TMNET & MCMC Top Guy Discussion Session, Finally TMNET agree to hold a discussion

andrew9292
post May 8 2009, 09:21 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ May 8 2009, 09:20 PM)
ok i would seriously like to attend this discussion too, just to see if i can learn anything, is this open to everyone to attend?
sayang please read above, invitation only.

I'm currently communicating with Mr. Saiful Azhar Johari from MCMC too, he too acknowledge the issue of TM. I'm am currently sending in more prove and related links such as lowyat forum's topics, speedtests, pings and also links to bloggers which have expressed the condition of TM's internet service. Also, i will send an email to PMO as TS did and we'll see how things go. I hope my involvement will give them more pressure and priority to our situation. I will speak to Mr. Saiful about the discussion and if possible i will want to attend the discussions as i have so much prove and data to show to the press about streamyx's connectivity. TS if u need my data (pingplotter test and speedtests) please do let me know. TM's Mr.Zul from Customer Support informed me that TM's role is just to provide internet access and is not responsible for Inter-ISP connectivity and international links. If so, i think all of us here could set up an ISP claiming speeds of up to 4Mbps and say that we are not responsible for international connections too, i believe their own policy can be used againts them. Mr."webdesignempire" i am more than ready to assist you and back u up in this case. Hit me up anytime u need me ; )

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 8 2009, 09:32 PM
andrew9292
post May 8 2009, 09:37 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ May 8 2009, 09:24 PM)
this is an awesome idea
agreed. perhaps the moderators can set up a special forum or chatbox which enables users to send in their pings and speedtests. i hope the moderators can come up with that soon, so that all the users can be informed to start saving their screenshots etc etc, as all of u know, TM cannot be trusted and they might just make the connections tip-top on the discussion day. i really hope that the discussion event will happen and lowyat.net is able to confirm that they can come up with something stated above quickly so that users can start collecting data and presenting it on discussion day.

p.s if TM is monitoring this, they will know that that day will be the end of them.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 8 2009, 09:38 PM
andrew9292
post May 9 2009, 10:15 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(siukeong7888 @ May 9 2009, 09:09 AM)
I dun think they can be trusted since they can ignore the whole countries complaints and change their T&C " sesuka hati " to protect themself when they cant get something done . This promise they made mayb just another plan to delay whatever they try to fix or just to temp " layan " ur complaint cos they got the power , the power of monopolisation , u can either take it or leave it why i wanna bargain with u ?

If they really take it serious why end of month ? This is a serious problem that's affecting the whole country and should be solve asap . So the meeting was scheduled at the end of this month ? Then after meeting they " promise " to solve the connection problem " asap " ? 1 more month ? I bet that's what they gonna say so they bought another 2 month just to agree to meet with u .

I dun think we can do anything about this as the only solution lies in government's hands . Competion = improvement and better service . No competition = eat or die .

Frankly say i'm tired of screamyx shit and the way they handle things is really unproffesional and irresponsible . Frequent dc , unstable and slow connectivity , stupid CS , technician that's always " busy " , change of T&C sesuka hati and " faulty cable " everymonth ..... etc . What can u expect from their TOP when u meet them ?
-edit-deleted-

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 9 2009, 10:26 PM
andrew9292
post May 9 2009, 10:23 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(webdesignempire @ May 9 2009, 10:04 AM)
Appreciated your suggestion.

As per for this ones, i think it would be more appropriate to let TMNET decides it.  However, which press is more appropriate? Any suggestion?

I'm collecting suggestion here too and will send an email to MCMC and PMO's Complaint Bureau to inform them regarding about TMNET's decision to put up such discussion.
8TV, NTV7, TV3 and RTM. U must tell them, we the rakyat see TM as a Government Linked Company (GLC). Currently we are paying RM88/99 for speeds worst than dail up. When a major GLC company is not delivering what it promised, the rakyat will look at the government for help, but we found out that the government is not doing anything and is not even aware of the situations down here sometimes, which is totally againts najib's 1malaysia's policy, which is concentrate on the rakyat 1st. If the government does not take steps to tackle this issue, it can be said that Barisan National will not bring more votes from the younger generation and alike. U must tell them that, slap them on their face, make them wake up.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 9 2009, 10:25 AM
andrew9292
post May 9 2009, 11:06 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(webdesignempire @ May 9 2009, 10:28 AM)
Thanks alot andrew9292. 

What you have mentioned is very very similar to what i've gone through.  I'll add up some extra information on the inter-link thingy that TMNET claims.

1.  TMNET said or claims that TM's role is to provide internet access which is true. and will not responsible for Inter-ISP connectivity and international link which is true also.  I agreed with them. BUT, the thing based on the condition is as below and the below condition is their full responsibilities,
-  Has TMNET subscribed to "connect" with the "right bandwidth" which having sufficient bandwidth for connectivity from local to international link or vice versa?

2. I had the one of the T1 ISP the Cogent Co engineer confirmed on one of the issue, that the bottleneck is WITHIN TMNET's network infrastructure and there's nothing much they can do.  Again, this is TMNET's full responsibilities. It simply because the bottleneck / congestion is happening within their network and yet until today, "Is the bottleneck happen within you network?" question, has not been answered and is avoided till today.

Based on these statement, all related communication emails are still in my Gmail.  I would love to present it during the session.

There're a few things i plan to stress and to get a ETR (estimated time of resolution) and solid action from TMNET or MCMC.

- Browsing through International Sites.
- Network infrastructure (bottleneck issue)
- TMNET's call center and Field Operation competency
- Trace Route which seems to be "further blocked", (i've double-check with network engineers in US who's our counter part, the statement they made "there's no reason they should disable the trace route" and he agreed that unless the ISP has something to hide from us.
- TMNET's Best Effort Policy which TMNET's staff use as a "shield" whenever we drill to the root of the issues.
Should there be any category that we need to have TMNET sort it out.  Let's get it organized and categorized and please kindly list here or pm me then i'll prepare accordingly for the discussion.
I guess that had covered a lot of aspects...but i have a few questions to add if u don't mind.

1.The Cogent CO engineer found out that the bottleneck is WITHIN TM. The thing is, is the bottleneck done on purpose or is it because of an overwhelming amount of users? All of sudden from Mid-March or so our internet started to crawl and they issued the news that they were having "circuit faults?" on SMW3 cable. Since then it appears that our connection never improved even though they claimed the circuit fault was fixed,

This leaves me to wonder if there really is a fault with the cable. And i also dont believe all of a sudden in mid-March perhaps 1 Million users signed up for streamyx and bottleneck its network until now? Just wondering if we are looking at the right thing to complain.

2.I have strong reasons to believe that TM has a technology to control the routing/speed on a user-to-user or area-to-area basis, as after i complained to MCMC and PMO, it seems that my connection is getting back it's FULL speed on the SAME IP address. It was a huge change from that morning(slow) to evening(fast) on the same IP.

However this is not important, just that i have prove of the connection change which can be brought up later.

3. Best Effort and Fair Usage Policy need to be rewritten and MCMC has to put guidelines on those 2 policies. Best Effort? It seems like they are not even putting any effort. Fair Usage Policy? Fair to who? All of us are getting dial up speeds when we pay nearly a hundred a month, some even pay more. That has to be done so that we can achieve a long-term resolution to our crisis.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 9 2009, 11:15 AM
andrew9292
post May 9 2009, 01:23 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Quoting parts of the email

QUOTE(webdesignempire @ May 9 2009, 11:33 AM)
Now, we all know that TMNET has different customer base / group / classification namely "the normal user" who use dynamic IP and paying 66 / 88 bucks / month. And others who are fixed IP, IDSL and etc...  In one of the email replied by the BMC department, let me show you the funny explanation that doesn't make sense and furthermore, the BMC manager was taking a shortcut by troubleshooting at his preferred location instead of come to my office.  The funny things is, whenever we are facing slow browsing, i call their call center, they got no packet loss, connection is good. But on our side, the case is different and that time we were having 40-50% packet loss.

Both of the account have been tested from our site and there is no high latency or packet loss that may contribute to the said problem.

Please also be informed that we have tried to come out with the possible return trace from the above IP given to us - xxx.xxx.81.229.

The result as follows :
Query: trace
Addr: 124.13.63.100

6 58.27.106.209 324 msec 324 msec 324 msec
7 58.27.103.122 312 msec 308 msec 308 msec
8 58.27.103.33 312 msec 308 msec 312 msec

The above is the best option for the return trace as of today 6.00.pm (malaysian Time).Should we see the result closely, the max latency during return trace to TM (domestic) site is averaging at 350ms which is almost equal to another US benchmark site such as www.yahoo.com

result may differ from time to time because dynamic ip user will have different ip address every timenew PPP session is establish. That is why some users may have different experience[/b]. Anyway, fixed IP address usersmay have better opportunity to gain better connectivity.(depends on the prefered destination).Another issue raised was on email service used by customers. I would appreciate if you could furnish more info on thecomplainant. We will try to, at least isolate the issue and propose an alternative to minimize the impact tocustomer end.1) Streamyx login ID 2) email server name/IP/webserver/pop mail3) Technical support (from cust site)Thanks

----Me: Our site? (side) How can they do a test for an account from their side, doesnt make sense. If they can, why the results differ? (Sorry i'm not an expert in their systems)

----Me: As far as i know destination IP 58.27.103.33 is a local destination and pings to 58.27.103.33 should not exceed 25ms as a maximum, at the results we can see that is was at 308ms. TM is comparing it to www.yahoo.com, which is an international located site. Honestly should i laugh or cry to that?

Is he even qualified? If so, i believe many of us in LYN are even more qualified to work in TM.

Strangely as of today, some users in certain areas can browse web when other users are reporting in streamyx slowdown thread that they cant even access local content

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 9 2009, 01:24 PM
andrew9292
post May 9 2009, 06:55 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ May 9 2009, 02:38 PM)
I think you may be wrongly reading the traceroute.

The traceroute starts from LA (gi10-0.224.core01.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com).

The landing point in Malaysia is telecommalaysia.sjc03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.12.2). While 320ms++ is by no means wonderful, it isn't horrible either.

Sorry, my apologies. Now that i have re-read the email a few times, i get what it means.

Dear Ts this is a few issues u can bring up or take note,

1) Fair Usage Policy is an issue, fair usage to who? 4Mbps users get full speed with 218 ip address and all other home based packages claim speeds of less than 20% of subscribed rate. Fair to 4Mbps only? TM will strive to improve the condition of its services(press will release this)

2) Speed is on Best Effort Basis, so TM's best effort is 20% of subscribed rate when Malaysians pay more than most other broadband users in other developed countries. Are the people in TM qualified to run TM? Can TM's current infrastructure actually support all of it's users? Why is it since March the connection worsen and doesn't improve since. Was TM aware? Is TM going to address this issue? When will it be resolved? What steps are taken that will rectify the issue and how long?(press will release this)

In my humble opinion, those two policies have to be reviews, as all of us know TM will push the blame to Fair Usage Policy claiming that the speed we are getting is because of the distribution of speed among users. [Its as if TM only has a 3 lane highway, yet it is inviting more cars (users) and bigger cars or trucks (4Mbps users) to their highway] They can also push the blame to Best Effort Basis saying that is the best that they can do and that TM is only to provide internet access and has no control over international linking.

3) MCMC has to impose new guidelines on their quality and consistency of service as well as the maximum down-time allowed.(USA's broadband uptime is almost 99%) In Malaysia, week after week there will be a service interruption notice on TM's site. That is for consistency. Quality would be for speed as we all know. (In certain cases, even if pings are acceptable and no PL, the download rates still do not pass 5kbps) TM has to be responsible for international speeds, at least to a certain extent. (press will update public on this new guidelines)

4) TM has been doing a "penipuan besar" will TM refund its customers for the almost unusable internet since March? (Yes, BIG LIE. Make them feel bad, its also a good slap on their face but u must have evidence that shows so) (if they rebate, press will release, if they dont, press will not say anything i guess)

This isnt so simple, i think this will be a closed and controlled discussion, alot of initial props must be done so that neither parties will be at a losing end (TM wont let that happen) and a solution can come about for all users. Of course, if u plan to mention the issues above, do it in your own proper fashion biggrin.gif Reading it out my way will be really really harmful.
andrew9292
post May 9 2009, 10:25 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(siukeong7888 @ May 9 2009, 09:28 PM)
Exactly what i trying to tell u guys on my 1st post ( which being said that i'm stupid and discouraging ppl sad.gif ) but only i'm lazy to type so long tongue.gif
I'm so sorry siu keong, this streamyx thing is going crazy and i let it got into me. It's my anger at that moment... I sincerely apologize to u. I need anger management and probably yoga. streamyx should sponsor biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

We just have to do what we can, money does not come easy, everyone knows that (except the rich brats!) tongue.gif And i believe that paying RM99/88/77 a month(a few months now) for a service that is barely usable can NEVER be accepted. And also many people like TS need the connection daily as it revolves around his business. . . . . .

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 9 2009, 10:34 PM
andrew9292
post May 10 2009, 12:19 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Guys watch your language! No wonder you people cant complain to MCMC or Prime Minister Office, u don't even speak well mannered English. Please, this can be considered a very high profile case and its very likely that this thread and others are being monitored closely. There is enough cursing in extreme slowdown thread. Speaking like a lalazhai (kampung boy) does not help us at all. In fact it will degrade out status.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 10 2009, 12:20 PM
andrew9292
post May 11 2009, 12:28 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ May 11 2009, 12:58 AM)
One point to note is that customer internet behavior has changed, most subscribers will feel that they are paying for dedicated leased line and demand for heavy download and torrent at full speed, anything lower than the subscribed speed is considered as slow connection.

I do not believe TM can change to become a charity company to provide dedicated leased line for everyone to perform torrenting and P2P.
A lot of points you are missing here. We start off with examples,

Okay, water, we use water, everyone does. Alright, every drop of water that comes out from your tap, u will pay for it as it goes through a meter that someone from the water company of your respective area will take it's readings and charge u accordingly. If the pipe breaks somewhere or the water pressure is low, you wont use as much water and you will pay less. If there is an outage of service, u wont even need to pay as u did not get to use the service at all. U get my point here? U are paying for what is delivered to you and based how much of water u have used.

Same goes with electricity, u use it, u pay. U use it MORE, u pay MORE. If you dont get to enjoy electricity due to outages or so, you wont need to pay for that amount of time you did not get to enjoy the usage. We pay streamyx a fixed rate, one of the most expensive broadband rates in the world...yet.

Another example, Toll/Highway. Tell me, do you pay to use the Federal Highway(KL/PJ vice versa) or LDP highway (Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong) or MRR2 etc etc. NO. WHY? Because these roads get jammed everyday during peak hours. And the traffic can be considered SLOW MOVING throughout the day IF you are required to pay to use those roads, you will only pay because that is your ONLY OPTION.
How about the North South highway? U collect a ticket at the staring of you journey, u enjoy a fast journey and you are charged at your exit point. You are charged based on how far you go. Yes, N/S highway gets jammed during the rush back days for festive seasons but its just a ONE-OFF event. Not daily like what we are facing with Streamyx.

Buying a computer? U spend RM1000 u get a computer barely enough for daily usage. U spend RM5000 u can get a computer that can do wonders. U get what u paid for.

------

We are paying RM77/88 or more each month, for a service that is not even useable for international browsing, and now even local browsing is affected. We Malaysians pay one of the highest rate compared to other developed countries for broadband service. We do understand TM is new in this, TM has to charge high rates to cover costs of its infrastructure and for future upgrades, but where has all our money gone? We are paying for a service that is almost unuseable for someone to take our money and enjoy his life?

p2p? they did a very good job at throttling p2p and are still doing a very good job in throttling p2p. But instead, since March, we are get a connection that is barely useable even for browsing. U think TM cant change as it will become charity? With a slap in your face, WE are the ones doing big charity my friend!

TM is a Government Linked Company, a GLC. It's Southeast Asia's second-largest telecommunication company. It is representing Malaysia in providing these kind of services. Tell me, many ppl have reported low built quality of Proton cars such as the new Saga. Immediatly we will think what is the goverment doing? A GLC, a National Car-maker can produce such a low quality car. What about Perodua? The new Nautica that is overpriced? Myvi's built quality isnt that good too. But why we are not paying attention to that? Perodua is not a GLC, its private so we dont give a damn as the government cant do anything about it either.

In TM case, we have a goverment body, MCMC to look after these things but they are not doing their job at all. If P1 wimax was our only national provider and they are a private company, we cant do anything either.

What we are doing will also help TM in the future, many of us are losing trust in TM, soon when there is another alternative as good as TM, i can safely say that about 35% of it's users will switch immediately.
As u can see in the recent elections (not trying to promote anyone) Barisan National loss majority of its votes becase that was an alternative that would make a difference. If TM does not reslove its issues now, in the future they will suffer when the people have an alternative.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 11 2009, 12:31 PM
andrew9292
post May 11 2009, 06:11 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Nice work, hopefully the discussion will take place. U'll have this community's full support ; )

------------------------------------------

List of Ministers and Deputy Ministers (and email addresses) for the reference of users who would like to complain to higher authorities.
http://www.pmo.gov.my/?menu=cabinet&page=1797
http://www.pmo.gov.my

Feedback to PM (requires registration)
http://www3.pmo.gov.my/emaklum/PMFeedback.nsf/logv1?openform

BIRO PENGADUAN AWAM - JABATAN PERDANA MENTERI
http://www.bpa.jpm.my/

MCMC - Suruhanjaya Komunikasi & Multimedia Malaysia (complain button is on the right)
http://aduan.skmm.gov.my/
OR
Alternatively: aduanskmm@cmc.gov.my

andrew9292
post May 28 2009, 12:37 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(webdesignempire @ May 27 2009, 11:24 PM)
Well, there's some "inconvenient truth" involved and i do not really wanna discuss it over here.  The reason why i do not wanna mention it over here is because, this particular matter has alot of "grey grounds".  Anyone touches this portion without solid prove which lies within their network, will may be, the worst case, be sued (if TMNET really want to).

The rest of the answers which you may find it, it will be in the video.  I'll make a decision whether or how to publish the video after meet up with MCMC.

Inconvenient truth huh? What? TM returned 3.5Billion Ringgit to its investor and went "oops" that's a little too much, we shall start eating bread from now on (cut cost) biggrin.gif

I think u forgot your main purpose since you started this, looking back, u said that u will find out what is going on in TM and tell us about it and get a resolution to the problem. Now u are hiding things that TM is hiding behind us... Please.

Many people here need your help/u are helping many people here...Did TM think for us when they give us this level of service? Why are you thinking in their interest? U should just return the favor. Please dont hide anything from us, its very fustrating to know that u know something we dont and you wont let us know about it. So if TM gives u corruption money, you will just keep it between youselves and not let us know right?

Your meet up with MCMC is still very long, can you provide more details on what TM is proposing to do and about the "good news" and "inconvenient truth"

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 28 2009, 12:42 AM
andrew9292
post May 28 2009, 12:58 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ May 28 2009, 12:41 AM)
Again, I'm sorry to say this. Maybe you are seeing this from a different angle than I am. That is ok. As far as I am concerned, TM already knows about all the issues you brought up. Surely its not the first time they are hearing it from you. My hope was that they would actually give some solid answers or explanations rather than excuses. They have not done that. Waiting for answer does us no good at this time. They should have come prepared with solid answers.
I'm not quite sure what you mean above. But I take it that they had said things that you were told or not allowed to repeat to the public. If so, they would have mentioned those things to you to keep you satisfied but they are not willing to publically admit to those things.
Exactly, we all very well know TM and it's operating style all this while. What makes TS think that they are really looking into the matter.

1.Thousands call them through customer support, they say they will treat with Top Priority and get it done ASAP. In the end.... Lesson learned: Not trustworthy

2.I and some of my friends have dealt with higher ranks of TM customer support even Shamsul and Aziz of customer relation, and also a few guys in technical department. I can say out of 7 people they promise to rectify issues, only ME, the lucky one, was given 218.111.X ip address. Others are facing similar connections as the whole Malaysia is facing. And me, using 218ip address, which is also used by 4mbit users, is giving us full speed. Yes i admit, we are getting full speed. (If after this post there is a slowdown with 218.111, we very well know who is behind it)
Lesson learned: Not trustworthy

3.They have been giving us this sort of connection (to thousands of streamyx users) since late February till now (3 solid months) and they have been giving excuses of "planned maintainence" without any explanation of the nationwide slowdown. In other words, they have been cheating us. If i have not mistaken, there is a law/condition which allows us to bring Anti Corruption Agency to investigate them. I will check with my friends who have more knowledge on that field about it. By bringing ACA in, u can say it's almost guaranteed we will get our speed back and TM will pee in their pants.
Lesson learned: Not trustworthy

4.TM also told me that they, as that time of that call to me from TM was made, they told me that they are currently putting measures that will give a long term resolution to the problem. I ask back, may i know what are the steps being taken? He told me, that does not matter to me, as it is for a long term resolution, and there will be a " GOOD NEWS" but for now, the technical team has done something to my account ( 218.111 ip address assignment) and requires me to disconnect and reconnect account. I was like, you tak mahu beritahu apa u buat untuk long term, janganlah bagitau saya. U want to say that u are putting measures but when i ask you about what is measures being done and what is the good news...u say u cant tell me. Might else well dont say it at all. (CENSOR) never teach u the art of communicating kah?! Betul tak MR.XXX? LOL
Lesson learned: Not trustworthy, What comes out from mouth never goes through head

If u want me to list down all TM's actions that prove their un-trustworthy-ness it will be about a page full i think. What i want TS to see is that do not take TM's words like an adult giving u a sweet when u were young. What TM has done so far, has cost them the trust of all their streamyx customers. I hope TS realizes that.

Also, may their Allah deal with them when their time comes.

And, god bless TS and his family and friends. Thanks for getting us this far smile.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 28 2009, 01:36 AM
andrew9292
post May 28 2009, 01:41 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ May 28 2009, 01:22 AM)
I don't think you are going to be too popular with webdesignempire  with such comments. I don't think I too am going to be too popular with webdesignempire with my posts either....

I too want to point out to webdesignempire  that when you started this, you said you would demand for answer, you would not let them get away easily etc etc ... to that effect.
Yeah, i think we should give him a time off.

I know i sound pressurizing and unhappy, that is because i have, u can say almost been in the same situation with him.

They might give u things like compensation and better ip address and lower your pings times, better routing etc etc hoping to satisfy you, like what they did with me, although i'm in KL, my connection is routed through a proxy in Penang. Also, remember that TM is a large cooperate company, they might solve your problem but in the end, they will just tell you that every slowdown case has to be treated on a report to report, on a user to user basis, like what they told me too.

I too was fighting for all the streamyx users, but once they were firm that they can only solve the problem on a user to user basis, i got stuck there and had no choice but to accept it.

I was also told by TM and MCMC that i will be informed of a close meeting between streamyx users with TM and another meeting with MCMC in earlier stages of my complaint. But in the end, the meeting happened, and no streamyx users were invited.
Another example of their untrustworthyness.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 28 2009, 01:45 AM
andrew9292
post Jun 10 2009, 01:50 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Did not check this forum for a while, and so much had happened. Reading back the last few pages, it's TM's usual style. All those that have dealt with them will know it. This below is a quote of what they said to me last time when i was complaining. Excuses that dont make sense. Throughout the email there was not even a single hint that a cable fault had occurred. Basic psychology, if there was a recent cable fault at that time, they would have included in the email as one of the possibilities...

Referring to your e-mail dated 24th April 2009 on your Streamyx connection issue, the inconvenience you have experienced is regretted. However, in response to the complaint, we would like to clarify that the TM Streamyx service provided is based on ?best effort? basis.

A ?best effort? service means that we are unable to offer any throughput guarantees or a 100% of the subscribed speed. However, at TM , we consistently strive to do our best to provide our customers with the fastest connection within the allowance of their set-up or individual conditions. The technology used for our Streamyx is based on ADSL running through copper wires, which does not allow us to guarantee the throughput speed. According to the Mandatory Standards for Quality of Service as determined by the Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) i.e. at least 90% of the subscribed speed should be provided to subscribers.

We would like to assure you that TM is doing our best to comply within the 'best-effort' benchmark of 90% throughput.

We wish to inform you that actual connection speeds are also dependant on various factors. The different parts of the Internet network do contribute to your overall online experience, such as your computer?s hardware specifications and performance, modem, internal telephone cabling, local loop, Point-of-Presence (PoP), Internet traffic, international connectivity, etc.

The connection also varies according to the distance and condition of the telephone wires connecting your house to the nearest TM exchange. The speed will encounter a deterioration over the distance between your computer to the TM Exchange. Another common factor is the Internet traffic; dependant on which websites or Internet services you are using, which may be routed locally or overseas.

If a Web site has particularly high traffic at the time you are trying to access it, your slow connection speed could be the fault of the Web site. When too many people are trying to connect to the websites at the same time, it will congest the network that affects the connection speed going through.

Depending on website that you browse, some of websites can be found slow to be accessed due to security reason (such as firewall) and traffic management in avoiding DDOS (Distributed-Denial of Service) attack.

The "style" is very simillar to what TS received. Well u have to think in their point of view too, those people you met can be considered the lower levels of the higher levels. They are not the ones who have a say on what the company should do or not. They are just a "firewall' or shall i say..they are dogs used by TM to shield the higher levels.

Your next move is MCMC? Correct? I humbly think that MCMC would not help you much. When my Maxis broadband last time had frequent connectivity/downtime problems, MCMC helped solve the problem in a blink of an eye. Looking at the broader picture, every time there a problem with an ISP that is not TM, MCMC seems to be very effective. BUT. Whenever it comes to TM-related problems, MCMC takes their time and goes easy. I believe that TM has an understanding with MCMC already, they are "kawans(friends)" with each other, get what i mean. I'm pretty sure that many TM users have gone to MCMC for help also, but still to date, we see no firm action from MCMC on the overall issue.

Hmm...if you (TS) are thinking of proceeding to go further on this matter, i humbly advice you to skip MCMC. Yeah, you could go to MCMC and take the issue up with them, but you have to tell them that they are not you last option, tell them that you would walk into the prime minister's office department if they are not doing their job. Tell them that this issue is so wide that it is a nationwide CRISIS. Tell them that if they are not going to solve the problem, you will bring Anti-Corruption Agency to investigate on MCMC as there seems to be some elements of TM-MCMC "agreements" as it seems that MCMC is not serious with TM.

After dealing with MCMC and doing that, i can humbly say that 70% chances you will see a difference. But if MCMC turns you down, you will have no choice to go further and deal with PMO, you will have to from Streamyx Special Interest Groups etc etc and be ready to take on a lot of heat.

What i'm trying to say is, the friendly-brotherly approach will not be effective, i'm pretty sure that MCMC knows all the issues we are discussing about, but they have done nothing so far to TM. Which leads us to believe that MCMC = TM's "friend".

Yeah it sounds like war, but i believe, if you want to make a difference, you will have to go through that. OR. You can skip MCMC and go to PMO. OR. You can just stop here. No one will blame you, you have gone this far already for us, the problem lies with this country's management and all the past government that gives "special powers" to their "own people". That is why we are in this kind of situation now.

So yeah i humbly suggest that you should rethink about this, the soft and friendly approach is not effective anymore, you will have to take a lot of heat if u continue. But seriously what you have done for the community is really really...great...i cant find a right word to describe it. All i could do is give a million thanks for you for us from us. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

Yours truly,
Andrew

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 10 2009, 03:03 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 10 2009, 10:06 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(MingKAI @ Jun 10 2009, 09:36 PM)
No, it's not surprise when they capped you higher than the package you subscribed. Especially when you complain your speed is lower than 90%, then they will automatically "upgrade" you another 512kbps.

Anyway, I just found out that, after 2 months of my complaint to TM/MCMC to request 60.48 ip, they now totally remove it LOL. Now I only can connect to 118 and 115, who said they cant control it? GOOD JOB TM!
they can control routing on a user to user or area to area basis. if your 118 ip is good, doesnt mean that others are as good as yours
andrew9292
post Jun 12 2009, 01:17 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(webdesignempire @ Jun 12 2009, 01:06 PM)
Some updates.

Meeting with MCMC is re-schedule it to this coming 15th or 16th June due to the director's busy schedule.  I believe he's busy as i tried to get hold of him via his secretary several times during follow ups, unfortunately he running from meetings to meetings.  He has good "track records" as when i leave message, he or Saiful called back.

Seems to be a good sign out of the wary Streamyx situation.  I'll provide further updates when i have more.
biggrin.gif If I were him I'd have to be nice too... because if you were to go to PMO, I'll be in trouble! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Smile is the key~~~~eheh jokes jokes...chill

Tonight there will be major network core upgrades in TM until tomorrow morning, lets see what happens after the upgrades. I pray to god that the upgrades have something to do with AAG which will benefit us.

Office users say their internet is very fast. But do they actually need the speed? Eg. A lawyer firm mostly sends email, check websites etc etc, low bandwidth usage. TM is giving them full line capacity/capability and i think it will be under utilized, correct me if i'm wrong. Total wastage.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 12 2009, 01:30 PM

0.0321sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:37 PM