QUOTE(jordan86 @ May 24 2009, 10:33 PM)
After read the FFF and save the dog blogs, really feel sad..... Why ppl want to buy dog but dun wan take good care of them? Haiz..... May God bless the doggies and also those ppl who doing the volunteer job. 
I want to ask if I want to go there and help how to apply? But im not free in every weekend, just some only. So you guys just go to FFF and help but not the pulau? And also let me know how the group go there and what time back? Thanks
My humble suggestion is that volunteers go to the FFF. It is a dog sanctuary. The environment is ideal for 99% of the volunteers.I want to ask if I want to go there and help how to apply? But im not free in every weekend, just some only. So you guys just go to FFF and help but not the pulau? And also let me know how the group go there and what time back? Thanks
Note that Hell's island is a hostile environment.
1. Depending on the sea condition, Getting there itself is more than 30min boat ride (Approx RM300 return trip - money better used to buy food for FFF animals)
2. The only place to disembark is a privately owned fish-kelong. The owner's permission MUST be sought before you get onto his property. The workers there are NOT the owners. They will get into trouble if the Boss found out that they allowed many strangers to poke around.
3. There is no way, you can land on a decent patch of 'beach' with the ferry boat. There is no beach. This is a blackish swamp. The mangroves grow right to the sea. Plus landing is only possible during low tide.
4. From the rescue base/kelong, if you want to swim to the island, You MUST be a good swimmer. The Hell's island is just at the river mouth opening to the Straits of Melaka. Therefore the cross current is very strong.
5. Once you are in the water, and near to the mangroves, you must look out snakes. There are plenty of them. Poisonous? You bet they are!
6. There is NO guarantee that you can rescue any dog while you are already 1 foot deep in mud. Out of the sticky mud, the mangrove roots will also hamper your movement. You will trip and fall, before you can even grab a dog, if he allows you to, that is! There you have to look out for snakes overhanging the branches too!
Yes, ladies & gentlemen, this is hostile environ. Better not put your lives at risk OR hamper those who are knowledgeable or more adaptable to such hostile environ. Your voluntary efforts are appreciated...but please do not endanger your life along the way.
Last thing the rescuers need is a blursotong volunteer getting him/herself hurt and bad publicity will force the authorities to maybe impose more restrictive rules, in situ.
thank you.
hMx-agoin!!!!!!!!
May 25 2009, 12:16 PM

0.0231sec