What is YOUR Opinion on *Piracy* on Books?, Photostats/E-Books/Illegal Printed Books

TSfiredauz
post Apr 19 2009, 02:17 PM, updated 17y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

These are just examples:

1. Photostats:
I can guess this usually occurs to students, whereby the price of such books or materials of original quality would be quite expensive. So how do they solve this? Just photostat the original book content. By right, this is illegal, since it borders on copyright issues as well as disrespecting the nature of the book author(s) who had been writing materials for the benefits of the students themselves.

2. E-Books:
Not all e-books are legal. Hence, by just a few simple keywords, you can find the entire book content of Harry Potter's novels or the next Indiana Jones's movie script. Going by the matter, Harry Potter's books are not even that expensive if you are a fan, and Indy's next movie script is not even supposed to be read if you are the series's follower. You can't really say "because I am their hardcore fan, I *MUST* READ IT!" because that is just wrong.

3. Illegally Printed Materials in Books & Magazines:
This is usually common in magazines, comics & mangas. How often do you find at any local book shop, whereby they are selling Doreamon mangas that were printed and translated into BM/English/Chinese, but it was not even legally authorized by the owners back in Japan? How do we know it was illegally printed? Check out the front intro of the book, they will just put in the name of the company printing it and translating it, but no authorization from anyone! The best thing yet, some of us had been buying it because: (1) they are cheap, and (2) if its in Japanese, we won't understand it. Those companies knows this, so they abuse the system of where the Japanese will not go to length and search all book shops in Malaysia and sue them, AND because they know that the locals in Malaysia will BUY them.

These are 3 examples, but I'm sure there are more like illegal reading via podcast, etc.

What do you think?
dishwasher
post Apr 19 2009, 03:44 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I think the same argument applies to all forms of piracy, be it music, video or books.

1) If you need it, buy it. If you cannot afford it, go for the alternatives. Freeware, wikipedia, library etc.

2) You do not 'need' entertainment. If you don't watch Rocky 10, or read Harry Potter and the Chamberpot, you won't die.
milleu
post Apr 21 2009, 12:24 PM

431 posts

yeah but the price is deterring people to stop. and it's such a pity because book should be cheaper you know to encourage people to buy.

and the library maybe has not been updating their collection as regular as they should.

for me, I don't care really where people get the book as long as they read it. I personally buy book for my own personal collection...but there are people that can't afford it.

and downloading it, it's not a bad idea...and for a reader if you like it you'll get it.
lunalovegood
post Apr 22 2009, 12:40 PM

111 posts

if i want a book i just buy it, if i cant afford it, i'll wait until i can, but if i cant find it in any of the local bookstores, i'll either wait or forget about it and when i found it somewhere again if i feel like buying i'll just buy. i've downloaded some e-books, but i dont even finished reading them because it hurts my eyes to read from the screen and sometimes there are even typos in those ebooks, they are different than the original books. so it gets annoying at some point. i just simply like the feel of a book in my hands, lying down reading them at leisure. biggrin.gif

feyhime
post Apr 22 2009, 02:28 PM

257 posts

I personally thinks that people who complains so much about price is fickle minded. Who's asking you to buy book every week/day? I am sure it's not that hard to save say RM50± per month (if you can eat 2-3 meals of fast food every month you have no excuse not being able to save that amount of money).

Photocopying... Most student do this isn't it? Not enough money (no income) + library has limited copies. I think as long as you are not selling them for profit, it's okay.

I am not sure about e-books as I don't read them. I don't like starring at the skrin for a 500+ pages book. (Unless it's some journal or papers with less than 20 pages, that's still okay. I read them between my break time in office.) And I love the fact that I can bring my book anywhere and read it in betweens my travelling/free time.

Bootleg printings has so much translation error and printing quality, makes me wonder why people are willing to spend money on it.
jiawei23
post Apr 23 2009, 03:00 PM

30 posts

today is World Book and Copyright Day!!!!! No piracy!!!
temptation1314
post Apr 23 2009, 04:58 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Some college photostated those books and sell to student. They are making money using the illegal way. doh.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Apr 23 2009, 05:07 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

what i dun like is those fake manga books...they are printed on A4 paper and the print smears,and the total series printed is double the original

for example: if Naruto is 55 episodes,fakes might have up to 100+ episodes,they are cheating and earning more than real books without consumers knowing that they are scammed in broad daylight

id rather go to the trouble to get real comics from Taiwan with good paper quality and in a far cheaper price while supporting the author directly...
feyhime
post Apr 24 2009, 09:19 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 23 2009, 04:58 PM)
Some college photostated those books and sell to student. They are making money using the illegal way. doh.gif
Okay that's totally screwed up! And we wondered why our people aren't buying books! How on earth are they going to learn if higher learning institutions aren't setting up good examples?! mad.gif

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Apr 23 2009, 05:07 PM)
what i dun like is those fake manga books...they are printed on A4 paper and the print smears,and the total series printed is double the original

for example: if Naruto is 55 episodes,fakes might have up to 100+ episodes,they are cheating and earning more than real books without consumers knowing that they are scammed in broad daylight

id rather go to the trouble to get real comics from Taiwan with good paper quality and in a far cheaper price while supporting the author directly...
Yeap. And not to forget they charged RM6 and above for one book while the proper copyright printer sell it much cheaper and in better quality. shakehead.gif
SUSahjames
post Apr 24 2009, 11:29 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

well it doesnt help that Lone Wolf and Cub original reprints cost a farking USD10 (not yet count shipping).

i just cannot afford that.

cos i only buy ori all d time.
Kidicarus
post Apr 28 2009, 03:43 PM

727 posts

Actually, copyright law as we know it today exists because of the printed press. It came into existence to protect the right of publishers and to an extent a form a censorship.

For Malaysians, at this point of time, i don't think copyright laws should apply to foreign works/books. If that is what it takes to get more Malaysians reading, then i'm not so worried that JK Rowling is getting a few thousand dollars less. Heck the money is going overseas anyway. May i add that i do buy all my books, and that this is my personal opinion.

For academic purposes, i have photocopied whole text books in the past but this was in Malaysian Colleges. I know for certain that photocopiers in libraries in the UK actually do pay some sort of license which is included in the cost of photocopying.
seedohbehlei
post Apr 28 2009, 11:06 PM

96 posts

Piracy is a sensitive topic, regardless of the media being pirated.

There are always 2 sides to a coin.

It's all about respect towards the intellectual property of the author of the book, at the root.

The pricing should be the first thing to be considered, though.

In the end, it's all a matter of choice. If you think it's worth it to buy the original material at the stipulated price, then just splurge on it. Don't be influenced by other people who could get their hands on the same thing via other means. If you think the pricing is not right, but you still want the thing (the book, in this case), then think hard before you photostat or download the pirated e-book version or buy a pirated version. Does your conscience tell you that the author does not deserve the royalty you're paying for his/her original material? Or you don't like the idea that somebody in the middle will pocket most of the cash you're paying instead of the author himself/herself? Or you don't even care about these things at all (you just wanted that darn book, and will get it by any means necessary, even if you got it for free)?

The act of piracy is against the law, though. So, still, do the right thing is the best bet, in my opinion. And I believe if a lot of people start to boycott an over-priced book, eventually the publisher would lower the price anyway.

This post has been edited by seedohbehlei: Apr 28 2009, 11:12 PM
Massa
post Apr 30 2009, 12:28 PM

Massa™
709 posts

Agree with seedohbehlei.

Btw , we can always borrow from our friends , relatives etc. Like I always do if I can't afford to buy a book.
And library is always one good place to borrow books though.
milleu
post Apr 30 2009, 05:42 PM

431 posts

it's not fickle minded when you say a book that between 50-100 is expensive..

and i go through a book in a few hours, a few days maximum.

so yes, book is expensive to me.

so i have reduce my book consumption by getting it once a week or two weeks. which is really sad considering if our government really try to encourage reading they will realize that there are people like me who do buy book every week and 50 every week is burning my pocket.
haidan123
post Jun 21 2009, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(feyhime @ Apr 22 2009, 02:28 PM)
I personally thinks that people who complains so much about price is fickle minded. Who's asking you to buy book every week/day? I am sure it's not that hard to save say RM50± per month (if you can eat 2-3 meals of fast food every month you have no excuse not being able to save that amount of money).

Photocopying... Most student do this isn't it? Not enough money (no income) + library has limited copies. I think as long as you are not selling them for profit, it's okay.

I am not sure about e-books as I don't read them. I don't like starring at the skrin for a 500+ pages book. (Unless it's some journal or papers with less than 20 pages, that's still okay. I read them between my break time in office.) And I love the fact that I can bring my book anywhere and read it in betweens my travelling/free time.

Bootleg printings has so much translation error and printing quality, makes me wonder why people are willing to spend money on it.
Totally agree~

And btw, there are alot of warehouse sales around hence theres no excuse on books being too expensive.If u cant afford to buy one, go to the libraries or to the Shop where they rent books.It would cost u less than RM10 for sure.

milleu
post Jun 22 2009, 02:09 PM

431 posts

Unfortunately, I like owning my books.

I do not agree with dling, or photocopying books..but I do understand where its coming from

a manga cost rm70 and dling a few minutes? logically anyone would choose dling unless he/she wants to own the book/collection.

as for me, i buy my manga but not before i dl it.

same goes for text book, the biomolecular text book in msia cost 2k...who would buy it? i have no idea.

moniqee
post Jul 2 2009, 11:10 AM

7,864 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Apr 19 2009, 02:17 PM)
These are just examples:

1. Photostats:
I can guess this usually occurs to students, whereby the price of such books or materials of original quality would be quite expensive. So how do they solve this? Just photostat the original book content. By right, this is illegal, since it borders on copyright issues as well as disrespecting the nature of the book author(s) who had been writing materials for the benefits of the students themselves.

college textbooks are expensive costing around RM100-200 unless u manage to get original 2nd hand textbook... ^^ that's also depending on the condition...

2. E-Books:
Not all e-books are legal. Hence, by just a few simple keywords, you can find the entire book content of Harry Potter's novels or the next Indiana Jones's movie script. Going by the matter, Harry Potter's books are not even that expensive if you are a fan, and Indy's next movie script is not even supposed to be read if you are the series's follower. You can't really say "because I am their hardcore fan, I *MUST* READ IT!" because that is just wrong.

as for ebooks... well... not all the books u can get in ebooks... mostly u need to pay...  ^^ i support... but not much coz the ebooks are sometimes more expensive than the physical books.. since i had to pay in USD...

3. Illegally Printed Materials in Books & Magazines:
This is usually common in magazines, comics & mangas. How often do you find at any local book shop, whereby they are selling Doreamon mangas that were printed and translated into BM/English/Chinese, but it was not even legally authorized by the owners back in Japan? How do we know it was illegally printed? Check out the front intro of the book, they will just put in the name of the company printing it and translating it, but no authorization from anyone! The best thing yet, some of us had been buying it because: (1) they are cheap, and (2) if its in Japanese, we won't understand it. Those companies knows this, so they abuse the system of where the Japanese will not go to length and search all book shops in Malaysia and sue them, AND because they know that the locals in Malaysia will BUY them.

These are 3 examples, but I'm sure there are more like illegal reading via podcast, etc.

podcast is free... so i think u cant avoid this... apple itune can dl free podcast...

What do you think?
babysiiaozz
post Jul 5 2009, 08:30 PM

342 posts

i don't like them.. it won't feel the same when reading em..
moniqee
post Jul 6 2009, 09:34 PM

7,864 posts

well.. diff ppl diff opinion... ^^
ticke
post Jul 12 2009, 10:56 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

2nd hand books always help. just need to know where to find /who's selling it.
PrinceHamsap
post Jul 13 2009, 08:26 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

i dont like ebook ... it hurt my eyes more when reading on screen

photostat boooks ... dont like it also .. no feeling of reading a book

Fields
post Jul 26 2009, 01:42 PM

570 posts

haha, found this thread when doing a search on google about photostating books tongue.gif

I'm a student and most of my historical/factual books are photostated/printed. of course i would prefer the book in it's original form but alot of books aren't available in malaysia or they arent pressed anymore.

students shouldnt be paying for knowledge you know, it's something to be shared!!
moniqee
post Jul 26 2009, 08:22 PM

7,864 posts

sharing is caring... ^^

but who's gonna pay the hard working authors who did all those research? ^^
shah_ho_nam
post Aug 6 2009, 11:41 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

when i was a student before. almost 90% of my books were imported from either the UK or US. the chances of getting it is either from the online payment or get a 2nd hand one from ancorp mall where u can find all kinds of book sold there. i also got the hard cover copy of greenmile there although it's kinda hard to find it at major bookstore nowdays
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 11 2009, 03:53 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

well, as long as i get to read my stuff, i is enjoice.

if i really want to support the author i will buy original.
FidelisGVR
post Aug 15 2009, 07:15 PM

673 posts

I have photocopied books before, i'll admit it; but those are engineering study books and they are very hard to find here. Nevertheless, i buy ori whenever i can.

Story books no compromise... Must buy ori wan! There's just no feeling of true ownership and satisfaction unless u buy the real deal.
Massa
post Aug 20 2009, 01:01 AM

Massa™
709 posts

Definitely a big NO NO to piracy books.
Agreed with PrinceHamsap.
urahara_shoten
post Oct 10 2009, 06:49 PM

30 posts

I'm probably one of the few who will acknowledge that I do download ebooks at times. For me, if the contents of the books are appealing to me then I will buy the paperbook regardless of the fact that I've already read it. Can't really say I don't support my favourite author by not buying her books.Some books,that I bought looked really interesting so I bought it, but when I go home and look at it, I realize that theres really nothing in it worth buying so there goes my money. Also, it's not a problem of being kedekut or not. Books are more expensive here than they are over there. Of course people over there don't mind paying $20 for a hardcover. Heck, if a hardcover costs 20ringgit here also I don't mind buying.
Again, to me if I think the book is good, I will buy it even though I've read it regardless of where I first read it,whether I d/led or borrowed from a friend or library( library here is really bad. Nothing worth going there for leisure reading. Over there, the library will get newly released books and people will line up and have a queuing order to borrow. Their text are also uptodate)
LCTho85
post Oct 20 2009, 01:51 AM

41 posts

well....with e-book piracy around, popular authors are probably going to favour pushing the sales of their physical books more

looks like technology tried to make life easier for people, but it backfired blink.gif
Tsukasa
post Oct 20 2009, 04:50 PM

1,042 posts

I still prefer real book as its better for eyes.. Reading novel on a computer or pmp or hp really take strain in eyes. As you read more words compare to normal website.

And book smell is still the best ^^
urahara_shoten
post Oct 22 2009, 10:45 AM

30 posts

well....with e-book piracy around, popular authors are probably going to favour pushing the sales of their physical books more

looks like technology tried to make life easier for people, but it backfired

Nah, people I talked to still buy their ebooks from ebooks retailer. And more and more authors are also releasing ebook formats at the same time as their paperbook release. But then most of them I talked to are from the US and they are more advanced in using ebook reader compared to us. Plus 7bucks to them isn't that expensive.

ya lah biggrin.gif still nice to hold the book and rifle through the pages yourself. But ebooks enthusiast will argue that it saves paper thus the environment plus cheaper depending where you buy it from in the net.

This post has been edited by urahara_shoten: Oct 22 2009, 10:49 AM
LCTho85
post Oct 23 2009, 01:45 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(urahara_shoten @ Oct 22 2009, 10:45 AM)
Nah, people I talked to still buy their ebooks from ebooks retailer. And more and more authors are also releasing ebook formats at the same time as their paperbook release. But then most of them I talked to are from the US and they are more advanced in using ebook reader compared to us. Plus 7bucks to them isn't that expensive.

ya lah biggrin.gif still nice to hold the book and rifle through the pages yourself. But ebooks enthusiast will argue that it saves paper thus the environment plus cheaper depending where you buy it from in the net.
It's just the same with Touch-screen phones vs. Old-fashioned phones, I guess. Depends on personal preferences. hehe nod.gif
Rayne
post Oct 26 2009, 04:41 PM

24 posts

I admit to photocopying some books back when I was in uni, but then those books are usually nowhere to be found in Malaysia (lecturer even asked us to photocopy it because it was too old an edition to try and find it here!)

But I try to get original books as much as possible now. Novels / storybooks especially. I agree with FidelisGVR that having a book nicely printed and pressed is truly satisfying. Most of the books I like to read don't have an ebook version anyways, so no hope in getting an ebook. tongue.gif
urahara_shoten
post Oct 27 2009, 09:45 AM

30 posts

you know ,mobipocket.com offers free software download. You can install an ebook reader on your smartphone and put your ebooks there. Depending on your screen size it might be a strain on your eyes. But if you're stuck somewhere and have nothing to do, reading from your mobile could take a bit edge off your boringness. No need to bring bulky book or ebook biggrin.gif, what I hate about carrying books is that it usually gets smooshed in my bag and I go 'my book!!!!' everytime the cover is dented or gets folded . I hate it when my books gets injured sad.gif
Blue07
post Nov 3 2009, 12:41 PM

167 posts

Just like many of you here, I've only ever photocopied books when I was in uni. Up until recently, all the books in my library are originals. However, that means that I actually read less than I would like to given the high cost of books in Malaysia and the unavailability (I had to place orders for some books I wanted through Borders and those cost me a bomb). I scoured Ebay to get a cheaper alternative to buying brand new books but the shipping charges meant that the difference usually wasn't that great (Ebay MY is HOPELESS when it comes to reading material).

After I discovered that I could get ebooks off the internet for free, I've had a much wider range available to me. I have no problems with reading ebooks - a book is a book is a book - although I must agree that there is nothing like holding the physical book in your hands and flipping through the pages.

One of my favourite authors supports piracy. And interesting viewpoint from him:-
http://www.newsweek.com/id/108715/page/1

(I think it is pertinent to add here that I own almost all of his books - in original hard copy).

LCTho85
post Nov 6 2009, 02:07 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Blue07 @ Nov 3 2009, 12:41 PM)
Just like many of you here, I've only ever photocopied books when I was in uni. Up until recently, all the books in my library are originals. However, that means that I actually read less than I would like to given the high cost of books in Malaysia and the unavailability (I had to place orders for some books I wanted through Borders and those cost me a bomb). I scoured Ebay to get a cheaper alternative to buying brand new books but the shipping charges meant that the difference usually wasn't that great (Ebay MY is HOPELESS when it comes to reading material).

After I discovered that I could get ebooks off the internet for free, I've had a much wider range available to me. I have no problems with reading ebooks - a book is a book is a book - although I must agree that there is nothing like holding the physical book in your hands and flipping through the pages.

One of my favourite authors supports piracy. And interesting viewpoint from him:-
http://www.newsweek.com/id/108715/page/1

(I think it is pertinent to add here that I own almost all of his books - in original hard copy).
You could try renting books...that's another cheaper alternative!

We rent out books for RM6 each, at Book X-Change smile.gif
Blue07
post Nov 10 2009, 08:07 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(LCTho85 @ Nov 6 2009, 02:07 AM)
You could try renting books...that's another cheaper alternative!

We rent out books for RM6 each, at Book X-Change  smile.gif
thumbup.gif

Right now I don't see any titles that I want but will keep checking back. I'm not in KL ... do you guys have alternatives for those from other states?
dkk
post Apr 15 2010, 01:14 PM

11,400 posts

1) I've downloaded lots of ebooks, but not pirated ones. Do you know that not all are illegal?

2) join a library to get free books. smile.gif

3) if your library is not getting the latest free stuff, start your own private paying library. Your members can then collectively decide on what to buy. Ben Franklin had one. smile.gif
kobe8byrant
post Apr 17 2010, 01:51 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

a lot of people do it. i am okay with people doing it as long as they dont attempt to cover their ass and justify their crimes.

0.0275sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:43 AM