Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

dirtrun
post Oct 12 2011, 05:34 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Oct 12 2011, 09:14 AM)
For those who have dedicated HT room sure will turn on air-con while watching, I believe.  Personally I would prefer recliners for HT room but if space is constraint those cinema chair with 2-3 link together seems to be a good alternative.  For my case I have 3 cecliners side by side and there isn't much room on the width, especially my equipment rack are next to the recliners  sweat.gif

Added on October 12, 2011, 9:18 am

Hahaha, aircon is one of the electronic device consume electric like drinking water other than our HT equipments, fridge & water heater  biggrin.gif  Just curious, how much is the electric bill monthly?  Mine is about RM250+ and I believe some might hit RM400 mark since they watch movies quite consistently...
I have 2 recliners n a sofa .. suede type.. so aircon is a must..

My avrg electricity bil for de last coupla mths is hittin 240/- but aircons everywher la.. wif fridges too..
I dont think de HT equipment really uses up tat much .. its definitely d air con..

O well.. to me my home is my castle n it has to be comfortable..
D
dirtrun
post Oct 13 2011, 10:37 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Oct 13 2011, 06:42 AM)
My bill is never less than 400 too cry.gif .
At least 2 aircond running every night and the kids leave the lights on even when they are not in the room vmad.gif
I used to have at least 3 lights on externally, but with the rate increase, I have switched them off.
Wow..

Looking at ur bill.. mine doesnt sound so unreasonable ..
2 aircons running every nite too plus aircon at dining and living room when eatin and watchin movies/music listening wif 2 fridges n washer/dryer .. I hv xternal lite on too but I use a plce - energy savers which run ard 15w so its practically negligible..
Of cos d HT gear consumes electricity but not tat much la besides its only for a coupla hours at most - same wif de living room aircon too..
Most makan is de fridges n aircon in bedroom wan cos of de longer hours used.. n tat oso I ll up de thermostat n on d ceiling fan - apparently it saves a bit tat way..

D
dirtrun
post Oct 14 2011, 03:05 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Oct 13 2011, 11:34 AM)
I think you are very fortunate.
One of my aircond is an inverter model too. Al, the lights are energy saving.
I use florescent tubes and energy saver too.
But I admit I use multiple units for the hall, dining and also kitchen.
The hall has 6 tubes , dining area 8 tubes and kitchen has 3 tubes.
They are all hidden for reflected illumination, so need more  whistling.gif
I guess so..

I only hv one inverter aircond [ de rest were installed long before inverter tech came to mal ; it dont make sense to change for de sake of sving a bit on elec.. ; when it spoils .. maybe]
I junked practically all my fluo tubes as apparently flourescent tube tech actually uses more electrcity than de qouted bulb wattages = it runs wif a ballast which in itslf consumes some current too .. fortunately wife aint too particular abt hidden lites so mostly use those ol design 'chandeliar' type wif direct screw on plce's.. I tink its a tad dim [ compared to tube fluorcnts ] but saves elctricity mah..
Outdoor lites are all plces..
Lites are not tat consumin for me.. aircon teruk..
Unfortunately, solar/battery storing is not very competitive yet or else can consider it.. sum countries alleviate tis prohibitive initial cost outlay by allowin tax incentives but bolehland consider it a luxury to 'save de environment' so u hv to pay la.. de last I read , to install a solar panel roof complete wif a storage inverter [so u can use de electricity later] cost an initial outlay of more than a RM100k..
Wif tat amt of outlay, I figure itll take abt 40yrs to get it back against de current electricity rates..

D
dirtrun
post Nov 11 2011, 03:39 PM

3,136 posts

I hv partnered Tannoy m4 wif a yammy avr before and its not bad..
Hvnt tried Missions before but I heard its a decent spkr too..

Problem wif getting used spkrs is tat u cant really try it out 1st wif ur own eqpment.. I mean which individual seller is gonna set up for u to try out .. maybe to see tat its workin n tats tat..
B&M stores on d other hand will do tat.. n most of d bigger ones will have one or 2 pre owned spkrs tat hv been traded in from their regular customers.. model/brands will have to be timing and luck.. try out hifichoice @ 1stop midlands or Watts hifi @ perak rd - hv got sum good deals frm them..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Nov 11 2011, 03:40 PM
dirtrun
post Nov 12 2011, 03:52 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(th8 @ Nov 12 2011, 11:26 AM)
Hi dirtrun,
Does Watts hifi selling used unit too? Dare not going there because I heard their prices are quite exorbitant.

Cheers!
TH
Yes..

They sometimes do.. carry on from regular customers who trade in their old gear..
Really.. who told u tat?? I mean.. they are not de cheapest but I wouldnt say they are THE most expensive..
Anyway.. B & M stores need overhead for rental/staff/stock in trade.. U cant really compare to those online stores.. besides here , u can see/feel/hear d product u have in mind..

D
dirtrun
post Nov 13 2011, 03:21 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(th8 @ Nov 13 2011, 12:25 AM)
Dirtrun, you do have a point here. I'll go and have "peep" just in case I'm lucky.
Cheers
TH
Well,

For pre-owned gear, u must either be lucky or real patient - I waited close to a year before I finally found a pair of tannoy floorstanders tat I wanted..

U can also try hifi4sale .. sum good deals there frm time to time..

D
dirtrun
post Nov 17 2011, 02:09 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(th8 @ Nov 14 2011, 12:37 AM)
oh yes, hifi4sale. many good deals and tempting too but most of the owners are out of the isle and that's too bad (or at least to me!). No issue D, I'll keep looking maybe get lucky and need not wait for too long. Based on yr experience what impedance speaker should I get? It seems the unit I have has two options of 6/8ohms.
Cheers,
TH.
O well,

If both parties are keen enuff, sumting can be arranged like maybe meet halfway to deal..

I d try it out first if I like de sound of de spkrs.. de rest can be shoe horned, ltr .. irrespective of impedence/ amp pwr and wat not.. if u dont like d sound, no pt gettin it , is there??

D
dirtrun
post Nov 18 2011, 05:09 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Nov 18 2011, 03:45 PM)
watt hifi in penang

they quote me RM4k+  sweat.gif
Wow,

Veri nice satts.. those..
I tink if u r heavily into WAF.. then its a small price to pay

D
dirtrun
post Nov 19 2011, 05:29 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Nov 18 2011, 07:05 PM)
the only problem is how do I split the hdmi from receiver to the projector and my tv..I've heard that Hdmi splitters are pretty expensive

anyone here have experience with hdmi spltters?
Ideal solution is get an avr wif 2 hdmi outputs..

Or u can get a bdp wif 2 outputs like de oppo bd93..

Alternatively is splitter frm monoprice..

D
dirtrun
post Nov 20 2011, 11:40 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Nov 19 2011, 08:03 PM)
ive heard that there will be signal srop if i spli the hdmi output..

how much is the oppo bd93?
Circa 2.5k.. yup, not cheap but u get a well reviewed premium player rivalling de better pioneers n its region free [ which de stock pioneer is not.. ]
Dunno.. but shldnt be too bad since its a bunch of 0 n 1's - itll either work or not..

D
dirtrun
post Dec 4 2011, 05:34 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Dec 2 2011, 08:14 PM)
Im not sure but my AVR is the pionner LX82  hmm.gif i ve not got 2 centre speakers yet, just got one 8 ohm at the moment.
Or..

U can get a monoblock or pwr amp n then pwr de 2nd ctr channel thru/wif tis..
Sum wanna lock de dialog on to their big scrn n put one spkr on top of scrn n de other at d bottom..
But personally, I have tried n it dont really make much diff.. I mean if u wan louder , then jus add de gain thru de avr..
To me.. a better spkr would make more sense n difference..

D
dirtrun
post Dec 8 2011, 05:15 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Dec 5 2011, 12:57 AM)
Thanks. I am using the HTM7 which has 1 driver only , sound quality is great  in small room. I was just wondering if gear up the centre channel by adding 2nd centre speaker will be anything like those giant centre speaker which has 3 - 4 drivers in it.  laugh.gif
Well..

I only have basic spkrs .. maybe if u add de same range type wif wat u are having now.. it would make a lot of difference..
Thru my experience wif several ctr spkrs [ again, mostly budget.. ] I now end up wif a close-to-same-range-as my-mains floorstander as a ctr n its a little better than de standard d'apollitto ctr = actually tis shines when playin music . I guess when they say musical spkrs make great HT spkrs but not necesarrily the other way around knows wat he is talking about..

D
dirtrun
post Dec 9 2011, 01:36 PM

3,136 posts

I m no expert ..

D prblm wif 4ohm spkrs is tat most of de time , tis spkrs need a healthy dose of pwr to reveal their true potential.. I mean there is sound wif a lower powered amp - just tat u can t really make it 'sing'.
Other than tat, u can still use a basic amp to pwr it, jus tat u cant really blast it hard .. once u touch de upper reaches of ur amps pwr reserves, u risk clipping n fryin either ur drivers or amp or both.. moderate spls should be ok..

D

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0256sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:47 PM