4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V25!, The Orange Legion

kysham
post May 2 2009, 04:52 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

We were having a model shoot in the sleepy town of Tamparuli yesterday, which is about 30 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu. My friend heard this constant hammering sound and was curious what was it. So he went and checked it out. It turned out to be an old man making sotong bakar by the pedestal walkway (kaki lima) of an old shop.

This is one of my all time childhood favorite bites! I guess as I grew up, I had lost touch with this food. It brought back a lot of great memory of my growing up time with this sotong bakar. Add soya sauce (kicap) and cili sauce, and I was a happy man! laugh.gif

#1 Sleepy town of Tamparuli

#2 Sotong Bakar. Roasted over charcoal fire - the traditional way to do it right.

#3 After roasting the strips of dried squid, it was hammered into a pulpy stick.

#4 They have the dry version. Add soya sauce & cili sauce.

#5 They also have the marinated version. Also very delicious!

That brough back plenty of memories..... Oh God, I am an old man liao... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kysham: May 2 2009, 04:52 PM
kysham
post May 4 2009, 08:46 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

vikingw2k, I prefer Banzai_San's version. Yours is a bit too pale for my liking... smile.gif
kysham
post May 4 2009, 09:12 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ May 4 2009, 08:52 PM)
Owh ok. I find that Banzai_San's skin tone is a little off and it's a bit too warm.  biggrin.gif
Somehow if Banzai_San is able to match the skin tone of the groom (too warm) with that of the bride (just nice), that will be great for me. Hahaha... each man to his own. Really, there is no right or wrong. Just personal taste.
kysham
post May 5 2009, 12:34 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

OK, photo SPAM 3 pictures lah:

Shot these girls at the local Tanjung Aru beach last Sunday. Gorgeous sunset and of course one of my favourite shooting style, sunset portraiture! rclxm9.gif

#1 Model: Pearl Dianne

#2 Model: Pearl Dianne

#3 Model: Kai Shin

C&C welcomed! biggrin.gif
kysham
post May 5 2009, 02:20 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(achew @ May 5 2009, 02:07 PM)
luckily...not my cup of tea.. whistling.gif

i might nose bleed if u post some new sony slr n lenses... tongue.gif
we call that LENS LUST! laugh.gif
kysham
post May 6 2009, 12:05 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ May 6 2009, 07:33 AM)
awal pagi spamspam.....

the expression on my face.... doh.gif sweat.gif

Yeap, my right hand was holding the Sigma 70-200 f2.8 EX II DG HSM, while my left hand was holding the Sony SAL70400G SSM. icon_rolleyes.gif
kysham
post May 6 2009, 03:14 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

As bro ryzan76 had mentioned.... this was during a simple TT session at KK Warisan Square Secret Recipe restaurant. And no... I'm not selling lenses! laugh.gif The Sigma 70-200 f2.8 belongs to me, while the Sony 70-400 belongs to another alphanatics member..... (undisclosed).
kysham
post May 6 2009, 05:02 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(chiggy @ May 6 2009, 03:52 PM)
sell extra f42, get 1.4 - topping 300++ is worthwhile because you get a new lens with warranty compared to an old lens without warranty and of course F1.4, though there is not really must difference between F1.4 and F1.7 - like in a room light, I get 1/20s on F1.4 and at F1.7, I get 1/25s - this is at ISO100
Chiggy, you sure about this? sweat.gif
kysham
post May 6 2009, 07:53 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

....... just.... one.... SPAM! tongue.gif

Lovely Quenie...
Crappy focus shot... but I somehow like the feel.. that dreamy, soft feel... and you know she is looking at you... drool.gif
kysham
post May 6 2009, 08:20 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(achew @ May 6 2009, 07:56 PM)
i like the overexposed background.....definitely would give it a try when i shoot portrait next time...was the background sun light??or u put flash or wadever at the back?
Just face the camera towards the sea.... tongue.gif basically a backlit situation here. totally overexposed the background to give this high key feel.
kysham
post May 8 2009, 04:44 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

SPAM! .... well, not exactly spam but.... my photos went up on BREEZE magazine! Here are the screen shots of the online version of this BREEZE magazine, issue 16.

#1 Photos of the MSJ Photography Workshop that I was an instructor for.

#2 Photo of Pearl Dianne, which I shot. rclxm9.gif

The full online version of BREEZE magazine:

http://issuu.com/breezemag/docs/breeze_iss...howFlipBtn=true

BREEZE is a monthly magazine that was distributed for free here in Sabah & Sarawak. It features the events & happenings in this region.
kysham
post May 8 2009, 06:57 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ May 8 2009, 04:59 PM)
Congratulations instructor kysham, now we can literally legally call you sifu!
No, no, no..... no where near being a sifu... sweat.gif although I love seafood! laugh.gif Come on guys, drop the sifu thingy.... just call me a bro. I just share whatever I know... I could be wrong on certain things (and had been wrong before on some things).

By the way, dingenius3, MSJ Photography is formed by a group of photography enthusiasts here in KK, Sabah, to bring as many photographers (be it professionals or hobbyists) together to enjoy the benefits of sharing the same passion. We try to organize a lot of outings and workshops to benefit all members (instructors get to polish their training skills and hobbyists get to learn new skills). I'm one of the more senior member (because I was there when it first started, not because I'm better) and gets to be in a lot of the organizing committees. The group do not have any inclination towards any specific brand, although we do get some sponsorship from Canon Marketing from time to time for our activities. I have to say that their marketing strategies are really good, supporting the local photography circle, in hope of getting a lot of die hard fans who in turn will help them market their products with passion. Wish Sony will do the same in the future. rclxms.gif
kysham
post May 8 2009, 07:21 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 8 2009, 07:08 PM)
Wow. kysham quite lame hor? Sifu = seafood. LOL!
yeah... never said I was bright, although I love bright lenses.... (oh boy... there we go again.... oops.gif )
kysham
post May 8 2009, 07:26 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ May 8 2009, 07:22 PM)
I have used a Sigma 50mm F2.8 Macro before in my Scientific photography lab. This lens minimum focus distance is superb, but u cant get picture of bugs with big magnification coz 50mm isnt very long. When shooting at close subject, the DoF is so damn shallow!! Need increase the f number to around 5 to get everything in focus.

Added on May 8, 2009, 7:23 pm
Everytime i on facebook, there must be a new outing organized by MSJ...i so damn jealous..i wan go back KK!
A lot of the insect photographers use very small apertures (f9 to f13 are normal) to get acceptable DoF. to compensate for the poor lighting with such small apertures, they will resort to using flash guns and macro flash kit. ask liewwk, shunfa and ryzan... these guys know all about macro lighting.

............ these guys are the true photoBUGS! laugh.gif
kysham
post May 8 2009, 07:31 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 8 2009, 07:26 PM)
Meaning you wont really use F2.8 for macro shots la? And the magnification. Can at least see like water droplets or the insect being like big right? Hope you understand what I'm trying to say. LOL!
Understand the concept of magnification ratio. Macro lenses usually have a magnification ratio of 1:1. nod.gif
kysham
post May 8 2009, 07:46 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ May 8 2009, 07:33 PM)
^yea but me and cow meant the size of the bug appeared on the photo...juz dono wht word to use sweat.gif
OK, here you go: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macro_photography

Meaning, a grain of rice that measures 5mm will cover the exact same length on the sensor plane.... how big will this translate to on an actual photo? that really depends on how big you wanna blow up that photo... laugh.gif
kysham
post May 8 2009, 07:54 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ May 8 2009, 07:30 PM)
what does MSJ stands for?
Im in KK. Mana tau can join...  brows.gif
Please do join us! Come and have fun shooting! Plenty of activities. You have facebook? Add me in: Sham Kien Yee. Then we can update you on the MSJ activities so that if you are free, can join in the fun. rclxms.gif

Ryzan, dah confirm nak beli studio light yang mana satu kah? brows.gif
kysham
post May 8 2009, 08:01 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ May 8 2009, 07:55 PM)
sudah bos.....soulfly cakap yang brand switz tu...yang u cakap hari tu.....
but still bingung....300 or 500 watt.... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
of course, more power is better lah. 500w! yeah! thumbup.gif
kysham
post May 9 2009, 01:04 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ May 9 2009, 12:18 AM)
just wanna ask something
not to be racist, but when i shoot let say bright skin people in prom, the exposure is correct, but when shoot dark skin people, the exposure will turn out darker...why ar?
shot same framing, same place but using aperture priority..with external flash set to automatic also..
Light skin reflect more light into your camera compared to dark skin... so obviously a lighter skinned model will have brighter exposure compared to a dark skinned model. this is basic light science. not racist remark. biggrin.gif
kysham
post May 9 2009, 10:40 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Chris, I thought you are using A700? How come watermark says A350 ah? hmm.gif Anyway, you succeeded in making me hungry! laugh.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:48 AM