when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

AjkR06
post Nov 21 2009, 09:04 AM

that's me
1,549 posts

According to below article, Astro will be going to HD on next month... They will launch the new HD Decoder and another version of PVR.., the more powerful PVR than it's Predecessor, Astro Max... It seems that new PVR will become Malaysia version TiVO... tongue.gif Hope what they promise is true.... biggrin.gif Maybe it's time for me to spend money on Monster HDMI cable and new decoder...hehe wink.gif

Astro’s high definition future

By M. HAFIDZ MAHPAR

PAY television operator Astro All Asia Networks, whose TV household penetration rate in Malaysia is almost reaching 50%, is aware that one size doesn’t fit all despite catering to the mass market.

Its customer spectrum ranges from the so-called “digital natives” to the rural population. At the same time, it has to cater to the needs of a complex, “Truly Asia” marketplace that is also becoming more educated, more well-travelled, more sophisticated and more demanding.

How does it plan to deal with these challenges? The answer: innovation in technology and content.

Astro TV chief executive officer Datuk Rohana Rozhan says business as usual is no longer an option.

“We can’t just stick to one form of TV, which is linear TV, and serve one group of people the more mass we become. At the same time, we cannot forget our top-end customers who demand more of us. So we need both breadth and depth,” she tells StarBizWeek in an interview.

“In addition, we cannot ignore new media anymore. How content is consumed in the future is something that we have to be prepared for. Otherwise, in 10 years’ time or maybe less, when my son (who is currently 15 years old) becomes a customer of Astro, Astro will be irrelevant. So that’s how we look at the next phase where we want to go.”

Astro is evolving its content to include mobile and online content. Recently, it collaborated with Maxis to launch Malaysia’s first made-for-mobile entertainment series.

By next month Astro will launch high-definition (HD) TV, and in the first half of next year, it will re-introduce the personal video recorder (PVR), the satellite technology’s answer to video on demand.

“The whole idea,” Rohana says, “is to evolve our technology and our platform so that we’re always ahead of consumer trends.”

She is tight-lipped about the details of the HDTV launch, though she would say that customers would have to pay to enjoy HD content.

While declining to reveal the model being used by Astro, Rohana talks about those in overseas markets. “Some operators give you the same content in SD (standard definition) or in HD. Should you decide to take the content in HD, you pay extra.

“Some will also launch unique channels which have content you cannot have in SD. There may also be a window play, meaning earlier-release content. Even that you have to pay a la carte or per package for unique channels. We can pick and choose as to how we’ll launch HD in Malaysia.”

Astro, she adds, will come up with an economic commercial model for HD subscribers.

There are already 1.2 million Astro subscribers with flat-screen or high-definition TVs, she says. “The only HD content that’s available in Malaysia is Blu-ray and it’s far too expensive. Astro has decided that there’s a demand for HD products.”

On PVR, Rohana says Astro has 116 channels but some customers still complain there’s nothing to watch at particular times. The PVR, coupled with an improved electronic programme guide, will help to ensure there’s always something for subscribers to watch.

The PVR has a pause, stop, rewind and forward functionality, and subscribers can programme ahead what TV show to record. Rohana says the PVR has a hard disk storage of 160 hours.

On the differences between the latest PVR system and its predecessor, the discontinued Astro Max, she says: “This will be the first deployment of a new kind of PVR with many of the world’s largest broadcasters to follow Astro throughout 2010. In order to bring this next-generation PVR, Astro has fully licensed all the best-in-class technologies to deliver the world’s best PVR experience. This is a key difference to the Astro Max.”

Rohana says Astro is also working with all its channel providers and “fundamentally shifting its infrastructure to ensure that the PVR accurately records the programmes you want and provides detailed information around them.”

Another difference from the Astro Max system is the push functionality, which can be used as an up-selling tool for Astro.

“If I know you like CSI, I can download on a push basis the whole Season 200 of CSI and put it on your box. When you come home, I can say: ‘Hey, guess what? I have the whole Season 200 of CSI. Do you want to buy it?’ So, either you decide what you want to record, or we intuitively try to cater to what you want,” she says.

Astro is planning a major drive to change its relationship with customers from a transactional relationship to “a real relationship,” she says.

“We will understand what you like. If you like Oasis (an Astro channel with programming catering to Islamic values) and you plan to perform the haj, we’ll download a whole series on ibadah haji onto your box. And there’ll be a message that says we’ve downloaded this series of 12 episodes and asks you whether you want it.”

The HD set-top boxes, to be introduced by year-end, will only be for HD, but an external hard disc for PVR can be added. Next year it will introduce HD/PVR set-top boxes.

Regarding HD content, Rohana says it’s Astro’s aspiration to widen local content in HD. “To merit HD, it has to be a big-ticket item drawing high viewership. Malaysians will experience HD through football, for example, because 70% of our customers take up the sports package,” she points out. Sports is one of the strong pillars of HD; the others being Hollywood blockbusters and programmes like National Geographic.

Rohana says this year, total content cost is about 35% of its revenue. Every year, Astro spends about equally in international content, sports and local content.

While she wouldn’t say what percentage of local content cost would be allocated for HD, she says Astro increases its local content investment every year.

Rohana says all its programme producers will have to gear up for HD. “HD is end-to-end delivery, starting from the content. The camera that shoots that content has to be HD. The make-up they put has to be for HD because the clarity is much better.”

Astro is also using technology to attract more advertising ringgit. Rohana says Astro is already helping advertisers in packaging complete advertising and sponsorship propositions.

“Our people are well-trained to package the right proposition to advertisers. But if the advertisers want independence, we are working with technology in order to provide that,” she says.

“This new research rating system is far superior in every sense from its accuracy to tracking the viewing habits of the viewers. This means that we’ll be able to know which contents work better and which promotions, including TV commercials, work best.”

Asked when she expects this system to be ready, Rohana says: “As soon as possible.”

Source : http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...62&sec=business

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Nov 21 2009, 09:05 AM
AjkR06
post Nov 21 2009, 06:44 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(stJimmy111 @ Nov 21 2009, 03:08 PM)
3yrs ago i go HK holiday they already got alot HD channels like Discovery HD, HBO HD etc on their cable TV service.. HD in Malaysia?? lolx. Malaysia so outdate country, always in the past, i think 3 more yrs oso wont get la, dat time ppl got UHDTV d lo..
I think, in HK they also have started with teresterial HD broadcasting.., if i'm not mistaken, they're 2 channels in HD, one is TVB HDJ and other one is ATV9 HD...

AjkR06
post Nov 26 2009, 10:02 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

i wonder how much is the price for the new HD decoder and new "bigger" one astro satellite dish... I thought just need to change decoder, suddenly need to change dish also... sad.gif sure must be expensive a lot... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Nov 26 2009, 10:03 PM
AjkR06
post Nov 30 2009, 09:30 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 30 2009, 06:28 PM)
to all who might interested to know,Astro is not oways that bad lah,see below u will know  tongue.gif

from the inside info,astro plan(plan only,not sure) to EXCHANGE the HD decoder FREE to all existing good royal customer in the 1st batch ( but not sure how they define that ).The official press launching will be sometimes Dec.1st they will introduce 5 HDchannels for FREE,later they will get another 5 HD channels,only then they start to charge customer( see,FREE 5HD channel at 1st,good ler tongue.gif ). The 5 HD channels will be EspnHD,NgHD,HboHD....The new ODU disc will be arround 65mm compare to pevious 60mm.Customer will need to change new cable ( but still RG6 ) that come together with the decorder.The max resolution is 1080i or 720p with the HDMI output.There's a Coxial digital output which support DD 5.1 ( no DTS,no DTS HDMA,of cos ).

Not say to praise Astro too much but it's really SUPERB when watch with 50inches Panasonic Plasma ( not fullHD ). It's in FULL SCREEN at ratio 1.185:1,not like some BDs which still see black bar on top/bottom at diff ratio.

Last but not least,all infomations mentioned above are not officially confirm and might have some minor changes after their offcial press launching. thumbup.gif
I think, the "royal" customer surely who are already subscribing astro since their first launch (1996)
for me who start subscribing astro from 2001, already out of list i think... cry.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 1 2009, 02:24 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 1 2009, 01:51 PM)
how u know?

Added on December 1, 2009, 1:55 pmi think astro hd sure got stupid rubbish code
and maybe the code will be more "clearer and sharper" because it was showing in HD whistling.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 2 2009, 04:37 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

Wah.... I read on Wikipedia.., on November 2009,
Astro was awarded with ...

"Prestigious Cable and Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia (CASBAA) Chairman’s Award 2009"

" On November 2009, Astro was awarded the prestigious Cable and Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia (CASBAA) Chairman’s Award 2009 for its outstanding contribution to the pay-TV industry in the region." - source : Wiki

I wonder how they can get that award since many of their subscriber always complain about them... doh.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 2 2009, 04:38 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 2 2009, 06:53 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(reileong88 @ Dec 2 2009, 06:21 PM)
720p?
swt, why not 1920x1080
hmm..
i think 720p just enough for the trial service...720p will really2 have different pic quality than their current system
maybe after customer feedback, they will upgrade to 1080i.... but for 1080p (full HD).., wah.. it's too far rolleyes.gif
if i'm not mistaken, TVB HD jade in HK also broadcast in 720p only....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 2 2009, 06:54 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 2 2009, 11:05 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Dec 2 2009, 09:08 PM)
Yes.. 1920x1080 but 'i' at the back..1080i  laugh.gif

ASTRO HD will be officially launched on this 15 Dec..

ASTRO Byond.. Stay Tune..  thumbup.gif
wah..15 dec...
one day after my birthday.... biggrin.gif

Added on December 2, 2009, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(kbteh @ Dec 2 2009, 08:28 PM)
TVB High Definition Jade broadcast in H.264/MPEG-4 AVC with 16:9 1080i output...
oh...ok.. i thought it was just 720p... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 2 2009, 11:06 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 3 2009, 06:33 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Dec 3 2009, 05:14 PM)
my friend working in Astro told me:

Launch date: 18/12
Monthly fee: RM20 on top of monthly subscription
Installation of satelite and box: FOC
Channel going HD: astro supersports, national geographic, ESPN, HBO, History
New features:
1. Cinematic Sound (Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound)
HDTV has the capability to deliver high quality audio via Dolby® Digital 5.1 surround sound.
Properly decoded, each audio track can be isolated to individual speakers around your TV
viewing area to recreate the multi-dimensional audio experience you get in the cinema, right
in your living room.

Are u sure that monthly charge just RM20?? And FOC for installation of dish and new decoder?? And how much is the price for the decoder and satellite dish?? I think, surely 1k+ shakehead.gif
AjkR06
post Dec 3 2009, 09:20 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 3 2009, 08:12 PM)
hahaha,no offend but u remind me an advertisement ( proton service? ) after the service center done all the job and tell the lady  " it's FREE " ,the lady answered : " so expensive ? " tongue.gif

the news is "almost" true but not 100% confirm yet.The RM20 is an extra RM20 on top of ur normal subscription package.Also,u must have a Sport Package now in order to enjoy the ESPN-HD.Same as HBO-HD,u must have movie package now to enjoy the HBO-HD smile.gif

Also,like mentioned,the decorder might be free but u might need to pay normal installation fee ( sure < RM1k,hehe ).
ohh... ic...ic... biggrin.gif
good explaination.... already understand it....
so, if now my monthly subscription was RM84.95 (Movies+family+learning+fun).., i just need to add some RM20 more.. so total subscription fees every months is RM104.95.. isn't it?
is that free decoder only just for limited subscribers ... fo example, just for the first 1000 subscribers...?
sorry for so many questions here... sad.gif

Added on December 3, 2009, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 3 2009, 08:03 PM)
As far Astro is concern giving the Boxes free is an investment, surely we will subscribe and that wld cost at least RM100 per month right !
yes.., surely.... nod.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 3 2009, 09:21 PM
AjkR06
post Dec 6 2009, 08:14 AM

that's me
1,549 posts

QUOTE(kbchong @ Dec 6 2009, 12:32 AM)
With Astro going HD, LCD or Plasma will be better PQ?
yes... rclxms.gif because Plasma and LCD has been designed to displaying HDTV sources... smile.gif
but if i'm not mistaken, they're also some high-end CRT TV tnat can receive HDTV sources...

0.0329sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:35 AM