Librarian, How to be it? How's about Sallary??

TSMayor
post Apr 20 2009, 05:12 PM, updated 11y ago

195 posts

Now, i'm a Librarian. Working in PHS1 USM Penang. Will describe to what it is, how's to be it and the job scope.

Firt of all what is LIBRARIAN?

A librarian is an information professional trained in library and information science, which is the organization and management of information services or materials for those with information needs. [From wiki]

That the answer from the wiki sitelah. People (malaysian) always have their mind set that librarian works is just shelving all the books in the shelve wright? nod.gif

Now to the best part if the LIBRARIAN career. How's about the salary?

Now, for government this is their basic salary with their academic qualifications.

Degree Only S41: Libraian
Diploma Only S27: Assistant Libraian

This is for Private Sector [Base on my experience]

Diploma In Library Science - Basic= Rm1000+OT= 1300++
Degree In Library Science - Basic=Rm1200-1800+OT=RM2500++ or more?

If you have more info please add in.

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mayor: Apr 24 2015, 12:31 PM
locco81
post May 29 2009, 04:45 PM

I'm in da huhu world
1,121 posts

hi there... I'm ex-USM librarian, now working in N9, still a librarian...so how's everyone? kirim salam kat Jem, Sira and others kat Proses Teknik smile.gif
anep
post May 30 2009, 12:16 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

uitm got this couse, IIUM got master level..
geo
post May 30 2009, 10:30 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

wao.. i didnt know that this job will get so high pay..
anep
post Jun 1 2009, 01:27 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

actly depends where n what ur level are.. if u r the chief librarian at petronas resource center u can get 10k
xixi0708
post Jun 1 2009, 10:05 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(anep @ Jun 1 2009, 01:27 AM)
actly depends where n what ur level are.. if u r the chief librarian at petronas resource center u can get 10k
wah, so nice pay? i really dont know got this type of course...in where we can study the librarian stuff.. tongue.gif
sweet_pez
post Jun 1 2009, 06:27 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(geo @ May 30 2009, 10:30 PM)
yeah... pretty much unexpected. A degree level librarian earns much higher than most degree freshies shocking.gif
SUSdantck
post Jun 2 2009, 12:26 AM

1,004 posts

QUOTE(Mayor @ Apr 20 2009, 05:12 PM)
Now, i'm a Librarian. Working in PHS1 USM Penang. Will describe to what it is, how's to be it and the job scope.

Fist of all what is LIBRARIAN?

A librarian is an information professional trained in library and information science, which is the organization and management of information services or materials for those with information needs. [From wiki]

That the answer from the wiki sitelah. People (malaysian) always have their mind set that librarian works is just shelving all the books in the shelve wright? nod.gif

Now, for government this is their basic salary with their academic qualifications.

Diploma In Library Science- S27 Basic = RM1204.55 + Elaun  =  RM1844.55
Degree In Library Science  - S41 Basic =RMR1869.79 + Elaun  = RMRM2719.79

Degree In Library Science -  Basic=Rm1200-1800+OT=RM2500++

Will post another tomorrow, which university have Library course etc etc.
I know that nt long, goverment job + allowance higher than private.
miss_me
post Oct 13 2009, 02:33 PM

Am also a librarian, my current salary araound RM4.8k permonth. Plus another allowances. My asst range about RM2.2k. Its depends on how you promote yourself !! Good Luck
isildur88
post Oct 13 2009, 11:04 PM

Lord of Winterfell
774 posts

wow... where u work? degree ar?
svage98
post Oct 13 2009, 11:37 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(miss_me @ Oct 13 2009, 02:33 PM)
Am also a librarian, my current salary araound RM4.8k permonth. Plus another allowances. My asst range about RM2.2k. Its depends on how you promote yourself !! Good Luck
Would that be private or public sector you're working at? I wanted to be a librarian when I was in school but then I changed to finance blush.gif

This post has been edited by svage98: Oct 13 2009, 11:38 PM
anep
post Apr 21 2010, 07:40 PM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

I'm in private sector.. no OT for officers dough
tobleronesss
post Jun 21 2011, 03:18 PM

124 posts

hi, want to ask... im not a library science student, can i still be a librarian?
i prefer dealing with books than human sad.gif
bradshaw6861
post Jul 5 2011, 12:01 AM

47 posts

this is high pay..
anep
post Oct 5 2011, 11:03 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

QUOTE(tobleronesss @ Jun 21 2011, 03:18 PM)
hi, want to ask... im not a library science student, can i still be a librarian?
yes u may but not as professional level.. mayb just a asst librarian..
the7signals
post Oct 10 2011, 11:01 AM

585 posts

my friend was an accountant previously, quit as an accountant and now working as a librarian. she said though remuneration is lower but she is happy with her work.
anep
post Dec 12 2011, 03:27 PM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

QUOTE(the7signals @ Oct 10 2011, 11:01 AM)
my friend was an accountant previously, quit as an accountant and now working as a librarian. she said though remuneration is lower but she is happy with her work.
professional?
AprilZ
post Jan 3 2012, 01:08 PM

Hi all need some information here,
I plan to do Master in library soon. My degree is in Comp Science. After I completed my Master, will the company give me salary according to my Master or they will give salary according to entry level because I have no experience working as librarian before?

Currently I work in education line and will really like to switch career.
jessicaca
post Jan 11 2012, 10:37 PM

agree.... thumbup.gif

Added on January 11, 2012, 10:38 pmagree... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jessicaca: Jan 11 2012, 10:38 PM
roberta007
post Jan 21 2013, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(anep @ Oct 5 2011, 11:03 AM)
yes u may but not as professional level.. mayb just a asst librarian..
How much do Assistant Librarians typically earn?
farizizwan
post May 2 2013, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(anep @ Jun 1 2009, 01:27 AM)
Most government chief librarian above 10k.
farizizwan
post May 2 2013, 11:25 AM

Unfortunately no. U still can work at the library but not as librarian. Assistant maybe or as Pembantu Perpustakaan S17 if in government sector.
farizizwan
post May 2 2013, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(locco81 @ May 29 2009, 04:45 PM)
hi there... I'm ex-USM librarian, now working in N9, still a librarian...so how's everyone? kirim salam kat Jem, Sira and others kat Proses Teknik smile.gif
Hail! I am now at the cataloguing division. Those names you mention are all still here. smile.gif
adamisme101
post May 2 2013, 09:35 PM

62 posts

This is one of my dream job rolleyes.gif
spikey2506
post May 3 2013, 12:24 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

I like this quote. Dealing with humans can sometimes be really tiring. yawn.gif
farizizwan
post Jun 3 2013, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(roberta007 @ Jan 21 2013, 01:55 PM)
How much do Assistant Librarians typically earn?
1.5k (Basic+allowances) for government libraries & for private should be in the range 1k to 2k. Those are the starting salaries.
xpole
post Oct 12 2014, 08:39 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(Mayor @ Apr 20 2009, 05:12 PM)

Fist of all what is LIBRARIAN?

Degree Only S41: Librarian 
Diploma Only S27: Assistant Libraian

Degree In Library Science -  Basic=Rm1200-1800+OT=RM2500++ or more?

If you have more info please add in.

Thanks smile.gif
Bro, can i ask something? What do you think about Librarian career? Is it good?
I'm taking this course.

What do you think the future of this career? My seniors currently that works at this industry start with Assistant Librarian.
faidani
post Oct 15 2014, 01:04 AM

17 posts

How about the job demand?
TSMayor
post Apr 24 2015, 12:32 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(locco81 @ May 29 2009, 04:45 PM)
rclxms.gif
TSMayor
post Apr 24 2015, 12:33 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(anep @ May 30 2009, 12:16 AM)
uitm got this couse, IIUM got master level..
Diploma, Degree, Master & PHD Uitm
Master Only IIUM
Master, PHD UM
Diploma & Degree Unisel
TSMayor
post Apr 24 2015, 12:35 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(geo @ May 30 2009, 10:30 PM)
Yes it true, but the demand is always there. Not only at government but also other education institution.
TSMayor
post Apr 24 2015, 12:39 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(xixi0708 @ Jun 1 2009, 10:05 AM)
wah, so nice pay? i really dont know got this type of course...in where we can study the librarian stuff.. tongue.gif
Master & PHD level, IIUM, UM,UiTM but there also more advance university that offer librarianship oversea.
TSMayor
post Apr 24 2015, 12:41 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(AprilZ @ Jan 3 2012, 01:08 PM)
Hi all need some information here,
I plan to do Master in library soon. My degree is in Comp Science. After I completed my Master, will the company give me salary according to my Master or they will give salary according to entry level because I have no experience working as librarian before?

Currently I work in education line and will really like to switch career.
Yes you can, just further your study in Msc or PHD in librarianship.
TSMayor
post Apr 24 2015, 12:44 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Oct 12 2014, 08:39 PM)
Bro, can i ask something? What do you think about Librarian career? Is it good?
I'm taking this course.

What do you think the future of this career? My seniors currently that works at this industry start with Assistant Librarian.
For me there always be a librarian when a lot of private or government university. not even mention about other specialist library like BNM etc
anep
post Apr 25 2015, 10:05 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

Mayor where u work at the moment? edu? ipts? ipta? puncak perdana grads?
TSMayor
post Jun 17 2015, 11:00 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(anep @ Apr 25 2015, 10:05 AM)
Mayor where u work at the moment? edu? ipts? ipta? puncak perdana grads?
Ipta, puncak grads yes smile.gif
danny_rocker
post Jun 19 2015, 06:09 PM

323 posts

Hi, I applied for the post of Penolong Pustakawan S27 at Perbadanan Perpustakaan Awam Selangor (PPAS) recently. May I know what is the job description of this position? Do I need to work during weekends? Thanks.
seo_time
post Jun 19 2015, 06:50 PM

64 posts

Not a library science grad, would like to know whether the application of assistant librarian is the first step to go for this career and will the experiences being assistant librarian enough to compensate the lack of library science degree certificate? thanks
arold88
post Feb 11 2016, 08:14 PM

499 posts

never thought that lyn have this topic.

so. librarian.

im a fresh librarian. salary? standard gomen.

bground- 2 years in record management field before i get this proper job.
2016 is my 3rd year as a librarian.

dealing with people, managing resources for the future doctors, engineers etc is quite interesting tho.

long live librarian~~
Nail Biting
post Feb 12 2016, 01:49 PM

124 posts

wow it must be some hidden job hahaha
Sriamudha1
post Apr 23 2017, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(arold88 @ Feb 11 2016, 08:14 PM)
never thought that lyn have this topic.

so. librarian.

im a fresh librarian. salary? standard gomen.

bground- 2 years in record management field before i get this proper job.
2016 is my 3rd year as a librarian.

dealing with people, managing resources for the future doctors, engineers etc is quite interesting tho.

long live librarian~~
Hello! I have recently moved to Malaysia. I graduated MLIS in 2013 and have 3 years experience. Please do refer me librarian vacancies if you come across. Will be very glad to be in contact too as Im excited and looking forward to making new professional contacts in Malaysia. Thank you!
chowdm
post Jun 16 2017, 10:20 AM

197 posts

Just came across this topic...

I was librarian in Malaysia for closed to 10 years...i would like to say the salary range for librarian is too low in average. As a head of acquisition division in 2010, my salary was just closed to RM4k....That is the reason why i quit and join Singapore university library. They offered me the same number of salary but in SGD currency.

Until now, my salary was almost double up from SGD3k+ to SGD6k now. The issue in Malaysia even your starting pay might looks good but the increment in education section was really like 'snail'. There were few years in Malaysia my increment was less than RM100.....compared with the cost of living in KL....this was a damn challenge moment to me and my family...
Win Win Inspiration
post Jun 16 2017, 03:07 PM

2,724 posts

Eyes opening.
What a nice career!
bright91 P
post Aug 30 2021, 01:42 PM

Probation

I'm planning to switch my career path to librarian, and this is my new goal.
I will be studying Master in Library and Information Science in IIUM on the coming September.

I'm so happy when I received the offer letter, but I'm also feeling anxious at the same time, because I don't have any IT background, to be honest.[B]

Although the entry requirements does not need IT background, but it will be very challenging for me when the new semester starts.

Does anyone here have the same experience as me? (Who does not have IT background but studying this program)
Is it hard? What difficulties have you been gone through? Is IT knowledge (programming or data science) is a must when you work as a librarian?

Please help, I'm desperately need some advice

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
LordPennDragon
post Oct 26 2021, 12:39 AM

50 posts

Ahh, to be a librarian..

The calm, the hushed voices, can read all day everyday. Heaven!
Russkij
post Oct 26 2021, 08:48 AM

38 posts

Library simply is the best place to work!!
Redshelf411
post Oct 26 2021, 02:01 PM

818 posts

This lol...
otai_g
post Oct 27 2021, 10:00 AM

623 posts

i love library and i can stay from morning to evening there smile.gif
K0MR4DE
post Oct 28 2021, 12:17 PM

138 posts

Before deciding to give your heart and soul to become a librarian. Have a look at Jobstreet / Indeed / LinkedIn to see how's the demand for librarian right now..

My bestie is a library student from ITM, now paid peanuts work in academic library. Wanna jump also pening she said, coz
1) Not a lot of libraries being built these days
2) Too competitive coz a lot of experienced seniors and freshies fight for spot

I no fear mongering ya, just wanna highlight a bit so can make informed decision..

0.0414sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:12 AM