Kia Forte, When will this beauty launch in MAS?

StarGhazzer
post Sep 25 2009, 02:45 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

For those who are interested in the Koup:
http://www.caradvice.com.au/41607/kia-cera...view-road-test/

As expected, complaints about the "modest" performance of the Koup have already surfaced. I wonder how the 1.6L that SG gets will fare...

It's a risky move for Kia to offer something that is more flash than brute force; petrol heads will scoff at the engine's output yet on the other perspective its lower price opens up a new market which attract first time buyers/freshies who don't have deep pockets.
StarGhazzer
post Sep 25 2009, 06:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Sep 25 2009, 04:32 PM)
Kinda expected underpowered feedback from the available power plants.

Koup really reminds me of d Hyundai Coupe wit its "Looks faster than it can really do"
Good enough I suppose. Not everyone wants/needs a high performance car which burns petrol like crazy, but almost everyone will prefer a fancy, sleek looking ride.

Personally, I think the Koup should not be considered as a performance car but rather a two door version of the sedan; like how 5 door hatches often come with a 3 door variant. It's not much different from the CLK, where the entry level models are no much faster than the C or E sedans that it was based on. Of course, these models come with higher output models albeit at higher prices.

With the Koup Concept having a more sporty engine, it's very possible that Kia could throw in a turbo-charged version on top of the 1.6, 2.0, and 2.4 variants - It's just whether there's any market that's worth investing in. A smaller engine Koup is more feasible down under to keep it affordable, since people are still reluctant to part their cash for Kia sedans let alone coupes. The Tiburon costs a mere 30K AUD for a 2.0L and it never really got as popular as Integras or Civic Type Rs.

Kudos to Kia for keeping the price down as other manufacturers often overcharge coupes, for us here the Koup is only a few hundred bucks more than the sedan and the amount of flashy kit bundled is probably worth more than that. If the lack of rear doors is not an issue, the Koup may prove to be a better package than the sedan.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 25 2009, 06:36 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 15 2009, 04:00 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 15 2009, 12:39 AM)
of for all kia has launch some nice b segment car too... (honda fit/jazz competitor!) call Venga..
Venga launch....
The Venga might not come as it's destined for the European market like the Ceed. Having said that, I believe someone did mention before that the Ceed was available in Thailand, at least it was shown in Kia's Thailand website previously. It would be a good replacement for the aging Picanto/Suria although it will enter a realm which is again saturated and dominated by the Japs, in particular the Jazz, 2, Yaris, and its cousin i20. The Jazz, despite being overpriced, has a good drive and those who's driven it will agree with me. The 2 looks great but the engine sounds really coarse and the front is very cramped, at least for me. Yaris... nah... very unrefined despite the Toyota badge. No experience with the i20 as I've never seen one in Melbourne roads till now.

Well, at least the Venga's dashboard and console looks terrific. Unlike the messy, radical console of the Jazz or the Mickey Mouse-like, tacho-less in the 2.

Anyway, it's not surprising to see the Forte being rebadged as a Naza. After all, it's meant to be locally-assembled to keep the price down; and like the previous Naza-fied Peugeots people will probably switch the badge the very first moment they drive out of the showroom. Changing the Forte name to the tacky "Force" on the other hand serves nothing more than degrading the image of the car.

The comparison between the City and the Forte is a result of Naza/Kia "downgrading" the car to the B-segment level with its 1.6L engine and specs. I suppose it's a catch-22 since they will probably still lose out to Civics and Corollas if they price it as a C-segment at 100K; so they might as well give City/Vios choosers a chance to get a larger car with the same amount of money.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 15 2009, 08:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Oct 15 2009, 07:46 PM)
lol i wish that is true... but according to one kia sales person he told me its 75k above worrrr (not sure can trust or not la his word)
but i seriously hope its at sub 70k
How?

Top range Forte SLi here in Australia sells for 26KAUD, which is approximately RM78K in today's exchange rate. We all know what happens to car prices in our region so don't expect crazy low prices. Just look at the prices in Singapore and you'll know.

If the 1.6L Forte goes for RM75K it'll be a pretty decent price.

I guess people still expect cheap prices for Korean cars regardless of the improved quality. Many of the replies on Australian motoring blogs still say that the price of the Forte is too high, and they expect it to be around 20-22KAUD for the SLi. Which is pretty absurd anyway, considering that top range Civics and 3s will reach or even exceed 30KAUD with specs similar to the Forte. Yet people are willing to part their money for these Japs.

There is hope though. If there's quality, people will eventually learn to appreciate it. Hyundais in the past were treated like trash, but the release of the i30 changed perceptions and it even won the Car Of The Year 2007 in Australia. And today, we see i30s everywhere.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 15 2009, 08:12 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 16 2009, 03:33 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 16 2009, 02:16 AM)
Well..the i30 priced here is ridiculous..at seeing at 93k for the most basic spec..it's definitely not worth it =/
Indeed.

Having said that, the i30 is still pretty much a C-segment car so it's still relatively cheaper than the Jap rivals. Nevertheless, for the price of a 2.0L i30 one could easily get a Peugeot 308Turbo. The attractive pricing of the French hatch gives all the rivals a huge uppercut punch... you get something which will turn heads on the road, a decent-spec package, and the self-satisfaction of driving a continental car.

StarGhazzer
post Oct 16 2009, 05:30 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Oct 16 2009, 09:15 AM)
but y 93k i think its expensive for a KIA brand, they need to get a lot of sales first so ppl perception change, i think that is a very bad move. once changed , they can sell it at higher price on par with honda/toyota coz the quality is the same.

maybe lose now but win later never cross their mind? If they deduct 10k from the prices i believe it gonna sells like pisang goreng. lol.
See?

RM100K for a Jazz which costs no more than 24K AUD (RM72K)? No problem.
90K for i30/Forte.... walaoeh too expensive.

shocking.gif

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 16 2009, 11:00 AM)
COE apart, those early starter actually could sell their car without loss (to body value) after 6 months. haaa.
Sell the Forte, and get the coupe !!
It even rhymes. laugh.gif

QUOTE(eayamhj @ Oct 16 2009, 04:42 PM)
Is there is any possibility for us malaysian to get optional 6 speed transmission instead of 4?
Probably not.

Even the SX 2.4L available in North America comes with a 5 speed auto only, although there is a 6 speed manual.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 16 2009, 07:10 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Oct 16 2009, 05:46 PM)
@Stargazzer:Did you even read my post properly? I gave you the answer before you even post your question.
Eh?

but y 93k i think its expensive for a KIA brand, they need to get a lot of sales first so ppl perception change, i think that is a very bad move.

once changed , they can sell it at higher price on par with honda/toyota coz the quality is the same.

I don't get what you mean due to your sentence structure.

I understand the second part regarding selling it at a higher price that is same as the Japs. But it doesn't support your claim in the first line that '93K for a Kia is expensive', considering that the equivalent Japs are going for an extra 20K.

My comparison regarding the Jazz's price wasn't particularly directed to you, no offence intended - it's merely reflecting how the majority cringe about paying 90K for Hyundais/Kias but doesn't mind forking out more for lower segment Japs.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 16 2009, 07:12 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 17 2009, 12:59 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Oct 17 2009, 02:09 AM)
Guy do you remember last time back in those olden days the famous cars are like Datsun , Nissan Sunny, Ford Focus, Old Corolla .....  Honda wasn't in most ppl mind yet .....

Currently brand reputation play a major role in their car price , how they got their reputation is very much because of Product , Pre-sales, Sales , After sales service, proven reliability in the long run ....

In this case Kia/Naza got a very good product here, just that things like Pre-sales, sales especially after sales service overall isn't up to T&H level

Proven reliability still not having a very good record things like FC high (engine technology), Expensive spare parts (due to insufficient demand) .
So there's alot of factor to look into , in general we can say Kia Forte/Naza Force spec higher than City/Vios so is a good buy, anyone complain are just H&T fan (thou there is). But look into it deeper there's so much to prove right here to position this product at a right price so it could bring themselves close enough to fight H&T.

This round Naza/Kia is spot on for the product , next is more of their pre-sales>sales>post sales to bring on the foot-step, if their strategy is successful don't be amaze the next coming model or face lift can easily price more than 100k for 2.0, but this round if one portion fail such as post sales (service lousy, hard to find SC etc) or long term reliability lousy then we will see another round of price throwing like Spectra 5.

Comparing P1 & P2 why , MyVi most of the time outsell Saga thou I personally prefer Saga better due to Boot space and the driving experience is better as well, MyVi is more to a convenient Kei Car.... the reason here is simple both product is good, proton lost out because presales (my friend just change a SC because that idiot drag his 5k voucher close to 2 months), post sales & brand reliability(when Myvi was launch my family got a Myvi and a Waja around the same time, thou waja is a higher CC car better build but it has so many its y bits y problem eg. front drawer can't close properly need to bang it in - such a simple thing also can go wrong)  ...

So back to Kia/Naza's story again ..... we must see with the current reputation Naza/Kia must really position it well to a wanted sales target, with the rumor price I think the buyer percentage drop quiet alot (they rather not pay so much to risk the reliability part), while when it is rumor at 65k the buying percentage is higher (they are prepare to pay cause the risk is lower) .... so guys I think I babel too much again tongue.gif
The after-sales service and support is something that Korean brands have to improve in order to change people's perception, and we can only hope that they will work hard on this. Pricing wise, it's understandable that Jazz and Yaris costs more due to the CBU status (although it comes from our Northern neighbours rather than from Japan), but the Civic which is assembled in Melaka costs lots more than what it's worth and yet it suffers various fitting and quality issues which are probably the fault of our local assemblers.

As for the long term reliability issues, there's no way to predict how well the Forte will fare. Older Korean cars didn't leave a good impression, but that doesn't mean things cannot change. People tend to forget that 20 years ago Japanese cars were treated as cheap alternatives particular in Western countries, yet today they are the benchmark. Hyundai has turned heads in recent years and now they seem to be trying the same thing with Kia. If the Koreans manage to establish a foothold in the SEA market and bring the price (and quality) war to the Japs, we as consumers shall be the ultimate winners.

Again, there's no way Naza can price the Forte at 65K as it will potentially kill the Waja, Persona and even Myvi. Our lovely government will not
allow that to happen.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 17 2009, 01:01 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 21 2009, 11:44 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 21 2009, 11:19 AM)
This looks more like cheapskate-version CKD than CBU sweat.gif How much would electric windows cost anyway? rclxub.gif

To be fair, the lowest spec Forte comes with the same dull grey dash... whereas the SLi has the faux chrome.
user posted imageuser posted image

Compare that to the Koup's shiny piano-black console surrounded by gunmetal parts, which is also likely to appear in the 2010 Forte SLi sedan if rumours are true.

Naza better not be stingy, otherwise it's little wonder why people are still going to stick with the Japs.

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:44 AM)
True true..I have a liking for the Soul as well..but I kinda doubt the 1.6 would be enough for the massive car =/
The Soul's sales are pretty pathetic in Australia because of the relative high price. It's only a 1.6L 4 speed auto but it is tugging a hefty weight which will be even heavier when loaded with stuff in the cavernous boot.

Too bad for the Soul, since it's radical and funky exterior will make one standout amongst the traffic.
Kia, throw in the ThetaII please.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 21 2009, 12:04 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 21 2009, 02:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 21 2009, 01:38 PM)
Sg forte comes with this gun metal finish already... with red stitch on leather trimming as well... its really much better then the silver version...

now really missing is the push button and immo...
of course there are many more parts that is missing.. i.e safety power windows... etc..
Singapore is faster than Australia it seems biggrin.gif
The thing about the Forte is that different market get different things so it's hard to compare head-to-head. There's the 1.6 and 2.0 in SEA, North America gets 2.0 for the LX and EX plus 2.4 for the SX, we get 2.0 for both the S and SLi, with the S being the cheapskate version and SLi being the full spec. Our Koup doesn't come with mood speakers compared to other markets, but that's not a major problem since the bling is more for show than practicality.

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 21 2009, 01:53 PM)
A new Kia Forte ad over Mudah's website here..anyone wanna go IOI Puchong and check?xP

And on a chinese local forum..I can't read chinese..but I'm guessing it's saying 28/10/09 is the launch date? And something about Novus spec? I thought Novus spec is up to Spectra 5 only?O_O
Yup, it does state 28/10/09 as the launch date, but there's no other details regarding the 3 different trims. I'm guessing basic = LX, novus = EX, and the 2.0 = SX, but who knows?

I wonder what's going to happen to all those old Spectra5s... more discounts?
StarGhazzer
post Oct 21 2009, 07:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 21 2009, 04:11 PM)
so space man..

you now in aus? and you know what koup here comes with that silly (to me..) mood speaker...haaaa... and very.well priced just 4k+ above forte.. with push button etc... hiaz... tempting...

and for all info...
Kia and Hyundai sales up by 137 and 88%! and Toyot* down by 58% Hond* down by 23%~ in recent registration records...haaa... kimchi is getting more attention now...  even media now reported kimchi standard and quality improved a lot....
Yeah in Aust now... need to get a car soon for work next year, Forte's high up on the list but will KIV other makes as well. Koup seems like a very good deal and it's only 2KAUD extra. Just treat it as extra money for the fancy bling rims and body kit. The absence of mood speakers and push start button won't affect my decision too much; after all they are just for show instead of actual practicality.

Maybe I should save the money and go for cheap second hand cars sad.gif 3 year old Mazda 3s only cost half price.

Kias are not particularly popular here. I've only seen less than 10 different Fortes in Melbourne and only 1 Soul, compared to the numerous i30s rolling everywhere (3s, Civics, and Corollas flood the road in terms of C-segments, with Lancers not too far behind). Rio is still the most common Kia sedan around town. Fingers crossed that it won't affect the price of servicing and spare parts.

People are going for Korean value nowadays as the prices of Jap cars are going up, especially Hyundai which have turned people's perception in good ways.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 21 2009, 07:10 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 21 2009, 08:38 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 21 2009, 07:58 PM)
OIC..
But please be aware Mz3 (last model) FC is avg at best... but riding comfort is good then cabin space is hmmm... only... it was on my list prior too cos.. before changing to new Mz3 2009 they kind of offer to clear.. at 55+k sgd..

Tot car advice review (long term) is kind of +ve...? for forte? no worry so far.. except the wind screen cracking issue..

cheers to you.. and happy buying...
Yup, most reviews regarding the Forte have been pretty thumbs up. Apart from the windscreen cracking issue which plagued the first batch of Fortes, there hasn't been much complaints in other automative blogs and forums. In fact, most of the windscreen problems were reported in ceratoforte.sg and seldom in other countries, so not sure whether it's a localised defect or not.

Mazda 3's reviews have always praised the driving dynamics but space + comfort were the downsides. The sacrifice in FC is expected for cars with a spirited 2.0L engine. I personally have never had any experience with the old or new 3, so can't give any feedback on it. The smiley new 3 doesn't suit my taste, therefore I don't think I'll put myself in debt for something which I dislike. Having said that, my friend just got himself the basic 3 Neo which costed almost 28K after adding some accessories... maybe I'll have a chance to ride it once he gets it.

My previous target was a Civic, but with the full spec 2.0 Sport exceeding 30K, it's probably not worth it. For the price of the midrange VTi-L 1.8L Civic, I might as well get the top range SLi Forte. City? It's a freaking 1.5L joke... Full spec City costs the same as the basic Civic, while the basic City is cost-equivalent to the baremetal Cerato/Forte S. T_T
StarGhazzer
post Oct 22 2009, 04:06 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Oct 22 2009, 12:58 AM)
Wait, did i read correctly? It say 5 speed tip tronic gear box plus we can buy another 4 air bag? All for the 1.6l model? If this is true, in someway, our spec sound a lot better than what Singapore is getting drool.gif
Probably a typo. It says 4 speed auto in the spec list above while the paragraphs state 5 speed. Chances are it'll come with the 4 speed auto instead, as the 5 speed variant is for 2.4SX available in North America.

It also says CBU however judging from how Naza does their business it is likely to be CKD to keep the price low. Maybe this seller has some lobang to bring in limited stock of CBU?
StarGhazzer
post Oct 22 2009, 04:59 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 22 2009, 09:51 AM)
Yes.. i would totally agree that Civic is as good or better... after all selling like 1.5x more expensive then Forte..(or the commission damn good liao  drool.gif ) and to be fair.. Forte > 140km/h noise is there... sweet spot being around 110km/h (v.quiet), but then NVH is a personal thing. but civic suspensions is definitely a tad better than forte... only not too sure if it comes with ESC etc.... (think so its there.. )
maybe must different civic comes with different sound insulation.? maybe we need a decibel meter to confirm this..heee...  laugh.gif
The Civic is a well-made car with good looks, good power, and good comfort; but the downside is the relatively smaller boot size and the hefty price tag associated with most Honda cars. The 09 facelift is subtle yet the octagonal rear lamps look much less attractive than the old round ones. I guess you get what you pay for - the resale value of the Civic is so much higher than other rivals, especially Korean models. Pay more first, but lose less later.

NVH wise, meh... how often does one speed up to >140kmh? After all, you're not supposed to tongue.gif Ada polis ler...
StarGhazzer
post Oct 23 2009, 06:36 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Oct 23 2009, 03:56 PM)
the sales person sent to me, they had briefing this morning...
the picture is the 1.6l basic version smile.gif
Our Forte here down under comes in 2 trims (S and SLi), where the lower spec S has no fog lamps and comes WITHOUT the chrome Schryer grill. If that picture is truly the base model back home then you guys got a better deal it seems. At least for us both trims comes with 6 air bags, but the basic S is really baremetal as it lacks ESP and TSC, the absence of the red glowing rim around the speedo and the trip computer.

The Forte that you posted is Titanium Silver isn't it? Hopefully you guys get the Graphite as well since it looks the best on the Forte.
For us we don't get Orange while our Koup doesn't come in Lime.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 23 2009, 06:48 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 23 2009, 06:52 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Oct 23 2009, 06:47 PM)
okay guys, i got the full specification for the forte already smile.gif photocopy tho hehe

damnit the 1.6l full spec seriously can consider buying, here is what it comes with.
EX = basic
SX* = full (1.6l SX doesnt comes with leather)
17'' wheels (alloy for SX, steel for EX)
chrome door handle* (SX only)
rear garnish* (SX only)
chrome tipped tail-pipe* (SX only)
in-dash 6 CD changer
remote audio control (too bad dont have bluetooth)
illuminated sunvisor mirror + lid + sliding extension* (SX only)
hydraulic power steering for 1.6, 2.0 comes with electric
start/stop button and go* (SX only **smart key system, unlike those still need to slot in key and turn ignition to ON)
rear parking assist system with distance display on trip computer
electro-chromic mirror
auto headlight function* (SX only)
uv cut windshield* (SX only)
cluster illumination adjuster* (SX only)
ABS, EBD, BA, TCS* rclxm9.gif (SX only)
full auto air conditioning* (SX only)

Added on October 23, 2009, 6:48 pmstarghazzer only the 2.0L comes with 6 airbags
the 1.6L SX (full spec comes only 2)
Looks like your SX is pretty similar to our SLi, as expected. biggrin.gif
We don't get the push-start button though.

Auto-on headlight function can be a nuisance at times especially when driving through shaded areas. Our old Xsara Picasso at home used to have this function and it always lit up when I drove into S'pore through the causeway customs.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 24 2009, 09:54 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Oct 24 2009, 08:36 AM)
some size comparison with Honda Civic

Added on October 24, 2009, 8:37 amhmm.... it prove that forte is direct rival to civic 2.0 then....
and the price gab between them are about 40k.
if rumor price 92k and civic 130k
Well it is a direct rival to all the C-segments, not just the Civic. On paper the engine output seems to pwn the others, yet judging from reviews it seems that the 4 speed auto stifles and restricts the overall performance of the car. 0-100 dash time of approx 10 seconds for the automatic is hardly inspiring, although it must be emphasised that the rivals don't fare any much better. Ideally the Koup should have a much better performance to suit the sporty exterior, but it shares the same powertrain with the sedan hence it's more like a two-door variant of the sedan rather than a true sports coupe. Throw in a turbocharger and it might be a different scenario, but it'll jack up the price to a level where it'll only deter more people.

The near RM40K difference only serves to highlight how overpriced Japanese cars are in our local market. Tax? Brand prestige? Or just milking money out of popular demand? Oh well.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 27 2009, 04:14 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 27 2009, 02:14 AM)
Rawr..I really wouldn't want to settle with the 4-speed auto..but seeing the shifters..but aahh..alot of reviews weren't so good for the 4-auto..

Worst case I might end up with the auto..playing with the shifters instead of leaving to D-gear..lol
Which is what I used to do with the Xsara Picasso in our family... biggrin.gif

Hopefully the gear ratios and the auto tranny's system setup for the Forte are tuned properly.

One of the issues I had with the Picasso is that the 2nd gear tends to plateau, rest at 45km/h, and refuses to upshift unless you depress the accelerator even more (or manually shifts it to 3rd); which results in the engine growling loudly at high rpms. I think Citroen deliberately tuned it this way to provide more revs for pulling the Picasso's heavy body in lower speeds.

Nevertheless, the more irking thing is when you slow down. Once your speed drops to 40-45km/h it automatically downshifts to 2nd gear and engine braking comes in. To avoid that you'll need to change it to manual mode, or step on the gas to prevent further slowing down.

Manual mode in auto-boxes are more fun to drive and takes away the stalling risk of clutches, but sometimes you just can't be bothered and will leave it in auto-mode, particularly in jams.

QUOTE(phelix @ Oct 26 2009, 09:54 PM)
Interior I
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_PK90W1ozTJU/SuWphSUo...G094%5B1%5D.jpg

Interior II
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_PK90W1ozTJU/SuWphQwf...G095%5B1%5D.jpg

Yes, the interior looks cheapskate on the entry spec.. LOL!
Compared to the piano-black and gunmetal console of the Koup, yes.
Compared to the faux chrome of the SLi/SX, it's not too bad.

Then again, the Yaris/Vios has an even more cheap-looking console.
The new City doesn't look anymore special, apart from the slightly fancier steering wheel.
Mazda 2? LOL... the Mickey mouse facies of the console is too "cute-sy".

The Civic's futuristic console still turns more heads despite its age.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 27 2009, 02:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Oct 27 2009, 01:08 PM)
i received a sms from kia penang (KP), 28/10 is launching new PICANTO, inside the sms never mention about FORTE at all. sad.gif
This?
http://www.kia-world.net/index.php/2009/06...orea/#more-3811

Give us the Venga please tongue.gif

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 27 2009, 08:37 AM)
I don't mind playing with the gear..but loads of reviews I've read on the 2.0 4-speed auto and it wasn't good..maybe the ratios wasn't right..they seem to give good reviews on the manual tranny instead..
On the contrary, there are also reviews which criticise the light clutch and oversensitive accelerator which often cause unintentional stalls; hence recommending the auto tranny instead. I personally would prefer automatic as it is easier on the legs in congested city traffic, and it comes with manual shifting mode whenever there's room to run.

QUOTE(phelix @ Oct 27 2009, 09:08 AM)
what about chevrolet cruze auto 6 speed gear box then??
that's so cool~
The 6 speed auto sounds good on paper, but various road tests have shown that the Cruze is not exactly a sprinter (1+ sec slower than rivals !!) and the fuel economy is a concern as well. The Singaporean website One Shift chooses the Cruze over the Forte for comfort and refinement reasons, but I guess taste is always subjective. I agree that the dash and console of the Cruze looks more sophisticated (look at the glow at night) but the exterior looks messy.

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 27 2009, 10:11 AM)
Agree.. i like civic 2 tier cluster design.. so much... (best to date to me..)... and the design too... too bad its another 1/2 car $$$ to pay... so...  blink.gif
Civic Type R UK spec's console is even more radical... like spaceship. The red glow works better the sedan Civic's bluish hue too. Same with the Forte's red over the i30's blue. biggrin.gif
StarGhazzer
post Oct 27 2009, 07:34 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 27 2009, 06:48 PM)

Bro you mean this? i like the 2 tier cluster.. but still i think i prefer the simpler civic version... haaa... personal choice la.. 

oh.. just to update too.. while in one-shift portal review chose cruze.. but in magazine.. forte wins for its overall performance... will uppost when i got the link...
Yup... that's the red-themed civic type R I mentioned. More fierce/crazy than the sedan... A bit ah beng-ish though.
But over here in Aust the Civic Type R costs about the same as a Golf GTi... The latter is probably a wiser choice.

Upload the magazine review ASAP tongue.gif
I don't really like One Shift's reviews to be honest. Most of them are too short and not detailed enough.
SGCarMart does a better job at this.

I might have posted this before, but CarAdvice has posted a comparison between the Cruze/Forte/City in the past. The two Koreans get thumbs up while the City's price pulls it down.
http://www.caradvice.com.au/33990/comparis...uze-kia-cerato/
It's Aussie spec (and price of course) but it gives some perspective into how well packaged the Forte is compared to the overpriced City.

Having said that, bear in mind that Aussie review websites sometimes tend to compare cars with different specs - eg manual vs auto. Same goes with their Wheels Magazine.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 27 2009, 07:37 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0451sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:55 AM