Is there any W Series users in here? Any feedback about this model?
VAIO Club V2, Video Audio Intelligence Organizer
Apr 7 2010, 03:17 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Is there any W Series users in here? Any feedback about this model?
Apr 10 2010, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(kahyeec @ Apr 10 2010, 12:26 AM) Just bought my w series 5th april 2010. Mine was blue and c/w 2 gigs of ram. Thanks alot. My primary concern is about its performance and whether is it worth paying additional RM500 for extra GB (HDD) and MB (RAM) or not.Cons first : » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Pros : » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Apr 11 2010, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(kahyeec @ Apr 10 2010, 08:39 PM) I'd say just go for it. I have the same doubt as you at first (with the extra RM500 I can upgrade to 2GB of ram and buy extra accesories or get a broadband package because the ram is just RM140 or so) but the RM500 goes into build quality and it shows .Mind you after playing around with Toshiba and HP and DELL netbooks after I bought this one, I found that Sony does have a better,more accurate,sensitive trackpad.I dont need to connect the mouse as much as it takes up a USB port which it only has 2. Although it did not support the "pinch" gesture and whatnot that ACER does, I dont find it to be too inconvinient (maybe I dont edit much photos). Well, I don't think I'll be spending more than RM2k for a mini laptop now since I got a Macbook as my primary machine / workstation. So, SR and X series is definitely out of my list.If you could find a older cheaper model of any Sony Vaio like the SR series or X series that sometimes being sold at Sony Centers at reduced price, get those. They are much of the same size as the W series and have much better spec. Looks better too. Usually they are marked down from 5499 or something to 3399. All in all , I am pretty satisfied as far as netbook goes on my purchase . Performance wise all netbooks are more or less the same. My requirement for netbooks are simple: 2Gig of Ram, 320HDD , chiclet keyboards, looks good when in Starbucks or mamak stall , small footprint and high resolution screen. Performance wise can play youtube, quicktime and avi files is good enough. Dont procrestinate la . Get one at the PIKOM show maybe got better deal ,at the same time grab a DIGI broadband and u are good to go . Theres a sleeve bag that looks and feels so nice selling for RM149 , maybe will get one later. I visited Sony Wings / Style (the one in KLCC) today. A good lad (salesman) also told me the same thing as you do; wait for PIKOM PC Fair. Although the price remains the same, they might throw in a couple more of freebies. So, I'll just wait lah till next weekend. Hehe. But, thanks for your input though. Really helps alot. QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 10 2010, 11:41 PM) Sorry. What I meant was a normal netbook in the market now offers only 250GB. Sony Vaio is offering 320GB. |
Apr 12 2010, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(kahyeec @ Apr 11 2010, 05:28 AM) For a person who owns a Mac. Dont think you can go anywhere other than Sony style wise. Its the only brand that comes close to Apple this side of Windows. They are different la... Can't wait for this coming weekend. |
Apr 16 2010, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(shinjin @ Apr 15 2010, 11:27 AM) Added on April 16, 2010, 12:12 amSony PC Fair 2010 (I) KLCC 16-18 April 2010 Not really interesting ? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Is there any difference between Sony Style (in KLCC) and Sony Center (in The Gardens and other places)? |
Apr 16 2010, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(shinjin @ Apr 16 2010, 01:27 PM) Sony Style is Sony Direct Store, in the meant time, after you purchase more than RM200, you can entitle the sony style member card, price is nett. Thanks...Sony Center is a dealer, you may ask for cash rebate if pay in full (Especially at Low Yat Plaza, range RM50 - RM150) Added on April 16, 2010, 1:31 pm I think sony style malaysia online is sxxk compare with ours others region (singapore, HK, taiwan, china) Low Yat Plaza still got 2 units left for Z117 (Last 2 weeks.....) PC fair 2010 for S and Z series looks same with normal day.... Next sony time promotion start will be 22 April 2010 What do you mean by "Next sony time promotion start will be 22 April 2010"? Better freebies? Better offers? |
Apr 16 2010, 06:24 PM
@shinjin : Okay. Maybe I should wait for that...
Apr 16 2010, 08:06 PM
@kahyeec : Yeah. The Sony Vaio sleeve is even cheaper than the free bag given by them. Anyway, I might get a better sleeve to bring around if I buy this. Regarding the battery life, though others might last a lil longer, I might get the 6-cell battery or just bring my charger along. Now, I'm wondering whether should I wait for the said Sony promotion on 22nd April or not.
Apr 19 2010, 12:06 AM
@faizpsp89 : I don't think so. That's the max.
Apr 19 2010, 03:51 PM
Sony Style in KLCC is closed for renovation. Looks like I've to get mine from Sony Center now...
QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Apr 19 2010, 01:10 AM) Nah... Correct me if I'm wrong, netbooks, in general, can support up to 2GB only. |
Apr 19 2010, 06:25 PM
Apr 23 2010, 10:18 AM
Still no good deals for W Series. I doubt they ever will give good freebies for W series... unless it is EOL.
Apr 25 2010, 12:52 AM
How does this Sony Extended Warranty work? How much does it cost? Do I have to purchase at the same time as I purchase my laptop?
| Change to: | 0.0393sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:42 PM |