** HTC Touch HD LYN's Official Thread **, ** Ver. 2.0 **

Baronic
post May 19 2009, 10:08 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ChaosGenesis @ May 18 2009, 11:19 PM)
Sorry for the upcoming nooby question...

But I am after all.. a noob =.="

Ok...

1. Does HTC offer International warranty? I'm going off to Australia at the end of the year for studies, thinking of getting the HTC Touch HD... but I don't know how the warranty scheme is like O.o

2. Will everything work in Australia if I get a local phone? I've read somewhere European models can't use USA's 3G network.. was thinking if any problems could arise from this issue...

3. And... I've read about this software called Winterface and I'm really interested in it.. it apparently changes the look of the UI... my question is... what in the world are Stocks and ROMs? And how will they affect Winterface should I choose to install it.. or vice versa?

Thanks so much for your help smile.gif
1. No. no international warranty

2. yes it'll work Australia is using GSM network, same band also, no probs

3. Winterface is an application that gives your pda an Iphone UI. there are several like SPB Mobile Shell 3. Stock Roms are ROMS, its like an OS version u flash. It comes with its own basic applications and such. and when u flash its like reformating. So, whenever u flash, u remove any third party stuff u install. u can reinstall at will.
Baronic
post May 30 2009, 12:41 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

its usually 3 working days minimum. unless u're a d1ck like me, i call em every 3 hours to pester, and say i need it for work, etc etc etc. then maybe 24 jhours or 2 days lol
Baronic
post May 30 2009, 11:01 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ May 30 2009, 08:44 PM)
Guys, do you have any sms alert delay? Say the person sent the message at 10AM but at the same time, I did receive the sms but it didn't alert me/sms tone doesn't appear. say at 1030AM I want to play with my HD, then suddenly the ringtone for sms appears. This is quite annoying since I reply to my friends quite lateee. Sometimes it's an urgent sms sad.gif
its a bug. set your device to "wake up on new sms" and your problem will be solved
Baronic
post Jun 6 2009, 12:00 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ja50n @ Jun 6 2009, 11:50 AM)
Got a ques. Is it possible to turn of the screen when listening to music ??
yes why not?

its a setting really, if u cant, its a rom issue.
Baronic
post Jun 14 2009, 09:53 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(HengMas @ Jun 14 2009, 09:23 PM)
Hi members,

I'm newbie here, pls allow my stay in this discussion forum.
Today is Father day. I became the proud owner of Touch HD. My new baby.... rclxm9.gif
and it's my 1st time using WM, may need your big help to improve the knowledge of using this wonderful baby and make it look real smart phone.

btw. I noticed there is a software named Carmin in my storage drive ( 8gb ) but just dun no how to get it operate.
and the set do not come with calculator....pls help me to get one so i dun have to look stupid by using this advanced h/p with a real calculator. tongue.gif

Anywhere I hv to spend some time to read out the interesting topic here.
and all you suggestion to me is really welcome.  thumbup.gif

Buy you teh tarik next time I meet with you.  drool.gif

Jia.
there's definitely a calculator. check properly.

and, Carmin or Garmin.
Baronic
post Jul 5 2009, 12:05 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 4 2009, 11:40 AM)
I dont like maxis..haha..I'm using Digi..how come you didnt use 3G but they charge you?So Touch HD's GPS is direct connect to satellite..and how about map update?
maps u must download off yourself, from malfreemaps or malsingmaps, its not like nokia or google maps where the maps are streamed off the net. therefore its free for windows mobile

reminder: warez or piracy request is strictly prohibited
Baronic
post Jul 20 2009, 12:18 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Jul 19 2009, 12:54 PM)
all the sifu's here. Please let me know if u normally experience frame skipping during video playback using coreplayer? I put the downloaded normal avi file straight in without conversion n it runs smoothly but with occassional frame skipping especially when it comes to scene with fast motion. Do fill me in. Cheers!
it depends on the video, the resolution,and your coreplayer settings. rom version and all that.need all that variables. but basically the bigger the video resolution the more skipping
Baronic
post Jul 23 2009, 12:31 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Jul 20 2009, 12:53 PM)
what is the best setting for core player n wat resolution will suit HD best? thanks ya all sifu's
if you're using GFX boost, definitely use Direct Draw for video. otherwise QTV is fine. as for reso, see your device, reso, WVGA. get something like that or close lor.
Baronic
post Jul 25 2009, 03:10 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(johanng2001 @ Jul 25 2009, 03:02 PM)
To all the Sifus here.  I am on celcom 3G.  Is there any way to specify to use ONLY 3G or HSPDA/HSUPA  when connecting using data and NOT to use GPRS or Edge?  Thanks
u automatically will use the bet connection available. so if u have 3G or HSDPA u'll use it. else u'll use GPRS or EDGE
Baronic
post Aug 1 2009, 09:58 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

solution to your problem = go to Windows > Start up and delete any garmin related exe u see.

go to programs (not /storage card/programs) and delete and garmin data from your device not storage card.

shud solve the problem. because when u hard reset maybe it made some files missing and there's this auto start up for garmin that checks those files. or something like that, i cant recall la. but basically its because u changed rom

Baronic
post Aug 1 2009, 09:27 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(himon84 @ Aug 1 2009, 09:21 PM)
all solution tried before.....now i install the garmin in my storage card and try....

but the garmin cannot get any signal.

any prob with my HD?
google and download HTC GPS Tool. From there check if your GPS sat is working fine. if it is, you're probably using pirated garmin thats why. piracy discussion is now allowed here
Baronic
post Aug 1 2009, 09:49 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

no no, its a separate application. i dunno if u have it, but its freeware. go google and download HTC GPS TOOL
Baronic
post Aug 10 2009, 12:41 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

i'd rather go for Toshiba TG01 with extended battery. drools
Baronic
post Aug 16 2009, 11:22 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Did u install active sync?
Baronic
post Aug 16 2009, 01:29 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Thats great aurora, great post. i dont use vista so cant really comment, but will stick your post at the first post of this thread for the great help
Baronic
post Aug 31 2009, 10:41 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Touch HD price wont fall so fast. because unlike touch diamond, thanks to idiots selling overseas set, we had an supply > demand issue. Touch HD still rocks in many ways, and there isnt a supply demand problem. it should go down gradually, as all phone prices do, not a steep drop.
Baronic
post Sep 28 2009, 11:49 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Sep 28 2009, 10:07 PM)
Eh, I have trouble with my phone setting. The PDA itself automatically connect data connection for me and that's not a problem for me if I'm in Malaysia as I have unlimited broadband connection.

The problem is, I'm carrying this phone to oversea and the PDA will connect to data connection itself although I have download advanced config or restart my PDA. still the same problem, anyone can help ?
try MODACO no data. but why is it connecting? auto update weather? iautoupdate e mail? ncoming mms?check it out
Baronic
post Nov 18 2009, 04:00 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(termignoni @ Nov 18 2009, 03:04 PM)
heheh.. yeah, fingerboard.. but does anyone know where i can get the default WM6.1 keyboard? cos the default keyboard bor WM6.5 is huge.. i want the ol'skool type.. huhu.. brows.gif
u mean u dun know how to change input method? there's an arrow in the middle of the screen next to the keyboard icon. click it and change.
Baronic
post Nov 18 2009, 05:49 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(termignoni @ Nov 18 2009, 05:30 PM)
doh.gif

i'm asking cos in the ROM i'm using, in fact in most WM6.5 ROMs, they don't have the little full keyboard anymore.. it's all big, finger friendly now..

this is what i meant, i don't have the SIP, and i searched around but to no avail..

i'm looking for this type, u know, like the default SIP in the official WM6.1 ROM.... i juz want the SIP.. doesn't have to be this colour.. lol..
owh. it doesnt come with it? lol i dunno i've never used that in a while. try Pocket CM keyboard? its freeware
Baronic
post Nov 18 2009, 09:17 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(legendaryghost @ Nov 18 2009, 08:59 PM)
i tried ord but it is still the same.....haiz

Added on November 18, 2009, 9:04 pm

no.. i juz update for HTC Touch HD – Notifications Enhancement  from official website.
could u provide a screenshot? use SPB screenshot, its freeware google it

0.0484sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:51 PM