INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

prasys
post Oct 17 2009, 03:45 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I just let my GeForce 8600GT handle all my 1080p movies.As for 720p , my Pentium D (aka 2x Pentium 4) can still handle pretty well. For 1080p , its best to let the GPU to handle

Pentium D can take H.264 pretty well for 720p. When it comes to 1080p , it starts to cry like a baby. I guess its not bad for a lousy Pentium 4 !
prasys
post Oct 17 2009, 04:01 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 17 2009, 03:48 PM)
how do you let your GPU handle it?
MPC Home Cinema

you must be using NVIDIA GeForce 8 series and above , not quite sure for ATI users

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Oct 17 2009, 03:52 PM)
this is just an observation of mine

the same video , if i decode and recode it to a bigger file size results in something that i can actually play

a 45GB movie can be played even on a p3, lol biggrin.gif
after converting this down and retaining its attributes to 12GB, totally cant play liao, lol biggrin.gif
Depends , if its uncompresssed even my Pentium III can handle HD movies. H.264 is a compressed format , if you let it to be RAW , pretty much these CPUs can handle it
prasys
post Nov 1 2009, 10:37 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Hmm kinda happy with Pentium D. I was testing NFS Shift Demo. It did a pretty good job with GeForce 8600GT (OC'ed a bit) and Pentium D 3.0Ghz . I am playing Medium (on all settings except for Texture which is set to high) , 2x AA and 2x AF @ 1280x1024. I am getting around 24-30fps. Sometimes it can go as low as 15fps - overall its smooth.
prasys
post Nov 1 2009, 10:45 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 1 2009, 10:43 PM)
@prasys,nice to hear that Pentium D 3.0 with 8600GT still able to handle NFS Shift so nicely with AA and AF on. I think our Pentium 4 with signle core only will have a hard time to handle this Shift. wink.gif
I'll try to see what happens when I disable one of the cores , as Pentium D without another core , would behave exactly as Pentium 4 of its kind. I'll benchmark and test it out if its playable at all - which I think it should be possible
prasys
post Dec 3 2009, 02:02 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Dec 3 2009, 01:24 PM)
Guys, p4 2.66ghz, is it powerful enough to use with geforce 7600gt? btw, what is the best agp GC that I can buy for my ancient pc?
I think ati produces the 3 series to ge agp and some of the 4 series to get AGP. You gotta check , 7600GT is kinda old , get some 3xxx series which I think has DirectX 10 (i could be wrong)
prasys
post Dec 19 2009, 10:24 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Dec 19 2009, 02:44 AM)
@edmin,the min. requirement to support AERO effects would be FX5900 right?
FX5200 is needed or ATI 9550

These cards are DX 9 enabled cards and they do support Shader version 2.0
prasys
post Jan 5 2010, 12:09 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 4 2010, 11:34 PM)
IS Huntkey brand really that reliable? It is a better unit that Cooler Master extreme power?
For something which is cheap and offers lot of Power. Something is a miss

I've heard lots of horror stories with Huntkey

0.0432sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:33 PM