Pwnagetool/Redsn0w/Purple&Blackra1n Thread, 2G/3G/3GS Jailbreak[iPhone 3.1.2 is OUT]
psyntium
Jun 23 2009, 09:39 AM

hi guys,
got some problem after jb my iphone 2g with redsn0w and I'm using Maxis btw: 1. receiving SMS is delayed than actual time by 10-20 minutes. (randomly) 2. incoming calls are hard to get through 3. My battery drains 1.5x faster (rough estimate)
This did not happen to me previously though. Any thoughts?
thanks in advance
This post has been edited by psyntium: Jun 23 2009, 09:47 AM
psyntium
Jun 23 2009, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(raoul @ Jun 23 2009, 10:03 AM) I must agreed with the #3 issue...battery does seems to drain faster once on 3.0OS Now have to charge daily instead of alternate days. On the #1 & #2 issue...so far no any problem..tested many times. Btw...I'm on iPhone 2G redSnow to 3.0OS Added on June 23, 2009, 10:08 amSaurik Jayman posted saying that he has some stability issue Cydia at the moment. He just updated a newer version of Cydia yesterday BUT again mentioning that it will still have some issue. Definitely we will see updates for Cydia soon since it's still on a very early stage of with redSnow and later ultraSnow...could say all of us are on the learning stages before things settled down. OK.. so #3 is not just a problem on my phone then.. haha.. I've reformatted and JBed my iphone again . Hopefully it will resolve #1 n #2 issues.. thanks..
psyntium
Jun 23 2009, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Jun 23 2009, 11:44 AM) Thx David, but how long i hv to wait?I plan just upgrade it at July, is that time already got a better solution? yesterday i have downloaded iPhone1,2_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw but i realize it is .RAR file. how come?last time i download that IPSW is not a RAR file.May i know ur guys also same with me?  i don't think it is supposed to be a .RAR file. Did you download it direct from Apple site? to help answer the question on how long u need to wait.. i think it's quite subjective.. u just need to wait for the dev-team to come up with better solution.. or maybe it's actually the OS 3.0 problem.. This post has been edited by psyntium: Jun 23 2009, 11:49 AM
psyntium
Jun 23 2009, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Jun 23 2009, 11:52 AM) i download it from the 1st pages David provided. anywhere i will try again download it. So, have u already upgrade to 3OS? yup.. my iPhone 2G already upgraded + JBed to OS 3.0. There is some issue though. You can refer to my previous posts.
psyntium
Jun 23 2009, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(-_- @ Jun 23 2009, 07:34 PM) anyone got any error once install cydia installer update? if you installed Icy + Cydia, then you will have problem updating. One solution is to uninstall Icy, and Reinstall Cydia using redsn0w. Then, you can update (don't install Icy yet). After you have successfully updated Cydia, then you can install Icy using Cydia.  Added on June 23, 2009, 7:49 pmbtw.. i'm having problem with my iPhone 2G being stucky after update + jb (e.g., when I'm browsing the contacts, sometime it stuck a bit). Anyone having this problem? This post has been edited by psyntium: Jun 23 2009, 07:49 PM
psyntium
Jun 25 2009, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(tapirus @ Jun 25 2009, 02:48 AM) So guys i still cannot get the mms function..:-( ur iPhone is 3G or 2G. if it's 2G, you won't have MMS officially.. Added on June 25, 2009, 9:30 amQUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jun 25 2009, 04:31 AM) anyone knows any shops that offers unlocking services for iPhone 3gs? Y? u mean you've got iPhone 3GS already?? This post has been edited by psyntium: Jun 25 2009, 09:30 AM
psyntium
Jun 25 2009, 10:32 AM

QUOTE(geo-milano @ Jun 21 2009, 09:40 PM) I know this. My iphone have MobileTerminal. I do SSH thru cable with laptop before on 2.2.1, it is worked, I dono why it cant connect on OS3.0. Anyone there have this kind of problem? i'm able to ssh my iphone 2G on OS 3.0 using winscp
psyntium
Jun 25 2009, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(dzerg @ Jun 25 2009, 10:55 AM) halu. i noticed that BossPref and SBSettings did not turn off EDGE completely on my Iphone 3g 3.0 Fw. anybody here got any solution for this. i search through numerous webs and forums (modmyi.com, iclarified.com, etc), but no hit at all. i need solution as my celcom bill is almost 300.. i turn off my all notification already and inactivate all email acct on my Mail.app.. i already tried the method on iphonenodata.com, but still, EDGE still active. all the APN setting are left blank and no profile installed. pls..anyone..help..i almost cannot afford to pay the bills..  one thing u can do is call celcom.. deactivate your data/internet options.. that's what i did with maxis..
psyntium
Jun 25 2009, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Jun 25 2009, 11:49 AM) 1 small question..during jailbreaking, should i install icy? I know it is somewhat similar to cydia. SHould i install both or only cydia at the moment? if you install icy during JBing.. you'll get error when you try to update Cydia.. if you want to install icy.. install it after u update cydia..
psyntium
Jun 25 2009, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(kokseng83 @ Jun 25 2009, 01:21 PM) I found that alot of apple user mentioned about high cost for data usage, but i wondering how to disable the 3g/edge/gprs .. I off the wifi and 3g setting from network, then i tried to go safari i stil can logon to google.com , i open weather also it stil can update.. Can someone guide me what application i should download from cydia to off edge? And can guide my with step by step...? Thank You so much .. (Currently i checked my usage.. received + sent already got 2mb .. oh god) browse to iphonenodata.com using ur iphone.. and follow the steps.. This post has been edited by psyntium: Jun 25 2009, 01:27 PM
psyntium
Jun 26 2009, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(Brick1235 @ Jun 26 2009, 08:53 AM) U can download the latest redsnow from this thread. Page1 I think. Added on June 26, 2009, 8:54 amAnyone have any idea about my situation? Now my phone can call out sometimes can get calls and most of the time ppl call it will go voice message then i will get a sms from Maxis that i got a missed call. T_T what happen to me was because the push email notification was on. Try to change it to manual instead. It works for me like a charm once I turn it to manual. Better batt life.. and no more obvious lagging.
psyntium
Jun 28 2009, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(jedi_dc @ Jun 28 2009, 11:18 AM) Guys, im not sure if this is the right place to post.. But i've jailbreaked and unlocked iPhone 3g to 3.0 using redsn0w and unlocked using ultrasn0w. Used to be firmware 2.1 and was using turbosim. Now not using turbosim anymore. direct sim. But , whenver i insert the simcard, it seems that the phone is very very laggy.. whatever applications i run will lag .. But when i remove the sim , it's smooth as ever. Is this a bug or is it my firmware which is installed wrongly or corrupted? maybe u want to check the email push notification. turn it to manual. n.. try to restart as well..
psyntium
Jun 30 2009, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(hasuji @ Jun 30 2009, 03:10 PM) hi ,sifu,guru and everyone... this is an inquiry about jailbreak. im using 3G maxis iphone and as u guys know its official unlock. so these are steps taken so far: 1 - i have read 1st page 2 - installed everything and jailbreak successfully (redsnow) 3 - restart iphone. everything seems fine like wifi and 3G. 4 - here the problem starts. i go to cydia --> updates --> and my downloading only goes around 10% then stop and error message pop out. (i cant remember what the actual error stated but i will upload the print screen later) what should i do guys? re-jailbreak? or go to see one of our guru in here?  did you have icy installed? if yes.. u need to remove icy.. and resintall cydia.. and do the updates again.. easier step would be.. do the whole thing again, but don't install icy.. update cydia first.. then install icy..
psyntium
Jun 30 2009, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(hasuji @ Jun 30 2009, 04:47 PM) hi psyntium.. yeah i installed icy along with cydia.. i will remove icy after this. btw how to reinstall cydia dude? sorry im lack of knowledge bout this a.k.a newbie.. yup agreed with u, re-JB and dont install icy.. the manual way is.. remove icy via SSH by deleting the folder.. then.. re-run redsn0w, but only tick cydia.. then update cydia.. then reinstall icy..
psyntium
Jun 30 2009, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(valent @ Jun 30 2009, 07:02 PM) Anyone with iPhone 2G 3.0 jb with Redsn0w gotten EDGE to work? theres no APN settings. any idea? i don't think need any APN setting.. (I might be wrong) you use which network?? maxis, digi, celcom??