Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

tbcheese
post Jan 22 2012, 03:52 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Jan 22 2012, 12:47 PM)
[/spoiler]
thanks for the guide sifu.  notworthy.gif  really detail and long. currently, my av is pioneer vsx-520k, only got x.over setting which i put at 100hz, all 5 speakers small, crossover at sub i put 55hz. now playing with volume only. quite satisfied with this setting, although i think still can tweak for better sounds.
If you set the crossover at the AV receiver at 100Hz, set your sub crossover to bypass or higher than 100Hz. If you set it at 55Hz you'll lose the bit between 55-100Hz.
tbcheese
post Jan 23 2012, 03:58 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Jan 22 2012, 04:52 PM)
ok thanks. no wonder i always felt the sound was seem not complete(?) how about the volume level? i put my sub volume more than half the dial plus up a few levels more for the sub channel from my av, only then the bass sound is loud enough for me. is that ok? if i put my sub volume almost full, will that degrade my sub quickly?
Kinda odd that you need to max is out. Mind sharing what equipment you have?

Added on January 23, 2012, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(Jibek @ Jan 22 2012, 07:16 PM)
sorry bro.,can i know how to set the AVR crossover.,Onkyo 608 user here..tq.. notworthy.gif
If you ran the calibration program that's built in to the amp it's probably set already. To modify it you'll need to refer to your manual as each amp has differing menu layout

This post has been edited by tbcheese: Jan 23 2012, 04:02 PM
tbcheese
post Jan 23 2012, 10:51 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Jan 23 2012, 07:03 PM)
my equipment; Advante front speakers, Punch center and surround speakers, Wharfedale vargus -10 sub, pioneer vsx520k av. the sub, bought a few days ago, the 5 speakers, been in my family many years, lost count. the pioneer got simple setting, x.over set 50, 80, 100, 150 and 200 Hz. i set at 80 Hz. my sub set at its max, 85 Hz. volume around 1 o'clock, phase 0. only right now got short cables, later will get longer ones so can try placing the sub at different locations.

drillz. noob here, dont laugh aaa guys.  blush.gif

Do you have a wide open space behind you? At the distance you're sitting, bass should be quite ample. Maybe flip the phase and see.

tbcheese
post Jul 4 2012, 06:18 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 4 2012, 06:03 PM)
Yup. There are certain mkv videos my player can't play (some can).

Problem is that my BD player has only 1 HDMI port. If I were to connect my laptop to BD player via HDMI. Then how to connect BD player to TV?

icon_question.gif
The HDMI on your player is HDMI out. Not HDMI in so don't connect it to your PC. What you can do is do connect your PC HDMI out to TV and PC optical audio to the player.

I do prefer using the PC to play as I noticed with high def content, I tend to get audio drops once in a while when using USB on player.
tbcheese
post Jul 5 2012, 07:24 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 5 2012, 03:04 AM)
Can it work this way? Another forumer in another thread that it cannot work that way hmm.gif
I don't have optical output on my PC so I've never tried it before. But my PC does allow me to select audio out between HDMI and normal 3.5mm jack. So I don't see why optical won't work. And based on the connections you have on your player, that's the only way you're going to get multi channel sound.

Do you have the link to the other thread?
tbcheese
post Aug 21 2012, 05:21 PM

313 posts

Nice setup. I tried the GoldenEars recently but with Aon2 as the rear instead of the SS3 and a PSB sub instead of the Forcefields. Sounded incredibly smooth and the active subs on the Triton Two was nice and tight. Only gripe I had was that the SS50 centre sounded a bit thin though it had performed remarkably despite it's size.
tbcheese
post Aug 22 2012, 05:16 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(pltan @ Aug 22 2012, 03:20 PM)
Sonerin ...the emotiva runs the pair of Tritons pretty well, I'm more than pleased. Currently have the Supersats powered by the Marantz as suggested by the dealer, but that'll change this Friday, Goldenear assures me they can handle 200w without any issues.

Tbcheese ....Yeah I'm waiting to see how the 50c opens up with more burn in time, but it might be the weak link, I can't/don't really want to do too much with the rear speakers due to the odd shape of the room and close proximity to the listening area. I'll have to do more adjusting as the surrounds can be quite overpowering at times I don't think I've hit the sweetspot yet, and on top of that I lost my Audyssey mic during the move sleep.gif ....... I'll assess the 50c once I connect them up to the Emotiva later this week.

Wkang running the Tritons as Large, although I have been experimenting with the bass adjustment on the receiver between LFE and LFE+Main. Goldenear recommended a 120hz crossover. Both settings seem to shakeup the room quite impressively tongue.gif
Can't wait to hear your post burn-in impressions =) It was a brand of speakers that I was very much looking forward to trying out and it was a long long wait. Sorry to hear about the mic. Maybe your dealer or other users here can hook you up with an Audyssey mic for calibrations.

I'm thinking logically it should be LFE+Main if you set the Tritons to large as if you set it to LFE only then the front LR channel low freq which Tritons can dig deep enough for would be missing.

Keep us posted on your adventure rclxms.gif
tbcheese
post Aug 24 2012, 04:47 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(pltan @ Aug 24 2012, 03:42 PM)
Panasonic gave the family a near 50% discount on the TV's because of corporate business tongue.gif So I jumped....
Tbcheese - salesguy trying to sell me on the AON 2's to replace my rears....and on a Focus Audio FPC SE to replace the 50c centre....that's a lot more moolah on the centre sleep.gif
You didn't like the SS3? Since as you said it was overpowering as it is, wouldn't the Aon be even louder? You could give it a try =)

I'm not so sure about mixing a dome tweetered centre with the ribbon tweeter fronts though. Maybe you can squeeze and Aon2 or Aon3 in the centre brows.gif

BTW there's a GoldenEar thread started way back by CTSeong. As the first owner here maybe you can bring some life to it tongue.gif
GoldenEar thread
tbcheese
post Aug 24 2012, 09:05 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(pltan @ Aug 24 2012, 05:13 PM)
I did like them, tuned them in and after testing today decided to just go for the Aon 2......Hahaa( I am a sucker for upgrade-itis?) , stuck with the 50c. It appeared the Battleship mkv I was watching had surrounds recorded at pretty high levels, not sure if this is native to the production. Blurays like Dark Knight, Inception were just fine....I now have centre and surround speakers connected to the Emotiva and it certainly helped a lot with dialogue clarity from the 50. I'm no audiophile but I'm pretty happy with the bang for buck I've been getting so far....

I have a feeling GE will come out with a better centre soon enough.

The Forcefield 5 was expected over the summer but there seems to have been a delay with going into production.....

Thanks, will check out the thread!
Make the jump and regret it not =) And a non-audiophile wouldn't have that many spare speaker stands lying around at home.

I hope they will come up with a proper centre as well. Glad to hear that the emotiva sorted out the centre channel for you.

If you're a fan of jazzy music you can check out the Lee Ritenour: Overtime bluray. Surrounds are given a relatively good workout in this BD and Chris Botti's trumpet never sounded so smooth before.
tbcheese
post Apr 20 2013, 11:11 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 20 2013, 02:09 AM)
temporary setup until my room is fixed

TV Model : Pana P50ST50K +Skype webcam
Amplifier : Marantz SR4500
Speaker : Aego-T in 2.1 setup
Player : PS3 slim

[attachmentid=3400811]
I used to have my PS3 slim placed behind the TV like that. Then I wall mounted the TV and realised I my cabinet wasn't wide enough to put the PS3 standing without blocking the TV doh.gif
tbcheese
post Apr 20 2013, 11:23 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 20 2013, 11:16 AM)
thanks for ur advice, i will take note when purchasing TV cabinet
No prob. My PS3 is now horizontal and sitting on those round rubber stops to raise it a bit for ventilation.
tbcheese
post May 13 2013, 12:40 PM

313 posts

Nice setup and a really beautiful house you got there BrokenOne. notworthy.gif

0.0625sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:15 AM