient to me.

15" rims?
JC999
post Nov 26 2009, 04:50 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Nov 26 2009, 04:43 PM)
can upgrade ..infact my spectra5 is having 5 years warranty ..2 years by KIA , and the next 3 years by some donno what insurance company <--this is what i'm not confident in. i havent even receive my extended warranty letter yet...

Added on November 26, 2009, 4:45 pm
our ministers are from Arts stream dude, tak pandai kira
Normally the insurance company extended warranty on certain parts only. RM700 look ok but do check what are the parts cover.

Like Myvi, perodua strike a deal to cover extra years on their engine and gearbox only.

0.0451sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:40 PM