University Polytechnics United, Polytechnic student official thread
Huey_nee
Jan 28 2010, 10:09 PM
Hi. Ex Politeknik Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah (Shah Alam) JKE diploma student reporting in. Graduated from poli in 2005, worked in a medical company for 15 months, now studying degree in Universiti Malaysia Perlis, will graduate this May *finger crossed*
Huey_nee
Jun 27 2010, 05:12 PM
I just got this info from a Prof in Unimap. Apparently, UniMAP has signed a contract with politeknik to make sure 20% of poli student can enter unimap. Some Uni do so too, but most of other uni will only take up about 10% or less. So you do the math. The purpose of establishment of K.U. (Kolej Universiti) is to take students with the technical background (with diploma etc), but due to the 'commercialization', we have been left out once again. But, don't feel disappointed. Most of the KU-upgrade University are more than willing to accept poli student. The fact is, 40% of the top scorers in Unimap are the ex-diploma student. Kindly feel good about that (I am  )
Huey_nee
Apr 25 2011, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(Irzani @ Apr 19 2011, 02:14 AM) Luck play an important role here. One time, even 3.6 do not successful into the research universities, but another intake, even people with no inside cable, no extra curricular activity, 3.1x or 3.2x got their chances in the first intake. Beating out other good candidates with CGPA more than 3.5. Sometimes, it quite funny with the way they handle the intakes. It depends on the mood and the stupid knowledge of the officer. yes, very very agree
Huey_nee
Dec 7 2011, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(ghodul @ Dec 6 2011, 10:26 AM) Which polytechnic and courses did you refer to? All MOHE Polytechnics got accreditation from MQA and also JPA... One of the main reason why they are limited slots for ex-dip is, the gov wanna produce more semi-pro in the industries. They give space for Matrix and STPM bcoz they have nothing. Meanwhile for ex-dip, they still have a diploma, so can work and earn money. If you really wanna pursue degree, try to apply Technical-based uni such ass UTeM, UniMAP and others. Research-based uni like UM, UKM, USM, and UPM rarely entertain ex-poly application. To strengthen your chance, try to score MUET band 3 and above...I doubt that. My MUET band 4, CGPA 3.7, UM still shut their door on me. It's like a random pick in terms of UPU application for Degree, regardless of your results. But still, I'm still ok since I got my first choice course, just not the first choice uni; pity my coursemates from matrix and stpm who kena 'kick' into the so-called random course
Huey_nee
Dec 19 2011, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(ghodul @ Dec 8 2011, 09:04 AM) Polytechnic students wanna go UM? No chance at all. Polytechnic 3.7 CGPA is nothing compare to STPM and Matrix 3.7 CGPA. Well atleast you manage to get your course. Place doesn't matter actually. Technical-based Uni (UniMAP, UTeM, etc..) have the lowest unemployed rate of all... My statement b4 is to refer the chance on getting UPU. Not into Research-based uni.... I doubt that too. I know the chance is very very very very small, but my poli coursemate got in UM, with CGPA lower than me. True, iJehles. But yeah also, lucky me manage to get my course. UniMAP is not such a bad place anyway, ranking 6th in Malaysia public uni (or so I heard from my 'boss')