Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Query regarding bank transfer, from UK to Maybank M'sia

chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 12:21 AM, updated 17y ago

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Hi guys,

There's one fella from UK who's interested in buying an item from me that costs Rm800. I was asked to provide some information as below:

Here is the Information Needed for the Payment:
Account Name:
Account Number:
Bank Name:
Bank Address:
Swift Code/Bank Code:

I was wondering what's Bank Address and Swift code/bank code? Since this is the 1st time that I do international postage and I was wondering how much will an item that weighs around 800g will cost if send via DHL. I'm using Maybank BTW, is it possible that he banked in the money into my acc?
5w33
post Apr 17 2009, 12:35 AM

638 posts

Use Paypal, easier.
For DHL rates I think you have to call them, no info on their website.
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 01:09 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Apr 17 2009, 12:35 AM)
Use Paypal, easier.
For DHL rates I think you have to call them, no info on their website.
I don't hv paypal xD Anyway, i got the swift code ady, the only thing i need to know is the bank address thingy... Is it the maybank branch add that i opened my acc or the KL main branch add sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Apr 17 2009, 01:10 AM
berasjati
post Apr 17 2009, 01:16 AM

bank address = can just write your branch name (ie.. KL Main Branch or Mid Valley Branch, KL)

swift code = MBBEMYKL

using UPS cost of 3 days delivery approx rm300 - rm500 .. make sure ch3eck with UPS first.

btw.. my experience maybank took 1 week to clear a TT from UK into maybank

This post has been edited by berasjati: Apr 17 2009, 01:19 AM
Emily Yee
post Apr 17 2009, 01:21 AM

253 posts

If don't have paypal, ask him to buy through Western Union or Moneygram. It's fast, very cheap fees compared to bank transfered. I once used Maybank to transfered cost me nearly RM100 only to Indonesia. While Western Union/Money Gram only like RM10-RM20.

Pay Pal is good too. Above if you don't have one.
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 01:24 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(berasjati @ Apr 17 2009, 01:16 AM)
bank address = can just write your branch name (ie.. KL Main Branch or Mid Valley Branch, KL)

swift code = MBBEMYKL

using UPS cost of 3 days delivery approx rm300 - rm500 .. make sure ch3eck with UPS first.

btw.. my experience maybank took 1 week to clear a TT from UK into maybank
I see, Thxs man. BTW, Will there be a huge difference in the charge between FeDex, DHL or other courier service companies?
berasjati
post Apr 17 2009, 01:26 AM

roughly similar bro.. even with poslaju smile.gif
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 01:28 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(Emily Yee @ Apr 17 2009, 01:21 AM)
If don't have paypal, ask him to buy through Western Union or Moneygram. It's fast, very cheap fees compared to bank transfered. I once used Maybank to transfered cost me nearly RM100 only to Indonesia. While Western Union/Money Gram only like RM10-RM20.

Pay Pal is good too. Above if you don't have one.
Haha, the buyer himself wanna use the bank transfer one xD I dunno much about western union those stuff, I don't think I'll open an acc just for this one-time transaction as well xD Anyway, Thxs bunch.
berasjati
post Apr 17 2009, 01:30 AM

agree with Emily aske the guy to send u western union.. very fast clear.. you just need to bring your mykad to any CIMB to CASH !!! it out
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 01:30 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(berasjati @ Apr 17 2009, 01:26 AM)
roughly similar bro.. even with poslaju smile.gif
I was planning to use PosLaju actually since it's the nearest courier service from my house, but I'm not sure whether those white ppl trust PosLaju or not, they might not even know what the hell it is tongue.gif PosLaju will reach in 2-5 days as well? hmm.gif
berasjati
post Apr 17 2009, 01:35 AM

heheh.. i know waht you mean.. anyway tell them its trackable also..
give them the tracking code and ask them to check at pos malaysia webiste

poslaju also 3-5 days..

This post has been edited by berasjati: Apr 17 2009, 01:37 AM
Emily Yee
post Apr 17 2009, 01:37 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 17 2009, 01:28 AM)
Haha, the buyer himself wanna use the bank transfer one xD I dunno much about western union those stuff, I don't think I'll open an acc just for this one-time transaction as well xD Anyway, Thxs bunch.
Bank Transfer will get u days to get the money(bad experience with this, the money I've sent din get to the receiver but bounced back to me after 5 days and charged me RM100 for transfer fees),

Western Union available in most bank, especially CIMB/BSN(normally WU sticker would be at the door of the bank)
while MoneyGram available in most Maybank,
once he paid n sms u the code(Money Transfer Code Number),
after 10 mins, u go to the bank(you don't have to have any acc with the bank),
fill in WU receive form with the provided code(MTCN) then get the money.

No acc/membership needed. Very fast and safe.

Btw, still up to you. I was frustrated with Bank Transfers before and now happy with Western Union & Paypal. I used them frequently as most of my shell hosting cust from Arab, US and India. Plus this is how I paid to my dedicated servers in Canada and LA.

Added on April 17, 2009, 1:39 am
QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 17 2009, 01:30 AM)
I was planning to use PosLaju actually since it's the nearest courier service from my house, but I'm not sure whether those white ppl trust PosLaju or not, they might not even know what the hell it is tongue.gif PosLaju will reach in 2-5 days as well?  hmm.gif
On poslaju(EMS internationally) website got rate for the weight and also state how many days to reach what country. Should be cheapest than DHL liao biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Emily Yee: Apr 17 2009, 01:39 AM
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 01:46 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(Emily Yee @ Apr 17 2009, 01:37 AM)
Bank Transfer will get u days to get the money(bad experience with this, the money I've sent din get to the receiver but bounced back to me after 5 days and charged me RM100 for transfer fees),

Western Union available in most bank, especially CIMB/BSN(normally WU sticker would be at the door of the bank)
while MoneyGram available in most Maybank,
once he paid n sms u the code(Money Transfer Code Number),
after 10 mins, u go to the bank(you don't have to have any acc with the bank),
fill in WU receive form with the provided code(MTCN) then get the money.

No acc/membership needed. Very fast and safe.

Btw, still up to you. I was frustrated with Bank Transfers before and now happy with Western Union & Paypal. I used them frequently as most of my shell hosting cust from Arab, US and India. Plus this is how I paid to my dedicated servers in Canada and LA.

Added on April 17, 2009, 1:39 am

On poslaju(EMS internationally) website got rate for the weight and also state how many days to reach what country. Should be cheapest than DHL liao biggrin.gif
Haha, I'll try to convince the guai lou to let me use PosLaju then smile.gif I only hv Maybank acc so I think may be i'll use the MoneyGram thingy. Let me go through it once again how it works to avoid miscommunication. The buyer is from UK so he went to buy this MoneyGram that costs Rm800(this is what my item costs) and then he'll txt/email me the code of the MoneyGram he bought to me... After I received the code then I go to Maybank and tell them the code and they will do the rest?

Added on April 17, 2009, 1:49 amAlso It's actually an earphone that he bought from me. I hope it has no problem passing through the custom right xD

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Apr 17 2009, 01:49 AM
Emily Yee
post Apr 17 2009, 01:56 AM

253 posts

You don't need an account with the bank to use WU or MG.

As a money sender,
1. Go to a bank got WU service.
2. Fill in Send Form. - make sure you have the receiver first name, last name, address, and contact.
3. Then bring the form to counter, with ic, give it to them with your money. Pay transfer fee.
4. They will process and provide you the MTCN code, SMS to your receiver the MTCN code.

After 10 minutes.

As a money receiver,
2. Fill in Receive Form. - make sure you got sender first name, last name, address, and contact AND MORE IMPORTANTLY: MTCN CODE.
3. Bring to counter, provide your form and IC.
4. Get your money.

Hope you will understand. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Emily Yee: Apr 17 2009, 02:08 AM
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 01:59 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(Emily Yee @ Apr 17 2009, 01:56 AM)
You don't need an account with the bank to use WU or MG.

As a money sender,
2. Fill in Send Form. - make sure you have the receiver first name, last name, address, and contact.
3. Then bring the form to counter, give it to them with your money. Pay transfer fee.
4. They will process and provide you the MTCN code, SMS to your receiver the MTCN code.

After 10 minutes.

As a money receiver,
2. Fill in Receive Form. - make sure you got sender first name, last name, address, and contact AND MORE IMPORTANTLY: MTCN CODE.
3. Bring to counter, provide your form and IC.
4. Get your money.

Hope you will understand. smile.gif
Yup, very detailed and clear explanation smile.gif Thxs bunch for ur time ^^
Emily Yee
post Apr 17 2009, 02:02 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 17 2009, 01:59 AM)
Yup, very detailed and clear explanation smile.gif Thxs bunch for ur time ^^
BTW, MTCN code can track whether the money is being sent/processed or not on the WU site. If its at night and you can't verify the transfer. Track it on the website.
chingwooi
post Apr 17 2009, 02:08 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(Emily Yee @ Apr 17 2009, 02:02 AM)
BTW, MTCN code can track whether the money is being sent/processed or not on the WU site. If its at night and you can't verify the transfer. Track it on the website.
I see, cheers mate biggrin.gif

Added on April 17, 2009, 2:28 amThxs guys for all the feedback, appreciate it.

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Apr 17 2009, 02:28 AM

0.0190sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:47 AM