Hi, when i am using the internet with the wifi on, how would i know if the phone is using wifi or mobile network to access the internet?
thanks!
Blackberry Support and Discussion, Problem or just want to share
Nov 28 2010, 02:21 PM
1,136 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Somewhere out there |
Hi, when i am using the internet with the wifi on, how would i know if the phone is using wifi or mobile network to access the internet?
thanks! |
Nov 29 2010, 09:14 PM
I wonder why when I download an app that is 1mb and above. It will say "blackberry app has an issue and must be closed" I have tried uninstalling and install it back again but the problem still remains. Anyone can help?
Nov 30 2010, 10:37 PM
i donno why sometimes even i off my wifi and i am not running any apps, i see arrows at the reception bar. does that mean it is using my data services?
Nov 30 2010, 11:04 PM
Dec 1 2010, 10:08 AM
Dec 1 2010, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(senbonzakura123 @ Dec 1 2010, 10:15 AM) if u just want to use wifi only with ur BB, in manage connections make sure untick mobile network and just tick wifi, if u click both, the priority will goes to mobile network which u're not subscribe BIS so automatic deduction credit, just my 2cents so even i click wifi prefered it will use my data? BTW, i am currently not subscribed to bis yet...If thats the case i am doomed already.. i have been downloading many apps this few days.... |
Dec 1 2010, 10:35 AM
but take a look at this, see the 5th paragraph. http://us.blackberry.com/newsroom/news/pre...ase.jsp?id=2223
Dec 1 2010, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(senbonzakura123 @ Dec 1 2010, 10:35 AM) yah, if u browse using native browser in your bb, and u want to use wifi and not activating your BiS, just untick mobile network and just tick at wifi, u can browse freely then, all using your wifi only.. but if u tick both, sure got deduction Oh i see....so the safest way now is to select wifi only if i want to download and use any apps?Added on December 1, 2010, 10:39 am yups but the safest way, u need to activate BiS to download because bb apps world including in Blackberry internet service, if u plan to just use ur wifi, u can only browse using ur native browser and u cannot using any Blackberry internet service or else, its ald count as ur data usage Added on December 1, 2010, 11:36 amso the apps is downloaded through blackberry browser? but i have selected hotspot browser so it should be using wifi to download..... This post has been edited by alvin ong: Dec 1 2010, 11:36 AM |
Dec 1 2010, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(maxilias @ Dec 1 2010, 01:06 PM) hohoho, hailat liao lol Haiz...donno what to do now....my bill sure above RM200 already....downloaded over 20mb plus of apps....Added on December 1, 2010, 1:12 pmi stil dont get it, ok..lets say now my wifi is OFF, mobile data is been on for as long the phone is on mah, then i wana surf youtube, so i'll ON my WIFI ( assuming im at home which i have wifi ) then i surf youtube lor on how ronaldo's reaction after losing to barca 5-0, so this will use up my wifi or data?.....any idea how can we know from our phone which connection its using now ?.data or wifi ? |
Dec 1 2010, 01:28 PM
Dec 1 2010, 01:49 PM
Dec 1 2010, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Dec 1 2010, 01:55 PM) Then just avoid streaming and downloading too much... Tethering is okay but dont download and youtubing... Good luck download? does it mean anything i download including from hotspot browser will also charge for data? how about nimbuzz? does it use data to chat also? |
Dec 1 2010, 02:02 PM
Dec 1 2010, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Dec 1 2010, 02:01 PM) oh really? i was using that to chat with my friends yesterday.... and it does not require you to subscribe to BIS.the only thing now is i don't know if it's using data or wifi when i am chatting.... Added on December 1, 2010, 2:07 pm QUOTE(maxilias @ Dec 1 2010, 02:03 PM) app world they'll definately deduct d la..lol..even if u have BIS, will use up ur BIS apps, but wait a minute, if u havent subscribed to BIS, how can u enter BB apps world ? when i got the phone, it doesn't have app world installed...so i downloaded it from the bb website. and surprisingly i can enter bb app world...This post has been edited by alvin ong: Dec 1 2010, 02:07 PM |
Dec 1 2010, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(maxilias @ Dec 1 2010, 02:03 PM) app world they'll definately deduct d la..lol..even if u have BIS, will use up ur BIS apps, but wait a minute, if u havent subscribed to BIS, how can u enter BB apps world ? when i got the phone...it doesn't come with app world, so i downloaded it from bb website...QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Dec 1 2010, 02:04 PM) Small?? Maxis charges RM10 for 1MB.. |
Dec 1 2010, 02:28 PM
so if we want to try if that app is using data or wifi we just select wifi only?
and if it that app doesn't work that means it is using data? is this method accurate? |
Dec 1 2010, 10:03 PM
Dec 2 2010, 11:51 AM
well, i have one question here. let's just say i haven't subscribe to BIS yet. and when i on my Wifi to download apps from app world, will it use my Wifi or data?
Dec 2 2010, 12:03 PM
Dec 2 2010, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Dec 2 2010, 12:10 PM) No you cannot install Apps World Application without using the BIS. Which is the BlackBerry data plan which is required for Apps World. When you install BIS Then you have access to free internet, free emails and of course access to Apps World... but strangely i haven't subscribe to Bis yet, but i have downloaded app world from bb website, and surprisingly i can download the apps.Btw when i was downloading the apps i was connected to my home Wifi. some ppl told me its using Wifi to download and some ppl say it's using your data to download.... so now i am a little confused... |
| Change to: | 0.0869sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:03 PM |