when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

daryl.k
post Oct 27 2009, 11:27 PM

467 posts

sorry arr...i seem able to digest little bit of info but not enough to understand the whole thing..

Astro is owned by Measat owned by Binariang...Measat-3a already able to beam HD contents...able to compress HD signals to mpeg4 & transmit via DVB-S/S2 to HD receivers...

how come Astro, its own brand, not able to deliver HD contents to end subscriber?

daryl.k
post Oct 28 2009, 12:40 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Oct 27 2009, 11:39 PM)
I have not seen a single HD receiver capable of receiving mpeg4 or dvb-s2 signal release by astro to the end user yet, I don't think current dvb-s decoder would be able to be upgraded by firmware to receive mpeg4 signal

if you read this page
http://www.lyngsat.com/mea3a.html
measat satellite is already transmitting HD channel but on C-band, so technically they are already capable to go HD, my guess is astro is in testing phase before launching their HD package, earning more milk money from those who are willing to pay more for watching their HD channels
surely current decoder wont be able to receive HD signals...astro will definitely release new HD decoder later on...can make more moolah marrr...like how they sell the Astro MAX decoder..altho that 'project' went down the klang river smile.gif

they need to learn from previous experience, altho many ppl wanna go HD, they still not willing to chop their arms & legs off for it...if they intro at premium price, we will need to wait many many moons before majority ppl go for HD...many ppl i know still quite happy with CRT, SD TV, DVD...

why they like to keep thing a secret? if testing, then just let the public know la..at least we can get excited...now, cant even get excited on a available date as yet...all based on speculation...

my own opinion, they just paid huge sum to secure BPL channels from Sky Sports in the UK..as a football fan we all know there's option for HD football in UK under Sky Sport HD...and Astro did confirm that subscription price will be reviewed (again)...so perhaps by next BPL season we will be able to watch in HD??

daryl.k
post Oct 28 2009, 11:48 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(frostworld @ Oct 28 2009, 03:44 PM)
yupz, they can said almost monopoly here. paying so much money for so little channel compare to other country.
monopoly...telekom tried to fight with them for the BPL rights..i think they lost cos of their internet tv (only) launch..for competition, a proper foundation/platform for broadcasting will be required..then the competitor needs to 'tahan' few years without much subscribers as most good channels are all sold to astro exclusively..

MiTV came close (very far actually but de closest) but couldnt tahan long enuff..good plans but becos lack of attractive channels..i was at their operation center in kl plaza during commissioning & all their channels are like *yawn yawn* chinese & indian channels mostly

altho astro monopolizes malaysian market they still need to provide satisfactory service to its loyal subscribers..we paying premium price..i wont say we're paying higher than other countries..other countries also paying premium..sky in uk also dominates the market but their content dun dissapoint..and most importantly..they broadcast in HD..even BBC in HD now..

I think astro lost quite a bit in their Jakarta plan/project..that's why the delay in us getting HD here..
daryl.k
post Oct 29 2009, 04:10 PM

467 posts

hahahaa...3D..no need dream la...HD already so difficult to broadcast...
daryl.k
post Dec 4 2009, 01:01 AM

467 posts

My new apartment will be ready for moving in by early Jan..astro B.Yond will be ready & rolled out by then..

Those with jalan with astro insiders...can u try find out for me..what bout new subscribers?also need to subs to current package then only can get hd content?

Before that..what's the arrangements like for those living in apartment since satellite dish needs to be changed also?currently i just need to subs to astro & plug in to the output port already available..there's no mentioned of replacing the cable in the news article, so i assume cabling wont needed to be replaced?

Management surely wont allow individual apartment units to install separate dish...& since they giving out the dish for free what's gonna be the deal for apartment owners like me who's dying for astro in hd?

After such long wait for astro hd content & now being told i might not be able to subs to it really sucks...its killing me...

There's so many apartments & condos these days..and all of them has got astro dish installed on roof with cablings readily connected to each unit...surely they have some kinda plan worked out right? Or in place?

btw, the new dish is only 5mm bigger than the current one?5mm nia can make so much difference?

This post has been edited by daryl.k: Dec 4 2009, 01:03 AM
daryl.k
post Dec 7 2009, 07:41 PM

467 posts

hrrrmm...everybody already confirming its RM20 for 5 HD channels (on top of existing package)

honestly..not too sure its as affordable..lets wait for Astro to confirm...11th Dec right? <4days to go...

0.0313sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:42 PM