Pioneer HTP 518 SW (hope i got it right).

TSPoadster
post Apr 20 2009, 02:29 PM, updated 17y ago

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

1st time poster here, so need some advices from the HT gurus here.

I was looking arnd in Desa this weekend when i come across the Pioneer"new" HT set (not HTiB), called the HTP 800SW. It consists of a Pioneer VSX818 AVR+ (2 floor standing + centre + 2 back surround) wood speaker set + the Todokori (? HTP RS7) powered amp. Selling at RM2999. I was told that this new set replaces the older Todokori HTP RS7 and RS3 sets.

I was later at Ikano and dropped into Courts. There I saw the younger brother set (HTS518SW), the main difference is the AVR is the VSX518, selling at 1999. There are not other places (that i can find) that holds these models, not even HN.

My main reason to getting an AVR: To connect it to my Xbox360 and PS3 for gaming sound, as well as playing m2ts files from PS3. Will connect the HDMIs directly to the TV for video.

Question 1: Is the wood speakers(the sales ppl all swear its real wood and not compressed woodchips) worth the set? I can get the VSX518 for RM700 at Desa. I know the VSX518 is entry level, but thats my budget.

Question 2: As the PS3 does the decoding of the TrueHD and DTS-MA, i dont need a TrueHD or DTS-MA AVR? True?

Question 3: As the PS3 does the decoding of the HS audio as above, could the older 7.1 systems such as the VSX817 deliver sounds from all 8 channels as its being decoded by the PS3?

Question 4: What else would you recommend (AVR + Speakers + Subs) for RM2K? I am not interested in HTiB as i have mine now, it cant accept inputs from PS3.

Thnx so much for reading, and look forward to yr comments, SIFUs...

Strange thing is Pioneer;s website dont even hv info on the STR or the new HTS sets....?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Apr 20 2009, 02:37 PM
kianwee
post Apr 20 2009, 02:39 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

For 2K you can only get a AVR that can decode HD audio, and that's the lowest end such as Yammy 663. That alone cost 1.7k-1.8k
anfieldude
post Apr 20 2009, 04:48 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Apr 20 2009, 02:29 PM)
1st time poster here, so need some advices from the HT gurus here.

I was looking arnd in Desa this weekend when i come across the Pioneer"new" HT set (not HTiB), called the HTP 800SW. It consists of a Pioneer VSX818 AVR+ (2 floor standing + centre + 2 back surround) wood speaker set + the Todokori (? HTP RS7) powered amp. Selling at RM2999. I was told that this new set replaces the older Todokori HTP RS7 and RS3 sets.

I was later at Ikano and dropped into Courts. There I saw the younger brother set (HTS518SW), the main difference is the AVR is the VSX518, selling at 1999. There are not other places (that i can find) that holds these models, not even HN.

My main reason to getting an AVR: To connect it to my Xbox360 and PS3 for gaming sound, as well as playing m2ts files from PS3. Will connect the HDMIs directly to the TV for video.

Question 1: Is the wood speakers(the sales ppl all swear its real wood and not compressed woodchips) worth the set? I can get the VSX518 for RM700 at Desa. I know the VSX518 is entry level, but thats my budget.

Question 2: As the PS3 does the decoding of the TrueHD and DTS-MA, i dont need a TrueHD or DTS-MA AVR? True?

Question 3: As the PS3 does the decoding of the HS audio as above, could the older 7.1 systems such as the VSX817 deliver sounds from all 8 channels as its being decoded by the PS3?

Question 4: What else would you recommend (AVR + Speakers + Subs) for RM2K? I am not interested in HTiB as i have mine now, it cant accept inputs from PS3.

Thnx so much for reading, and look forward to yr comments, SIFUs...

Strange thing is Pioneer;s website dont even hv info on the STR or the new HTS sets....?? hmm.gif
Q1: If it is the RS7 package, no it is compressed wood.

Q2 : Yes PS3 decodes Dolby TrueHD and DTS HDMA and sends it as MPCM. But u might want to check something, check to see if the Pioneer will accept audio over HDMI. I helped a friend set up a Pioneer AVR and although it had HDMI it did not accept audio over HDMI. So you cannot get lossless since you need to use optical/coaxial out with does not pass lossless codecs. Pioneer VSX-518 does not accept audio over HDMI. You need to upgrade the amp to the an amp that accepts audio over. Even the 818 does not accept audio over HDMI

Q3: If the older systems have HDMI and can accept audio over hdmi then yes u can get audio over 8 channels.

Q4: Nearly impossible to get AVR + speakers + sub for 2K that is not HTiB. Pioneer had a combo before for about RM2.5k but it did not receive audio over hdmi as I said.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Apr 20 2009, 04:54 PM
TSPoadster
post Apr 20 2009, 05:27 PM

647 posts

Ok, thnx for the feedbacks.

1) This Pioneer HTS519W set is released after the RS7 set, and new speaker set is in wood brown. I have checked the back of the speakers, and they are indeed wood (not compressed wood).

2) OK, understood. I would still need a AVR that can accept HDMI audio. Guess only the latest AVR with HDMI audio, which happens to have TrueHD and DTS-MA on board, is my only option for lossless audio.

3) The older 817 dont even have HDMI, so there goes that option.

4) OK, understood too.... guess the Pioneer HTS set is one way to go, or get a Yammy 663 at RM1700 or Onkyo 606 at RM2500 (prices from Desa) and reuse my speakers and subs lo (cheapo units)...... till pockets are heavier again....

Now.... which is better and more recommended? Yammy 663 or Onkyo 606 or Pioneer 1018? Other models?
lousycar
post Apr 20 2009, 05:34 PM

234 posts

Poadster,

I ordered the 800sw and will be getting it on thursday.

The main reason i go for the unit is because of the 818.

The overall package if you really listen to it is actually a steal for that price.

The sub is holding the whole package together quite well.

I am going to connect my xbox, pioneer dv610 and astro to the 818.

It is a good entry package.
kk6513
post Apr 20 2009, 06:45 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Apr 20 2009, 05:34 PM)
Poadster,

The overall package if you really listen to it is actually a steal for that price.

Where u get it and wat price?hope u can give a review bcoz i am also interested for this set.now consider this set or sony sf2300.
kianwee
post Apr 20 2009, 07:26 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Poadster,

Does the 800sw looks like this?

http://www.pioneer.com.au/Products/Home%20...TiB818TALL.aspx
TSPoadster
post Apr 20 2009, 07:32 PM

647 posts

Poadster,

Great buy, i honestly think it is....

Agree with the speakers and the sub is quite "solid" sounding (pardon my french, still a newbie in audio terminology), this is my main reason of looking into this set.

I am thinking of the VSX518 AVR as the specs is very similar to the 818. I dont require HDMI video passthru (no point as it dont offer lossless audio passthru).

So thinking of getting the lower spec-ed AVR, so that can upgrade the AVR when the pockets are heavier.

Pls review yr unit, look forward to hearing it from you (pun intended). rclxms.gif

Added on April 20, 2009, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 20 2009, 07:26 PM)
KianWee,

Nope, i cant find it on any Pioneer site. You can see the speakers in Desa (both in LowYat Plaza and in Kepong) or in Courts. I cant seem to find it else where. Auditioned for it in both places, using both 518 and 818 AVR, no diff in sound, both as solid. rclxms.gif

The speakers are brown woodgrain finish, made of wood - not compressed woodchips. Cant see the speaker model numbers (its at the back and i didnt want to squint my old unfocused eyes) or ratings.

The active sub is the exact same one featured in the RS7 set, its fugly black. 30cm Subs, (200W, 27 - 1.000 Hz, with pre-out for additional subwoofer) Piioneer HTP-RS 7 package

Am looking forward for bro lousycar's (i think its a he) review. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Apr 20 2009, 07:43 PM
lousycar
post Apr 20 2009, 09:55 PM

234 posts

my review wont be so fast. I will not install them once get it. Waiting for the completion of my reno.

Maybe another 2 weeks

TSPoadster
post Apr 21 2009, 09:49 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Apr 20 2009, 09:55 PM)
my review wont be so fast. I will not install them once get it. Waiting for the completion of my reno.

Maybe another 2 weeks
Do you mind sharing how much u got it, and where?

Pls PM me if you wanna keep it private.

TQVM. biggrin.gif
lousycar
post Apr 25 2009, 04:43 PM

234 posts

So what have you decided on Poadster?
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 25 2009, 11:13 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

This set is available at jusco also mah...
But I think RS3/RS7 will better?

Courts should be have both set to test.
lousycar
post Apr 26 2009, 01:48 PM

234 posts

What makes you think RS3/RS7 is better?
jchong
post Apr 26 2009, 02:01 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Apr 20 2009, 05:27 PM)
1) This Pioneer HTS519W set is released after the RS7 set, and new speaker set is in wood brown. I have checked the back of the speakers, and they are indeed wood (not compressed wood).
Somehow at this price point I doubt if it is solid wood. I suspect the inner core is compressed wood and they put a nice wood veneer on top to make it look like solid wood.
lousycar
post Apr 26 2009, 09:53 PM

234 posts

If i am not mistaken, it is ABL wrapped mdf board. The type used in car stereo box. Very good build and very solid. Most of the kitchen cabinet now use the same material. Water is no longer an issue. They are waterproofed.
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 27 2009, 01:25 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Apr 26 2009, 01:48 PM)
What makes you think RS3/RS7 is better?
Because of the sub woofer is same as RS3/RS7 tongue.gif
The RS3/RS7 speaker system is whole set design at the same time.
HTP 518 just match and mix tongue.gif
QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 26 2009, 02:01 PM)
Somehow at this price point I doubt if it is solid wood. I suspect the inner core is compressed wood and they put a nice wood veneer on top to make it look like solid wood.
If want to check, easy la, check the surround speaker back hole then you will see the material la brows.gif
lousycar
post Apr 27 2009, 01:46 AM

234 posts

Oh.. so you have not tested the system and you are just assuming that since they are not from the same batch so they are not as good?

Anyway, mine just arrived today HTP800SW. Will not hook it up till next week. So wait for my review.
TSPoadster
post Apr 27 2009, 12:21 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ Apr 27 2009, 01:46 AM)
Oh.. so you have not tested the system and you are just assuming that since they are not from the same batch so they are not as good?

Anyway,  mine just arrived today HTP800SW. Will not hook it up till next week. So wait for my review.
nod.gif nod.gif

I have tried both sets side by side, the RS3 and the HTP518SW. Played using the same dvd player connected to both units. Only diff in them are the fugly speakers of the RS3, the AVR is the same 518. U can try it at Courts Mutiara Damansara.

The RS3 caters more to the "feng tau" crowd as the bass is way heavy and deep. Reminds me of the thump thump sounds of a amped up ah beng car (sorry, but i cant think of a better analogy). If you play mainly techno and disco music, this is the unit to go for. For movies, the speakers churns out too much squeal-ly sharp sounds (mayb from the tweeters?), but the subs works like a charm.

The 518SW meanwhile have a more soothing sound and is way warmer in normal and classical music, and sounds more natural. Same applies to movies (again using the same DTS demo disc from the same player) as the 518 sounds warmer, more natural and less squeal-ly than the RS3.

There shld be a reason why Pioneer decides to come out with the HTP518SW speakers and yet kept the 30cm subs from the RS3/7. I am not sure what but the 518SW speakers (which is the same for the HTP800SW) sounds much better to me than the RS3.

Anyhow, for a speaker set complete with subs at RM2,000ish, its as steal for a set thats ok sounding (to me). You cant demand the performances of a Jamo for that price range ma..... whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Apr 27 2009, 12:33 PM
kk6513
post May 4 2009, 12:16 AM

354 posts

so Poadster ,u buy the system already?
lousycar
post May 15 2009, 10:46 PM

234 posts

I setup my system today.
I ran into one small problem.

I conect my dv610 using hdmi to vsx 818 and i thought i can use optical cable to direct audio to the avr. I was wrong.

DV610 already assigned coaxial cable to work with the DVD player.

Optical connection is only for CD player.

Will give more update once i get my coaxial tomorrow.

Added on May 20, 2009, 11:14 amOverall without tuning, sounds good. Will fine tune with the mic this weekend.

More update then with pictures.

Added on May 21, 2009, 4:39 pm
I finally took the time to plug in everything properly.

I sat down comfortably on my sofa, place the mic near my ear and start the auto calibration.

Before i go any further, right out from the box, the sound is very murky. I tried my best to tune but just cant get the right sound. I was quite disappointed and thought i have wasted my 2 plus k on the lousy system.

So today after spending just 5 minutes running the auto calibration, i was blown away.

I tested the surround with the movie stealth. OMG!

Before calibration and after calibration is like heaven and earth.

The surround is so tight and so shiok when the the jet fighter is supersonicking you can feel the jet fighter zoom by behind you.

I heard better system but at 6x the price of my system.

For now, i am satisfied.

So for those who are waiting for the review, i give 2 thumbs up.

This post has been edited by lousycar: May 21 2009, 04:39 PM

0.0248sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:24 AM