-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

jaswwp
post Apr 23 2009, 12:35 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(JackLene @ Apr 23 2009, 12:32 PM)
weLL even at home oso can get infected LOLs .. i just don't get it why mites infestation is so common among GPs...

neaRLy eveRy1's GP's heRe kena b4 rite?
even the vet wiLL say haRd to deteRmine where the mites come from...
I think I read somewhere that most GP have dormant mites, then living condition will determine if they come out to infect the skin badly or not. Those GP in some pet shop have more than mites though, they have BIG BIG kutus on them!
mr.hikano
post Apr 23 2009, 12:35 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Roborovskii @ Apr 23 2009, 12:31 PM)
a question here...how much a gp like this cost?
normal gp i know between 30-50
abby @ pet safari sunway piramid is rm68...currently they hav nice colour...and looks healthy
jaswwp
post Apr 23 2009, 12:38 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Apr 23 2009, 12:33 PM)
thankz for ur suggestion...pet lover center a.k.a pet safari at sunway piramid is way better then pet safari at ikano... and their GP looks healthy tho...

Added on April 23, 2009, 12:34 pm

maybe i need learn about skin disease and parasites first...
GP with white/black fur is easy to see the parasites. On black fur, the eggs of the parasites can be seen clearly. On white fur, you can see the parasites themselves moving (geli! ) For the skin disease thing , look at their ears and eyes area if got like dandruff or flaky skin. Then for the body, see if got any areas thats balding until can see the skin. (Note that most GPs are bald in a small area directly behind the ear. That one is normal)
JackLene
post Apr 23 2009, 01:44 PM

Eh.. i'm confused...
is Advantage Cat used to treat Mites or Lice?
jaswwp
post Apr 23 2009, 01:51 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

If not mistaken I think its mainly for lice. Mites I think they use Ivermectin jab to cure it, coz mites can live under the skin, but lice is on top.
JackLene
post Apr 23 2009, 02:07 PM

Ooh..
Dr. J mentioned something about "mites" but on the suRface of the skin..
those those that need injection..
And she recommended Advantage Cat...

scorpgal
post Apr 23 2009, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Apr 23 2009, 01:51 PM)
If not mistaken I think its mainly for lice. Mites I think they use Ivermectin jab to cure it, coz mites can live under the skin, but lice is on top.
Yup,u are right. Dr. J told me that aslo.it tooks three jab to cure the mites in three weeks. and there is the possibilty the mites will be coming back again after recovered.each jab cost RM15.right?

This post has been edited by scorpgal: Apr 23 2009, 02:12 PM
hitz
post Apr 23 2009, 02:29 PM

225 posts

Pet Lover at Sunway Piramid also got GP.. RM30 each..
Look healthy.. but 1 or 2 got eye injury... sad.gif
So better look carefully before you bought it..
Roborovskii
post Apr 23 2009, 03:07 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Apr 23 2009, 02:29 PM)
at penang a i strongly recommend that any1 if wan buy pet go buy at cty (chew tian yang).
last week i get my 2 hammie thr and the second 1 i choose gt eye problem bt i dnt mention it bt the worker catch it and tell me the problem....
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 03:15 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Apr 23 2009, 12:29 PM)
You can do a research and visit some pet shop, not every pet shop is bad as what sugarcoated mention.  And Hagen been in the market for long, they pellet is not high grade tho, but your GP wont die with not using other pellet. Delikate is just another brand may not be grade food as it claim, but it is selling like hot cake outside by the distributor.
All live stock supply to the pet shop is from breeder who breed from home, shop and back yard. And mostly will have very high chances of inbreed as well. You can check with the pet shop if they welling to tell you is local or from thailand. Most properly 99% is local breed. That's you can get GP on just RM3X something onward.
I dint say all is bad.. Probably i survey more pet shops than you do.. Read properly what i quoted before.. i stated the livestocks sometimes are ok and sometimes are not.. so the best thing is to FIND OUT YOURSELF BY VISITING THE PETSTORE.

As for Hagen Pellets i was on it too until i find out MANY MANY MANY BAD FEEDBACK ON IT. They have stuff like corn glutten and corn corbs in the mixture and there was once a case where a GP DID DIE of eating excessive pellets from this brand. Delikate is even worst because of the seeds and hard corn inside which can practically choke a GP!

QUOTE(Roborovskii @ Apr 23 2009, 12:34 PM)
thx...i find hard on this kind of gp in penang....is hard....
anyway..i like peruvian more...bt i go jor abt more thn 10 pet shop in penang still didnt get it ...
It's hard to see peruvian here in selangor even.. if there was peruvians, probably only 1 or 2.

QUOTE(hitz @ Apr 23 2009, 02:29 PM)
Once there is an eye injury somewhere in the stock or a very sick GP, i rather not take the rest even though the rest look healthy.
katannaz
post Apr 23 2009, 05:13 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Roborovskii @ Apr 23 2009, 12:31 PM)
a question here...how much a gp like this cost?
normal gp i know between 30-50
yesterday saw new batch of gp's at pet world mid valley
normal rm 36
abby rm 59
sheltie rm 179
peruvian rm 190 thumbup.gif
vv001
post Apr 23 2009, 05:17 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Roborovskii @ Apr 23 2009, 03:07 PM)
at penang a i strongly recommend that any1 if wan buy pet go buy at cty (chew tian yang).
last week i get my 2 hammie thr and the second 1 i choose gt eye problem bt i dnt mention it bt the worker catch it and tell me the problem....
can you teach me how to go to cty? i am new to penang roads.

meiixiin
post Apr 23 2009, 07:18 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(katannaz @ Apr 23 2009, 06:13 PM)
yesterday saw new batch of gp's at pet world mid valley
normal rm 36
abby rm 59
sheltie rm 179
peruvian rm 190 thumbup.gif
Wow, nice price!! rclxub.gif
For normal breed only... rclxms.gif
chabbywabbit
post Apr 23 2009, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 23 2009, 11:06 AM)
I highly thinks that Jacklyene should use "selling" method to help her GP's to find their owner. Especially if the new owner is a 1st timer. It's not about earning profit or what, but to assure that the new owner can really take the responsibility for being the GP's owner or not. Human tense to care more of their pet if they get them by $$$, there is no doubt about it UNLESS they are experienced pet lover, that's a different story. Well, anyway... hope ur GP's Got new owner soon !!! Chubby seems to be a very good guy >.<
chubby? is that me or who? lol if it's me it's chabby...and i'm a girl lol
CKW008
post Apr 23 2009, 07:50 PM

116 posts

FINALLY done!!!.. my double storey piggy home.. haha.. more places to go..

some pics of my 2 female abby.. the fatter 1 at upstair always rampas the other's food.. a bullish piggy

[attachmentid=923533]

[attachmentid=923532]

hitz
post Apr 23 2009, 07:52 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Apr 23 2009, 07:50 PM)

some pics of my 2 female abby.. the fatter 1 at upstair always rampas the other's food.. a bullish piggy

[attachmentid=923533]

[attachmentid=923532]
Wow nice house you got there for your piggy..
Both also so cute somemore... thumbup.gif
CKW008
post Apr 23 2009, 07:57 PM

116 posts

[quote=jaswwp,Apr 23 2009, 01:51 PM]If not mistaken I think its mainly for lice. Mites I think they use Ivermectin jab to cure it, coz mites can live under the skin, but lice is on top.
[/quote]

Ivermectin also can be taken orally oso.. my GPs once got mite prb and taken Iver orally to cure it.. i juz dunwan my gps to have a jab as my 1st gp died becoz of it..

for skin those flakes prb.. my gps are cured by using anti-fungus shampoo.. actually for dog.. but the vet recommend me to use as she use on her rabbit and still ok.. juz nid to dilute the shampoo.. so tat not so concentrated as GPs skin are not as thick as doggies..

[QUOTE][quote=SugarCoatedCandy,Apr 23 2009, 03:15 PM]
I dint say all is bad.. Probably i survey more pet shops than you do.. Read properly what i quoted before.. i stated the livestocks sometimes are ok and sometimes are not.. so the best thing is to FIND OUT YOURSELF BY VISITING THE PETSTORE.

As for Hagen Pellets i was on it too until i find out MANY MANY MANY BAD FEEDBACK ON IT. They have stuff like corn glutten and corn corbs in the mixture and there was once a case where a GP DID DIE of eating excessive pellets from this brand. Delikate is even worst because of the seeds and hard corn inside which can practically choke a GP![/QUOTE]

omg.. i am feeding mine Hagen since they were bought..!! pls show some links c c... about the long term consumption.. really got bad effect?/

This post has been edited by CKW008: Apr 23 2009, 08:01 PM
Xiawa
post Apr 23 2009, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(meiixiin @ Apr 23 2009, 07:18 PM)
Wow, nice price!!  rclxub.gif
For normal breed only...  rclxms.gif
w0w got peruvian drool.gif drool.gif
i m going to check it on this weekend drool.gif
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 08:24 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Apr 23 2009, 07:57 PM)
Ivermectin also can be taken orally oso.. my GPs once got mite prb and taken Iver orally to cure it.. i juz dunwan my gps to have a jab as my 1st gp died becoz of it..

for skin those flakes prb.. my gps are cured by using anti-fungus shampoo.. actually for dog.. but the vet recommend me to use as she use on her rabbit and still ok.. juz nid to dilute the shampoo.. so tat not so concentrated as GPs skin are not as thick as doggies..
omg.. i am feeding mine Hagen since they were bought..!! pls show some links c c... about the long term consumption.. really got bad effect?/
Yup im actually compiling the links now nod.gif wait for it yeah... BTW nice home for your piggies! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 23 2009, 08:27 PM
meiixiin
post Apr 23 2009, 08:43 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Apr 23 2009, 08:50 PM)

[attachmentid=923533]

[attachmentid=923532]
Wow, it looks nice and creative!
Nice to be your guinea pig~
I also try make 1 double storey,
copy your idea!
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled