Investment Low rise Walk up Apartment, To Invest or not

TSEng_Tat
post Apr 22 2009, 06:22 PM, updated 17y ago

2,216 posts

Hi guys i am considering buying a medium cost low rise apartment for invesment. Getting it around Rm70k or less. 4yrs ago when they launch they are selling at 85K-97K new. Rental yield is around RM500-600 Amonth. mgmt cost is less then RM100 every month. Security wise is acceptable and its clean. Also opposite is building a university but god knows when will be completed. What do you think? shud i invest? Also i just intend to take loan around 65K only.

Also i dont think the value will appreciate in the next five yr. Also i dont think the place is easy to sell either.
I was thinking to earn from rental only. Will make the loan as long as possible(to reduce commitment) but will pay extra every month. Also i already bought one for own stay. *Buy near so easier for me to collect rental also and maintain the unit* *Also location is in masai area*

Inputs is appreciated. Thank You.

Rgds,
Eng_Tat
??!!
post Apr 22 2009, 10:58 PM

2,548 posts

Which project?
TSEng_Tat
post Apr 22 2009, 11:56 PM

2,216 posts

Vista Seri Alam by umland
budak_bagus
post Apr 25 2009, 02:14 PM

309 posts

masai? not kl valley?
TSEng_Tat
post Apr 26 2009, 10:58 AM

2,216 posts

QUOTE(budak_bagus @ Apr 25 2009, 02:14 PM)
masai? not kl valley?
yes at masai, johor
SUSjasonhanjk
post Apr 26 2009, 11:27 AM

1,068 posts

TS, what is your plan?
If you don't have a plan, it's not investing.
wodenus
post Apr 26 2009, 06:21 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Apr 22 2009, 06:22 PM)
Hi guys i am considering buying a medium cost low rise apartment for invesment. Getting it around Rm70k or less. 4yrs ago when they launch they are selling at 85K-97K new. Rental yield is around RM500-600 Amonth. mgmt cost is less then RM100 every month. Security wise is acceptable and its clean. Also opposite is building a university but god knows when will be completed. What do you think? shud i invest? Also i just intend to take loan around 65K only.

Also i dont think the value will appreciate in the next five yr. Also i dont think the place is easy to sell either.
I was thinking to earn from rental only. Will make the loan as long as possible(to reduce commitment) but will pay extra every month. Also i already bought one for own stay. *Buy near so easier for me to collect rental also and maintain the unit* *Also location is in masai area*

Rgds,
Eng_Tat
Who will want to stay there?

budak_bagus
post Apr 26 2009, 08:04 PM

309 posts

klang valley is the best location la...
but my personal view, as long as the location is hot for the local and u got few hundred balance from the rent collected after deduct ur loan lonthly comitment, it is ok..
but are there such location for that positive cashflow outside there?
eugene jk
post Apr 26 2009, 08:08 PM

1,479 posts

Masai is abit too far from commercial hot spot IMHO..

Unless you can manage to spot some good ones in Tebrau.

This post has been edited by eugene jk: Apr 26 2009, 08:13 PM
Pai
post Apr 26 2009, 08:41 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Apr 22 2009, 06:22 PM)

Rgds,
Eng_Tat
buy only when :

1. U dont mind staying in the unit of no one rents from you. (Plan B)

2. U dont intend to sell at least for the next 5 years.

good luck mate wink.gif
TSEng_Tat
post Apr 26 2009, 11:07 PM

2,216 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 26 2009, 06:21 PM)
Who will want to stay there?
I would try to rent out to school teachers. (My wife colleagues)

QUOTE(budak_bagus @ Apr 26 2009, 08:04 PM)
klang valley is the best location la...
but my personal view, as long as the location is hot for the local and u got few hundred balance from the rent collected after deduct ur loan lonthly comitment, it is ok..
but are there such location for that positive cashflow outside there?
I am looking around tmn connought, cheras, but for time i doubt i can get around loan of 150k for time being (already got loan 150k)

QUOTE(Pai @ Apr 26 2009, 08:41 PM)
buy only when :

1. U dont mind staying in the unit of no one rents from you. (Plan B)

2. U dont intend to sell at least for the next 5 years.

good luck mate  wink.gif
1. I cant stay in there already as i just bought unit for my own stay.
2. I doubt i will be selling the next five years

Also 1-2 unit is lelong rite now afaik most bidder will wait till price drop till 55k+ before been snap by buyers and for subsale is around 70k (65-80k). but i am not sure worth the risk to take or not. still amateur in properties. I am thinking to buy one or more unit just to rent out make some money out of it. Also if i decide to move out of Jb back to kl, if i got more unit to collect rent then i dun mind travelling down if i were in KL (most of my family member is in KL) other wise i would just sell of my unit in the future. Also University KL is building nearbuy this area, I assume there will be student renting outcampus in the future as well.

0.0153sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:46 PM