Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

5uresh
post Aug 24 2009, 11:08 AM

40 posts

D5000 product recall.

Very upset as i bought it last week at Gadget World. Not sure if this product under nikon malaysia warranty. I tried calling gadget world service centre but no answer. Now not sure if i had bought an AP set.

Lesson learned always check the warranty card from where.

Make sure they give proper receipt. mine looks like pasar malam.

If got time will go there latter.

sk
5uresh
post Aug 24 2009, 02:27 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Aug 24 2009, 11:39 AM)
u mean they dont even gave u a receipt?  doh.gif
which camera man?  laugh.gif
Nikon D5000
simple hand written receipt. no phone number.

I called them( google the shop) but insist i bring it over to discuss but got no time as i'm leaving for my holiday need to use the camera.

rather pissed

sk

This post has been edited by 5uresh: Aug 24 2009, 02:29 PM
5uresh
post Aug 24 2009, 07:30 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Aug 24 2009, 07:25 PM)
an AP set should be cheaper..but if your's is the same price as ORI Nikon Malaysia set, then you got duped..
I paid 2800 not sure what is the market price. but was under the impression paying for nikon malaysia. may main problem is my unit also affected by the recall. I checked the serial number at HK site too.

now where do i send it for repair. got no time till next week.

sk
5uresh
post Aug 25 2009, 08:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 25 2009, 01:16 AM)
ya, but the problem is maybe some of the warranty card/slip r fake
can verify Nikon cams online like Sony o not? that would make things easier
Evening went back to gadget world. Argued i was not made aware that i was buying an AP set. Furthermore now i do not trust Gadget World can rectify my faulty camera.

Finally exchanged with nikon malaysia for extra RM150. Got two nikon malaysia warranty card. one for the body and lens.

Unfortunately at home when i checked the serial no it is a faulty one. Now i have to send it back to nikon malaysia. at least i know nikon will do a good job.

sk

5uresh
post Aug 25 2009, 10:53 PM

40 posts

[quote=subangman,Aug 25 2009, 09:42 PM]
Bru... as far as i know mine was the call back batch.. when i key in the serial no ... they asked me to return for rectification...been using it more than 1 mth with no Problem too but i called up the HQ since i'm nearby ..{my nick told u alridi} and i talked to one of the technician there... giving hell lots of excuse which i the truth anyway... the Camera belongs to my daughter [1st yr Mass Comm student] needs it almost daily for her assignment.... so he told me to bring it to him personally and should not be a problem and get it done ASAP.

So Papa went there .. told the cute 'Ah Chi' there i'll wait for it to b fixed as been told by them within 1hr... i sat there for about 20min... went to Level 8 for cuppa then went back to them again... {in between they noticed i'm indeed a veri busy man wit hell lots of phone calls}
complained about the stores @ Level 8.

and later my staff called me and asked for permission to go for his lunch break .. i told him to wait and won't b long... and later slipped away for lunch wit him @ Old town..... enjoyed another cuppa and bites b4 returning to them to collect my gal's D5000.

i dun want her to get to trouble while using it and i'm not in kl or MY... then cheah lat lor. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 25, 2009, 10:08 pm

how much you pay for ur AP set ?

Added on August 25, 2009, 10:09 pm

how much you pay for ur AP set ?

quote]
R

RM2800 with 8G RAM with bag and few other cheap freebies

But the whole buying experience marred and NIKON Malaysia should have stopped all D5000 sales.

Now i regret for not buying 500D as it comes with 3 years warranty.

sk
5uresh
post Aug 25 2009, 11:01 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(persona68 @ Aug 25 2009, 10:55 PM)
hmmm theres an AP set??
Me too never new got AP set. My friend semi pro also very surprised!

sk
5uresh
post Aug 31 2009, 06:37 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 26 2009, 01:22 AM)
the extra rm150 they charge is absurb  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
that still count ok compare with me
last time they wanted charge me rm180 for Nikon MY warranty  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
i rather suffer n pay Nikon MY for service than let them earn the rm180 for freaking cheated me  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Would like to put the matter behind. Enjoyed the holiday with first time using DSLR. Even my kids found D SLR fun and easy to use. Camera was superb. especially in low light condition.

If only had 3inch LCD high pixel. would have been perfect.

Beginning to appreciate DSLR i may upgrade it to D90 in near future.

rgds

sk

0.0289sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:05 PM