NEW SCAM of credit card balance transfer, BEWARE OF IT & report to bnm

SUSjasonhanjk
post Apr 29 2009, 11:02 PM

1,068 posts

EPP agents are pure liars. Here is the numbers to proof it.

Case Study 1

Bank Card: EON Bank Berhad
Credit Limit: RM20,000
Total Outstanding: RM12,000
Available Limit: RM8,000
Purpose: Restructure Credit

EPP Amount: RM18,000 (up 90% of Credit Limit)*
EPP Tenure: 5 Years

Restructure Fees: 27% (5.4% p.a for 5 years)

Calculation 1
= RM18,000 x 27% = RM4,860
= RM18,000 – RM4,860 = RM13,140
= RM13,140 – RM12,000 = RM1,140 (extra cash return to cardholder’s)
= RM18,000 / 60months = RM300 (payment to EON Bank’s direct every month)
= At this scenario, no extra cash needed for restructure fees

The amount owed is only RM13,140, yet the interest is 13.2% pa.
By going to the bank, the loan applicant can convert their CC loan to personal loan, about 8% pa.
SUSjasonhanjk
post Apr 29 2009, 11:09 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Apr 29 2009, 11:04 PM)
It's rather the consumers itself to choose whether to use their services or not. They use the loopholes of bank 0% merchant and provide such services to CC users.
I don't think this categorized in scams, as they dont cheat your money, just convert your outstanding to 0% , but in middle they earn some interest which is always lower than bank's interest. I remember many years ago gold and jewelery traders already provide such services.
Yes, they are not cheating your money, they are cheating the CC company.
I wonder do you still call that a scam. hmm.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 11 2017, 11:40 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(BENJAMIN BENJAMIN @ Jul 10 2017, 03:25 PM)
try study wht is flat rate and effective rate for personal loan. use personal loan to cover credit card loan is a dumb way to do. personal loan effective rate around 21%, which is more than credit card. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  whistling.gif
Why you so boh liao reply me in a 2009 post. Now is the year 2017.

0.0151sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:14 AM