** HTC Touch HD LYN's Official Thread **, ** Ver. 2.0 **

benny888
post May 6 2009, 08:52 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

When you want to flash to the new roms Dutty ver 3 and above, you must always do the uspl step first. I am now on ver 3.3 xt and so far no serious issue found yet
benny888
post May 6 2009, 06:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The best tutor you can find about ROM flashing, radio, hard sply, uspl - at the forum.xda-developers.com. Take some time reading it - it is not really that technical. I am a 50+ year old man and has being learning all these from this site. Youngster who is definately more enterprising and adventurous I believe will learn faster than me
benny888
post Jun 21 2009, 12:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jun 20 2009, 04:00 PM)
1000% better than iphone.
1. can install ALOTT of applications.
2. can receive or send bluetooth files
3. can use any brand of Bluetooth headset.
4. can copy your mp3 or wma file or wav file from your pc to HD then listen to it.
5. can covert your favourite DVD movies or drama into your HD then watch it later.
6. can video call
7. can play man's toy.
8. can play alot of free games.
9. cam do work sheet or words.
10. can do tweaking... flashing ur favourite ROM (OS)
11. can do upgrading OS FOC.
12. can GPS.
13. can capture photos
14.  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  alot's ....
I find the ONLY MAJOR advantage in the iphone is their browser which I'd say is fantastic. Download speed is unbelievable quick and the browser window is beautiful and you can easily use the "pinch" gestures . On the rate of 1 to 10 I rate the iphone browser a perfect 10 while my htc HD score 5/10 ; my symbian E71 a 7/10

A lot of people is also attracted to the iphone is also the vast availability and also unbelievable cheap applications you can installed. Some of these are indeed very good and cannot be found in Windows PDA

So I have the both of best world : I use my htc HD ( also my U1000 sometimes ) and if I need to browse I use my ipod Touch 32GB ( which is exact similar to iphone but with no phone functionality)
benny888
post Jun 21 2009, 01:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Just ask yourself whether you want a keyboard or not ??
benny888
post Oct 15 2009, 08:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Any one interested in a used HD ( SIS set ) still have 2 more months warranty can PM me. It is now on Windows Mobile 6.5 ( Energy Photon Manila 2.1 ) very good condition 99 % outlook no scratch at all ; full set with box/CD/manuals/charger/cable etc
benny888
post Nov 1 2009, 09:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shln @ Nov 1 2009, 12:17 PM)
hi all,

anyone using Radio ROM : 1.17.25.09 ?

read from Xda, the batt consumption is quite killing, anyone here using that? any feedback??
I am on this radio 1.17.25.09 and also on Energy Photon Manila 2.1 rom - never faced with battery issues. I have installed programs that are are actively updating my data - eg Spb Traveller , RSS, Twikini , Weather updates in Touch Flo etc. , plus few calls and several SMS and browsing - battery can last up to 15 hours usually with 10-20 % left ( depend on my usage that day )

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 1 2009, 09:34 PM
benny888
post Nov 13 2009, 11:35 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 13 2009, 12:25 AM)
most reputable? which shop? can name a few?  hmm.gif
You want to buy new and get peace of mind - get it from proper shops like PDA expert ( this is the bigger chain ) , Digital Gadgets, PDA gear, FreshGear - all you can get in Low Yat. The price is not much different - if you are good haggler maybe you can get some extra freebies. If you have time to shop around, all these shops maybe you can get possibly RM50-Rm100 discount ( normally cash payment ) off the listed price . Retailing new price i still listed at RM2399.
benny888
post Nov 16 2009, 06:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Apparently launching date in Kl is next week before PC fair. I have already book my unit with Yeap ( http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1222586 ) and hopefully be one of the early birds to have it . For those who have earlier posed questions about the pre launched price, Yeap told me is limited to only 10 units. And the price will remain as posted even if official retail price is higher. If the price is lower , he will reduce it accordingly to match it . I have dealt with Yeap before and I have no worries about him . I also bought my htc HD from him at prelaunch price which was lower than final retail.

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 16 2009, 06:24 PM
benny888
post Nov 17 2009, 11:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicotyne @ Nov 17 2009, 07:59 AM)
ohmy.gif lol..already selling yrs ar?
i will always stick with my baby..HD2 too expensive for me..for all the HD lovers out there,can u post  what ROM u're running now?? i duwan to flash my ROM over and over again just to find out that ROM got many bugs..at least by knowing that u guys using that ROM,i hav some ground to start with
notworthy.gif
I have tested most of the HD cooked roms ( Miri, Energy, XannyTech, PDAviet ) - I'd highly recommend Energy Photon Manila 2.1 build 21864 rom dated 8 Nov - it is most stable and preinstall quite a number of utilities. Anyway this rom version I have tested only less than a week ( but very satisfying to use ) as I just sold off my htc HD ( restored back to original stock rom ) in preparation for my new buy the htc HD2

benny888
post Nov 20 2009, 08:39 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 19 2009, 09:48 PM)
How about Energy Photon Manila 2.1 build 21864 ? Did you try before?
Actually which ROM is most stable and fast for Winmo 6.5 ?  hmm.gif
There is no best rom just like there is no best handphone/pda or car. It is all actually up to you - what your needs are. Different people have different needs on their PDA - eg some are more concerned on browser or gaming or database or messaging etc . Juz download and test which one suits you best
Flashing takes about 10 mins only and within 15 mins you have a new rom ; so no harm and is not time consuming trying out

But NEVER try the Manila 2.5 as is still buggy and lagging ( actually the Manila 2.5 is developed for the htc HD2 which has a much faster processor ). Especially on SMS manila 2.5 is terribly slow , unbelievable laggy but there is a tweak to bypass the manila version and go back to original WM6.1 version
I have tried practically all the cooked roms and my preference is still Energy
benny888
post Nov 21 2009, 12:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Example a sceenshot of my unit where I create several folders; you can also assigned icons ( png) format to the various folders

benny888
post Nov 22 2009, 09:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicotyne @ Nov 22 2009, 03:58 AM)
how assign icon to the folders? r u using resco explorer oso?
First you need to have a new icon collections in png format ( recommended minimum 96x96 to 256x256 ) : put all these icons into a folder ( say ICONSnew) and copy it into the root folder of your pda. If you are tech savvy you can designed your own icons; the easier way is to google for it in the web - there are tons and tons of such free icons available. I got mine all free from the web

To change the icons :

The detailed and more secure way : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...t=icons+folders

Simpler way but not so reliable ( icon changes sometimes goes back original ) : google for freeware hcomber

benny888
post Nov 23 2009, 10:14 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Nov 22 2009, 11:34 PM)
juz wanna ask...how to install flo3d theme? is it possible?
What pda re you using and on what O/S ?? Yes you can install "look alike " TouchFlo 3d themes but most features cannot function . Look this up at the forum.xda-developers.com for your unit ( or close specs unit similar to yours ) and search for it under Themes

benny888
post Nov 25 2009, 01:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 24 2009, 11:55 PM)
I know, after I install third party ROM, will it void the warranty?  hmm.gif
Is there anyway to restore back to original ROM?  hmm.gif
Yes warranty is void with unofficial rom installed.

Even if with upgraded official rom installed on a "broken" hardSPL unit, warranty is void. So if you intend to restore back to stock rom, make sure that you unlocked the hard SPL too. So to resrtore back to stock rom : 2 steps - installed original stock rom and restore back original SPL

Infact all the details of the rom flashing process and issues you can get ALL your answers at forum.xda.developers.com website - is very detailed and clearly explained ; spendtime reading over there to understand

benny888
post Nov 25 2009, 11:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Nov 25 2009, 09:20 PM)
any1 has website on guiding u how to change theme?
Just go to forum.xda-developers.com Blackstone section - look for themes section : tons of available themes there and few tutorials teaching you how to make/change themes

benny888
post Nov 26 2009, 09:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Nov 26 2009, 01:05 AM)
1 question..when u r on ur home screen...how to change the 2 preset button... (originally it is Phone and Programs)

also how to change other's tab wallpaper?
Download HD Tweaks - is freeware - very useful and you can tweak many functions eg your stated softe menu keys
As my previous post - please refer to forum.xda-developers.com Blackstone Themes section : everything about themes , wallpapers answers are all there ; you will be amazed by the amount of info/tips/tutorials there. Don't expect a straight answer - please do some research yourself over that website ; you will not regret

benny888
post Nov 30 2009, 06:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Nov 30 2009, 04:52 PM)
how to set back my TF3D home wallpaper to default? i now using animated..dono how to set it back to default.

Just go to Settings/select Wallpaper and choose the wallpaper you need. All wallpapers copy it into My Documents/My Wallpapers folder

guys do u have links to customize transparent slider and changing windows icon? I tried to look for it..but failed..
Hop over to forum.xda-developers.com Blackstone section /Themes section - you can find ALL your answers there

Added on November 30, 2009, 6:37 pm
QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 29 2009, 10:58 PM)
Guys, how can i extend warranty? where can i extend? how much it cost? hmm.gif
Extended warranty normally you request at point/time of purchase. I don't think after sale is make, you can buy it separately. I maybe be wrong but this was what I understand from some of the dealers. Normally the extended warranty usually a year costs about around RM 100. Nowadays all new units example from SIS when you buy straightaway you get 2 years warranty ( is all in the price already )

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 30 2009, 06:37 PM
benny888
post Nov 30 2009, 09:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Nov 30 2009, 06:45 PM)
there are juz too many..i tried some..but NOT working..some of them said it is ROM dependant. Its nice if some1 could kindly give me a link.

and also..i tried HDWall..and i get 1 black line below the taskbar...i applied the correction patch..it became worse..the bottom and top taskbar do not even match.

using EnergyROm wm 6.5 sense 2.5 btw..
I can only suggest to you that if you like to play with the themes , do away with Manila 2.5 as is not suitable for the HD as it is laggy and many functions still lacking. If you use Manila 2.1 I am very sure you will have minimal issues with the themes
benny888
post Dec 1 2009, 09:57 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jimmytan912 @ Dec 1 2009, 12:10 AM)
Hi all i am woundering whather wan to buy htc hd or omnia 2 ...
any suggestion n opinion for u all tat the user or htc hd...
any faulth ? any bad issiue?? any dis advantage???
pls give me sume comment....
thanks... ^^
My personal experience with the Omnia2 ) : PROS - excellent screen and beautiful interface . CONS - Very laggy ; the inbuilt interface is not smooth. I have used my htc HD since it was launched till Nov 09 ( sold off to buy HD2 ). Now that the official price for the htc HD has drop to RM2300+ it is a very good buy. Imagine I paid nearly RM3K for it then.
The Omnia 2 I use few days only and find is not suitable - anyway is only my opinion. Comparatively it is a cheaper buy but feel less value for money

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 1 2009, 10:00 AM
benny888
post Dec 1 2009, 07:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Dec 1 2009, 05:58 PM)
any ROM tht is running WM6.1 but Manila 2.5?
Manila 2.5 available ONLY on WM 6.5

0.0435sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:49 AM