What would you suggest for me?, A laptop for College and med-gaming

TSzorbyss.
post Apr 30 2009, 11:36 PM, updated 17y ago

here you go.
1,513 posts

Hello there. I'm new to this world of laptop as well as... New to everything in computer. Well. I need a laptop here for my College. Will going Lowyat next week. So will get a laptop there. And hope that I could have some guidance here. Just placed an order on Dell's site recently, but due to some problems, the deal is cancelled. So, hope I could get fully prepared for my first laptop. Information, guidance, suggestions, opinions, comments etcs. needed.

Budget -> below RM3,500
Main purpose -> College needs
Second purpose -> Moderate gaming (Games in demand:L4D, CoD4, RA3 and etcs.)
Others ->Best come with backlit keyboard.
-> Hope it has a trustable build

Addtional thoughts -> Hope it comes with the specs below.
Core 2 Duo CPU
more than 2GB rams
Moderate GC (could play the games as listed)
14"- 15" screen will be the best
Does HP has a model that suits the conditions above?

I can't deal with DELL online. Due to some payment method problem. Might going Low Yat.

What brand would you recommend?
What type of CPU and GPU are suitable for my need?

Please leave a message if you need more infomation. Sorry for any stupid question or info. I'm a newbie to computers. =) Thanks.

This post has been edited by zorbyss.: May 1 2009, 10:33 AM
ic3rock
post Apr 30 2009, 11:42 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Alot of ppl start thread like u, so wad my suggestion is try to ask around ur frens see which brand is the best or u must think 1 of the brand of laptop u wan to buy so that easy for us to suggest the model. If nt, each ppl suggest 1 brand n model, till u finis study still cant decide which 1 to buy, lol.
miahahaha
post Apr 30 2009, 11:47 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Maybe MOD can pinned a thread 'Need Laptop Recommendations' so that we will not be flooded with this kind of thread again hmm.gif

And TS, any brand that you prefer?? Care to tell us? There are a lot of laptop that within the range of your budget & also the range of your specs..if you can narrow it down to a brand or two..a lot more easier for you to choose & for us to suggest... nod.gif
Eugene91

6,109 posts

Acer 4937G(RM2999)
P8400 2.26GHz
2GB DDR3 1066MHz Rams
nvidia geforce g105m 512MB DDR2
320 GB HDD

suggest u get the extra warranty. 3 years for i think RM298?
tpl

1,748 posts

go search around in mobile computing plus the subforum Mobile Computing QnA. there are lots of thread to answer your question...
holy_devil113
post Apr 30 2009, 11:49 PM

546 posts

get a dell xps
miahahaha
post Apr 30 2009, 11:51 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

See, already 2 brand of laptop suggestions for you....here's another one...BenQ S42
astria
post Apr 30 2009, 11:51 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

BenQ S57...
ic3rock
post Apr 30 2009, 11:53 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Compaq CQ40, lol. We like try to confusing TS, haha.
miahahaha
post Apr 30 2009, 11:55 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

HP dv2,dv3
astria
post Apr 30 2009, 11:55 PM

22,158 posts

btw, the backlit keyboard requirement will kill a lot of potential models...
crbk777
post May 1 2009, 12:09 AM

52 posts

actually benq good or nt??
nothing_nth
post May 1 2009, 12:10 AM

no stars
2,408 posts

hehe...when come to backlit...of course...STUDIO 15!!!
astria
post May 1 2009, 12:18 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(crbk777 @ May 1 2009, 12:09 AM)
actually benq good or nt??
come spam with us in the BenQ Performance thread... u'll know better.. .laugh.gif
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 12:24 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

What about Asus N50V? whistling.gif tongue.gif

Im pretty sure it pwns away quite a lot models above tongue.gif
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 12:29 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

LOL! YEAH MAN! studio 15!! i chosen that and going to buy that. but place the order twice, couldn't make the deal due to some problem. i had some additional options. check it. thanks.
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 12:31 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

zzzzzzz

This fella brain setting already on Dell jor doh.gif

Start this thread for kacau only doh.gif
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 12:37 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

If I said i prefer HP? Heard that they have some good build quality.
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 12:39 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Nah.. HP's webcam is bad doh.gif

If you wanna get HP, i recommend you get Toshiba instead
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 12:42 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

ow? what toshiba specialise in?
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 01:01 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Quality...

Depends on what spec u looking for... and your budget too..
ff8ong
post May 1 2009, 01:05 AM

2,550 posts

Asus N50VN then,3900++ with Nvidia 9650.Have a friend just bought it on last Pc fair.Graphic wise,Good.
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 01:22 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^If asus, of cuz wise tongue.gif brows.gif
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 01:39 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

o.o that was pc fair man. if normal retailer sure pwn me.
ff8ong
post May 1 2009, 03:55 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 1 2009, 01:39 AM)
o.o that was pc fair man. if normal retailer sure pwn me.
Actually retail price for now is still selling 3999.I think you should be able to get it a little bit cheaper even if you not buying
on PC fair.What you mean pwn you?The model is there and the spec for malaysia set is fix and set.No worry about the game you
mention,all will work well.Just get a nice cooler pad and you will be fine.

On lowyat 3rd floor near exculator have a Asus showroom,maybe you should have a look.Within your budget and your usage,
i think N50 give you best buck,except you willing to go for acer.For HP with that budget i do not think you can find a better GC
than 9650M.

This post has been edited by ff8ong: May 1 2009, 03:59 AM
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 04:01 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Maybe he can try BenQ S57 too smile.gif
ff8ong
post May 1 2009, 04:03 AM

2,550 posts

Ya,How about S42?Not sure the price now.But still depends on TS,design is important as well.Pick wisely.
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 10:16 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

Hmm. Is backlit keyboard useful? Can actually a normal keyboardof a laptop can be see clearly in a dark room or night?
astria
post May 1 2009, 10:22 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 1 2009, 10:16 AM)
Hmm. Is backlit keyboard useful? Can actually a normal keyboardof a laptop can be see clearly in a dark room or night?
how often do u use the keyboard in the dark???
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 10:36 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

sorry than i can't really answer that question as i haven't own a laptop before. that backlit keyboard is kinda used for midnight gaming, and i'm sharing the room with another roommate. impossible i have the on the lights. LOLs. sounds stupid.
ff8ong
post May 1 2009, 10:37 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 1 2009, 10:16 AM)
kinda useful if you like living in full dark. biggrin.gif

Btw it all depends on you.
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 10:39 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

hmm. what you guys think about HP DV3510nr?
astria
post May 1 2009, 10:42 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 1 2009, 10:39 AM)
hmm. what you guys think about HP DV3510nr?
the least u can do is to list out the spec...
TSzorbyss.
post May 1 2009, 10:55 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

actually someone offering me a laptop with the specs below and a price of RM3,500

• Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T5800 (2.0 GHz , 800 MHz, 2 MB)
• Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium with Service Pack 1 (64-bit)
• 2048 MB (2 x 1024 MB) Supports up to 4 GB DDR2 memory
• 250 GB (5400 rpm) SATA Hard Disk Drive
• Super Multi DVD Writer (+/-R +/-RW) with Double Layer support
• High speed 56K modem and Intel® WiFi Link 5100, Bluetooth® wireless networking
• 1280 x 800, 13.3” Diagonal WXGA High-Definition HP LED BrightView Widescreen Display
• NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS up to 1278MB Total Available Graphics Memory with 512MB
• Integrated finger print reader
• 6-cell Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) battery
• HP Pavilion WebCam with Integrated Microphone
• Altec Lansing® speakers
• HP Mini Remote Control
• Backlit keyboard
astria
post May 1 2009, 10:57 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 1 2009, 10:55 AM)
actually someone offering me a laptop with the specs below and a price of RM3,500

• Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T5800 (2.0 GHz , 800 MHz, 2 MB)
• Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium with Service Pack 1 (64-bit)
• 2048 MB (2 x 1024 MB) Supports up to 4 GB DDR2 memory
• 250 GB (5400 rpm) SATA Hard Disk Drive
• Super Multi DVD Writer (+/-R +/-RW) with Double Layer support
• High speed 56K modem and Intel® WiFi Link 5100, Bluetooth® wireless networking
• 1280 x 800, 13.3” Diagonal WXGA High-Definition HP LED BrightView Widescreen Display
• NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS up to 1278MB Total Available Graphics Memory with 512MB
• Integrated finger print reader
• 6-cell Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) battery
• HP Pavilion WebCam with Integrated Microphone
• Altec Lansing® speakers
• HP Mini Remote Control
• Backlit keyboard
all i can say is BEnQ S42 has much better spec than this for abt rm100 more...

This post has been edited by astria: May 1 2009, 10:58 AM
edwardgsk
post May 1 2009, 11:26 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

BenQ boss in malaysia will definitely be very happy if we quote all those posts recommending BenQ and email over to let him read laugh.gif
kwl
post May 1 2009, 11:29 AM

88 posts

hp dv2 biggrin.gif
xproc
post May 2 2009, 12:45 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

go for s42
ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 10:38 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ May 2 2009, 12:45 AM)
go for s42
S57 juz about rm500 more but it is much much more better than S42 , except the look.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on May 2, 2009, 10:40 am
QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 30 2009, 11:36 PM)
Hello there. I'm new to this world of laptop as well as... New to everything in computer. Well. I need a laptop here for my College. Will going Lowyat next week. So will get a laptop there. And hope that I could have some guidance here. Just placed an order on Dell's site recently, but due to some problems, the deal is cancelled. So, hope I could get fully prepared for my first laptop. Information, guidance, suggestions, opinions, comments etcs. needed.

Budget              -> below RM3,500
Main purpose    -> College needs
Others              ->Best come with backlit keyboard.

Core 2 Duo CPU
more than 2GB rams

I can't deal with DELL online. Due to some payment method problem. Might going Low Yat.

Please leave a message if you need more infomation. Sorry for any stupid question or info. I'm a newbie to computers. =) Thanks.
LOL.. 9300M GS is a piece of SH*T .. u will know when u playing current game even in medium-low setting ..

This post has been edited by ExHolyAngel: May 2 2009, 10:40 AM
astria
post May 2 2009, 02:33 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 10:38 AM)
S57 juz about rm500 more but it is much much more better than S42 , except the look.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

LOL.. 9300M GS is a piece of SH*T .. u will know when u playing current game even in medium-low setting ..
not every one is rich enuf to afford a mainstream GPU...
ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 03:48 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 2 2009, 02:33 PM)
not every one is rich enuf to afford a mainstream GPU...
cant afford a bit more , better dun buy laptop , juz buy desktop , its my 2 cents ...
astria
post May 2 2009, 03:49 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 03:48 PM)
cant afford a bit more , better dun buy laptop , juz buy desktop , its my 2 cents ...
not everyone need a laptop for gaming... so y waste the moolah on sth that's not used???
ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 04:24 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 2 2009, 03:49 PM)
not everyone need a laptop for gaming... so y waste the moolah on sth that's not used???
Atleast spend a bit more for future proof , shud know that the software over days will nid higher system requirements.
astria
post May 2 2009, 04:33 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 04:24 PM)
Atleast spend a bit more for future proof , shud know that the software over days will nid higher system requirements.
there's no such thing as future proof for computers... at most future resistant...

Montevina is the way to go now... but in a few mths time, when Intel launches Calpella, u sure it's still called future proof???
weiyap_tan
post May 2 2009, 05:11 PM

Mr. Poison!!
2,384 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 04:24 PM)
lol...u will never have enough money to keep up with these manufactures de...no future proof meh...for example u get an alienware laptop today with very high end sli gpu...soon after that..u wil find that it no longer suit the games at this time...but u did spend a lot man...so what proof does it give?? it's better to spend ur money wise...buy those laptop enough for ur daily use that's all..

Added on May 2, 2009, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 10:38 AM)
S57 juz about rm500 more but it is much much more better than S42 , except the look.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

hmm..but it's enough for those who r playing football manager ..still there is always a market for it...dun just look down on other ppl's choice..nvidia come out with 9300 ..there must be a reason..

This post has been edited by weiyap_tan: May 2 2009, 05:17 PM
BBXiong
post May 2 2009, 08:57 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

deadly agree with weiyap, but i understand what angel's talking as well..
my opinion is, get a mid range laptop, which decent GPU inside, as well as other specs, that way, you don have to be too rich to get one, and your laptop can last half to one year longer for games, at most cannot play at medium, have to play at low, but that time, low also look very nice edi..
ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 09:30 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 2 2009, 08:57 PM)
deadly agree with weiyap, but i understand what angel's talking as well..
my opinion is, get a mid range laptop, which decent GPU inside, as well as other specs, that way, you don have to be too rich to get one, and your laptop can last half to one year longer for games, at most cannot play at medium, have to play at low, but that time, low also look very nice edi..
Fren , 5k is mid range , 10k is high range , 2k = ?? since when got a 2k laptop with decent GPU ?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TSzorbyss.
post May 2 2009, 11:04 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

hmm? is BenQ is trustable brand ar? I'm interested with Joybook s42. decent GC and CPU
astria
post May 2 2009, 11:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 09:30 PM)
Fren , 5k is mid range , 10k is high range , 2k = ??  since when got a 2k laptop with decent GPU ??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
5k is already high end.... more than that can consider hardcore already...

u re NOT dealing with desktops here...

Added on May 2, 2009, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 2 2009, 11:04 PM)
hmm? is BenQ is trustable brand ar? I'm interested with Joybook s42. decent GC and CPU
so far, at least in this forum, no S42 users ve sent the laptop for servicing...

This post has been edited by astria: May 2 2009, 11:07 PM
fcuk90
post May 3 2009, 02:42 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 09:30 PM)
Fren , 5k is mid range , 10k is high range , 2k = ??  since when got a 2k laptop with decent GPU ??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
dont forget compaq cq40 series .... biggrin.gif
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 09:39 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 3 2009, 02:42 AM)
dont forget compaq cq40 series .... biggrin.gif
cq40 have 2k and decent GPU ? i think "decent" GPU shud be able to play atleast 50% of current games at highest setting with no AA.

most cq40 model dun have decent GPU i think , juz integrated 1 ..
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 09:44 AM

5,489 posts

i thought ati hd radeon 3450 is a decent gpu?
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 09:49 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 09:44 AM)
i thought ati hd radeon 3450 is a decent gpu?
fantasia, for *him a decent gpu means that a gpu that can at least play high-end games with the highest settings in the future..for us the cq40 with ati3450 already decent enuff... rclxms.gif
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 09:53 AM

5,489 posts

lol!!!!!!!!then i think compaq can zap lap already la.i dont think compaq zap lap only,many computing company also zap lap...
steventan85
post May 3 2009, 10:02 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 30 2009, 11:36 PM)

Budget              -> below RM3,500
Main purpose    -> College needs
Others              ->Best come with backlit keyboard.

Core 2 Duo CPU
more than 2GB rams

can i know wat problems u face on their payment method ? either u bank in to their citibank acc , giv them the cheque or thru citibank or maybank credit card ....

for the games u demand , even my ATI 4670 cant handle it much especially L4D ....

dont go for Benq or acer if possible , either choose dell , hp or asus ....

acer and benq doesnt worth for u to invest at all shakehead.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 10:09 AM

5,489 posts

which hp laptop will u get with a budget 3.5k and below with a gpu better than ati 4670?i very curious ^^how about dell?ati 4570??well,every1 know 4570 is worse than 4650...asus i think the spec u get will be slightly lower than benq with the same price...just my opinion ^^
steventan85
post May 3 2009, 10:16 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 10:09 AM)
which hp laptop will u get with a budget 3.5k and below with a gpu better than ati 4670?i very curious ^^how about dell?ati 4570??well,every1 know 4570 is worse than 4650...asus i think the spec u get will be slightly lower than benq with the same price...just my opinion ^^
well , is that mean u gonna get a quality-not-so-nice laptop bcoz of that ? tats nightmare having tis kind of laptop.... i m using my company's acer notebook ...its a nitemare for me ..but i dont mind as i will claim OT if my doc corrupted and windows corrupted , or any hardware failure

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 3 2009, 10:16 AM
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 10:36 AM

5,489 posts

well,from most of the benq user,they very sastify with the after sale service that benq provide
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 10:55 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 2 2009, 11:06 PM)
5k is already high end.... more than that can consider hardcore already...

u re NOT dealing with desktops here...

Added on May 2, 2009, 11:07 pm
Bro, u hav to noe the 5k he say is in Rm nt $S. So for msia, Rm5k laptop really consider a middle end laptop. tongue.gif
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 11:08 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 10:55 AM)
Bro, u hav to noe the 5k he say is in Rm nt $S. So for msia, Rm5k laptop really consider a middle end laptop.  tongue.gif
Yeah baby , u reli knows it, rm 5k is only mid-end laptop , but for deskstop RM5k will be high-end.
astria
post May 3 2009, 11:11 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 10:55 AM)
Bro, u hav to noe the 5k he say is in Rm nt $S. So for msia, Rm5k laptop really consider a middle end laptop.  tongue.gif
i know it's RM, but as i said, we re not dealing with desktops here...

for desktops, even a 9600GT is considered mainstream only, but when comes to laptop, u ve to know that for the same price, u get much less...

and if u look around us, most laptops are priced approx. RM3k/SG$1.5k... these are considered mainstream laptops, and usually they come with hardware like C2D P8000 and at most HD 4570/G 105M...

go ask around, how many ppl would spend rm5k on a laptop... most ppl dun even play games on laptop... a netbook is sufficient for many...
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:12 AM

5,489 posts

different person have their own point of view la.for me,5k laptop consider high end but not enthusiast class...some may say 5k only a mid-end laptop...
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 11:13 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 3 2009, 11:11 AM)

for desktops, even a 9600GT is considered mainstream only, but when comes to laptop, u ve to know that for the same price, u get much less...

and if u look around us, most laptops are priced approx. RM3k/SG$1.5k... these are considered mainstream laptops, and usually they come with hardware like C2D P8000 and at most HD 4570/G 105M...

go ask around, how many ppl would spend rm5k on a laptop... most ppl dun even play games on laptop... a netbook is sufficient for many...
Ya, for those who dint play games , netbook is more than enough,but in laptop ,HD4570 cant handle light games with highest setting like L4D.
astria
post May 3 2009, 11:14 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 11:13 AM)
Ya, for those who dint play games , netbook is more than enough,but in laptop ,HD4570 cant handle light games with highest setting like L4D.
u sure???

my 8600M GS already can handle L4D at mid-high settings, 1280x800...

pls, L4D is using an old engine...

This post has been edited by astria: May 3 2009, 11:15 AM
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:16 AM

5,489 posts

then what is the purpose of producing a low cost laptop??compaq might as well defunct
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 11:17 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 11:08 AM)
Yeah baby , u reli knows it, rm 5k is only mid-end laptop , but for deskstop RM5k will be high-end.
But in Sg, $S5k is v high end laptop liao, rclxms.gif
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:23 AM

5,489 posts

convert to RM is about RM11000++
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 11:25 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 11:16 AM)
then what is the purpose of producing a low cost laptop??compaq might as well defunct
Low-Cost laptop is produced to suit daily use , like watching so movies,do so project work, but definately not for GAMES !!

This post has been edited by ExHolyAngel: May 3 2009, 11:25 AM
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 11:25 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 3 2009, 11:11 AM)

Yea i noe, but anyone dealing with desktop here?

Majority of ppl will only spend Rm3k+- for laptop, juz only a few ppl who v rich then will spend more than Rm5k for laptop.

Normally laptop is nt for gaming use but nowaday, all ppl using laptop for gaming, lol. doh.gif
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 11:26 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 11:17 AM)
But in Sg, $S5k is v high end laptop liao,  rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif why dun say 5k in US dollar ? haha..
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:28 AM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 11:25 AM)
Majority of ppl will only spend Rm3k+- for laptop, juz only a few ppl who v rich then will spend more than Rm5k for laptop.
Normally laptop is nt for gaming use but nowaday, all ppl using laptop for gaming, lol.  doh.gif
yup....i using my compaq v3751au for light gaming too...
astria
post May 3 2009, 11:34 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 11:25 AM)
Normally laptop is nt for gaming use but nowaday, all ppl using laptop for gaming, lol.  doh.gif
u say it urself...
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 11:36 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 11:26 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif why dun say 5k in US dollar ? haha..
As well pound, wow~ drool.gif

Added on May 3, 2009, 11:37 am
QUOTE(astria @ May 3 2009, 11:34 AM)
u say it urself...
But anyone dealing desktop here? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by ic3rock: May 3 2009, 11:37 AM
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:38 AM

5,489 posts

y not kuwaiti dinar?highest value among all the currency in the world
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 11:40 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 11:38 AM)
LOL we are going out of topic , haha sign0006.gif sign0006.gif sign0006.gif
astria
post May 3 2009, 11:44 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 11:36 AM)
As well pound, wow~  drool.gif

Added on May 3, 2009, 11:37 am
But anyone dealing desktop here?  shocking.gif
ye, we re not dealing with desktops here... but u go ask around, how many ppl would spend rm5k for a laptop???
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:45 AM

5,489 posts

i wonder how much do kuwait ppl spend on their laptop.kuwait is 1 of the richest country in the world....
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 11:49 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 11:38 AM)
Cos Kuwait no ppl use laptop for gaming, brows.gif
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 11:51 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

people...if you are really a hardcore gamer than shouldn't be a problem for those with the riches to buy a powerful laptop that can play the most recent games with ease (highest settings) but for some (like me), whose doesn't have that kind of money, a decent laptop that can play games with mid settings is enough...depend on person, hardcore gamer, get ready to pump-up money to buy a powerful laptop for gaming but for those that is hardcore but don't have the cash, stick down to the level that suit us...if it can play games with mid-settings is enough...

just my 2 cents...

Added on May 3, 2009, 11:52 am
QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 11:49 AM)
Cos Kuwait no ppl use laptop for gaming,  brows.gif
yalor...desktop is better for gaming... nod.gif

This post has been edited by miahahaha: May 3 2009, 11:52 AM
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 11:53 AM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 11:49 AM)
Cos Kuwait no ppl use laptop for gaming,  brows.gif
r u sure??i think they too bz relaxing...too rich to work XD.my dad went there b4.he said they dont use nike,new balance or adidas.they assum these brand are too cheap.the attire that they wear can simply cost more than RM1k
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 12:00 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 11:53 AM)
r u sure??i think they too bz relaxing...too rich to work XD.my dad went there b4.he said they dont use nike,new balance or adidas.they assum these brand are too cheap.the attire that they wear can simply cost more than RM1k
I oso dont use new balance or adidas cos i use BATA, made in msia, rclxms.gif

Ur dad went there for work ar? Must well go Dubai, work 3 months then can rest 9 months, whistling.gif

Added on May 3, 2009, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 11:40 AM)
LOL we are going out of topic , haha  sign0006.gif  sign0006.gif  sign0006.gif
Sry for out of topic, i wont reply anymore, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ic3rock: May 3 2009, 12:01 PM
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 12:02 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 12:00 PM)
I oso dont use new balance or adidas cos i use BATA, made in msia,  rclxms.gif 

Ur dad went there for work ar? Must well go Dubai, work 3 months then can rest 9 months,  whistling.gif

Added on May 3, 2009, 12:01 pm
Sry for out of topic, i wont reply anymore,  biggrin.gif
support local product lol.....off topic some more...
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 12:17 PM

5,489 posts

THE SUPPORT LOCAL COMPUTING PRODUCT!!!what laptop is made in malaysia?
astria
post May 3 2009, 12:18 PM

22,158 posts

use AMD CPU... made in MY...
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 12:20 PM

5,489 posts

REALLY???but my compaq using amd made in china
astria
post May 3 2009, 12:21 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 12:20 PM)
REALLY???but my compaq using amd made in china
lol.. then i not sure...

my Phenom II says: Diffused in Germany, Assembled in Malaysia
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 12:24 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

laptop brand from malaysia....MIMOS-MAKCIK PC...lol...
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 12:25 PM

5,489 posts

twinhead from malaysia right?
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 12:27 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 12:25 PM)
twinhead from malaysia right?
twinhead from aussie if i'm not mistaken...maybe assembled in malaysia.. hmm.gif
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 12:47 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ May 3 2009, 12:27 PM)
twinhead from aussie if i'm not mistaken...maybe assembled in malaysia.. hmm.gif
TwinHead laptop reli cannot use , LOL , my rich fren who dunno PC at all ,he juz say wan buy laptop and ask his father's company worker buy 1,

after that , bought a 5k laptop ,twinhead with " POOR DESIGN , EASY OVER TEMP,LOUSY SPECS(even lousier than a 2k laptop), OMG rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

1 more is >> PIRATED windows !! cool2.gif
astria
post May 3 2009, 12:48 PM

22,158 posts

lesson: always survey before u buy...
TSzorbyss.
post May 3 2009, 01:00 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

anyone could tell me infomation about HP Pavilion DV5 series? the variation of models and price pls? Specs too as well.
astria
post May 3 2009, 01:01 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 3 2009, 01:00 PM)
anyone could tell me infomation about HP Pavilion DV5 series? the variation of models and price pls? Specs too as well.
i thought dv5 EOL already???
TSzorbyss.
post May 3 2009, 01:02 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

what's EOL?
astria
post May 3 2009, 01:02 PM

22,158 posts

End of life...

means not selling anymore...
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 01:03 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 12:47 PM)
TwinHead laptop reli cannot use , LOL , my rich fren who dunno PC at all ,he juz say wan buy laptop and ask his father's company worker buy 1,

after that , bought a 5k laptop ,twinhead with " POOR DESIGN , EASY OVER TEMP,LOUSY SPECS(even lousier than a 2k laptop), OMG rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

1 more is >> PIRATED windows !! cool2.gif
so true..one of my friend bought twinhead but so annoyed with it...feel so damn sad for him lor...specs just lower than average but the price can get a laptop that much more superior than that.. sad.gif vmad.gif
TSzorbyss.
post May 3 2009, 01:03 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

wah... what about Dv4 series?
astria
post May 3 2009, 01:05 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 3 2009, 01:03 PM)
wah... what about Dv4 series?
dv4 much lower spec... 9300M GS/G 105M only...

i think now HP pushing dv6 instead... to fight against SXPS 16 perhaps???
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 01:06 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 3 2009, 01:05 PM)
dv4 much lower spec... 9300M GS/G 105M only...

i think now HP pushing dv6 instead... to fight against SXPS 16 perhaps???
yup..hp is pushing the dv6 series...also the dv2...
TSzorbyss.
post May 3 2009, 01:09 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

what about dv2 specs? they only come with AMD CPU?
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 01:20 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 3 2009, 01:09 PM)
what about dv2 specs? they only come with AMD CPU?
AMD is good wat, overclocking can be do more in AMD cpu.
C-Note
post May 3 2009, 02:34 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey guys which would be a better choice? Acer or Asus? Acer seems to cover more features for the same price in comparison with Asus.
astria
post May 3 2009, 02:36 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 01:20 PM)
AMD is good wat, overclocking can be do more in AMD cpu.
we re NOT dealing with desktop here...

Added on May 3, 2009, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ May 3 2009, 02:34 PM)
hey guys which would be a better choice? Acer or Asus? Acer seems to cover more features for the same price in comparison with Asus.
depends on wat u want...

maybe u list ur budget and requirements???

This post has been edited by astria: May 3 2009, 02:37 PM
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 03:46 PM

416 posts

Even laptop , AMD still have more spaces to overclock compared to Intel .
BBXiong
post May 4 2009, 07:15 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

for laptops, people normally wouldnt overclock, and ExHolyAngel, i read thru, and noticed, you are consider a gamer taht like eye candies, and for people like you, laptop is NOT suitable at all...
he mentioned, his main purpose is college usage, which means it has to be 15.6'' or smaller, and those cards that can fit into laptops that size, can play mid-high settings in main stream games, that also, depends on what game you are talking about..
are you talking about crysis? far cry 2? or just L4D??

to be honestly, i am an owner of benq S42, and i can say that this laptop cost only RM3.5k, and it is very powerful, burnout paradise high texture medium shader with 2x AA, L4D can max setting excluding special effect with 2x AA at 40++ fps, last time i also tried crysis medium setting with 2x AA, and if you bother, i have more benchmark at benq performance den...

yes, it's good that a laptop can play high settings in main stream games, but apart from what, let's say u got urself a 4.5k 17'' laptop with a 9700M GT inside, yes it's cheap, but have you consider the fact that it's too heavy to bring around??

get back to real life dude, main stream laptops can play medium at recent games, not high, as high settings are for gaming laptops only
Fantasia
post May 4 2009, 07:27 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 3 2009, 03:46 PM)
Even laptop , AMD still have more spaces to overclock compared to Intel .
what u said may be true i think but very seldom ppl overclock laptop coz some laptop itself havent overcclock already can boil egg
ExHolyAngel
post May 5 2009, 09:04 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 4 2009, 07:27 PM)
what u said may be true i think but very seldom ppl overclock laptop coz some laptop itself havent overcclock already can boil egg
Indeed , a good cooling system is essential for overclock.

But recently , there are some laptops which equipped with Auto-overclock technology inside.

You can choose whenever u wan to boost it or let it cooling fast with lower performance.
xin
post May 5 2009, 10:36 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

Acer voids ur warranty when u overclock ur notebook under warranty. I am not sure bout other makers though.
astria
post May 5 2009, 10:39 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 5 2009, 09:04 AM)
Indeed , a good cooling system is essential for overclock.

But recently , there are some laptops which equipped with Auto-overclock technology inside.

You can choose whenever u wan to boost it or let it cooling fast with lower performance.
for sure those laptops ve better cooling solutions...

0.0345sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:58 PM