Between Food Sci & Nutrition or Biotech

TSstephie_hype
post Apr 22 2009, 03:08 PM, updated 15y ago

74 posts

Im torn between these two degree courses. Which one to choose? If possible I dont wanna stuck in a lab for eternity. Which one has a brighter future? unsure.gif
Serpentarius
post Apr 22 2009, 03:12 PM

482 posts

both also can work in worksites ... and posibility owning your own company ...

why worry? either one of these ... when you find a highly marketable solution and wish to keep it to yourself .... you could reap a lot of profit ..

especially if you can find a way to grow cheap protein
chungdavi
post Apr 22 2009, 04:08 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
619 posts

Choose the 1 you like more.....

Food Science & Nutrition focus a lot on food technology, food chemistry, food quality management.....

Where Biotech is more to microbiology, cell biology, genetics.....

2 have some similarity, but you can see the difference there......
post Apr 22 2009, 07:30 PM

187 posts

biotech offer better future..the field is expending..
shinobikit
post Apr 22 2009, 07:55 PM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

for biotech, u need to specialize in one field only can earn money...

just like a doctor and a specialist... =)
TSstephie_hype
post Apr 22 2009, 08:26 PM

74 posts

Gee, thanks guys.
OMG!
post Apr 23 2009, 10:43 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

IMO, biotech is far more surfaced. what do i meant by surfaced is that they learn everything pratically, which means they focus more on pratical rather than theory.
But 1 thing i guess is do food science graduates need to do research at lab too? i thought it is more on counselling?
Anyway,i think biotech is more diversed, u can drill into food & agricultural productions too.
jasveena
post Apr 23 2009, 11:22 AM

all i see so far is all the jobs have advantages and disadvantages. i would say nutritionist have gd future..especially those in food industries...
chungdavi
post Apr 23 2009, 11:53 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
619 posts

QUOTE(200 @ Apr 22 2009, 07:30 PM)
biotech offer better future..the field is expending..
Perhaps not in Malaysia yet......
But it is expanding rapidly in countries like S'pore, China and even US......

So, if can graduate oversea would be better.......
SUSf4tE
post Apr 23 2009, 12:40 PM

1,605 posts

All those choices will be stuck in the lab for eternity if you wanna follow this route.. IF not choose arts major or something lke dat.. or maybe u can go into sales... for this field either salesman or stuck in the lab for eternity.. or another option is that take a job that doesnt matter wat u study like bankiing...

if u choose your future to be working in a job that doesnt matter what u study then i dun suggest science related.. take up a course where it is the easiest for u and u can get high grades.. so your cgpa will look interesting easier chance for interview
OMG!
post Apr 23 2009, 04:27 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(jasveena @ Apr 23 2009, 11:22 AM)
all i see so far is all the jobs have advantages and disadvantages. i would say nutritionist have gd future..especially those in food industries...
why u say so?
and, which IPTA is most famous for food science courses.
anyway, i do apply UKM sains pemakanan.
Is dietician or food science a competitive course, i heard every year there must be some 4 flat students applied for it. true? and the min requirement is above 3.5??
spitfire111
post Apr 23 2009, 05:00 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Apr 23 2009, 10:43 AM)
IMO, biotech is far more surfaced. what do i meant by surfaced is that they learn everything pratically, which means they focus more on pratical rather than theory.
But 1 thing i guess is do food science graduates need to do research at lab too? i thought it is more on counselling?
Anyway,i think biotech is more diversed, u can drill into food & agricultural productions too.
yup, agree on that. beside, I think biotech gonna have a brighter future. smile.gif
beside, biotech involve you to do more off lab research..

biotechnology: present and future

oh yeah, I add this to my list.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=24844052
hope this is helpful to you.

This post has been edited by spitfire111: Apr 23 2009, 05:02 PM
TSstephie_hype
post Apr 27 2009, 08:13 PM

74 posts

smile.gif THANKS
Agent 45
post May 2 2009, 02:03 PM

926 posts

I also cant decide whether to take biotechnology or QS because I found out that many ppl say that biotechnology in Malaysia is not well develop and the job opportunity as well as the salary is very LOW!!! I applied for biotechnology for jpa scholarship but I want to change for QS.I really cant decide.Can anyone help me pls???TQ.
joachim7615
post Jul 25 2015, 05:36 PM

55 posts

Depends which field do you like more.
If you are more interested in nutrition and food, ofcos you should pick food science and nutrition.
But if you would like to understand more the technology of making of food, genetic change in food or human body diseases things related to genes and living things, you can then choose biotech den~

0.0180sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:56 AM