> Paint house, Which paint do you recommend? Renovations

aLittleMisfit
post Nov 13 2010, 10:18 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
879 posts

you need the "glow" type of paint?

i got nippon spotless around rm100 per can.
Easy to paint, very little odor, so far so good
streetkid
post Nov 13 2010, 04:53 PM

116 posts

For me, the best is still Nippon Satin Glow.. Smooth and Lasting.. smile.gif
mav_850
post Nov 13 2010, 10:28 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 13 2010, 02:42 AM)
Jotun majestic equivalent to what Nippon paint?
dunno nippon..
but jotun majestic paint have great finishing quality..
Drian
post Nov 14 2010, 09:24 AM

4,968 posts

QUOTE(streetkid @ Nov 13 2010, 04:53 PM)
For me, the best is still Nippon Satin Glow.. Smooth and Lasting.. smile.gif
Did you do skim coating on the wall 1st for this paint? This paint tend to show wall imperfection under lighting.

vinothrao84
post Nov 15 2010, 08:38 PM

317 posts

hi guys,

currently my house is under going painting .... this painting guy is very experience and can finish up whole double storey house within 2-3 days....

if anyone needs his contact, please PM me.

Btw, contractor is Malay, painters are Indon, they are from Kajang.
rumraisin00
post Nov 18 2010, 10:03 AM

QUOTE(vinothrao84 @ Nov 15 2010, 08:38 PM)
hi guys,

currently my house is under going painting .... this painting guy is very experience and can finish up whole double storey house within 2-3 days....

if anyone needs his contact, please PM me.

Btw, contractor is Malay, painters are Indon, they are from Kajang.
Hi, how much they charge you for the labour for painting a double storey house? Both interior and exterior...
cytoh83
post Nov 21 2010, 12:52 AM

21 posts

today bought 5cans of 5L Nippon Vinilex EasyWash @ RM79 each.

Nippon Vinilex EasyWash is a premium eco and health friendly interior paint specially formulated for easy cleaning. It also has good hiding power, low odour, low VOC and contains no lead, mercury or formaldehyde.

Highlights of this product:

•Good levelling
•Good coverage
•Good washability
•Excellent hiding
•Low odour & low VOC
•Matt finish
Aelous
post Nov 21 2010, 02:34 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(cytoh83 @ Nov 21 2010, 12:52 AM)
today bought 5cans of 5L Nippon Vinilex EasyWash @ RM79 each.

Nippon Vinilex EasyWash is a premium eco and health friendly interior paint specially formulated for easy cleaning. It also has good hiding power, low odour, low VOC and contains no lead, mercury or formaldehyde.

Highlights of this product:

•Good levelling
•Good coverage
•Good washability
•Excellent hiding
•Low odour & low VOC
•Matt finish
Where did u bought the paints?
ADJ
post Nov 21 2010, 08:58 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

using Jotun Majestic Royale Matt for interior walls and Jotun Jotashield Extreme for exterior, haven't painted yet, but painters have brought the paint cans to the house liao...can't wait to see how it looks like esp for the interior since the walls will be skim coated..
vinothrao84
post Nov 22 2010, 09:56 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(rumraisin00 @ Nov 18 2010, 10:03 AM)
Hi, how much they charge you for the labour for painting a double storey house? Both interior and exterior...
he quote me RM 2k for paint whole house ceiling + wall (interior + exterior) + 5 doors and frames + main gate ... but my double storey (intermediate) is not that big ... it depends on the size of the house as well.....

just give him a call n lets see how much he quote...
streetkid
post Nov 22 2010, 10:14 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 14 2010, 09:24 AM)
Did you do skim coating on the wall 1st for this paint? This paint tend to show wall imperfection under lighting.
Yes, i did skim coating first on my wall.. I agreed with you, as without skim coating, the paint tend to show wall imperfection under direct lighting..
trdcelica
post Nov 24 2010, 01:34 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Nov 21 2010, 09:58 AM)
using Jotun Majestic Royale Matt for interior walls and Jotun Jotashield Extreme for exterior, haven't painted yet, but painters have brought the paint cans to the house liao...can't wait to see how it looks like esp for the interior since the walls will be skim coated..
You did a good choice IMO. thumbup.gif

Added on November 24, 2010, 1:36 am
QUOTE(vinothrao84 @ Nov 22 2010, 10:56 AM)
he quote me RM 2k for paint whole house ceiling + wall (interior + exterior) + 5 doors and frames + main gate ... but my double storey (intermediate) is not that big ... it depends on the size of the house as well.....

just give him a call n lets see how much he quote...
probably they gave you some normal paint and indonesians are well known for fast-painting. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by trdcelica: Nov 24 2010, 01:36 AM
koled_anie
post Nov 24 2010, 12:21 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Nov 21 2010, 08:58 AM)
what color u pick for the interior? how many colors?
ADJ
post Nov 24 2010, 12:35 PM

2,921 posts

i did not go for the feature wall/contrasting colours approach.

i just had 3 different shades of white for common areas, master bedroom and other rooms. similarly for exterior.

yes i am a very boring and uncreative person smile.gif
koled_anie
post Nov 24 2010, 01:01 PM

84 posts

what do u means by different shades?
ADJ
post Nov 24 2010, 01:47 PM

2,921 posts

meaning it's not pure white...maybe slightly yellowish, warmer, or cooler, or greyish, greenish etc...it's still white, but just a different shade.

if you wanna check out colour schemes, you can get colour booklets from the paint brands like Dulux, Nippon, Jotun, etc etc. they normally have suggested colour schemes based on various themes, then you can pick and choose based on your imagination/needs/likes. I think you can get those booklets from exhibitions, retailers etc
Drian
post Nov 24 2010, 02:03 PM

4,968 posts

QUOTE(trdcelica @ Nov 24 2010, 01:34 AM)

probably they gave you some normal paint and indonesians are well known for fast-painting.  biggrin.gif
And not very careful. My friends clipsal switches on the sides was convered in paint, and if you're using silver bronze switch, it's very very obvious.

trdcelica
post Nov 24 2010, 10:42 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 24 2010, 03:03 PM)
And not very careful. My friends clipsal switches on the sides was convered in paint, and if you're using silver bronze switch, it's very very obvious.
Yeah. they want fast only. they dont really care about quality. but some indonesians are also quite careful. smile.gif
Drian
post Nov 24 2010, 11:33 PM

4,968 posts

My advise to all planning to paint their houses and using nice switches, take some paper tape and cover all the sides of the switch yourself.
Don't rely on painters to be careful.
koled_anie
post Nov 25 2010, 07:27 AM

84 posts

if clipsal switch i think should be no problem, the cover can take out first (for neo and zencelo flat i guess). just cover the switch urself before they start painting.......any comments?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0177sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:58 AM