ASUS P5Q SE VS Gigabyte EP45-UD3L, Which one is better in OC & pricing?

TSSir Adrian Wellesley
post Apr 28 2009, 04:14 PM, updated 17y ago

109 posts

Like the topic suggests...would really appreciate it if some of the gurus or owners of the above mentioned boards can give a clue as to which of the two are more worthy....or can overclock better...

Both are based on P45 chipsets and are really very good for overclocking..but which 1 u prefer? & y?

thnx!
mulut99
post Apr 28 2009, 04:22 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(Sir Adrian Wellesley @ Apr 28 2009, 04:14 PM)
Like the topic suggests...would really appreciate it if some of the gurus or owners of the above mentioned boards can give a clue as to which of the two are more worthy....or can overclock better...

Both are based on P45 chipsets and are really very good for overclocking..but which 1 u prefer? & y?

thnx!
I vote for Asus P5Q because of the bios. Good for overclocking.
bryanyeo87
post Apr 28 2009, 06:25 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

Moved to Q&A
hengmy
post Apr 30 2009, 11:58 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Sir Adrian Wellesley @ Apr 28 2009, 04:14 PM)

thnx!
ud3l was the cheapest board that can push a quad to >500fsb tongue.gif
TSSir Adrian Wellesley
post May 1 2009, 01:57 PM

109 posts

For real!? am actually planning to use it to OC an E5200 to 3.75GHz (12.5x280) or at least 3.5GHz (12.5x300)...can it do? wif dis board can it do dat?

Btw...if d cpu managed to hit 3.5...will it bottleneck a GTS 250 or HD 4850?
SUSaltimi
post May 1 2009, 02:49 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Sir Adrian Wellesley @ May 1 2009, 01:57 PM)
For real!? am actually planning to use it to OC an E5200 to 3.75GHz (12.5x280) or at least 3.5GHz (12.5x300)...can it do? wif dis board can it do dat?

For E5200 OC, Gigabyte EP31 is good enough already..........on E6300 I managed to get 500 FSB OC (7 X 500) = 3500Mhz. E5200 can go up to 3.9GHz on this board but require too much voltage.......... sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

LYR
post May 1 2009, 04:34 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(Sir Adrian Wellesley @ May 1 2009, 01:57 PM)

well, you see. some of the forumers can already push E5200 to 3.5GHz with G31 chipset if you check at overclocking section. P45 chipset is even better at doing this task. i will choose Gigabyte as personal preference.
TSSir Adrian Wellesley
post May 1 2009, 05:37 PM

109 posts

WoW!...thnx for d feedback guys...actually I've got a fren who has his rig setup as:

E5200 M0 Revision
G31-ES2L
KVR 667

His 1 can only hit 3.375 (12.5x270) DRAM:FSB is 1:1...& this is not a fully stable setup oso...will experience blue screen after an hour or so in windows...Altimi...mind to share wat voltage u're playing wif at 3.57GHz?

Err..still..the bottleneck question? 4850 or gts 250? will bottleneck wif e5200 at 3.5 or not? thnx guys

This post has been edited by Sir Adrian Wellesley: May 1 2009, 05:51 PM
SUSaltimi
post May 1 2009, 11:36 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Sir Adrian Wellesley @ May 1 2009, 05:37 PM)
WoW!...thnx for d feedback guys...actually I've got a fren who has his rig setup as:

E5200 M0 Revision
G31-ES2L
KVR 667

His 1 can only hit 3.375 (12.5x270) DRAM:FSB is 1:1...& this is not a fully stable setup oso...will experience blue screen after an hour or so in windows...Altimi...mind to share wat voltage u're playing wif at 3.57GHz?

My motherboard is EP31-DS3L not G31......E5200 Intel Burn test Stable at 3.57GHz (340 x 10.5) @ 1.28V, 2GB Supertalent 800Mhz CL5 @ 1020MHz 5-5-5-15

Err..still..the bottleneck question? 4850 or gts 250? will bottleneck wif e5200 at 3.5 or not? thnx guys

Depends on details and resolution la..........if you're playing at high res & details i think the bottleneck is more on GPU side........

This post has been edited by altimi: May 1 2009, 11:52 PM

xcen
post May 1 2009, 11:40 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

No point buying such a good chipset for a cheap processor in my opinion. Get a G/P31 or G/P35 should be enough.
TSSir Adrian Wellesley
post May 2 2009, 10:51 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ May 1 2009, 11:36 PM)
My motherboard is EP31-DS3L not G31......E5200 Intel Burn test Stable at 3.57GHz (340 x 10.5) @ 1.28V, 2GB Supertalent 800Mhz CL5 @ 1020MHz 5-5-5-15
Depends on details and resolution la..........if you're playing at high res & details i think the bottleneck is more on GPU side........
thnx alot altimi...i nvr knew d p31 board can do dat much good...haha...thnx again for sharing!

Added on May 2, 2009, 10:52 am
QUOTE(Afro100 @ May 1 2009, 11:39 PM)
I managed to overclock my proc to 4Ghz(Q9650) with UD3L, If you'r on tight budget UD3L is a good choice,

dunno about P5Q se tho...
thnx for d vote Afro100...I was wondering if ASUS or Gigabyte was d better choice

Added on May 2, 2009, 10:54 am
QUOTE(LYR @ May 1 2009, 04:34 PM)
well, you see. some of the forumers can already push E5200 to 3.5GHz with G31 chipset if you check at overclocking section. P45 chipset is even better at doing this task. i will choose Gigabyte as personal preference.
alot of gigabyte fans here...thnx for ur vote...was having a hard time determining wic of the 2 (asus vs gigabyte) wud be better overclockers.

Added on May 2, 2009, 10:55 am
QUOTE(xcen @ May 1 2009, 11:40 PM)
No point buying such a good chipset for a cheap processor in my opinion. Get a G/P31 or G/P35 should be enough.
i'll keep that in mind...thnx for sharing =)

This post has been edited by Sir Adrian Wellesley: May 2 2009, 10:55 AM

0.0472sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:14 PM