when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 5 2009, 06:46 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 5 2009, 12:35 AM)
haha well said bro. sometimes i wonder what happened to the tax money we pay if not put to good use for the people rolleyes.gif
Asstro collects tax meh?
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 8 2009, 02:21 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Eugenet @ Oct 8 2009, 12:41 PM)
I've cancelled Astro after getting a LCD TV. Poor picture quality, 4:3 aspect ratio and rain are the main reasons. Sweet revenge to them for changing the packages and raising subscription. IPTV and movie downloads is the future.
Shouldnt have wasted your money on the LCD then, huh?
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 25 2009, 12:38 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Oct 23 2009, 07:43 PM)
The latest decoder I received yesterday has composite, S-video as well as component video out, and LR-audio, optical audio out as well as USB port in front. This decoder was just launched very recently replacing the component-out-no-s-video decoders.
This is the latest then. Thomson? My 2 mth old one has just component out and no s-video.

Why launch another new analogue one when HD's around the corner? Oh yeah, they didnt say which corner ...
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 25 2009, 02:35 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2009, 01:48 PM)
if you got component should be better than s-video already..  biggrin.gif  no need to get both..
kiasu mah... last time's decoder can hook to to 2 TVs even ... tongue.gif

anyway, why does astro come out with new decoders every other day? must be always change to the cheapest supplier (or dumper) having clearance sale for prehistoric decoders rclxub.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Oct 25 2009, 02:44 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ultimate66 @ Oct 25 2009, 02:39 PM)
must wait until 2020...
why? 20-20 vision for clearer pictures izzit .. hmm.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 11 2009, 06:39 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wackojacko @ Nov 11 2009, 05:52 PM)
why would anyone lay the HDMI cables thru the wall if its just from decoder to tv.....unless u planning to put the decoder in a different room from ur tv
I dun think he meant THRU the wall, just basic hacking to conceal the cables ?
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 25 2009, 09:18 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Nov 25 2009, 09:09 PM)
yes
it is sucks!
so blocking
they use this RUBBISH system to catch illegal user
that the only reason mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

========================

Thank you for your email of 12 October 2009.

In response to your query pertaining to the on screen codes that appears at your TV screen, we wish to clarify that these codes are part of Astro's efforts to enhance the security of our customers' smart card. As such, we regret for any inconveniences caused.

We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your continued support.

Best regards,

Cyndi Tan

Executive

Service Recovery Unit

===================================
GO DIE la
what a LAME and RUBBISH system rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
hmmm.. interesting, always wanted to know about that.

whats the mechanics behind it? couldnt it 'verify' fake cards 'internally'? why the need to 'display' those codes?
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 25 2009, 11:06 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Nov 25 2009, 10:58 PM)
the code must be see by public
the concept is like this
they now divide to 2 package
one is public another is home
for public..like bank, mamak, restoran...their price is higher..
astro will have "worker" go check it
and copy down the code and verify see izit subsribe public package or home package
if use home package,then they direct cut it and ask them use public package
just that
conclusion: LAMA and RUBBISH system[COLOR=red]
thanks.

but if its 2 packages only, isn't it easier to divide as such :

Home - NO codes
Public - Got codes

Liddat straightaway can spot ler, no need call opis and verify rclxub.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 26 2009, 03:31 PM

1,442 posts

Just to add confirmation to the Astro HD issue. My kawan from the press has been invited for Astro's media briefing on the impending arrival of HD to Astro next week. Of course, the billion dollar question is still when, but hopefully we will know by next week smile.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 26 2009, 07:23 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 26 2009, 04:50 PM)
the media briefing is next week.
Yeah, thats right, next week's media briefing, NOT roll-out. Just to be clear, so that i am not chased by pitch-forked mobs next week. Judging by this thread, most astro subscribers are an angry and demented lot laugh.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 30 2009, 06:26 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 27 2009, 07:17 PM)
They will check online forums and see who calls them stupid, or ASS-tro... and those guys are definitely out.

that means everyone then!
Lone*Wolf
post Dec 4 2009, 07:34 PM

1,442 posts

Media friend confirms that the HD media launch will be next Fri, 11th Dec. The media briefing this week was nothing that is not covered here already, seeing all the info here, the press is apparently the last to know anything laugh.gif There were some HD decoders showcased though, but the media is not supposed to publish or give details about it ... yet. Anyway, all this is old news, top of everybody's mind now must be - HD's finally to Astro, but how much do we have to pay for it?
Lone*Wolf
post Dec 11 2009, 11:14 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wayne_chen @ Dec 11 2009, 07:29 PM)
RM20 for 5 HD channels, I would say worth.
It's time to cut out all the others channels.
If only Astro's that generous! To fully appreciate your RM20, you have to subscribe to Movies, Sports and Learning package, and we all know Movies and Sports channels are their main (read : more expensive) packages, totaling RM101.95 edi.

Added on December 11, 2009, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Dec 11 2009, 07:41 PM)
I think we can closed this topic, and proceed with Astro B.yond topic...No need for two same topic... smile.gif
yeah, Astro's technically has 'gone' digital, hence, concluding this thread smile.gif

This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Dec 11 2009, 11:15 PM

0.0215sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:37 AM