What would you suggest for me?, A laptop for College and med-gaming

ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 03:48 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 2 2009, 02:33 PM)
not every one is rich enuf to afford a mainstream GPU...
cant afford a bit more , better dun buy laptop , juz buy desktop , its my 2 cents ...
astria
post May 2 2009, 03:49 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 03:48 PM)
cant afford a bit more , better dun buy laptop , juz buy desktop , its my 2 cents ...
not everyone need a laptop for gaming... so y waste the moolah on sth that's not used???
ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 04:24 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 2 2009, 03:49 PM)
not everyone need a laptop for gaming... so y waste the moolah on sth that's not used???
Atleast spend a bit more for future proof , shud know that the software over days will nid higher system requirements.
astria
post May 2 2009, 04:33 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 04:24 PM)
Atleast spend a bit more for future proof , shud know that the software over days will nid higher system requirements.
there's no such thing as future proof for computers... at most future resistant...

Montevina is the way to go now... but in a few mths time, when Intel launches Calpella, u sure it's still called future proof???
weiyap_tan
post May 2 2009, 05:11 PM

Mr. Poison!!
2,384 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 04:24 PM)
lol...u will never have enough money to keep up with these manufactures de...no future proof meh...for example u get an alienware laptop today with very high end sli gpu...soon after that..u wil find that it no longer suit the games at this time...but u did spend a lot man...so what proof does it give?? it's better to spend ur money wise...buy those laptop enough for ur daily use that's all..

Added on May 2, 2009, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 10:38 AM)
S57 juz about rm500 more but it is much much more better than S42 , except the look.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Added on May 2, 2009, 10:40 am
LOL.. 9300M GS is a piece of SH*T .. u will know when u playing current game even in medium-low setting ..
hmm..but it's enough for those who r playing football manager ..still there is always a market for it...dun just look down on other ppl's choice..nvidia come out with 9300 ..there must be a reason..

This post has been edited by weiyap_tan: May 2 2009, 05:17 PM
BBXiong
post May 2 2009, 08:57 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

deadly agree with weiyap, but i understand what angel's talking as well..
my opinion is, get a mid range laptop, which decent GPU inside, as well as other specs, that way, you don have to be too rich to get one, and your laptop can last half to one year longer for games, at most cannot play at medium, have to play at low, but that time, low also look very nice edi..
ExHolyAngel
post May 2 2009, 09:30 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 2 2009, 08:57 PM)
deadly agree with weiyap, but i understand what angel's talking as well..
my opinion is, get a mid range laptop, which decent GPU inside, as well as other specs, that way, you don have to be too rich to get one, and your laptop can last half to one year longer for games, at most cannot play at medium, have to play at low, but that time, low also look very nice edi..
Fren , 5k is mid range , 10k is high range , 2k = ?? since when got a 2k laptop with decent GPU ?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TSzorbyss.
post May 2 2009, 11:04 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

hmm? is BenQ is trustable brand ar? I'm interested with Joybook s42. decent GC and CPU
astria
post May 2 2009, 11:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 09:30 PM)
Fren , 5k is mid range , 10k is high range , 2k = ??  since when got a 2k laptop with decent GPU ??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
5k is already high end.... more than that can consider hardcore already...

u re NOT dealing with desktops here...

Added on May 2, 2009, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 2 2009, 11:04 PM)
hmm? is BenQ is trustable brand ar? I'm interested with Joybook s42. decent GC and CPU
so far, at least in this forum, no S42 users ve sent the laptop for servicing...

This post has been edited by astria: May 2 2009, 11:07 PM
fcuk90
post May 3 2009, 02:42 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ May 2 2009, 09:30 PM)
Fren , 5k is mid range , 10k is high range , 2k = ??  since when got a 2k laptop with decent GPU ??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
dont forget compaq cq40 series .... biggrin.gif
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 09:39 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 3 2009, 02:42 AM)
dont forget compaq cq40 series .... biggrin.gif
cq40 have 2k and decent GPU ? i think "decent" GPU shud be able to play atleast 50% of current games at highest setting with no AA.

most cq40 model dun have decent GPU i think , juz integrated 1 ..
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 09:44 AM

5,489 posts

i thought ati hd radeon 3450 is a decent gpu?
miahahaha
post May 3 2009, 09:49 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 09:44 AM)
i thought ati hd radeon 3450 is a decent gpu?
fantasia, for *him a decent gpu means that a gpu that can at least play high-end games with the highest settings in the future..for us the cq40 with ati3450 already decent enuff... rclxms.gif
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 09:53 AM

5,489 posts

lol!!!!!!!!then i think compaq can zap lap already la.i dont think compaq zap lap only,many computing company also zap lap...
steventan85
post May 3 2009, 10:02 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 30 2009, 11:36 PM)
Hello there. I'm new to this world of laptop as well as... New to everything in computer. Well. I need a laptop here for my College. Will going Lowyat next week. So will get a laptop there. And hope that I could have some guidance here. Just placed an order on Dell's site recently, but due to some problems, the deal is cancelled. So, hope I could get fully prepared for my first laptop. Information, guidance, suggestions, opinions, comments etcs. needed.

Budget              -> below RM3,500
Main purpose    -> College needs
Second purpose -> Moderate gaming (Games in demand:L4D, CoD4, RA3 and etcs.)
Others              ->Best come with backlit keyboard.
                        -> Hope it has a trustable build

Addtional thoughts -> Hope it comes with the specs below.
Core 2 Duo CPU
more than 2GB rams
Moderate GC (could play the games as listed)
14"- 15" screen will be the best
Does HP has a model that suits the conditions above?

I can't deal with DELL online. Due to some payment method problem. Might going Low Yat.

What brand would you recommend?
What type of CPU and GPU are suitable for my need?

Please leave a message if you need more infomation. Sorry for any stupid question or info. I'm a newbie to computers. =) Thanks.
can i know wat problems u face on their payment method ? either u bank in to their citibank acc , giv them the cheque or thru citibank or maybank credit card ....

for the games u demand , even my ATI 4670 cant handle it much especially L4D ....

dont go for Benq or acer if possible , either choose dell , hp or asus ....

acer and benq doesnt worth for u to invest at all shakehead.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 10:09 AM

5,489 posts

which hp laptop will u get with a budget 3.5k and below with a gpu better than ati 4670?i very curious ^^how about dell?ati 4570??well,every1 know 4570 is worse than 4650...asus i think the spec u get will be slightly lower than benq with the same price...just my opinion ^^
steventan85
post May 3 2009, 10:16 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 3 2009, 10:09 AM)
which hp laptop will u get with a budget 3.5k and below with a gpu better than ati 4670?i very curious ^^how about dell?ati 4570??well,every1 know 4570 is worse than 4650...asus i think the spec u get will be slightly lower than benq with the same price...just my opinion ^^
well , is that mean u gonna get a quality-not-so-nice laptop bcoz of that ? tats nightmare having tis kind of laptop.... i m using my company's acer notebook ...its a nitemare for me ..but i dont mind as i will claim OT if my doc corrupted and windows corrupted , or any hardware failure

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 3 2009, 10:16 AM
Fantasia
post May 3 2009, 10:36 AM

5,489 posts

well,from most of the benq user,they very sastify with the after sale service that benq provide
ic3rock
post May 3 2009, 10:55 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 2 2009, 11:06 PM)
5k is already high end.... more than that can consider hardcore already...

u re NOT dealing with desktops here...

Added on May 2, 2009, 11:07 pm
Bro, u hav to noe the 5k he say is in Rm nt $S. So for msia, Rm5k laptop really consider a middle end laptop. tongue.gif
ExHolyAngel
post May 3 2009, 11:08 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 3 2009, 10:55 AM)
Bro, u hav to noe the 5k he say is in Rm nt $S. So for msia, Rm5k laptop really consider a middle end laptop.  tongue.gif
Yeah baby , u reli knows it, rm 5k is only mid-end laptop , but for deskstop RM5k will be high-end.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:02 AM