7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

kae7
post Jan 21 2012, 08:07 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Jan 21 2012, 09:05 AM)
how's maxis speed compared to celcom? i did a survey at fb and seems like people are more towards maxis.
it depends on place biggrin.gif ,
maxis seems better in some place, and celcom also better too... biggrin.gif

For example , sometimes, celcom can reach 7.2Mbps in Segamat , Muar , and BP .. but Maxis so far.. around 5Mbps biggrin.gif

kae7
post Jan 29 2012, 01:58 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jan 29 2012, 01:40 AM)
Hi All,

I am going to buy a smartphone. I need a plan which inclusive of call + sms + data.
Call: Light (<100 mins per month)
SMS: Heavy
Data: Unsure (Wifi available at home)

Currently using digi prepaid. Not really satisfy with its coverage. My gf will switch with me together in same telco but she needs only call + sms plan. Prepaid enough to serve her.

Any recommendation?
Thanks in advance.
VPI 50 - free calls laugh.gif

250MB is enough.. since u can use wifi anywhere that you want.. , just 250MB as a backup..

For your gf ,

Hotlink Prepaid
kae7
post Jan 29 2012, 05:13 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(drakzero @ Jan 29 2012, 11:46 AM)
Hello there. Just wanna get some clarifications here. I don't understand what Celcom meant by 'Monthly unlimited but with 1GB Allocation' under Celcom's broadband mbasic plan. Also, what is the meaning of best daily effort (the speed section of the plan)?

Planning to get Celcom over Maxis as my relatives recommend it more. How does the overall speed fare against Maxis? I live in KL and rarely go out of town, using Galaxy SII. =]

edit :

By the way, link to the plan details here. From Celcom, obviously =P
http://www.celcom.com.my/exec/plans/ce50_tnc.php
Celcom speed is about par with Maxis in KL.. ,

Celcom Exec 50 is fine thumbup.gif

Celcom Broadband mBasic provide 1GB data quota , if you exceed the data, you won't be charged.. but your speed will be throttled.. , that's why it is called unlimited.. you still can use it although you have exceed the data

The speed is up to 3.6Mbps , but of course the speed isn't fixed , it is not a fix line.. it is wireless and not fix line like those streamyx.. so that's why they said based on best effort basis.. , they cannot guarantee that you'll always get 3.6Mbps , it depend on your location, coverage,etc..

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jan 29 2012, 12:32 PM)
But I fount that Hotlink prepaid is rather expensive. And what is hot ticket exactly? I found many version of hot ticket in hotlink portal. @@
Of course Prepaid is expensive, I rather suggest ur gf to choose postpaid plan.., just get VPI 30 , and put it as supplementary line under yours.. , simple and cheap..

Hot ticket --> http://goo.gl/PYBY7

got many version..

it is just like reload card/top up .. but it is not same...

every type of hot ticket has it own advantages..

For example ,

RM15 FOOTBALL HOT TICKET 2.0
50 Domestic Minutes
150 SMS
7 DAYS Validity
All local networks, All day

you will get all the above for free , just pay RM 15 ..
kae7
post Jan 29 2012, 05:52 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jan 29 2012, 05:24 PM)
Thanks for your recommendation. However, I have a concern on Maxis internet data overcharge issue, which I found is a quite common case among maxis users.

How about I take Digi Smart Plan? And my gf stick with its Digi prepaid?
it is not overcharge biggrin.gif , they charge you for what you use wink.gif

As you said before, you aren't satisfied with digi sweat.gif

and digi smart plan is expensive..

As you call and sms often..., Digi Smart Plan is not so cheap.. biggrin.gif ,

better take Maxis or Celcom plan
kae7
post Jan 30 2012, 03:20 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(drakzero @ Jan 30 2012, 10:24 AM)
So for the celcom plan I'll still need to pay 88 buck a month once all my rebates are over eh? Sounds a little costly. But I guess all the plans are around that price. Thanks for the heads up =]
do you have any rebates ?? sweat.gif

yeah.. it should be around RM 88 or more thumbup.gif
kae7
post Jan 31 2012, 11:06 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Jan 30 2012, 09:54 PM)
hey guys,

my hotlink prepaid data plan will be expiring next month (after using 1 year), and i would be needing another data plan. which would you guys recommend - cheapest and best coverage?

i have 2 options now i think, which is - 1) sticking to hotlink prepaid + maxis data plan; or 2) convert to postpaid + data plan. which would you guys recommend?

from what i know, umobile postpaid is the cheapest, but after reading some complains from the umobile thread i'm a bit skeptical hmm.gif
Umobile still weak in term of stability..

the thing is, how much you use..? call/ sms ?

I would suggest VPI 50 ,

as you can see , free 250MB data, free 100SMS , free 100 minutes of calls ,

kae7
post Feb 1 2012, 05:06 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Feb 1 2012, 02:13 PM)
currently i topup about RM30 or more per month..so maybe VPI 50 should be suitable right? but data plan is only 250MB sad.gif

what if i want a better data plan?
may I know what phone do you use..?

and what u do when u connected to internet..?

youtube? whatsapp? hope you can tell what you always do...

so that, I can estimate how much data you need..

anyway.. 250MB is big enough...,

actually, to be honest...maxis and celcom are the options.. don't take other telcos.. because they are suck in term of coverage , connection and also speed ..[it depends]

maxis and celcom is better...

well. celcom package is okay

Exec 50 + Celcom mbasic plan[1GB] - RM 50 + RM 38 = RM 88

the Celcom mobile internet plan is needed.. , if no plan.. they will charge RM 0.10/10kb

while for Maxis.. VPI 50 [with calls + sms + data[250MB] = is RM 50 , for additional.. you may need to add some more..

so if you usage within , 100 minutes calls , 100SMS and 250MB data , you just need to pay around RM 50 .. for VPI 50

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 1 2012, 03:55 PM)
the maxis new internet package... can i jz subscribe without anything? i mean... i jz buy a galaxy nexus phone and subscribe to the 1gb line... can? and can i stop it as i wan?
what do you mean without anything...??

do you use postpaid..? yes.. you can just subscribe the Mobile Internet Value Passes..

kae7
post Feb 1 2012, 05:29 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Feb 1 2012, 05:21 PM)
currently using iPhone 3GS. normally whatsapp, facebook, email. youtube only occasionally. downloading apps and viber calls also occasionally on 3g if i'm not at home. otherwise i'll be on wifi.

yeah i quite agree with you about maxis and celcom. i'm also considering either this two, after hearing and reading feedback from people.
if using iPhone 3Gs , you need better data plan.. sweat.gif ,

I suggest.. Celcom plan.. biggrin.gif

Celcom Exec 50 + Celcom broadband mBasic [ 1GB] , RM 50 + RM 38 = RM 88

although the data is 1GB , if you exceeded the data, you won't be charged.. only the speed will be throttled.. it is different from maxis smile.gif

or if you want cheaper ,

Celcom Exec 20 + Celcom broadband mBasic[1GB] , RM 20 + RM 38 = RM 58

the rate for Celcom Exec 20 is => http://www.celcom.com.my/exec/plans/ce20_rates.php

This post has been edited by kae7: Feb 1 2012, 05:32 PM
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 09:48 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(getexposed @ Feb 3 2012, 12:22 AM)
I'm using an iphone with idigi 88 plan currently, been using it for the past 14 months and i'm thinking of terminating my current idigi plan and switch to maxis value plus internet 80 due to digi's bad 3G coverage. What about celcom 3G coverage? I dont have any clue on this because all these while i am using digi. Any feedbacks would be appreciated.
Celcom could be the good plan for you..

to be honest, celcom and maxis is better than digi in term of coverage and speed biggrin.gif [but it depend on your location]

where are you..? tongue.gif

you will still need unlimited plan..

can I know what is your monthly usage..? for calls , sms and data..?

For iPhone user , I would suggest

Celcom Exec 50 + Celcom Broadband mBasic 1GB = RM 50 + RM 38 = RM 88

basically if your usage doesn't exceed RM 50 commitment fee , you will pay RM 88 per month..

remember , Celcom Broadband mBasic 1GB is good.. after you exceeded the data, you won't be charged.. but your internet speed will be throttled..

if you think 300MB is enough for you , 300MB = RM 28

for Maxis VPI 80 , the plan is really good... but if you concern about the data.. it is not 'unlimited' , and only can get 500MB , if you exceed the data you will be charged..

but you will still get 300 SMS + 300 mins calls.. this is awesome..

ok, lets calculate..[in celcom plan to compare with VPI 80]

Celcom Exec 50

300 SMS X RM 0.12 = RM 36
300 mins calls X RM 0.15 = RM 45
total = RM 81 [not include data]

as you can see.. VPI 80 is awesome in term of calls and SMS , cheap only.. + you'll get 500MB data...

IF your usage per month is around 300 SMS + 300 mins calls + 500MB data , Maxis VPI 80 is awesome for you thumbup.gif
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 10:33 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 3 2012, 10:25 AM)
kae7!

if i were to take galaxy nexus which plan should i take? do you know the speed comparison in kuala terengganu between celcom and maxis? (definitely not digi, no 3g and bad coverage)..
you want plan only or device + plan

if device + plan ,

i would suggest , Celcom tongue.gif

just take Celcom Exec 50 + Mobile Internet Basic [1GB] = RM 38

if you exceeded the 1GB data, you won't be charged, no additional charge.. just that your speed will be throttled.., but don't worry for that much, as long as you can use..

speed can reach up to 3.6Mbps in Kuala Terengganu Area , wink.gif
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 10:54 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 3 2012, 10:44 AM)
maxis also 3.6mb in kt?

the celcom plan, that means i have to pay rm88 every month?? no rebates?
i still remember got rebate promotion, but it is ended already , 31st January 2012..

anyway.. maxis I'm not so sure.. but celcom yes.. up to 3.6mbps ,

maxis around 2mbps to 3.6mbps ..
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 11:01 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 3 2012, 11:00 AM)
so celcom is better in ktrg? XD
yes biggrin.gif
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 11:06 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 3 2012, 11:02 AM)
any speedtest to verify the speed btw maxis and celcom in ktrg? XD
i'm not there now , so I can't help you..

the speed is up to 3.6Mbps .. but you cannot say that the speed is always 3.6Mbps biggrin.gif , it is not fixed line , and it isn't fix speed / ..

they already stated based on their best effort.. biggrin.gif
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 12:00 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 3 2012, 11:07 AM)
ive tried maxis before in ktrg using my dad's phone. quite satisfied with it but never use celcom before so... haha... asking for opinions
Both are okay.. but since you want galaxy nexus plan package..

celcom is thumbup.gif ,

kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 05:06 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(getexposed @ Feb 3 2012, 12:48 PM)
Thanks for your information. Previously i was based in kl but currently im in ipoh for the time being and will be there for another few months. My usage, Not making calls & sms that often,
My data usage monthly usually will not exceed 500mb.
In fact, i checked the celcom plans, exec20+ mbasic 1gb =58 is not a bad deal after all. I am ver sure that i am goin to switch telco but im still kind of dilemma in choosing maxis or celcom. Another thing is, how much will digi charge for early termination of contract? Most of the time im getting frustrated because there's just no 3g signal in the house.....So basically i think data & 3g coverage is the most important for me.
depend on what plan you choose, idigi got contract right..?

you may need to consult with digi for the termination fee/penalty , need to negotiate with them biggrin.gif

anyway, how many call/sms that you made..?

the RM 20 in Celcom Exec 20 is access fee. doh.gif
kae7
post Feb 3 2012, 05:47 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 3 2012, 05:25 PM)
to kae7, the celcom exec 50 is it included the 300mb internet quota, 100sms and call ???
if yes then you making me interest on it, but I like maxis service, but expensive
celcom also not bad, coverage also good with cheaper price with maxis smile.gif
the celcom exec 50 isn't included the 300MB internet quota..

it is for calls/sms/ usage.. the 300MB data is -> RM 38 month..

so RM 50 + RM 38 = RM 88

kae7
post Feb 4 2012, 05:18 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Feb 4 2012, 03:46 PM)
hi guys..appreciate if u can help me on this..

which prepaid telco is the best if im calling indonesia often ?
and you are calling from ?

since you stated the 'best' , need to consider your location too , smile.gif

Celcom Xpax -> RM 0.38/min to fixed line , RM 0.58/min to mobile

TuneTalk -> RM 0.23/min to fixed line , RM 0.30/min to mobile

Hotlink -> Got IDD Super Savers , RM 5 for 11 minutes to both fixed and mobile lines ,
normal rates as below,

Digi -> RM 0.50/min for both mobile and fixed line

Umobile -> expensive

TM iTalk -> RM 0.20/min for both mobile and fixed line << I recommended this thumbup.gif

kae7
post Feb 4 2012, 05:33 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(getexposed @ Feb 4 2012, 05:23 PM)
I logon to digi ocs n used dchat n enquired the agent. They told me that i need to pay rm400 in order for early contract termination. Anyway i think that most probably i'll switch to celcom n try the exec 20 + mbasic 1gb data 1st for a month or 2 n see how's the usage. This celcom plan is not contract bound right which means that i'll be able to upgrade to exec50 . Plus, i dont really call that often, not to mention sms, i dont think that i'll be sending more than 30sms per month.
Remember that, the RM 20 in Celcom Exec 20 is access fee,..

but seems you aren't call or sms often.. I think.. if you subscribe this plan [Celcom Exec 20 + mbasic 1GB]

is maybe around RM 70 per month..

let say , 25 SMS -> RM 0.10 X 25 = RM 2.50 , 10 mins calls -> RM 0.20 X 10 = RM 2 ,

so RM 20 + RM 2.50 + RM 2 + RM 38 [celcom mbasic] = RM 62.50

hmm.gif
kae7
post Feb 4 2012, 08:58 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 4 2012, 06:34 PM)
kae7 sifu, im still stuck between maxis and celcom sad.gif

are u sure that celcom > maxis in kuala terengganu? XD
From My experience , both are nearly similar in term of coverage, connection ,

but in term of plan , celcom > maxis.. since you want g.nexus , better go for celcom..

but celcom never fails me in Kuala Terengganu smile.gif
kae7
post Feb 4 2012, 11:17 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Acquainted @ Feb 4 2012, 10:36 PM)
ure from kuala trg? if i get a phone at its rrp and get postpaid plan, celcom or maxis? bcz currently u are saing celcom>maxis bcz celcom do offer the phone at a cheaper price right? but im a student right now and may leave this country at any time so if possible i dont want to be bind to a contract XD
I think I have told you before , I'm not from K.Terengganu , and I'm not stay/live there .. but I always stay at my cousin's house there..

my cousin using celcom , and I'm using maxis .. , so far the celcom is good... , maxis also good too ..

.. buy Galaxy Nexus at K. Trganu maybe a bit hard to find sweat.gif sweat.gif

you need to wait .. because no Samsung dealer at Terengganu .. sweat.gif

The nearest is in Kuantan, Pahang .. at Kuantan Parade..

or KB Mall , KB, Kelantan.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

I don't think Mydin KT got people selling G.Nexus now sweat.gif

maybe need to wait

I still recommend Celcom Plan , Celcom Exec 50 + Celcom mBasic 1GB = RM 50[at least] + RM 38 = RM 88 per month thumbup.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0628sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:40 AM