Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

pltan
post Aug 21 2012, 03:39 PM

499 posts

My new living room and pseudo HT setup

1. Panasonic 65" Plasma P65VT30K
2. Marantz SR5005 ( considering upgrading )
3. Emotiva XPA-5
4. Goldenear Triton Two
5. Goldenear Supersat 50c
6. Goldenear Supersat 3 (1 pair)
7. Goldenear Forcefield 4 subwoofer

Panasonic BD player, WDTV Live Hub, PS3.....ASTRO biggrin.gif

yes I am working on doing something to hide the wiring, lol

This post has been edited by pltan: Aug 21 2012, 03:47 PM
pltan
post Aug 22 2012, 03:20 PM

499 posts

Sonerin ...the emotiva runs the pair of Tritons pretty well, I'm more than pleased. Currently have the Supersats powered by the Marantz as suggested by the dealer, but that'll change this Friday, Goldenear assures me they can handle 200w without any issues.

Tbcheese ....Yeah I'm waiting to see how the 50c opens up with more burn in time, but it might be the weak link, I can't/don't really want to do too much with the rear speakers due to the odd shape of the room and close proximity to the listening area. I'll have to do more adjusting as the surrounds can be quite overpowering at times I don't think I've hit the sweetspot yet, and on top of that I lost my Audyssey mic during the move sleep.gif ....... I'll assess the 50c once I connect them up to the Emotiva later this week.

Wkang running the Tritons as Large, although I have been experimenting with the bass adjustment on the receiver between LFE and LFE+Main. Goldenear recommended a 120hz crossover. Both settings seem to shakeup the room quite impressively tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pltan: Aug 22 2012, 03:23 PM
pltan
post Aug 24 2012, 03:42 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ Aug 23 2012, 02:01 PM)
QUOTE(pltan @ Aug 21 2012, 03:39 PM)
My new living room and pseudo HT setup
1. Panasonic 65" Plasma P65VT30K
Wow, 65 inches VT30! Super nice but expensiveeeee.... My 55 inch ST already burnt a hole in my pockets.
Panasonic gave the family a near 50% discount on the TV's because of corporate business tongue.gif So I jumped....

Tbcheese - salesguy trying to sell me on the AON 2's to replace my rears....and on a Focus Audio FPC SE to replace the 50c centre....that's a lot more moolah on the centre sleep.gif
pltan
post Aug 24 2012, 05:13 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Aug 24 2012, 04:47 PM)
You didn't like the SS3? Since as you said it was overpowering as it is, wouldn't the Aon be even louder? You could give it a try =)

I'm not so sure about mixing a dome tweetered centre with the ribbon tweeter fronts though. Maybe you can squeeze and Aon2 or Aon3 in the centreĀ  brows.gif

BTW there's a GoldenEar thread started way back by CTSeong. As the first owner here maybe you can bring some life to it tongue.gif
GoldenEar thread
I did like them, tuned them in and after testing today decided to just go for the Aon 2......Hahaa( I am a sucker for upgrade-itis?) , stuck with the 50c. It appeared the Battleship mkv I was watching had surrounds recorded at pretty high levels, not sure if this is native to the production. Blurays like Dark Knight, Inception were just fine....I now have centre and surround speakers connected to the Emotiva and it certainly helped a lot with dialogue clarity from the 50. I'm no audiophile but I'm pretty happy with the bang for buck I've been getting so far....

I have a feeling GE will come out with a better centre soon enough.

The Forcefield 5 was expected over the summer but there seems to have been a delay with going into production.....

Thanks, will check out the thread!

This post has been edited by pltan: Aug 24 2012, 05:25 PM
pltan
post Apr 4 2013, 08:21 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Mar 24 2013, 12:42 PM)
Sorry - quite new to all this. Interested in getting a home theater system for living room. Budget would be anywhere between RM12k-RM16k, although I care about value (Good performance for value of money)

Looked online but it's kinda hard to start, especially not knowing Malaysian market and are some parts available.

But for what it's worth...
Onkyo TX-NR616 looked like a decent AVR.
DefinitiveTechnology ProCinema 800 looks good..? Don't know if it's available locally though.

Anyone with any recommendations? You can scratch off my research so far.. as I'm sure all you sifus here will have much better idea as to what is worth buying for the price range.

Thanks!

P.S. I know this topic is to show off your own system - but I really have no idea where else to post. Cracking my head here...
Goldenear triton cinema system for speakers offers excellent bang for your buck.

0.0453sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:28 AM