-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD
May 18 2009, 11:17 AM
3,782 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Cheras |
I just attempted again to toilet train my GP. This time I put a hay rack and water bottle next to their toilet. The result is my GP lie on the litter box whole day, jus reach out the neck to drink and eat only
May 19 2009, 10:44 AM
Sugar how u get the piggie fur out of your fleece? That part is always headache for me, haha
May 19 2009, 10:56 AM
lol yealo... I can't take out all the fur and it bugs me, hahahahaha...so I didn't try using fleece or other fabrics anymore for bedding. My mum would kill me if I use her washing machine for my pet fleece
May 21 2009, 10:15 AM
As I am reattempting to toilet train my GPs... my sheltie also sits in the litter box all day and her long fur got really dirty. Had to bathe her again less than 1 week after her previous bath coz she was horribly dirty. But if I put the "grid" on top of the litter box then they won't use it. Headache, hahah..
This post has been edited by jaswwp: May 21 2009, 10:17 AM |
May 21 2009, 10:28 AM
There is 1 white color grid thingy that comes with the box, but if I put it, they wont use the litter box, thats the problem. They are still not fully litter box trained, still sometimes peeing around the newspaper...then sitting on it, lol..... So now the only way to keep them clean is change the newspaper 2 times a day and the litter box shavings everyday. Seems the litter box training makes even more work for me, LOL
May 22 2009, 12:47 AM
You can buy for photo taking purpose if you like...haha... I dress my piggies up in mini hats and scarfs each xmas for photoshoot.
May 24 2009, 11:53 PM
I think I will get my piggies more used to peeing n pooing in the toilet box b4 trying to put a grid on top again. Using water is economical I guess, nvr occured to me to try it tho, somehow feels geli to me to imagine all the poos floating around in their "piggy" toilet bowl, haha
May 25 2009, 09:30 AM
Hi chamy, after female GP give birth they go into heat again so probably thats why the males fight. I guess you need to put their cage far apart so they can't smell the female
May 25 2009, 11:00 AM
It has teeth. Once baby GP are born they can eat solids adi
May 25 2009, 04:13 PM
I think if can smell then it will affect them... maybe need to put the cage at different area
May 25 2009, 05:22 PM
My GP already had 3 baths in the space of 2 weeks... lol... toilet training lazy GP is a chore. My sheltie is sleeping in the dirty litter box everyday. Although I clean it daily, but coz she pee n sit in it, the fur is all dirty. Then when the other GP want to use the toilet oso cannot == Feel like cutting her botak adi, haha.... I think end of the week I need to try putting the grid back on the litter box and hope they still use it...
This post has been edited by jaswwp: May 25 2009, 05:23 PM |
May 28 2009, 09:34 AM
Oo Scarlette vry cute leh.
QUOTE(Juztiny @ May 27 2009, 08:26 PM) My Peruvian SOW had just given birth, only one male baby. The baby is very healthy and looks 90% like its parents (grey and white). Will post its picture tomorrow. grats juztiny. Waiting for its cute pics.Added on May 28, 2009, 9:35 amHaha..posted at same time as you, just saw the pics...nice baby you have there This post has been edited by jaswwp: May 28 2009, 09:35 AM |
May 29 2009, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(Juztiny @ May 28 2009, 03:06 PM) Ya..3 years ago when I was in Penang, I saw in CTY peshop Penang, selling Sheltie/Rex/Teddy for RM350-500. Really cannot afford to buy...that time could only afford to buy an Abby at RM45 from that shop. Then again it died after 1 month. Oh I remember the Harlequinn at the Cheras petshop...got 1 left there when I went, so tempted to get it... luckily didn't lo since as you said they probably were not healthy.Imagine if I were to buy RM300+, then died after keeping 1-2 months...really heartache man!! By the way, I did buy 2 nice breed (Heliquine) from a petshop in Cheras for RM100 each, then after keeping for 2 months, they died. So heartache....those petshop GP breeding source sometimes not healthy. My GPs all eat the same food, buy don't know why those 2 died... |
Jun 1 2009, 09:31 AM
Sorry for the loss Juztiny. All the best for the rest of your newborn piggies.
Jun 2 2009, 09:30 AM
From what I read, the reason why sows living in the same place might bite and chase newborn, is to get their survival instinct up, so that they are alert and have good reflexes from young. I guess this is important in the wild. Unfortunately some babies do not survive the harassing, coz here in a cage they cant really run away from whichever adult pig is biting them.
Jun 2 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(JackLene @ Jun 2 2009, 11:12 AM) i know how to sex them after they have matuRe.... Sorry this had to happen to you. Sometimes its really quite hard to tell the gender of young GP. My personal experience with Dr Jenny was ok so far, must be just bad luck on your side. =( Hope things get better for uthis one was stiLL young ...and it's no LongeR with me so... i can't check anymoRe... in fact -__ i took it back to Hands N Paws foR a 3RD check up befoRe giving to hitz LoR!!!!!!!!! sigh don't mind me.. i'm just so upset i feeL Like cRying... i cRied and Cried so much when the suRgeRy didn't go weLL... now this... sigh.. it's ok... hitz... pm me when u R onLine... soRRy.. |
Jun 5 2009, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(JackLene @ Jun 4 2009, 04:45 PM) Hmmm what's the eaRLiest age sows can conceive? My frens GP got pregnant at 4 weeks old. Was pregnant when bought back from the pet shop. Gave birth to 2 babies but both died Because hitz and I have mistakenLy mixed ouR sows with boaRs... Both of them are 2.5 months old... i'm woRRied... i did ask Dr. J if they couLd be pRegnant.. she said shouLdn't be kua...coz 2 young.. But i just need to doubLe check... because I read onLine that they matuRe @ 3 weeks oLd... |
Jun 5 2009, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Jun 5 2009, 11:53 AM) That is sad The mum was fine, just the babies were not.Separation is the best way QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 5 2009, 01:43 PM) I am saying HAY as STAPLE for GP, not all or other small animals, FYI.. Yes as you said, Hay is considered staple food for GP and rabbits. GP owners please response yeah.. Please correct me if i m wrong.. I m ok. Nothing to be ashame as i m learning b4 i get one cute cute GP in the future. I just DONT TRUST "someone". From my observation so far, "someone" is just not in his league to talk bout GP. Thanks GP owners here!! I trust u guys more!! |
Jun 8 2009, 03:34 PM
Having some headache with my Sheltie lately. She suddenly started to loose her hair in huge chunks! Strange thing is the bald areas look like normal healthy skin, no scabs or anything. This started ever since I started litter box training. Not sure if its the result of sitting in the toilet often in the wet shavings. I did put a toilet mat on top but her fur can still touch the shavings under the mat. But if it was I thought the bottom areas would be affected, but shes losing hair at the sides and top of her back.
I changed the Chipsi shavings in her litter box to something else in case shes allergic to it. I guess it cant be that shes allergic to the toilet mats I put around her cage. Weird.... I gave her a bath and put some neem melts on her, hope her hair sstarts to grow back if not its another trip to the vet. |
Jun 8 2009, 05:20 PM
Yeah now I'm using back a mixture of the Oxbow hay based pellets and my leftover Aspen bedding from some time back. Previously I discontinued it coz it was too powdery and didnt absorb too well. When I finish it I'll go back to breeder celect. All this while I had been Tierwohl (Also from Chipsi) and they were fine with it, but the Pets Wonderland branch I usually get it from just closed down so I bought the regular chipsi instead.
Added on June 8, 2009, 5:22 pm QUOTE(eyena85 @ Jun 6 2009, 11:16 PM) hye..everyone..i n by boyfren just bought a sheltie gp... Your GP is a mix just like my GP in my signature this picture of my gp...scootie.. ![]() This post has been edited by jaswwp: Jun 8 2009, 05:22 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0560sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:08 AM |