♥♪,Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V14 ♥♪, [Update] V21 Firmware FOTA & NSU

post Apr 28 2009, 04:45 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Rames @ Apr 28 2009, 04:00 PM)
Guys and gals!

Me and my 5800! (Black with Silver line)  Woot!. Bought it last night. laugh.gif

HEY.. where u get that neck strap!
post Apr 28 2009, 05:18 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(myfriend @ Apr 28 2009, 05:15 PM)
Hi, my garmin suddenly no voice.. Why ah?
got turn on the volumn anot ? (the volumn inside the setting not the phone build in.. i once turn it off and tot the garmin got problem without voice) silly me.. doh.gif
post Apr 28 2009, 11:00 PM

423 posts

updated the two tube.. me and my sis.. muahaha.. brain wash and rescued her from getting a SE
post Apr 29 2009, 11:56 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Apr 29 2009, 11:49 AM)
is it possible to charge my tube using usb data cable ?? need special cable right ??
USB data cable alone won't work.. you need a USB cable that have a charger pin head on the end that connects to your phone.. as the 5800 doesn't have a micro USB charge module build in.. (or it's not enabled).. you can't just use a a usb cable with micro usb head.. check the FP.. there's a combo(sort of) cable that u can charge from USB..

Update: Actually there's also some china made multi-headed charger.. one of them should charge from usb to ur charger pin receiver..

Added on April 29, 2009, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(WjLye @ Apr 29 2009, 11:53 AM)
Yes, you need a special cable which have both data cable and charging head,and it can be connected to pc. Refer to FP, got quite some accessories to select.
_________________________________________________________________________________________

Ya, it's really nice to have a FM transmitter in 5800. So convenient...
Btw, anyone knows if the FM transmitter on the market works with 5800 ? those plug in car then plug in another USB drive d FM transmitter...maybe can connect through the data cable.
Just make sure you dont' interrupt others.. i once listening happilly on flyfm and stop by a traffic light..
suddenly it turns to silly teenny korean songs.. and i turn my head and see an ah beng knocking his head off in the car .. =.=... i have to rush pass the next traffic light to avoid being "koreanized" again.. good thing he's enjohying the song and don't bother speeding..

PS: no offence against korean songs okie sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 204: Apr 29 2009, 12:03 PM
post Apr 29 2009, 01:13 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 29 2009, 12:58 PM)
there is no usb charging for nokia 5800. It charge thru the 3.5mm port to USB
2mm rite.. 3.5mm is the audio port.. my sis almost wanna charge the phone plugging the 2mm into the 3.5mm audio port.. (She was a regular SE user.. tot nokia still using the 3mm charger port that was on her old old old 3100).. sweat.gif
post Apr 29 2009, 05:25 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(winky4110 @ Apr 29 2009, 05:14 PM)
i using slick n fring...slick can view chinese...

Added on April 29, 2009, 5:14 pmsorry...fring can view chinese but slick cant
Slick can.. you just have to use the system font instead of the slick own font.. you can set it in the configuration.. i can even view all personal msg of msn in any kind of symbols and language..
post Apr 29 2009, 06:31 PM

423 posts

Asking on behalf of my sis..

to all rubberized hardcover case / silicon case user, do you use any sort of bag or leather/canvas case that can fit the 5800 with hardcover case on? i know the SP and the hardcover case protects it from scratches.. but i'm concerning of situation like.. the phone and the keys and any kind of hard sharp object in the bag.. and the object happens to point right at the screen... and if pressure is applied i scare it would damage the screen.. (SP is not going to do any good here)..

so i'm actually looking a canvas bag that have some sort of cushioning or hard side that can fit a 5800 (with case on already)...

Wont recommend her to use a leather case as it's easier to attract robbers.. like.. if you're the robber which one u rob on first sight (without seeing the phone)... the one that uses a leather case or the one without...
post Apr 30 2009, 12:19 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Apr 30 2009, 12:17 AM)
Anyone knows any method to resize picture files (jpg) in bulk.  i am thinking of transfering some picture album to my tube.. but its original size are very big around 3mb ... so it would be slow to load in tube...
so is there any program that will resize such pictures automatically and doing it in bulk ... estimate over 150 pics...

manual resizing is just so slow... tried wif paint... but  too slow...

adobe photoshop album starter... does not seems to be able to do it... even when i tried the "send to mobile phone" function.. (cannot detect the phone)

Olympus Master.. also cannot do it..

wat else can do it ar?
Adobe photoshop has a function to record action.. then you can play that action to every single photo in the selected folder.. include open resize save close..
post Apr 30 2009, 11:00 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(Spetre @ Apr 30 2009, 10:49 AM)
hahaha...if me no kacao my 5800,it can tahan 1 week o... ^^
I wonder who here can "NOT" kacao your tube for a week.. hmm.gif
post Apr 30 2009, 12:27 PM

423 posts

Nokia Messaging users.. any of you guys able to switch the storage to memory card?

Also i've removed the Email account from my conventional Email Messaging.. but i found that it still occupied my phone memory.. could it be that the mails are not deleted? anyway i can delete them that you know off?
post Apr 30 2009, 02:56 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 30 2009, 02:51 PM)
green means dial, so only can see dialled calls.
miss and receive call just change tab above.
my garmin very stable, may be u install to many programs and it becomes problematic.
question: for incoming calls i cant seem to press the screen "answer call" icon, must use the green button to answer call. do i have to unlock first then can use the screen?

i have intermittent problem with the touchscreen, sometimes call out also cant use touchscreen, wanna use loudspeaker also cannot. anyone facing this prob?
I experience that before ... it didnt' occur anymore since i remove some games and use a less heavy themes... before was like all buttons missing...
post Apr 30 2009, 04:58 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Apr 30 2009, 04:52 PM)
got..printed this morning..
btw..the latest fw for 5800 = 21.0.0.0 ? (date march 29?)

already booked the phone...will get the phone later smile.gif
But you probably wont' get a stock phone that is v21.. abit too new for now.. if you do they probably flash it manually =.= which i personally don't prefer lar.. but up to you...
post Apr 30 2009, 07:07 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Apr 30 2009, 06:50 PM)
sediakan payung sebelum hujan ... smile.gif
means i'm on my spare.. missing this .. no more already.. smile.gif
maybe u can try ur luck with this forumer..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1010285
post Apr 30 2009, 07:16 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 30 2009, 07:14 PM)
i wonder why the headset that comes with 5800 cant be used for calls, only can listen to music.

so there is no headset for call for this hp?
if u plug with the remote u can talk through the remote no? and if you plug directly u can just speak to the phone.. the phone will know you don't have microphone input and activate on device microphone... smart phone cool.gif
post Apr 30 2009, 07:26 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(stormrider @ Apr 30 2009, 07:00 PM)
guys....... i have a few original charger from my old phones....... can i use it to charge my tube ? of coz using converter to convert smaller socket to charge.

Added on April 30, 2009, 7:02 pmbut the output its diffrent........ 5.7V 800mA......
old 2mm should be fine.. but old 3mm i'm not sure.. won't risk the phone for an old phone charger..
post Apr 30 2009, 07:33 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(mhzm @ Apr 30 2009, 07:29 PM)
hi all... newbie here
just got this phone yesterday n was so excited abt it..
this is my first touch screen phone, well actually this is my first colored/ camera/mp3/blabla phone, before this only using nokia dunno wat model the one with flashlight on top of it...

since i am a total newbie, can anyone suggst me wat to check or add application or anything to make me fully utilize the phone...

thx.. btw my phone is black...with grey stripes..
welcome hehee...

Oh you can check the front page.. should occupied u a couple of days utilizing your phone with the load information there.. thumbup.gif
post Apr 30 2009, 07:36 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(mhzm @ Apr 30 2009, 07:33 PM)
and i wonder why call this phone the tube?... any story?
It's the codename.. probably the project name when they kickstart the R&D.. most phone have thier own code name when R&D
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nokia_5800_XpressMusic
post May 1 2009, 01:27 PM

423 posts

was searching for nokia internet radio for 5800...

come across one interesting website with alot of free app for 5800.. tot i'll share with you guys..

a few interesting app i found while browsing through..

MemoryUp Personal Free 2.7 that claims to free memory.. lets see.. hmm.gif

PowerBoot similar with the startup folder in windows.. not all app have a run on startup function and this app can be a good help for those that doesn't.

URL of the site
http://www.phoload.com/symbian

there are a few interesting games there too.. go check out and explore together so we can find great stuff and share here.. thumbup.gif
post May 1 2009, 01:37 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ May 1 2009, 01:29 PM)
go to notification light option and turn off breath light and it will stop light up, just keep event light on.

Added on May 1, 2009, 1:34 pm
dont install too many app it will make the fon unstable.
Yeah.. i once have 200 games on N73 and i know how it feels.. thats why i'm sharing the site.. so everyone of don't have to try every app to know how it performs and worth the install or not.. thats the whole point rite.. expore and share in a community..
post May 2 2009, 02:02 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ May 2 2009, 12:07 PM)
https://www.symbiansigned.com/app/page/publ...SignedOnline.do

Added on May 2, 2009, 12:15 pmfacing another problem regarding home screen, need help.............pls

menu>setting>personal>home screen>home screen

there are 5 options to be picked:

-shortcut
-search
-music player
-radio
-calendar

i ticked all of them and i can only get shortcut and search to display in home screen, why the rest not showing up?
Music player, Radio will only appear when you're actually using them (eg. playing mp3s or listening to radios)
Calendar will only appear when you've actually added some apointments, reminders, todo list and so on that are present or future.. (past events won't show either)..

0.0488sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:04 PM