The CoolerMaster League V7, STORM has arrived...

MeToo
post Jun 8 2009, 01:15 PM

9,338 posts

Guys.. I need some advice on fan placement for my CM Scout casing.

Currently :
Front - Inflow - Stock
Top - Outflow - Stock
Rear - Outflow - Stock
Side (upper) - Outflow - 120mm CM fan

With my current setup, I can feel warm air coming out form the upper side fan, but I only feel very little air coming out from the top/rear fan.

I'm going to mount an additional 120mm CM Fan on the Side (lower) and was thinking of putting it "Inflow". To address the lack of air going in problem?

I'm using stock cooling for my AMD 810, and stock fan for 4890 as well.

Appreciate any tips!

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 8 2009, 01:16 PM
MeToo
post Jun 8 2009, 02:21 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(shyghost @ Jun 8 2009, 01:53 PM)
My first choice was TX2 actually till i accidently met zalman. From the top of hsf till the side fan clearance about 20mm.

Attention scout owners... Any tower hsf be it low profile or not will make your side panel fan redundant/useless (in-flow or out-flow close to the flat top of hsf tower kinda useless imho)  laugh.gif However, i would like to hear another POV. Another choice would be a hsf with the fan blowing to the mobo...
Thanks for all the input.. I new to this "add fan to casing thingamajig".

Bro Shy, if side fan for Scout useless.. summore you put until 2? tongue.gif

ps : The reason I buy scout is 1) Haf922 not out yet (ya ya I miss it by 2 days, butt itchy) and 2) I love the front panel that's angled at 45 deg. Very convenient.
MeToo
post Jun 8 2009, 02:36 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(shyghost @ Jun 8 2009, 02:31 PM)
Aiya... I also very new to this fan "thingamajig" but just recently i upgraded to scout and encounter the problem. So share my experience... Less headache for others... Hahaha....  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif

I able to install two side fan because my clearance between the cpu hsf and side fan is 20mm and summore my cpu hsf is not a flat top... My 10cents to others is to install the hsf that blow to the mobo... so u have inlet on the side blowing in and mutiple by the fan blowing to the mobo.... Err... But how about the airflow inside eh???  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Well.. my CPU only AMD 810.. not OC.. so I dont think got heat problem kua. I install the side fan upper outflow and lower inflow under the "idea" that cool air should flow in from bottom and hot air get sucked out from top.. apparently I was wrong. sweat.gif
MeToo
post Jun 8 2009, 05:02 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Gray Fox X @ Jun 8 2009, 04:54 PM)
Hmm how to create? Is there any guide on some websites to teach me that u guys can recommend?
Just find some kinda thin foam that is not too dense, and stick it there. Can also use N95 face mask, that one better cannot get SARS. But seriously any kinda of material also can, if cheap enuf can throw every month or so.

ps : I personally use my GF's old panty hose, cut it up and stick it on.. great filter, change every month or so. Also Brown/Black colour makes it invisible in my Scout casing.

MeToo
post Jun 8 2009, 05:43 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Gray Fox X @ Jun 8 2009, 05:29 PM)
Of all the things, must you really use old panty....  doh.gif
Hmm like that I just need maybe I can use old T-shirts, cut it to those size and stick with tapes I assume.
It's panty HOSE lah bro.... where got people use old panties sweat.gif

Serious leh... the netlike material is really suitable...
MeToo
post Jun 8 2009, 06:05 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Jun 8 2009, 05:52 PM)
no need use pantyhose la
if u do check my blog, i did use a car shade for fan filter @ my mom's rig
it works!
car shade costs like RM5 for a set of 2
Pantyhose free mah... and sexier wub.gif
MeToo
post Jun 12 2009, 09:55 AM

9,338 posts

Um.. is it me or does the stock top exhaust fan that comes with the Storm Scout casing is kinda low cfm? I can hardly feel the air coming out when compared to my side fan (the CM RM30 ones).

ps : Or is the speed internally controlled and it's going at really low speed since my systems kinda cool? whistling.gif

pps : CPU 47c at 90%+ load for all 4 core and GPU at around 60~65c

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jun 12 2009, 09:57 AM
MeToo
post Jun 12 2009, 05:17 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(trinityz @ Jun 12 2009, 01:18 PM)
scout user reporting!  biggrin.gif

Bro... did you mod the top fan? Mine... can hardly feel the airflow...

QUOTE(Koki @ Jun 12 2009, 10:43 AM)
@MeToo
is the fan the big sized 200mm ones?
Stock Scout top fan is 40mm I think... correct me if I'm wrong...
MeToo
post Jun 13 2009, 01:05 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 13 2009, 12:51 PM)
Why did CM nominate the side fan to be intake? It became much cooler with the side fan converted to be exhaust. Proven on CM590 and CM690 that runs loaded 100% 24/7.
I did that with my Scout and as a result... hardly any air comes out from the top/rear fan anymore.. all got sucked out by my side fans liao doh.gif (until now I thinking of putitng 1 as intake (blow my gpu) and the other as exhaust)

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jun 13 2009, 12:59 PM)
if side fan is on top of proc's hsf better put as intake, provided ur hsf is stock hsf.
I had thought of putting both side fans to blow my GPU and CPU respectively.. but worried they will become dust magnets... my room too dusty ler.. everyday must wipe my table otherwise got layer of dust..
MeToo
post Jun 18 2009, 06:16 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Jun 18 2009, 06:07 PM)
ya
he earns rm10-rm20 only
I also tempted to buy form him a few times.. but worried about warranty/rma issues...
MeToo
post Jun 19 2009, 07:31 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(mvck1030 @ Jun 19 2009, 05:07 PM)
can i ask which 1 is better?

CM690 Pure Black and HAF922?

This two casing is good and pretty!

what would you guy going to pick?

I am attract by the pure black 690, but haf922 since very nice looking and new!

Pls all bros giv some advice, thanks!
Personally prefer the HAF922, but reading up on the casing when I bought my Scout, I woudl say both 690 and 933 are more or less on par performance wise. These mid levels casing, majority of the concern should be looks anyway. If you liek the look, buy it tongue.gif

ps : Both dust magnets
MeToo
post Jun 20 2009, 11:24 AM

9,338 posts

Bros, I need help/advice.

I'm using a Storm Scout casing.

Previously I put an extra 120mm CM fan on the side panel (top) suckign the air out of the casing. Everything was ok, but after getting advice here, I agreed that side panel should blow IN (help cool my gpu).

So yesterday I swap the fan to blowing IN and put it at the lower part of the side panel. Now, I noticed there is a whirring sound, is this because the fan's blowing in instead?

Any of you have experience with Scout casing side fan creating more noise when blowing the air IN then compared to when sucking it OUT?

Fan's new, used less then 1 month.

Any advice would be appreaciated!
MeToo
post Jun 21 2009, 12:21 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(shyghost @ Jun 20 2009, 11:31 AM)
Try powering up fan without attaching it to your side panel to determine whether the whirring sound comes from the fan or not. If the fan is silent probably ur mouting from fan to side panel need a washer or something... Or maybe your side panel is not screw tightly therefore generates a whirring sound when the fan operates...

Maybe the other sifus can help you better...

I'm a beginner...  sweat.gif

My two side panel has no whirring sound or I'm deaf from all the gaming blast...  doh.gif
Tried yoru advice and no sound anymore. I putting my hand over the side grill of my Scout to reduce the airflow of the fan.. and no more sound. So it's definitely the sound of air being such into the casing thru the side panel. doh.gif

Anyone elese mounting side fans blowing IN to their Scout (lower slot) experience the same whirring sound created by airflow? Loud leh.. my GF also complain.

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 20 2009, 12:00 PM)
Hi, what system/spec you have? i7?
Phenom II 810, I position my fan there mostly to help cool the 4890 cause I use stock fans..

0.2784sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:05 PM