Speaker cables, where to get decent cheap one
milo-o
Jul 14 2009, 09:45 PM
All sifus, i'm thinking of upgrading my speaker cables (currently using cheap cheap one bought from normal electrical shop) for my HT setup. Visited Futureshop and interested in QED SA XT for front + center speaker (2m pair terminated with banana plug), and QED SR-SW for subwoofer. yet to decide on surround speakers which are around 40ft's length away. How do we know the gauge from the technical specs when sometimes it doesnt show exactly the #gauge. Budget around RM500-RM700 without surround speakers cables cuz due to budget constraint thinking of upgrading those later. I dun mind to share in bulk order. Pls recommend. Tks all sifus' advises in advance!
P/S: what's the difference between QED SA XT & QED SA XT Bi-wire??
This post has been edited by milo-o: Jul 14 2009, 10:12 PM
milo-o
Jul 14 2009, 11:22 PM
Tks bro. Still got a lot to learn from, but the lessions are getting more and more expensive now
milo-o
Jul 15 2009, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(shuttersyok @ Jul 14 2009, 11:43 PM) just get the biggest, most pretty cable you can afford...size does matter! brand does not... sure bo? then i shall go to wiring shop to buy oredi, instead of AV shop or futureshop
milo-o
Jul 15 2009, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(shuttersyok @ Jul 15 2009, 11:41 AM) when i was in ICE, heated argument all around abt cables...we even do a blind test..all cannot hear the different..la... we even do a blind test to determine a balance speaker vs a non balance speakers...abt 0.3 ohm difference...no body can hear the difference la..... we also do a blind test for a RM1500/m cable vs a RM 60/m cable running on Mark levinson system...in the end the ugly RM 1500/m was returned..for your info..the whole system cost 1.2m if you put in a oscilloscope to measure all the cables, you will find bigger has less resistance compare to small ones...but my argument was: Can you here this difference? anyone want to organized a blind test? so just get the smallest awg cable that you can fit and afford. I am all for good big power cord...cos...less resistance less heat and chances of caught fire is less..hahaha...and amp works best if the correct amt of amp is supplied to it.... to certain extent, i agree with u bro. speaker cables are kinda funny things, when u have spent few thousand $ or even tens of thousand $ in your AV setup, u really feel like spending few hundreds on cables is very petty, and only with those cables the setup is 'complete', regardless if the cables really have significant effect. To me personally, it's some kinda psychology effect. But afterall, i will still spend those $
milo-o
Jul 16 2009, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jul 16 2009, 12:02 AM) No disrespect to your opinion, but i'm using psb symphony speakers which costs 15k per pair but i'm sticking with my rm2xx per 50m roll of speaker cable. sounds excellent no matter what cable i use on em, weather it is cheapo cable or good quality 12awg/14awg rm1xx per meter cable. my rule is, if you have the money, invest in better speaker rather than that pathetic cable. putting a continental gt tyre on a pathetic ride will not make it faster than a modena with a normal tyre isn't it? like what i mentioned earlier, investing in speaker cables is kinda psychological effect, some people may feel more comfortable with 'better' cables, but of course 'better' is very subjective and depends on individual's perception. Some may feel like RM10/m cable is good enough (better than cap ayam cable anyway lar), some may go for really high end one. Better cables prone to provide improvement, however, the question is...does the price justify the improvement? Investing RM2k, for instance, in cable or rather top up that sum in better speakers, very subjective and i think there will be never-ending debate over the issue. What say u guys? This post has been edited by milo-o: Jul 16 2009, 12:46 AM
milo-o
Jul 16 2009, 01:37 AM
i think to be more precise, we tend to upgrade our cables for improvement, not for difference right? difference doesn't mean better, it might be worse! what we should be discussing here is 'does better cables give improved sound quality', rather than 'does different cable give different sound quality'. for the later question perhaps i should answer Yes (to some experts i believe they could hear the very subtle difference, but not me hehe), but for the first question, again, it is very subjective This post has been edited by milo-o: Jul 16 2009, 01:43 AM
milo-o
Jul 16 2009, 02:02 AM
that's why i said some ppl (including me as well) upgrade cables due to psychological effect, better cables = better sound?? if u can hear the differences, then how do u judge wether it is better or worse? This post has been edited by milo-o: Jul 16 2009, 02:06 AM