21 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

PS3 Disc Cracked!, A tinny crack in the inner circle

THEALB10N
post Jul 13 2009, 12:06 AM

246 posts

Yup, just checked all my 14 games and 2 have cracks, and both are :drumroll: region 3!

Ratchet and Clank
LBP

I have 5 R3s, 7 R2s, 1 R4 and 1 R1. So I think its safe to say the R3s are affected by the cracking phenomenon. (I have lots of R2s as I am from the UK and buy my games over there much cheaper).

Anyway I sent an e-mail to media molecule about my LBP CD and hopefully they will charge me a set amount for a replacement CD. In my region 2 manuals most of them say they will replace a damaged CD after warranty for a set fee of xx pounds sterling (EA said 10). Not sure about region 3, as I can't read the japanese and/or chinese in the manuals :S

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:59 pmI've been shoved around by game developer to Sony back to game developer and back to sony now, I think I'm not going to bother trying to get replacement discs. Sony HK even told me game discs don't even have a warranty and told me to ask SCEA even though I contacted them originally and they told my to contact Sony HK as my games is region 3.

e-mail from SCEA:
Hello Joe,

We apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your disc being cracked. Since your game is region 3 then you will need to contact that country Sony support and see if they might be able to assist you with that. We only deal with Region 1 and any other products that are North American products for the Playstation Systems.

Regards,
Crystal L.

OK, so I thought. I'll contact the nice people at Sony in Asia.

e-mail from sony HK:
Dear Mr. Jackson,

Thank you for your e-mail and interest in PS products.

Regarding to your enquiry, please be advised that we do not provide any exchange for game discs. Please take note that we only provide warranty and repair service for consoles. We advise you to contact the game developer to inquire further on this issue.

For updated information regarding our PS products, please feel free to browse our web site at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en.
If you have further enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en/support/contactus/.
Playstation product hotline tel: 1-800-81-4963(Mondays to Sundays 09:00-20:00)

Thank you for your kind attention.

Best Regards,

Benny Garcia
Contact Centre
Customer Communications & Relations Department
Direct Touch Point Marketing Division

Ok. Why didn't SCEA tell me to do that in the first place. So I go to Insomniac's website and they don't have a 'contact us', but on their FAQ it says:
I have a defective disc. Do you have an exchange program?

Unfortunately we don't have an exchange program. We create and develop the games here, and Sony publishes the discs. However, you may contact the Sony Computer Entertainment nearest you: America (SCEA), Europe (SCEE), or Japan (SCEI) for help.

Now I am frustrates as Sony and its developers are acting like true malaysians throwing the responsibility at anyone else. So I contact Sony HK once again about the mishap.

e-mail from sony HK:
Dear Mr. Jackson,

Thank you for your e-mail and interest in PS products.

As we have mentioned previously, please know that we do not provide exchanges for the game discs. Game discs do not have warranty[U]. Please take note that the Developer for the game is Insomiac Games. The Publisher is Sony Computer Entertainment America (SCEA). Therefore, if you want to persue the issue, please contact SCEA at http://www.us.playstation.com/Corporate/ContactUs.

For updated information regarding our PS products, please feel free to browse our web site at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en.
If you have further enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en/support/contactus/.
Playstation product hotline tel: 1-800-81-4963(Mondays to Sundays 09:00-20:00)

Thank you for your kind attention.

Best Regards,

Benny Garcia
Contact Centre
Customer Communications & Relations Department
Direct Touch Point Marketing Division

Game discs do not have warranty[U] Hmmm. Really? So whats that fine print at the back of every manual about? Now they want me to contact SCEA who have already said they only deal with North American issues.

I'm not quite sure what to do now. I guess just use the damaged disc until the crack enters the data section of the disc and then make a nice RM200 coaster sad.gif

This post has been edited by THEALB10N: Jul 15 2009, 10:59 PM
HideMoon
post Jul 20 2009, 10:01 AM

135 posts

rm200 coaster.. how ironic.. lol
gundamalpha
post Jul 20 2009, 10:06 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

It's a Sony
post Jul 20 2009, 10:24 AM

1,447 posts

can this disc crack somehow related to Sony Timer?
Sony dun want us to sell used game around so they will earn less so they let ur disc break after certain amount of time.
shinchan^^
post Jul 20 2009, 11:34 AM

K66
21,256 posts

I had just got my COD5 cracked after drop on the floor
R3

Added on July 20, 2009, 11:34 amedit R4 not R3

This post has been edited by shinchan^^: Jul 20 2009, 11:34 AM
K-End
post Jul 20 2009, 11:39 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jul 20 2009, 11:34 AM)
R3

clearly your fault then laugh.gif
ericpires
post Jul 20 2009, 11:40 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jul 20 2009, 11:34 AM)
R3

You mean scratch or crack? i think i drop my disc before on the floor but just very small scratch.... but no crack
shinchan^^
post Jul 20 2009, 11:57 AM

K66
21,256 posts

crack from the side 2cm
not scratch

>_< dun dare put in ps3 now
Kerplunk
post Jul 20 2009, 03:12 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Jul 11 2009, 04:57 AM)
winning 11 2009 region 3 (one of the most regularly played games) ninja gaiden sigma region 2 and deadspace region 2 so far so good.
but killzone 2 region 3 is with a friend and i haven't checked it yet. rarely played though. will report back later.  sweat.gif
checked my r3 killzone 2..no cracks. fuh. what a relief.
TSKenishi
post Jul 20 2009, 03:30 PM

91 posts

In our country, there is no proper consumer right to protect your purchase.
That is one of the reason why ppl still prefer Jonny Depp version here.

gundamalpha
post Jul 20 2009, 03:41 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kenishi @ Jul 20 2009, 03:30 PM)
I don't think so, it has got to do with SCE's refusal to offer replacement to the broken discs rather than our country's consumers' protection. I can understand their refusal to do so, but I'm upset with the QC over the production of BD/case.
TSKenishi
post Jul 20 2009, 04:12 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 20 2009, 03:41 PM)
I don't think so, it has got to do with SCE's refusal to offer replacement to the broken discs rather than our country's consumers' protection. I can understand their refusal to do so, but I'm upset with the QC over the production of BD/case.
Ya...you are right also.

But, if our government has some consumer protection, they can force the SCE to exchange the faulty disc within 90 days of purchase.

gnsumas
post Jul 20 2009, 05:17 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

I'm not sure if I am right, but someone once told me that the disc is okay, but the center of the box is very rigid.

Is this true? Personally, I think so since most of my games which I handle really carefully never crack.
Microsuck_360
post Jul 20 2009, 06:01 PM

241 posts

Whassupp guys!
dunno if this will help or not..but i found this website selling all sort of protective sleeves like below

link here : http://www.mmdesign.com/ (click on "Game Storage")

GOOD LUCK icon_rolleyes.gif

post Jul 20 2009, 07:28 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Jul 20 2009, 06:01 PM)
Whassupp guys!
dunno if this will help or not..but i found this website selling all sort of protective sleeves like below

link here : http://www.mmdesign.com/  (click on "Game Storage")

GOOD LUCK icon_rolleyes.gif
looks just like those pirate DVD case.
gnsumas
post Jul 20 2009, 08:54 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Jul 20 2009, 07:28 PM)
Yup, most people are willing to put their games in plastic sleeves as they are easy to find, but don't want their games to look like Jack Sparrow one tongue.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jul 21 2009, 08:15 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Jul 20 2009, 07:28 PM)
haha i guess the pirates discovered this problem first laugh.gif
THEALB10N
post Jul 21 2009, 10:38 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(Kenishi @ Jul 20 2009, 03:30 PM)
Exactly. In the UK if you have a product designed and marketed to last for several years (like a PS3) and it breaks through normal use after say a year and 3 months, you just call Sony up, tell them that you are aware of the act of good trade (or something like that) and they will fix your product FOC as if it were under warranty! Compare this to Malaysia, my friend sent in his PS3 after a few months as it wouldn't play discs and they told him that it costs RM300 to fix as they need to send it to Singapore! I myself just got my Logitech G25 back 9 weeks after I sent it in under warranty. The consumer is treated very poorly in this country... sad.gif
binary
post Jul 21 2009, 10:50 AM

PreBeT_LaPok
1,535 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ Jul 21 2009, 10:38 AM)
Exactly. In the UK if you have a product designed and marketed to last for several years (like a PS3) and it breaks through normal use after say a year and 3 months, you just call Sony up, tell them that you are aware of the act of good trade (or something like that) and they will fix your product FOC as if it were under warranty! Compare this to Malaysia, my friend sent in his PS3 after a few months as it wouldn't play discs and they told him that it costs RM300 to fix as they need to send it to Singapore! I myself just got my Logitech G25 back 9 weeks after I sent it in under warranty. The consumer is treated very poorly in this country... sad.gif
In your fren case, he might probably bought a SG set thus it need to send it over to SG to claim warranty. You will not get this knid of problem if you buy a Malaysian PS3 set as you can claim the warranty from Sony locally. wink.gif
Reis
post Jul 21 2009, 01:35 PM

344 posts

After the disc faces a small crack, is it possible to safely play with extreme care without extending the damage? Or the crack will just continue to lengthen? If that's the case, the disc is as good as broken since we can play it anymore. If really so, anyway to prevent the crack?

Added on July 21, 2009, 1:36 pmAfter the disc faces a small crack, is it possible to safely play with extreme care without extending the damage? Or the crack will just continue to lengthen? If that's the case, the disc is as good as broken since we can play it anymore. If really so, anyway to prevent the crack?

This post has been edited by Reis: Jul 21 2009, 01:36 PM

21 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:22 PM