> Fraud call from Fake AmBank, Please Beware!!!

SUSMatrix
post Apr 29 2009, 03:26 PM, updated 16y ago

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I received a call from this number just now:
+601300808888

The call starts wil a pre-recorded message saying something about you owe them xx amount of money (in my case, RM4K+++) which was transacted on X date. After that, they allow you to press '0' (or some other key) to connect to an Operator.

I connect to the 'Operator' and ask his name and tried to grill him, this guy very pro and steady and called himself "Brandon". After a while i lose patience, (without telling him any of my personal info, just wanna grill him).

Then i called AmBank (1300808888) and confirm it's a fraud...i was afraid somebody might use my name to apply credit card so just double check to ensure. The operator confirm i don't have a credit card with them and it's a fraud as AMBank will never call their customer about these things and always send letters.

So guys, beware, but next time you kena, maybe try to ask them more question...his staff id, name, who's the manager, how many branch AMBank has...maybe just try to grill him for more info...maybe ask him how to apply loan etc etc...see whether he make a mistake and slip...

JUST REMEMBER DO NOT GIVE YOUR REAL INFORMATION TO THEM.

SUShako
post Apr 29 2009, 03:28 PM

245 posts

captainobvious.gif
uzer85
post Apr 29 2009, 03:30 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 29 2009, 03:26 PM)
+601300808888

The call starts wil a pre-recorded message saying something about you owe them xx amount of money (in my case, RM4K+++) which was transacted on X date. After that, they allow you to press '0' (or some other key) to connect to an Operator.

I connect to the 'Operator' and ask his name and tried to grill him, this guy very pro and steady and called himself "Brandon". After a while i lose patience, (without telling him any of my personal info, just wanna grill him).

Then i called AmBank (1300808888) and confirm it's a fraud...i was afraid somebody might use my name to apply credit card so just double check to ensure. The operator confirm i don't have a credit card with them and it's a fraud as AMBank will never call their customer about these things and always send letters.

So guys, beware, but next time you kena, maybe try to ask them more question...his staff id, name, who's the manager, how many branch AMBank has...maybe just try to grill him for more info...maybe ask him how to apply loan etc etc...see whether he make a mistake and slip...

nvr happen to me but thx for the info. thumbup.gif

Aresz.com
post Apr 29 2009, 03:35 PM

102 posts

happened to me..i said to da fraud guy..
"hey, i only have BSN and MayBank la"
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 29 2009, 03:38 PM

PeACe~~
21,782 posts

+601300808888

mind to explain how an 013 numbers has 8 following numbers?
nicknuck
post Apr 29 2009, 03:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 29 2009, 03:38 PM)
itu number 1300 80 8888

+60 depan tu, malaysia
gstay
post Apr 29 2009, 03:47 PM

54 posts

It happened to me 2 weeks ago with the same bank (AMBank). Grill the operator by asking information about the bank and himself and he suddently put down his phone.

Be very careful when u get this type of call.
SUSMatrix
post Apr 29 2009, 03:48 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 29 2009, 03:38 PM)
I can't remember whether it's +61300808888 or +601300808888, deleted the log already.

It's not a 013 Lar...it's AMBANK customer care line 1-300-80-8888. Go to www.ambank.com.my and see urself.
IP_MAN
post Apr 29 2009, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(nicknuck @ Apr 29 2009, 03:44 PM)
itu number 1300 80 8888

+60 depan tu, malaysia
doh.gif
Kravo
post Apr 29 2009, 04:07 PM

1,230 posts

you should reply as follow:

Really? I'm one of the Fraud Detection Department executive of XXXBank (Bank Negara or whatever).

Please provide me more info, so I can alert the rest of my colleagues to highlight this case!

bla bla bla
nicknuck
post Apr 29 2009, 04:11 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(IP_MAN @ Apr 29 2009, 03:56 PM)
doh.gif
salah eh ?? unsure.gif
facepalm
post Apr 29 2009, 04:13 PM

38 posts

economy is bad...ape-ape scam pun bleh jadi
kokweng1
post Apr 29 2009, 04:13 PM

Poring
894 posts

o.O
GaminPro
post Apr 29 2009, 08:38 PM

310 posts

Good one
twhg
post Apr 29 2009, 08:41 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(GaminPro @ Apr 29 2009, 08:38 PM)
Good one
eh jim jim i think that day i saw william at pyramid with his gf. the short william lol
prasys
post Apr 29 2009, 08:41 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Usually I would ask them to wait , and play rick roll.mp3 (if i am near my PC). I'll just rick roll them

jonrwg
post Apr 29 2009, 08:43 PM

1,353 posts

usually i will...

'' arr?? apa lu cakap? tak dengar laa~
pekak sikit .. arr? what??''

till he / she cut the call.
max_75
post Apr 30 2009, 12:42 PM

111 posts

my sister also received the call this morning, and they ask to call another no. 03-86590214 which they claim is ICBC to report it as a fraud case. After spending 30 minutes on phone with someone claim himself as "Charlie", my sister actually gave her FULL financial detail such as others credit card information, bank account information and etc.

Just after my sister hanged up the phone, and my brother-in-law is quite doubtful about the call, so we key in 86590214 in Google search bar and we found few result which give us a great shock!! (if you understand chinese, you can follow the link http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2009/04/25/12.html). My sister immediately call to all bank centre which she have gave out the details and block every transaction immediately.

Thanks to Google!! and someone who contribute this kind of news.

Thanks alot!

This post has been edited by max_75: Apr 30 2009, 12:44 PM
ed0gawa
post Apr 30 2009, 12:46 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

lol @ the phone number ..

never knew that our phone will shows 1300 numbers...

all the bank calls i received are either PRIVATE NUMBER or starts with +603
wz3k
post May 5 2009, 02:08 PM

109 posts

Phew!!! I just got the same call. Good thing I searched the number 03-86590214 on google and found this thread!!!

Hmm.. I read that this has already been reported to police. but still nothing is done. How la.. this number 03-86590214 is a fixed line and the police cant go and grab the guy from his home?????

So easy like this also cannot do.. haih....

This post has been edited by wz3k: May 5 2009, 04:43 PM
vincentsiow
post May 19 2009, 06:32 PM

24 posts

Thanks to Matrix for highlighting this issue. I miss a called from this number "+1300808888" and tried calling back just in case it was an important call---no answer. Out of curiosity, i googled it and found out about this thread.

Thank God i didnt pick up the phone call. according to a guy called Izso, he has an article in his blog (http://izso.blogspot.com). He said that when Ambank really call someone, it should appear as a "private number" or a 7-digit normal land line, NOT a toll free line.

Plus, banks will NEVER call us to divulge our personal information unless when we call the customer service and then they will ask one or two of our info (eg.mother's maiden name) for verification.

Hope this helps...smile.gif
dupont200
post Sep 16 2009, 11:13 AM

102 posts

i receive this call just now. now they advance already, using the exactly same +60321788888 to call me. pro scammer.
somore they can speak malay =,=

edifgrto
post Sep 16 2009, 11:17 AM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

+601300808888

hmmmm, okay~ noted~

10s~
Nightfalls
post Sep 16 2009, 11:19 AM

~Hi Baby~
521 posts

+601300808888

SLLoOowwPOKE !!! i've been conned 3 days ago....

oh wai- shocking.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 16 2009, 11:25 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

so many con men in boleh land now.

should change name to con land.
daniao10
post Jan 22 2010, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(dupont200 @ Sep 16 2009, 11:13 AM)
i receive this call just now. now they advance already, using the exactly same +60321788888 to call me. pro scammer.
somore they can speak malay =,=
Wow, today i received a called from +60321788888 also, automated voice recorder saying i made RM3k transaction using my Ambank Credit card. Crazy, i already cancelled my credit card some times ago. Straight away i press "cancel" button without wasting my time listening to rubbish voice recorder...

Then i call back the same number (Ambank Customer Service) straight away they already said there is fraud, never never receive any calls from that two number 1300808888 & +60321788888 hmm.gif

Why after long time the scam happened they are still unable to do anything about it. People still getting this kinda call "Dear valued customer, bla bla bla.... exactly the same like same as described in this forum"...

Ambank sucks, why they scam using Ambank? Why not other bank? So many enemy out there woh this Ambank, people screwing up ur bank's image... Hahaha
~LynX~
post Jan 22 2010, 12:13 AM

264 posts

I also got a call from that number, which played an automatic message saying that I have a transaction of RM4k++ on my 'credit card', when in fact I dun have one with that bank at all.

I just ignore.

I'm more curious as to how they mask their real number with the legitimate AmBank customer service number?
svarsgaard
post Feb 3 2010, 02:02 AM

guys... please beware... this scam calls still running on...they might call you up from +603 2178 8888, or any 1 300 numbers or + 603999 or 999 ;
for your information, most of malaysian local bank, the have the hotlines to call, the number that are registered as hotline for the bank, it is meant only for them to RECEIVED a call from us, but they CAN'T make calls to us using the same number...

Latest news ; please beware of mail scam, as now they can use "anonymizer mail" to create fake admin mail from any bank, we MUST double check any link provided before proceed with anything..... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by svarsgaard: Feb 3 2010, 02:04 AM
SUSb3ta
post Feb 3 2010, 02:18 AM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

wat im wondering is how they managed to get the number to show +601300808888 hmm.gif
kevyeoh
post Jul 22 2011, 05:37 PM

4,592 posts

+39 1926 481

Today i got the number from above claiming i owe from ambank... Darn...

0.0227sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th November 2024 - 05:36 PM