S60 v5, The official thread

TSshaun3230
post Apr 16 2009, 08:23 PM, updated 17y ago

2,369 posts

Lets all use this thread to discuss all about s60 v5.

S60 v5 phone list:

N97

i8910/ Omnia HD

S60 v5 users:

pm me if u wanna name there.

Thanks and regards,
shaun3230
S60v5 extreme user
Also, much appreciated if u can fill this up:

CODE

Model:
Firmware:
Dev cert(if any):
Emmulators:
UI:
Shells:
Widgets:
Number of apps installed:
Number of games installed:

Let me start first:

Model: 5800 red
Firmware: v11.0.008
dev cert: 17 dev cert
Emmulators: dosbox (for Win 95, purely to show off), StyleTap (for palm os apps), Net60 (.net platform)
UI: Symbian plus (Highly recommended)
Shells: Epoc Handy Shell v 1.04
Widgets: None currently
Number of apps installed: 29
Number of games installed: 2

This post has been edited by shaun3230: Jun 16 2009, 07:27 PM

Attached image(s)
J-Slade
post Apr 16 2009, 08:49 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Since there is going to be a s60v5 thread here. I want to suggest something to be in development. But it needs a little bit of cooperation from Samsung Omnia HD users.

As you know the Omnia HD just like Nokia 5800 uses Real Player to play their video files. The difference? DivX support! However it has come to my attention that if you're using Y-Browser and you browse to your ROM drive, you can find your codec files in it (found on my Nokia 5800). If there is a way Omnia HD users can extract the DivX codec, I am pretty sure something can be done for other s60v5 users to play DivX

I hope you guys get what I mean.
TSshaun3230
post Apr 16 2009, 08:53 PM

2,369 posts

Great info bro. As although DivX player can be installed on the 5800, but it does not play vids well (darn low fps, even though at just 320x180) and well, is not meant for finger navi.
echo.Garden
post Apr 16 2009, 08:56 PM

I love Supernatural
707 posts

Model: 5800 blue
Firmware: v20.0.008
Signing cert: 19 dev cert
Emmulators: dosbox (for Win 95, purely to show off), StyleTap (for palm os apps), Net60 (.net platform)
UI: Symbian plus (Highly recommended)
Shells: Default
Widgets: None currently
Number of apps installed: 35
Number of games installed: 10

Added on April 16, 2009, 8:58 pmbro.. if u wanna create official thread for S60v5 i hope u can put more effort in it.. S60v5 is not sth to be mess with or start a topic and say "hey i'm the TS of S60v5" u must provide more detail for this thread in order for it to sustain.... good luck bro.... making it more pretty and neat... this thread just seems so dull to me... i enjoy 5800 thread more than this... just a suggestion to TS....

and also u have to learn a lot knowledge on this... really.. btw... dev cert is not hack.. it's a developer certificates to sign application like symbian sign does... and also hack are not allow to be discuss in this forum too...

This post has been edited by echo.Garden: Apr 16 2009, 09:00 PM
TSshaun3230
post Apr 16 2009, 09:02 PM

2,369 posts

Thats for pointing that out, will take that into note
prem87
post Apr 16 2009, 09:12 PM

78 posts

nice thread.. hope ya'll can get the codec quick
TSshaun3230
post Apr 16 2009, 09:29 PM

2,369 posts

By the way anyone tried out Nokia Photo Browser? Not sure if it`ll work on other S60 v5 phones, but its real cool to browse ur pics...

http://betalabs.nokia.com/betas/view/nokia...downloadissues: Images aren`t sharp.
aspire2oo6
post Apr 17 2009, 06:29 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Model: 5800 XM
Firmware: 21.0
Dev cert(if any): 4
Emmulators: -
UI: Symbian Plus
Shells: None
Widgets: None
Number of apps installed: 42
Number of games installed: 135
tabletennis
post Apr 17 2009, 01:24 PM

641 posts

Firmware: v20.0.012
Dev cert(if any): 1
Emmulators: none
UI: symbian plus
Shells: none
Widgets: none
Number of apps installed: 22
Number of games installed: 20
TSshaun3230
post Apr 17 2009, 09:59 PM

2,369 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 17 2009, 06:29 AM)
Number of apps installed: 42
Number of games installed: 135
QUOTE(tabletennis @ Apr 17 2009, 01:24 PM)
Firmware: v20.0.012
Dev cert(if any): 1
UI: symbian plus
Number of apps installed: 22
Number of games installed: 20
Nice to see that both of u guys are using Symbian Plus....

Btw, did anyone notice in the 20.0.012 firmware, bass booster is named as loudness?
ckyned
post Apr 18 2009, 06:08 PM

~Trial & Error~
600 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Apr 17 2009, 09:59 PM)
Nice to see that both of u guys are using Symbian Plus....

Btw, did anyone notice in the 20.0.012 firmware, bass booster is named as loudness?
LOL, that was discussed in tube thread for the long time ago. brows.gif
Vervain
post Apr 18 2009, 10:07 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Apr 16 2009, 08:49 PM)
Since there is going to be a s60v5 thread here. I want to suggest something to be in development. But it needs a little bit of cooperation from Samsung Omnia HD users.

As you know the Omnia HD just like Nokia 5800 uses Real Player to play their video files. The difference? DivX support! However it has come to my attention that if you're using Y-Browser and you browse to your ROM drive, you can find your codec files in it (found on my Nokia 5800). If there is a way Omnia HD users can extract the DivX codec, I am pretty sure something can be done for other s60v5 users to play DivX

I hope you guys get what I mean.
Just wondering. Wouldn't that be illegal? Divx is not free but Xvid is open source correct me if i'm wrong
TSshaun3230
post Apr 19 2009, 09:52 PM

2,369 posts

But if it weren`t legal, why would it be there in the first place?
qwe65
post Apr 23 2009, 10:29 PM

my assistant
815 posts

Number of apps installed: 15
Number of games installed: 10

tunertoobe
post Apr 24 2009, 12:43 PM

9,309 posts

Firmware: 20.0.012
Dev cert(if any): None
UI: Standard UI
Number of apps installed: 6
Number of games installed: 5

Hehe, not a power user when it comes to apps and stuff. tongue.gif
I use it mainly for calls, SMS, Music, and most recently WiFi and consequently emailing, facebook and stuff. Having a Touch UI makes these jobs simpler. A Symbian which is already user friendly in itself being transformed into touch makes it better. thumbup.gif
e-jump
post Apr 25 2009, 05:17 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 18 2009, 10:07 PM)
Just wondering. Wouldn't that be illegal? Divx is not free but Xvid is open source correct me if i'm wrong
well, at least its a heads up for direct porting trial.
then we can work out to build/port/reverse engineering to make xvid work
crazycrazyman
post Apr 25 2009, 09:56 PM

What about that?
2,706 posts

woah...interesting..
didnt notice LYN had make a new topic discussion over here..
a great one..

Baronic
post Apr 25 2009, 10:12 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

i'm shifting threads around, we have a new forum restructure. if u see a thread especially phone specific in the wrong section (eg, it should be in symbian UIQ instead of Symbian) please feel free to PM me to let me know
TSshaun3230
post Apr 25 2009, 10:47 PM

2,369 posts

Yeah sure, i`ll let u know it it gets mixed up
the100308
post Apr 26 2009, 07:40 AM

1,849 posts

Are you sure Idou is using this operating system? I think its open source symbian, not symbian s60 v5 le
Baronic
post Apr 26 2009, 10:13 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

open source symbian? so....where do propose it go? i dun think its a good idea to put it under standard java. : /
limjonyee
post Apr 26 2009, 12:51 PM

329 posts

ui: symbian plus

symbian plus ui for 5th device out already? or u r using the 3rd version?
vexus
post Apr 26 2009, 04:05 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

symbian got to mve fast as apple, android and winmo is almost ahead of symbian in multitouch.
Baronic
post Apr 26 2009, 04:57 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

multitouch for windows mobile is still technically a concept since i've only seen attempts, but no real workings of multi touch.
TSshaun3230
post Apr 26 2009, 10:37 PM

2,369 posts

QUOTE(limjonyee @ Apr 26 2009, 12:51 PM)
symbian plus ui for 5th device out already? or u r using the 3rd version?
3rd version...
kenetix
post May 1 2009, 02:12 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Apr 26 2009, 04:57 PM)
multitouch for windows mobile is still technically a concept since i've only seen attempts, but no real workings of multi touch.
not sure if they'll be able to reach the level of Iphone multitouch.....hopefully developing software for the phone won't be too cumbersome

ZeroDefect
post May 1 2009, 03:39 AM

69 posts

i'm a new tube user of 5800xm ya...hehe

Model: 5800 XM Blue
Firmware: 20.0.012
Dev cert(if any): duno wat is tis....
UI:
Widgets: 1
Number of apps installed: 4
Number of games installed: 3

Hereby i would like to ask some pros and other forumers to help me with this problem. I just bought a blue tube on monday and then after the day which is tuesday while i entering the contacts in my phone memory, the color of the display screen color change from grey(default) to a bit yellowish. It appear for a few seconds oni n sometime is a bit yellowish, sometimes a bit purple. Is there any solution for tis problem?? it appear in the display although i'm in other option or application such as when i using mini qwerty to enter alphabet then it suden change color but nt very often, sometimes is when entering contact. Plz help me to solve tis problem. My phone firmware is V20. Thank you.
TSshaun3230
post May 1 2009, 11:48 AM

2,369 posts

If u view a picture, after a few seconds, does it have this prob as well?

e-jump
post May 1 2009, 12:18 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

ComicTouch 1.2, a comic reader by cbz file archive
http://dailymobile.se/forum/index.php?topic=5152.0

so far on my testing, black and white comic pages sometimes takes longer to render =__="

This post has been edited by e-jump: May 1 2009, 12:19 PM
april0493
post May 1 2009, 05:42 PM

34 posts

hey can i ask why my Nokia 5800 cannot use msn? can i download the software or something? it says my phone is not compatible when i download it thru 'downloads' in my phone...
TSshaun3230
post May 2 2009, 11:55 AM

2,369 posts

try Fring.. Dont use Windows Live messeger.

ZeroDefect
post May 2 2009, 12:29 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ May 1 2009, 11:48 AM)
If u view a picture, after a few seconds, does it have this prob as well?
erm...it appears randomly...normaly is in the screen where i can key in alphabet, mostly is in the message thr not the other part such as view picture or menu...
TSshaun3230
post May 2 2009, 03:49 PM

2,369 posts

Can u post a screen shot of it?
ZeroDefect
post May 2 2009, 05:56 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ May 2 2009, 03:49 PM)
Can u post a screen shot of it?
erm..i using the screensnap to take a screen shot of it but it cant display the img when the problem occur....means when the problem is thr then i screnshot it then the img screen shot is without problem....so screensnap couldn't work on it....n it appear randomly so quite hard for me to take a pic of it oni apear for a few seconds... i will try to use my fren's phone to take a pic of it if possible coz reli hard n duno when it wil occur...
keivin1991
post May 2 2009, 07:23 PM

307 posts

how did you all install the symbian plus UI ? i downloaded and it says s60 product ID missing ????
steveleewl
post May 4 2009, 03:22 PM

i'm new in this site.
i only have 2 questions regarding web surfing for 5800.
first, can 5800 highlight text in the website like news and articles,
then copy and paste to word in the phone?
last, can 5800 view websites in normal pc view? viewing in cell
is different with the viewing in pc...
can anyone help me in the answer?
thanks a lot..
[SIZE=1]
TSshaun3230
post May 4 2009, 05:58 PM

2,369 posts

Nope, but u can copy and paste other stuff like notes and sms-es...

The 5800`s web browser is quite good I must say
james347
post May 4 2009, 07:46 PM

I know one such website which has applications/ games and themes related to Nokia 5800. The applications are pretty good and collection of themes is awesome (There are free 100 themes to choose from). There are also best selling games which now comes with free trial offer. so its a good website for Nokia 5800 lovers and users to check out.

Nokia 5800 Blog
steveleewl
post May 5 2009, 04:57 AM

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ May 4 2009, 05:58 PM)
Nope, but u can copy and paste other stuff like notes and sms-es...

The 5800`s web browser is quite good I must say
it's sad that it can't do that.. because that's my main purpose considering this phone..
but i read in another forum saying that it's able to cut and paste within browser already (fw v21).
can other browser like skyfire able to do the copy paste thingy?
TSshaun3230
post May 5 2009, 09:16 PM

2,369 posts

hmmm.... must try out v21 as mine is still v20.

Skyfire, not sure, but I dont think can as it does not operate with the OS itself
steveleewl
post May 6 2009, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ May 5 2009, 09:16 PM)
hmmm.... must try out v21 as mine is still v20.

Skyfire, not sure, but I dont think can as it does not operate with the OS itself
sad..... thanks for you info
XPS1530
post May 6 2009, 07:22 PM

46 posts

hi...wanna ask...

all nokia 5800 user...how u fell when writing sms?
TSshaun3230
post May 6 2009, 08:22 PM

2,369 posts

Ok , quite good. I use the full screen QWERTY. Just like a slide out QWERTY in a PDA, but cant press that hard la...
gsrc
post Jun 1 2009, 09:33 PM

396 posts

I'm using mini QWERTY and, although not as good as real keyboard, I can learn the typing quite well.
TSshaun3230
post Jun 3 2009, 12:15 PM

2,369 posts

Full screen QWERTY is better, try it out...
michael9413
post Jun 3 2009, 01:54 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

guys wanna ask is there any limitation on the new Symbian OS 9.3, Series 60 v3.2 UI
like software installation..

TSshaun3230
post Jun 3 2009, 05:29 PM

2,369 posts

This is a v5 thread, so for better answers , better ask in the S60 thread...

To ur question, I have no idea

Added on June 16, 2009, 7:28 pm5530 added...

Quite a nice phone, should be the most affordable S60 v5 device atm

This post has been edited by shaun3230: Jun 16 2009, 07:28 PM
nles
post Jun 25 2009, 03:23 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

I'm looking for a remote software for Omnia HD.

The remote professional doesn't seems to work.

Trying to figure out a way to output Omnia HD screen to LCD TV or Notebook screen. My Ipod TV Out cable doesn't work either grrrrr
HeLLonEarTH
post Jul 1 2009, 12:17 AM

311 posts

Model: 5800 Red
Firmware: V 21.0.025
Dev cert(if any): 19 cert
Emmulators: None at the moment
UI: Original User Interface
Number of apps installed: 11
Number of games installed: 9

New user.. dunno where to getthe 5800 real games.. most games include the ( like gameboy keys but small picture) But im sattisfied with it as it can browse n watch youtube desktop mode. Has flashplayer 3 which can run youtube. Not laggy. But sometimes need to delete all private data after online cuz alot of internet temporay files. Great phone for the budjet.. hehehe
leaps&bounds
post Jul 1 2009, 01:01 AM

where to find free apps for symbian .. i mean the most popular free site ...
gch5185
post Jul 1 2009, 09:54 PM

56 posts

Yeah. Nokia 5800 is a good phone, I like it. The best touch screen phone in Nokia? Haha.
AllFoodsCanEat
post Jul 8 2009, 11:46 AM

469 posts

Model: 5800 Black
Firmware: V 21.0.025
Dev cert(if any): 19 cert
Emmulators: None at the moment
Number of apps installed: 8
Number of games installed: 4

What a nice phone...
guojeck
post Jul 10 2009, 09:27 PM

i've installed symbian plus on my tubey but it shows feature not supported sad.gif ...
any idea how to get this prob solved? thanks in advance...
esmonde
post Jul 13 2009, 11:52 PM

510 posts

What is the way to install Symbian Plus in Nokia 5800 XpressMusic.
I have download symbianplus s60v3, and it is not supported.
Am I downloaded the correct installer??
I cannot find any solutions in google though.
Please guide me.
superxboy
post Jul 15 2009, 05:49 PM

131 posts

add me, i am 5800.
dei
post Aug 13 2009, 05:36 PM

210 posts

idou??
makenai_san
post Oct 21 2009, 12:42 AM

136 posts

Model: N97 white
Firmware: V 1.2
Dev cert(if any): modded ; how to get 1 icon_question.gif
Emulators: is there one to be downloaded?
Number of apps installed: 2
Number of games installed: none
wanna know when the update 2.0 will come out ^^
Isx
post Oct 25 2009, 05:11 AM

190 posts

when will the 2.0 update come out?? god. I hope there will be a 3.0 update as well.
wilberpang
post Nov 1 2009, 05:21 PM

67 posts

Whats is the market price for Nokia 5530 now?
synchromess
post Nov 3 2009, 10:30 PM

Does anyone know if the cracked version of Easy Reject for 5800 is available? Where to download from? Currently I'm using the trial version, and it is limited to only 20 calls sad.gif
ETEAM TRADING
post Nov 7 2009, 12:27 PM

1,246 posts

latest 1st SE satio, wonderful!
king of the king of symbian, 12mp

This post has been edited by ETEAM TRADING: Nov 7 2009, 12:28 PM
pluginbaby
post Nov 13 2009, 09:05 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(synchromess @ Nov 3 2009, 10:30 PM)
Does anyone know if the cracked version of Easy Reject for 5800 is available? Where to download from? Currently I'm using the trial version, and it is limited to only 20 calls sad.gif
dun ask here for warez dude.. try googling it smile.gif i bet u will find it..
Kamling
post Dec 17 2009, 12:28 AM

im getting old
657 posts

hello there.. i using SE satio.. but where i can get the software?

This post has been edited by Kamling: Dec 17 2009, 12:30 AM
mirmozibeng
post Feb 17 2010, 04:27 PM

49 posts

here u can find satio free software...
http://satioworld.com/index.php

currently not many software u can get for satio for the time being
may b the phone still new hikhik
chunf
post Feb 19 2010, 04:07 PM

148 posts

can satio software works in 5800?

x132755
post Feb 19 2010, 08:51 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

QUOTE(chunf @ Feb 19 2010, 04:07 PM)
can satio software works in 5800?
both using same OS, some mayb not support.. wink.gif
pluginbaby
post Mar 1 2010, 09:55 AM

2,661 posts

ya.. some is not supported but mostly is..
RoMa_84
post Mar 21 2010, 05:22 PM

192 posts

I'm using SE Vivaz. Just wondering what DivX players are u guys using? Seems to me there's none available. Everything only works with S60 V3. Help out. Thanks in advance.
dejiar
post Mar 23 2010, 09:53 AM

487 posts

happy using my N97..but selling soon..sad..saving some money for my college
chunf
post Mar 29 2010, 07:13 PM

148 posts

lol... Any chance to let S60v5 to get smiley? any apps?
Sesar unjur
post Mar 30 2010, 10:14 AM

118 posts

just bought n97 mini.great phone although feel want to smash it to the wall when first use it.now,works like a charm.very satisfy with it but this month eat maggi till payday.huhu
munzz
post Apr 2 2010, 12:27 PM

32 posts

Im using N97 mini.. any sites that I can download themes, apps & games?
kae7
post Apr 2 2010, 12:38 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(munzz @ Apr 2 2010, 12:27 PM)
Im using N97 mini.. any sites that I can download themes, apps & games?
LOL.. this is about discussing symbian,. not phone...

site to download themes,apps,games..

there are so many to be listed down here..
the fastest way to know is -> SEARCH [google/yahoo/bing] .. good luck !

btw > this is the thread of N97 mini >> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1180499

discuss there.. there are many N97 mini's user wink.gif
chee yat
post Apr 12 2010, 10:13 AM

188 posts

i using SE satio.. but where i can get the software?
adib1992
post Apr 20 2010, 06:20 AM

88 posts

Model:5800XM Red
Firmware:v50.0.005
Dev cert(if any):-
Emmulators:-
UI:-
Shells:Default
Widgets:-
Number of apps installed:-
Number of games installed:-
rajeshpal
post Apr 26 2010, 05:50 PM

53 posts

Welcoming VIVAZ next.. looks damn good feature.. 7xx MHz processor with GPU.. wow!!!
ne0cz
post Dec 4 2010, 09:56 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

Model: Nokia X6 8GB Amethyst
Firmware: v30.0.003
dev cert: 2 dev certs
UI: basic
Number of apps installed: 18
Number of games installed: 15

This post has been edited by ne0cz: Dec 5 2010, 03:05 PM
Jason3399
post Dec 5 2010, 01:49 AM

010-3113333
1,371 posts

Model: Nokia X6 32GB
Firmware: v21.0.004
dev cert: 2 dev certs
Number of apps installed: 12
Number of games installed: 3
iddbbi
post Dec 5 2010, 10:57 PM

323 posts

my Nokia 5800 XM is ondaway, once received I'll update my phone here. biggrin.gif
boonwuilow
post Dec 7 2010, 07:30 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

Model:5530 XM (blue)
Firmware:C6 CFW V11 by PHNT
UI:Standard
Shells:SPB Mobile Shell
Widgets:Huge battery, Nokia Battery monitor, Nokia notification, Facebook
Number of apps installed:68
Number of games installed: 7
Fonts: Stylus
Theme effect : own custom mixted effect

This post has been edited by boonwuilow: Dec 7 2010, 08:26 PM
iddbbi
post Dec 14 2010, 02:06 PM

323 posts

Model: Nokia 5800 XpressMusic
Firmware: v52.0.007
Dev cert: 2 dev certs
Number of apps installed: 12
Number of games installed: 5
Dlim88
post Dec 18 2010, 03:11 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(ETEAM TRADING @ Nov 7 2009, 12:27 PM)
latest 1st SE satio, wonderful!
king of the king of symbian, 12mp
Now N8 appear d brows.gif
boonwuilow
post Dec 18 2010, 07:16 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Dec 18 2010, 03:11 PM)
Now N8 appear d  brows.gif
Here is for S60V5, not s^3...xD
Dlim88
post Dec 18 2010, 07:57 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Dec 18 2010, 07:16 PM)
Here is for S60V5, not s^3...xD
Symbian aso mah ~
ericmaxman
post Dec 19 2010, 06:33 PM

-
7,951 posts

vivaz owner reporting in

Model: Vivaz Pro
Firmware: R2EA023
Dev cert(if any): none
UI: stock
Number of apps installed: 10
Number of games installed: 1
cfyong2020
post Dec 30 2010, 11:23 AM

390 posts

hi, i have a new game to share with you guys...

http://store.ovi.com/search?q=otoko

hope you enjoy it...
nasrullah9290
post Jan 1 2011, 07:09 PM

hye i am using nokia c6-00..i want to ask why is my gps doesnt work? i wait for 1 hour but nothing happend..can anyone help me?
Dlim88
post Jan 2 2011, 10:46 AM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(nasrullah9290 @ Jan 1 2011, 07:09 PM)
hye i am using nokia c6-00..i want to ask why is my gps doesnt work? i wait for 1 hour but nothing happend..can anyone help me?
Whcih GPS apps u use ? unsure.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 3 2011, 01:09 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

I prefer to subscribe data plan to use the A-GPS function rather than waiting like that. You are using Garmin or Ovi Maps?
justnits
post Jan 13 2011, 04:55 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

if u're not using data to lock your gps signal, chances are i think u r inside a building or at least some large object nearby that is interrupting the signal.
try standing in an open area and find position. i always manage to get a lock when i'm on the highway.
sanderz
post Jan 13 2011, 07:37 PM

Vista Outside
3,586 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 13 2011, 04:55 PM)
if u're not using data to lock your gps signal, chances are i think u r inside a building or at least some large object nearby that is interrupting the signal.
try standing in an open area and find position. i always manage to get a lock when i'm on the highway.
Ya, correct... Sometimes need to select the Waiting for GPS... Then only will work.
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 13 2011, 07:47 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 13 2011, 04:55 PM)
Yup. I agree based on my experience.

Are there any ways to tweak the GPS settings for better performance?
Dlim88
post Jan 13 2011, 08:20 PM

Symbian Freak
2,041 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 13 2011, 07:47 PM)
Yup. I agree based on my experience.

Are there any ways to tweak the GPS settings for better performance?
Garmin nuvi phone brows.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 13 2011, 11:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Jan 13 2011, 08:20 PM)
Garmin nuvi phone  brows.gif
Umm, Nokia phone can tweak or not?
justnits
post Jan 13 2011, 11:03 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

use data/internet to locate position is the fastest =/ otherwise have to get gps device d tongue.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 14 2011, 01:48 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 13 2011, 11:03 PM)
use data/internet to locate position is the fastest =/ otherwise have to get gps device d tongue.gif
My Nokia N86 GPS is not very accurate when compared to my N82. I wonder why. unsure.gif
boonwuilow
post Jan 14 2011, 07:51 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 14 2011, 01:48 AM)
My Nokia N86 GPS is not very accurate when compared to my N82. I wonder why. unsure.gif
Maybe is depend on the kind of GPS chip used hmm.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 14 2011, 08:46 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jan 14 2011, 07:51 PM)
Maybe is depend on the kind of GPS chip used hmm.gif
How to find out which chip is used???
boonwuilow
post Jan 14 2011, 10:02 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

Perhaps GSMArena hmm.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 14 2011, 11:40 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jan 14 2011, 10:02 PM)
Perhaps GSMArena hmm.gif
I cannot find it. sad.gif

0.0771sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:57 PM