AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V17, The secret is yet to be unleashed...

cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 03:09 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

In my case when i play with the ACC on my Phenom II X3 it doesn't do anything, in fact it made my rig unbootable.. It will stuck at post sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 03:28 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jun 5 2009, 03:15 PM)
y need the nb-cpu for directing the imc? is there any imprvement of it compared to the older chip that have no nb-cpu?k8? pls dont stop this conversation..i love it and im learning from it..

u set the value higher then cant boot? so it depends on luck also... the theory is "with higher value, more tolerate to oc..lower value for higher efficiency"
but it seems not work to u.. cud it be random like my mobo cpu configuration?
Well its like when u oc the cpu-nb, u will be accelerating the communication speed between the cpu n IMC n etc..
Its kinda like when u use a nvidia gpu beside u oc'ing the gpu clock u could also oc the shader speed.. This in the end would help the gpu to attain a better gpu performance..
That's why as AMDathlon said that when he oc his CPU-NB, some task like compressing files etc would be faster due to the internal communication between cpu n IMC/HT/NB are faster..
Just my 2 cents ah..
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 03:34 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jun 5 2009, 03:26 PM)
@cloudwan..
try negative value..sometimes it works backward.. tongue.gif

wat is IMC actually?
internal memory control?
I think i already tried the + value, - value n auto..
Auto could boot sometimes but my 4th core would still be unusable.. sweat.gif
It must be true what they said, that Phenom II ACC capabilities are already hardwired to the cpu.. hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 03:48 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jun 5 2009, 03:42 PM)
topics getting hotter eh.. brows.gif
so thats y some ppl said its no use for phenom II rite??

but some said it does..lol..the fun thing came from here..

@cloudwan
disable 4th core.. tongue.gif
ur 4th core stable meh?
Ermmm it can be enable n stable up to a point, the cpu was ex-fuzore's, he tried it on a Biostar and got it unlocked..
But it's only stable up to 3.3ghz i think hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 03:53 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jun 5 2009, 03:51 PM)
i see...this could be rite..8tvt,why arent u getting AMD instead of Intel? tongue.gif

its like tuning for better environment..
He was an ex-AMD user, i learnt oc'ing amd cpu from him.. smile.gif
Then one day he turned to the darkside vmad.gif vmad.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 03:56 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jun 5 2009, 03:54 PM)
its up to the batch...golden batch  wub.gif  wub.gif
Yup only golden batch can be unlocked wub.gif wub.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 04:03 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 5 2009, 04:00 PM)
kekeke.. as i said i like amd tech..
just that too much waiting from the past 1-2years..

955BE is the great starts.. the problem is i don't need such power..  tongue.gif
the only option is PII 550
but.. once u got extra core u will never turn back..
I've turned back, though down by 1 core though whistling.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 04:09 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 5 2009, 04:06 PM)
last time only one option - u raise the cpu voltage.. thus the imc get the same..
that's why more or less i think.. ACC tweaking that part to balance the things..
whether u want OC for performance or loose certain parts for VALUE setup..
I think CPU-NB volt tweak start to surface since mobo with SB750 were launched ah.. hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 04:10 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 5 2009, 04:08 PM)
How much PII 550 at Malaysia?

-pWs-
Ni tanya-tanya kosong ke betol2 mau beli whistling.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 04:11 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 5 2009, 04:09 PM)
that's because not fully utilize them..
i'm more to seek performance/price ratio..

if to compare that PII 550 it's better than current X3..
Especially if u can unlock it's other 2 dormant cores rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 04:13 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 5 2009, 04:11 PM)
Consider bro. As file server. smile.gif
But hav to wait until the pain gone 1st. laugh.gif

-pWs-
News from ah_khoo the price in SGP isn't that rosy, it was above the RM3xx we thought it would be..
Exactly how much we have to ask him hmm.gif

Added on June 5, 2009, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 5 2009, 04:13 PM)
Yeah  wub.gif  wub.gif
nod.gif  nod.gif

How bout the power consumption?

-pWs-
Power consumption as X2 or X4?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jun 5 2009, 04:15 PM
cloudwan
post Jun 5 2009, 04:22 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 5 2009, 04:17 PM)
No oc for this rig I guess. Serve as file server only.
A lot of stuff need to do. doh.gif

-pWs-
Hmmmm taken from xbits labs review:

Idle

Load

Some benchies: