S-Video cable recommend+HDMI DVD player?

TStwL
post May 9 2009, 09:50 PM, updated 17y ago

Photographer
1,146 posts

next week, LCD TV will send to my house, as my experience i watch at my uncle's house, even he is using 42" plasma tv, the astro quality still not stable/quite blur, so i hope to buy a s-video cable to get a better quality, and the guy there intro me to buy Monster s-video cable worth RM210. i try to survey on some website, it told me that for astro, it doesnt difference between RM20-30 price range of s-video cable with monster s-video cable, is it true? the 'yellow, red, white' cable will connect to dvd recorder.

and another question, if i only watch normal dvd, normal dvd player and hdmi player will it has any big difference? is it hdmi dvd player only add on HDMI support but all others function(supported disc) are still same?

i scared i will waste too much money on buying valueless items, hope to get ur recommend here, thanks a lot!
amduser
post May 9 2009, 11:41 PM

5,542 posts

the cable really doesn't make any difference....

not sure about the player...

if you want to watch astro, buy a smaller LCD TV, but the picture will still be stretched to fit the screen
pillage2001
post May 10 2009, 08:47 PM

1,991 posts

Get a good S video cable...It makes a difference. I've seen it with my eyes personally. I bough tthe Monster S video cable cause I can get it for cheap but any good brands out there with good built should suffice.
TStwL
post May 10 2009, 11:53 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

i will only buy 32 inch Samsung LCD(LA32B460), as my experienced to watch astro on 42 inch plasma tv, the quality is not good, not because of the stretched to fit the screen, but hv feeling on picture delay like hv shadow. of coz it's good if monster cable really can help, but is it any place to see the 'demo' of monster cable?

by the way, as i get the information on LA32B450, it only has 1 s-video input, is it true? is it LA32B460 also will only have 1 s-video input? i don wanna use the yellow+red+white cable for my dvd recorder...
99below0
post May 11 2009, 12:17 PM

251 posts

A good S-Video cable makes a lot of difference, especially as far as color and brightness goes. Does your DVD recorder have component (red+green+blue) output? Use that instead of composite. If your player has HDMI output, use that instead, it's the best connection (cheaper than high-quality component cables).
saratoga
post May 11 2009, 09:07 PM

74 posts

believe one does not need expensive s-video, but normal cheaper one will do, as long as the s-video really transmit the signal well, with good contact ensured, and true 75 ohm impedance. I believe the difference between expensive s-video say monster & no-brand cable may not justify at all the money one pays for.
TStwL
post May 11 2009, 09:45 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

my dvd recorder have component output, mayb i will consider to use it, since the composite(is it the yellow+red+white cable name?) quality will be very bad, the s-video cable, i only bought philips brand cost RM18 yet, later after have more money, i will buy better monster s-video cable.

my player doesnt hv hdmi output, but mayb will buy it in the future.... i hv 2 wait for this coming saturday to test the quality with the cheaper s-video cable, hope it wont very bad or no much difference with composite cable..
arremie
post May 11 2009, 10:44 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(saratoga @ May 11 2009, 09:07 PM)
believe one does not need expensive s-video, but normal cheaper one will do, as long as the s-video really transmit the signal well, with good contact ensured, and true 75 ohm impedance. I believe the difference between expensive s-video say monster & no-brand cable may not justify at all the money one pays for.
u think u can get true 75 ohm cable cheap? good luck rolleyes.gif
saratoga
post May 11 2009, 11:01 PM

74 posts

i have to admit that the expensive s-video vs cheaper one do make difference, but just the $ paid the higher price one is really not justify.
In this case, for rm19 philips brand s-video, i believe it should be enough cari makan biggrin.gif
99below0
post May 12 2009, 11:33 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(twL @ May 11 2009, 09:45 PM)
my dvd recorder have component output, mayb i will consider to use it, since the composite(is it the yellow+red+white cable name?) quality will be very bad, the s-video cable, i only bought philips brand cost RM18 yet, later after have more money, i will buy better monster s-video cable.

my player doesnt hv hdmi output, but mayb will buy it in the future.... i hv 2 wait for this coming saturday to test the quality with the cheaper s-video cable, hope it wont very bad or no much difference with composite cable..
A cheap component cable is better than an expensive s-video cable. There are some decent ones at Ace Hardware (buy the Ace-branded ones). Pretty decent quality at around RM50-60 (sorry, can't remember, exactly).
TStwL
post May 13 2009, 12:02 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ May 12 2009, 11:33 AM)
A cheap component cable is better than an expensive s-video cable. There are some decent ones at Ace Hardware (buy the Ace-branded ones). Pretty decent quality at around RM50-60 (sorry, can't remember, exactly).
even a cheap infamous brand in giant already cost RM40+, if Ace brand really no bad, i will buy it. how can a component cable better than s-video? is it true?
DigitalTech
post May 13 2009, 02:51 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(twL @ May 13 2009, 12:02 PM)
even a cheap infamous brand in giant already cost RM40+, if Ace brand really no bad, i will buy it. how can a component cable better than s-video? is it true?
I think you are mistaken.

Component cable is the red, blue and green cable for video only.

Composite is yellow cable.

Ranking of cable for the best picture quality. 1 is the worst and 4 is the best.

1. Composite
2. S-Video
3. Component
4. HDMI
TStwL
post May 13 2009, 11:04 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ May 13 2009, 02:51 PM)
I think you are mistaken.

Component cable is the red, blue and green cable for video only.

Composite is yellow cable.

Ranking of cable for the best picture quality. 1 is the worst and 4 is the best.

1. Composite
2. S-Video
3. Component
4. HDMI
really? im sorry, i always think that s-video cable is better than component cable... mayb because most website/information i've got for tv always mentioned have how many s-video input but not component...
tholloh
post May 26 2009, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(twL @ May 9 2009, 09:50 PM)
next week, LCD TV will send to my house, as my experience i watch at my uncle's house, even he is using 42" plasma tv, the astro quality still not stable/quite blur, so i hope to buy a s-video cable to get a better quality, and the guy there intro me to buy Monster s-video cable worth RM210. i try to survey on some website, it told me that for astro, it doesnt difference between RM20-30 price range of s-video cable with monster s-video cable, is it true? the 'yellow, red, white' cable will connect to dvd recorder.

and another question, if i only watch normal dvd, normal dvd player and hdmi player will it has any big difference? is it hdmi dvd player only add on HDMI support but all others function(supported disc) are still same?

i scared i will waste too much money on buying valueless items, hope to get ur recommend here, thanks a lot!
cables do make the difference,try audio quest s video,below 200rm in pasar road,and if you are using lcd tv,in order to get the best possible pics is to use hdmi,you will see the difference,if you are not that picky in pic quality get one below 100rm will do just fine,hdmi players can help you to upscale the pic to either 1080i or 1080p,if you are not venturing into the world of hi-def then wats the point of buying lcd tv pal?just go look around and check it out,nobody ask you to spend a fortune buying cables,but if you spend wisely and get to enjoy better quality pics why not,after all you are buying this tv to enjoy quality time at home right?if you feel like talking more on this,feel free to ok??good luck

This post has been edited by tholloh: May 26 2009, 03:07 PM
Zhuge Hong Ming
post May 26 2009, 03:29 PM

29 posts

http://www.bluejeanscable.com/articles/s-v...s-component.htm

http://www.lyberty.com/encyc/articles/svideo.html

Just some info to share...

This post has been edited by Zhuge Hong Ming: May 26 2009, 03:32 PM
DigitalTech
post May 26 2009, 04:01 PM

974 posts

Monster THX S-Video Cable

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/742712

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: May 26 2009, 04:02 PM
TStwL
post May 26 2009, 11:16 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ May 26 2009, 04:01 PM)
Monster THX S-Video Cable

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/742712
DigitalTech, i wanna buy too, but s-video is useless for me, my LCD don have any s-video input port.... ;-(

Zhuge Hong Ming, thx for ur sharing, it's really helpful for me to know the difference in between s-video and component cable.
chpeck
post Jun 2 2009, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(amduser @ May 10 2009, 12:41 AM)
the cable really doesn't make any difference....

I strongly support your statement.
arremie
post Jun 3 2009, 12:01 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

rolleyes.gif

0.0191sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:11 AM