♥♪,Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V14 ♥♪, [Update] V21 Firmware FOTA & NSU

stimix
post Apr 25 2009, 12:27 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sorry..Abit noob on editing signature...I saw nice designs for so long but how u all attached to the Siggy side? I try copy & paste..failed...save img & upload also fail..so how ah?

Paiseh...

Added on April 25, 2009, 12:27 pmSorry..Abit noob on editing signature...I saw nice designs for so long but how u all attached to the Siggy side? I try copy & paste..failed...save img & upload also fail..so how ah?

Paiseh...

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 25 2009, 12:27 PM
stimix
post Apr 27 2009, 12:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Step by step guide:

1)Goto the website link to download the installer file.
2) Once completed open the file & install it in a folder u can remember later
3) At the end of installation process, u will be ask whether to copy the gmapsupp.img (or the maps files) to your micro sd card...at this point of time, u should have the sd card in card reader or if hook-up to the phone, use the "data storage or something" don't connect using pc suite

4) Thereafter choose the location "Garmin" in the sd card & you can use it after unplug the cable or put back the card to the phone.

5) Otherwise, if u choose not to copy the maps to the phone card, Goto the folder where u installed the newset MFM. goto that folder, copy only the "gmapsupp.img" and paste it in the "GARMIN" folder inside the micro sd card...

QUOTE(moniqee @ Apr 27 2009, 11:54 AM)
i second this request... ^^ i also blur blur since i used the Step 4 - Download the latest malfreemaps (free Malaysia garmin map) from here
stimix
post Apr 28 2009, 10:25 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ignore the msg..pretty normal since Garmin just patched the software (based on S60 V3) to be as compartible to 5800 rather than coming out wth a real software written on S60 V5 platform
QUOTE(starmoon23 @ Apr 28 2009, 08:49 AM)
i m a newbie. i try to install Garmin XT 50040 in my nokia 5800. but during the installation of GarminMoblieXT.sis, there is a msg pop up and said " application not compatible with phone. Continue anyway?". Anyone can help me on this??
stimix
post Apr 28 2009, 05:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Faced the same prob, but I dun re-install, just ensure Turn-Preview switch off (As what TS told me b4)...I suspect the turn preview taken up too much power during landscape view & during re-calculation.

QUOTE(gyuunyuu @ Apr 28 2009, 04:45 PM)
Try to reinstall the Garmin, last time when I enter Garmin will hang. After reinstall, works perfect now  icon_rolleyes.gif
stimix
post Apr 29 2009, 07:10 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Updated mine too..but I dunfeel anything-leh..the only obvious diff for me is the breathing light function, others..the same nia..Certain ppl say the virtual keypad/font/icon bigger & etc but I feel the same only..
stimix
post Apr 29 2009, 09:05 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah regretting doing OTA yesterday..sooo fast..Remembered updating my old N78 via NSU..took almost 15-20min up to completion...& using NSU, for sure all installed programmes such as Garmin & etc..wiped off!! & Back-up defitely handy using NSU..OTA, all other programmes maintained and u don't feel the umphhh.....i.e u dun feel NEW!!...haizzz..should have NSU!!..probably will try to NSU once available... hmm.gif

QUOTE(ckyned @ Apr 29 2009, 08:52 AM)
On my opinion, they said NSU it's like formating your tube while the OTA is just like a patch. I prefer flashing via NSU, it makes me think all is brand new than the ugly patch with "plaster".  nod.gif
stimix
post Apr 29 2009, 10:41 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Oh yah-kah..din know about it...My old N78 really wiped out everything...just like flushing.... blush.gif

@echo....I will try tonite using my streamyx wifi...now not willing to spend $$ on 3G! blush.gif ..So far I only can enjoy the new breathing light feature. others almost similar...not much improvement..haha..probably only me..bcos was expecting more after flashing from older verison (Without camera geotagging) to V20 wth geotagging.

Just hope they come out wth FM transmitter just like my old N78.. sad.gif hmm.gif ..ehhh..isn't this hardware? blush.gif

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 29 2009, 10:10 AM)
You got wrong info there bro, for 5800 even u update via NSU all settings and installation will remain the same as before u upgraded. Nothing will be wiped off. This should be part of the UDP feature smile.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 29 2009, 10:47 AM
stimix
post Apr 29 2009, 10:55 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Meaning u can goto your music folder & once playing any song, you have option to Transmit the song direct to your car Audio player...so no need to buy those MP3 FM transmitter, really all in one gadget....Currently only available on selected N-series phone starting from N78 onwards.. smile.gif ..Too bad this 5800 do not hv this gadget!

& that the only disadvantage of this Nokia compare wth N78

QUOTE(tachlio @ Apr 29 2009, 10:49 AM)
FM transmitter line N78??

How is it lai d hmm.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 29 2009, 10:57 AM
stimix
post Apr 29 2009, 11:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hehe tnx for the clarification..yeap abit weak..U really need to raise the volume really loud..for eg..if u use to Volume 10, u need to increase to 18 to equally listen to the radio quailty sound..not CD sad.gif biggrin.gif ..I think all FM transmitter also the same... hmm.gif

Anyway, it's nice to have one in 5800 right... hmm.gif probably upgraded version. The FM107.50 in N78 probably clash wth another station, probably changing it to another empty chanel will solved the problem..? Well I din try b4 I sold off the phone.. blush.gif

@mikee...do update us on your FM transmitter project... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(keagan @ Apr 29 2009, 11:07 AM)
you guys aren't missing out that much..the n78 and 79's fm transmitter is equally sucky..in the sense that it's too weak to even transmit a clear signal in the car
This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 29 2009, 11:18 AM
stimix
post Apr 29 2009, 05:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

But Slick dun hv Skype? correct me if I'm wrong...Using FRING since early 2008. Luv it so much especially if u are in Oversea & having fast WIFI connection...can call back Malaysia frequently...opss provided u buy Skype credit-lah
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 07:26 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Meaning your prodcut code is not in Malaysia & probably the phone is imported from elsewhere..India/middle east & etc) where nokia has yet to release any support

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Apr 30 2009, 01:37 AM)
Help. It's driving me crazy
Why my software updater still show only v20
And I couldn't update via FOTA
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 08:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

1KB=1sen so 3000kb ++ =RM30++ loh..

QUOTE(naq_bp @ Apr 30 2009, 07:48 AM)
how much will be the charges if i update via maxis 3G internet?
i don't have wifi here.
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 09:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually save location function in Garmin is much easier. U can import the location to Mapsource & thereafter view in Google earth too. Honestly I'm still learning how the geotagging really works because I can't see the location detail in the propeties & how to export to GE... blush.gif

Hehe..need someone to guide me on how to export the geotagged image to GE or even stamped the coordinate on the picture itself.. hmm.gif blush.gif
QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 30 2009, 08:50 AM)
i like to take an image in a location with geotags enabled and then go back to that location using that image in garmin, is this possible?

or using "save location" in garmin is easier?
This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 30 2009, 09:49 AM
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 10:22 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK tnx for the input. Meaning only when I export to picasa then only I can view the coordinate? I was wondering other than PICASA, any other viewer able to grab or having the coordiante tagging since it's embedded...The default Windows picture viewer can't detect this geotagged coordinate hmm.gif
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 30 2009, 09:58 AM)
The location detail is embedded within the picture's EXIF data. I don't think Garmin XT have any interface that can grab this piece of information out. Maybe mapsource can but i dunno, i dun use it tongue.gif

However, geotagged pictures works flawlessly with Picasa. Just upload the pics into your Picasa album and it will automatically tag the location in google map smile.gif , of course you have to enable the feature in Picasa preferences lar...

ur contact, task, schedule, notes and of course email from outlook smile.gif
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 10:43 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK downloaded & yes now I can see the coordinate... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif ....Wondering any application that enable automatic link to Google earth..i.e u click on the coordinate link & it automatic link to GE? hmm.gif ..hehe..abit demanding ... blush.gif ..Also how to make the coordinate appear on the face of the picture during printing?

BTW, how's your FM Transmitter project.. going well?

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 30 2009, 10:27 AM)
actually not only picasa ... do you have anything like IrfanView ?? or just google for EXIF READER apps that can show u Photo's EXIF data ... From the EXIF data you will be able to view the embedded coordinates
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 11:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Owww..tnx to your earlier input & this one, I tested my personal way of viewing the geotagged photo that I hv taken weeks ago at Sri Petaling Clan Dim Sum (Hehe it's by N78 not 5800 blush.gif )....Here's the result after I:

1) Open the picture using exif reader 3.0
2) Copy & paste the co-ordinate to note pad (Touch up abit by taking off symbols & also added N & E to the point
3) Copy & paste the coordinate from Notepad to Google earth search box &
4) View the location of the picture taken...yeahhh rclxm9.gif (Click on the picture for better view)

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 30 2009, 10:49 AM)
so far, the easiest way to integrate with GE is still Picasa, dun know any other way haha and also no idea how to place the info on to the picture itself, i'll see what i can find ..

On the FM transmitter thingy, I'll be collecting the handsfree in 2 days time. I will try to give a short review after i mess around with it hehehe

Added on April 30, 2009, 11:22 amU need to buy the device unlock code-lah..& this also answer another guy who posted having problem wth Garmin after the expiring of the trial version smile.gif

U can get it from those h/phone shop advertising "Garmin installation" signboards lotsa them in LYP, & ensure it's a "real" license one...Getting cheaper already...The last I check they are selling the licenced software + SD card at RM80-RM120. They told me genuine...well not sure... hmm.gif

QUOTE(camron @ Apr 30 2009, 11:10 AM)
after i installed the GArmin MObile XT but how come i dont receive the device unlock code one?
where should i get it?
This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 30 2009, 11:36 AM
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 12:42 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

@ Mikeee ..Tnx again wow..din know thsi irfanviewer so powderfull..but still having problem to understand how to print the geotagged onto photo..what is $E401 to $E407?? I cant find option to add the coordinate to the photo sad.gif

Here's the latest result after I click the View Google earth icon rclxm9.gif

@ GreyPJ, The location tagger..Dunno can work wth S60 V5..bcos it's stated for S60 V3 only..and it has been producticed...hehe dunno what it's mean blush.gif

@ Nick, yes u can playback the recorded tracklogs..u can use the nokia sport tracker or race chrono software (Google for It) smile.gif ..I use Race Chrono frequently to track & submit my tracklogs to malfreemaps...I tried using nokia sport tracker but it crashed once open Garmin..so stick to Race chrono. Otherwise activate the recording function in Garmin MXT & activate the Show tracklogs function & u can playback in Garmin MXT itself...This is the starting point of contributing for the betterment of Malaysia free maps community.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 30 2009, 11:40 AM)

1) print geotagged info onto the photo - Irfanview have an option to add information into the photo itself from all sorts or parameters including EXIF when u want to print !! specifically if u want to print the geo info only, just use $E401 to $E407

2) To show GE directly from the photo, Irfanview have this feature call "Show in Google Earth". This button is available when u are viewing the EXIF data. However, i cannot test this as i do not have GE installed tongue.gif
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 03:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tnx again..mikeee but need to print only can see ah...no preview & direct to the photo for easy blog/photobucket sharing?

& @echo, registering new flikr a/c now.. blush.gif ..BTW, on y'day testing on web browser, actually I don't really feel the speed of browsing as well blush.gif probably I dun surf net on 5800 b4 & too new ..owning this set only since last week..so when updated to V21...you know-lah...macam no improvement saja.. blush.gif
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 03:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

greypj, my touch screen so far very responsive...working like charm..The only slow response is during surfing & probably wifi speed so slow, taping from screen to screen abit lagging....the worst when trying to download chinese dictionary..totally kaput!
stimix
post Apr 30 2009, 03:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OKOK...Tnx greyPJ & Mikeee..feel so great Today..learning new thing on photo editing via irfanview....haha, probably will put paint aside after this

0.0473sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:22 PM