Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

paskal
post Dec 15 2011, 11:14 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 15 2011, 10:57 PM)
A basement HT room in a posh Semi-D house thumbup.gif . What else could one ask for?  tongue.gif  whistling.gif No need double brick, build a gap (space) in between those two brick walls ala DIY style, no worry about neighbour complaining, etc.

For me, I will build a bigger detached HT/Hi-Fi room (compares to the current one) on the plot of land of my dream Semi-D too wub.gif .
semi d house still have a neighbor somewhere in front, back, left or right.
sell off more stuffs at a fat profit margin like you're doing and your dream will come real really fast. maybe can build a detached everything ala a bungalow if you can sell more of them triangles.
paskal
post Dec 16 2011, 12:31 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(tim_1335 @ Dec 16 2011, 12:03 AM)
Flame wars!
like anything is new in these parts of the forum.

sold off your audio technica? thinking of going back to headphones as i now spend most of my day in the back study room.

Added on December 16, 2011, 8:47 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 15 2011, 10:57 PM)
A basement HT room in a posh Semi-D house thumbup.gif . What else could one ask for?  tongue.gif  whistling.gif No need double brick, build a gap (space) in between those two brick walls ala DIY style, no worry about neighbour complaining, etc.

For me, I will build a bigger detached HT/Hi-Fi room (compares to the current one) on the plot of land of my dream Semi-D too wub.gif .
dual wall construction is quite normal in european countries as it provides a good insulation between the outside and inside wall. lots of people are reporting good feedback from the use of such construction method to provide a sound barrier between walls.

it's quite unheard of in this country because people don't really need to have a good insulation to the outside. it's used quite extensively in the construction of modular building and industrialized building systems. the government are trying to push ibs for local adoption. and with ibs building material (composite wall sandwitched by concrete) dual wall would be a normal thing especially for multi storey building as a single ibs wall don't have enough load bearing capacity to support multiple storey on top of it.

but i guess a hifi salesman would know nuts about building construction.

This post has been edited by paskal: Dec 16 2011, 08:47 PM
paskal
post Dec 18 2011, 08:30 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 17 2011, 07:59 AM)
I don't see the point in talking about dual wall construction since it is unheard of locally and less relevant here (due to local climate), in particular in the context of landed property (which is what was being discussed). It is highly unlikely that local developers will adopt the dual wall construction for landed property, so for the majority of people who buy their houses from developers there will be no chance of getting it.

The government may be trying to push for it, but the real test is in whether it is adopted by the industry. Even if it is adopted, it may only be in limited applications. Only time will tell. In the meantime dual wall construction will be a pipe dream for most people in Malaysia.

Of course I don't expect a hifi salesman to know anything about building construction. Neither do I expect a banker, lawyer, doctor, teacher, accountant, scientist, etc to know about it either. So if you're insulting htkaki's knowledge (or lack thereof) of building construction, then indirectly you're insulting all the other people too.
sorry if anyone felt offended or worse, insulted by my posts.
it is not in my intention to offend or insult anyone. so in the spirit of good will, i would like publicly apologize if should anyone felt offended or insulted by my comments. i might have overreacted by the response that i got just from asking further when someone mentioned ‘double wall’. I would like to extend my apologies especially to htkaki for my reaction. Sorry if you felt insulted or offended.

In my defense, I did felt a bit of belittlement when my question about dual wall got dished out before there’s even any discussion about it. Tho I am fond of diy, you guys don’t have to call me names. Not like I can’t afford buying off the shelf equipment, but I prefer diy route where there’s more freedom of control.

I really hope this approach doesn’t continue anymore after this. Let this be a better place to share ideas tho how odd it might sound in the first place. Now let’s move on to the things that matter.

(snippet removed. too much background info)

The reason being for my question is that I consulted my wife about the viability of constructing a basement home theater room as jchong’s, but my wife did said that it’s not advisable especially in the proposed location as there’s a clear risk of water seepage. The fact that it’s so close to the sea waterline and the rise of waterline during high tide to about a feet above land level makes it even riskier. The location is also flanked by paddy fields and a river. Porous land, paddy fields, a river and less than 50 feet from the waterline. Bad idea.

Not that it can’t be done, but it will require lots of properly planned water insulation material. Even then there’s still no guarantee it will stop water from reaching the interior walls. The material will eventually fail in time, just like the problem with upstairs toilet. So the basement idea had to go.

I was thinking of dual wall construction as it may be better in stopping sound from penetrating to the adjacent room as the idea is to put the ht room next to the main bedroom. The ht room with be at a corner thus needing dual wall erected only at 2 wall facing the interior. If people would consider erecting a false wall using plywood inside their ht room, dual wall with brick would require even less space to build.

I know this is not a construction forum, but thinking that this had something to do with home theater I’m hoping it’s not out of place to be discussed. Any constructive criticism would be much appreciated. No pun intended.

This post has been edited by paskal: Dec 19 2011, 09:38 AM
paskal
post Dec 19 2011, 10:05 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 18 2011, 09:46 PM)
Are we cool with it?
yes sir we're cool with it. let's bury the hatchet.
to be frank i got tired of this whole misunderstanding between us. the whole idea of this public forum is to share ideas and knowledge, and even for people who don't chip in to at least read and know about it.

QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 18 2011, 09:06 PM)
With regards to the ibs, my datuk friend who is a developer has two mock ups in his house compound.
The dimensions are perfect for a HT room
Made of a steel frame and the walls are composite cement with a rockwool center.
I jokingly asked if he could sell me one the mock up later to use as a HT room.
ibs is a great path if should it became mass adopted. my wife said they only need 2 weeks to build a single storey bungalow from start to finish. rclxub.gif

if your friend do decide to sell it off, rest assured the room could be transported by trucks as the entire structure is quite movable. have a greater resilient to structural damage also since it's not rigid like bricks. wife is pushing to whole idea about using ibs for our construction as it's 10%-30% cheaper compared to bricks. still i really prefer to visit and have a see look first to inspect the construction outcome. don't want a wavy wall inside the house.

the implementation of rockwool or other non-solid compound as the center structure (sandwich material) do sound promising in stopping sound from passing through. again, no pun intended.

QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 18 2011, 09:16 PM)
I hope you did not construe my response about dual wall as belittling your idea. I simply pointed out that it is not commercially practical and hence developers will not do it and hence most people who live in developer-built houses would not get to enjoy dual wall construction. Therefore, for most people dual wall is a moot issue.

The technical merit behind dual wall construction is well established. Certainly if you have the ability to build your own house then you can incorporate it and enjoy its benefits. In which case, it also means that you are not "most people", which is a good thing.
Talking about the construction aspects of a home theater room is certainly a valid topic. Don't we have a thread about that somewhere?

Yes, having a basement where the water table is high is riskier. You would have to design and construct it properly with particular attention paid to waterproofing. It can be done, but will involve extra expense. Another point is ventilation, which also has to be designed in otherwise the basement will get stuffy and humidity is also higher.

Given your situation a HT room on the ground or first floor may be more practical and you can go with the dual wall option. I think anybody who is building a dedicated HT room in his own-built house should do that. Makes a lot of sense since you don't disturb the other occupants as much.
point taken.
humidity is a major concern especially near the sea. someone did mention before this that the speaker cone damage is accelerated in humid condition. i'm guessing it'll be a lot worse in a hot and humid weather.

thanks for not quoting the spoiler. snippet removed.
paskal
post Dec 26 2011, 11:50 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Dec 19 2011, 09:06 PM)
From what I read, our country's law dictates that the owner on the surface own the land even deep underground.  That is why KL LRT builder had problem getting around the law by building zig-zaging underground tunnel to avoid the house above the ground.  They don't have that problem in Singapore. 

Well it does sound as if you can build 10 storey underground bunker for all its worth  smile.gif
from the national land code, you're supposed to own everything under your land, and everything on top of it.
but that law is superseded by the local council act which dictates how deep can you build. which might be different according to each local council. best to check with your local council.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 19 2011, 11:15 PM)
Oh yes, is there any need to do a soil test under the law for a basement project?
again, it's under the local council act. usually soil study isn't required by the local council for house basement construction. just need a structural plan by a structural engineer to be submitted to the local council together with the architectural plan. if soil study is needed, you need to contact a geologist/geology consultant.

my in-laws happen to be a certified land surveyor. in that sense i could *probably* help with things regarding land laws.

Added on December 27, 2011, 12:05 am
QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 19 2011, 11:54 PM)
Don't think so. Normally the soil test is to determine the foundation for building up. Basement is digging down, so soil test isn't critical.
in this regard, soil test is required for basement construction to determine how much structural reinforcement required for the structural plan. the local council have their own structural engineer and architect which will recheck the plans submitted and reconfirm that the building have enough fortification.

This post has been edited by paskal: Dec 27 2011, 12:05 AM
paskal
post Jan 17 2012, 02:02 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 13 2012, 04:45 PM)
Out of all the new toys, I'm most impressed with the Class T integrated amp I got for a present. It's just about the size of a Samsung Note handphone and it can even power up a Triangle floorstander! I might bring them in after checking the prices, it basically sounds like a tube amp with the efficiency of a class d and price of a night out drinking session!
out of all the tripath chips, the best sounding are said to be the TA2024 chip.
but they're really really low powered, capable of only 6W of power. tripath did produced a few model of them class t chips from a few watt to chips capable of driving a few hundred watt, that is before closing shop.

for a high sensitivity speaker like the triangles, 6W is enough to drive them to sane listening levels.
paskal
post Jan 29 2012, 11:54 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 29 2012, 09:50 PM)
Rotel RMB-1575 is a 5 channels amp so if you're setting up 7 channels, add RB-1572.

If you want to bi amp and want the best of the sound quality, why not considering using stereo amp for each speakers or each LF, HF with ONE monoblock? It isnt impossible..there're people out there as such..that's the HIFI FEVER they called it  laugh.gif
and while doing so, why not add an active crossover to the mix and separate the LF and HF altogether?
after toying with an active setup i can safely say that i will never go back to a passive system (ever) again.

but for movies/concerts/multichannel music, the center channel doesn't improve as much as the fronts after being actively driven. but there's a catch; if you run the fronts active you need to run the center active else there will be a huge/audible/significant phase distortion and the center channel will stand out like a sore thumb.
paskal
post Jan 30 2012, 07:18 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 30 2012, 12:41 AM)
DIY subwoofer is interesting but you gotta know what you're doing, what you're looking for before you even start doing it. For example, what kind of sub design you're going to setup? Sealed? Passive Radiator? Ported? Bandpass? Hybrid of them?

Every bass driver has its own "character" or so called parameters. Knowing the parameters then you can build good sub out of those big bad sub. There're some good brands i can recommend you if you want to DIY. Like this one :

http://www.kicker.com/solo_x

Use 4 of them in 18 inch dual 4 ohms and drive them with the 4 x ZX mono amp with a prodigious 10kw RMS output..get ready to receive complaints/praises from streets away  laugh.gif
quite frankly it's cheaper to buy a good subwoofer and be done with it. true that DIY will help you save on the final build but going the path will cost more than splurging your cash on an off-the-shelf sub. take a look at a good 15"/18" driver that will hold ground with an SVS PB13 Ultra or Rythmik FV15HP. the driver itself will cost nearly RM3k each (TC Sounds). and you still have to buy all the tools, amps, build the enclosure, etc.

going through the DIY route isn't meant for people looking to spend less.
if you wanna spend less look at the used market.

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 30 2012, 12:41 AM)
Hmm..active vs passive crossover. For pursuing the active crossovers, i would say it's best to build the whole system ground up than taking apart the existence speaker's crossover yet without any factory data on the drivers parameters it'll be a suicide mission with high chance that you'll be unable to match the factory tuned sound..at least for quite a while??  laugh.gif

I am happy enough to bi/trip amp all the given speaker terminals than taking apart the crossovers and make them active..though i am feverish but i have yet to burn my "watermelon" off..  laugh.gif
you got that right. even following the xover frequency suggested by the original speaker design i got into some distortion. had to mess around with the xover frequency to get it to sound right. would be much easier if there's a datasheet on the driver used but since this is a commercial speaker there's none available. had to tune using the most unscientific method of all, using the ears.

still it's a good experimentation, that is if you have nothing better to do. tongue.gif rest assured that the final result will be verry rewarding.

i have to agree that it's better to start with a diy speaker where you have access to the driver specs but guess i have to start somewhere. at least now i can confirm i have a working electronics if should i ever decide to embark on an active loudspeaker project like the linkwitz orion.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 30 2012, 09:39 AM)
That's interesting esp on the center channel  . Being the most hardworking of all channels, it is surprising that the improvement aint as much as the fronts. Or possibly because it is a singular unit as oppose to the front in pair that there is distance between L & R that makes the more noticeable difference  ?

I suppose that with an active crossover, it also somehow alters the signature of the speakers, right?
i was expecting that too. since most of the sound is coming from the center channel, running the center active would hopefully bring even more improvement compared to the fronts. turn out it's not as expected. the improvement is very minimal compared to the efforts required. heck i'd say it's not even worth to try laugh.gif i have no idea why the center channel didn't benefit as much as the fronts.

lots of people are saying how much benefit to be had when running active and i do agree with them. tho not a lot are saying anything about running active past the front left and right.

and true to your assumption, running active alters the sound signature of the speaker altogether. tho this alteration is not necessarily in a bad way.
paskal
post Mar 5 2012, 06:13 PM

2,801 posts

paskal
post Mar 23 2012, 07:04 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Mar 23 2012, 03:14 PM)
Is the Dato's into Cow rearing business  whistling.gif ?
nah, that cow dato not into hifi. that cow is in apartment and condo.
paskal
post Apr 3 2012, 09:35 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Apr 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
Guys, I have some questions about amplifiers.

I am currently using the LX82. My itchy hands are thinking to buy a 7-channel power amp:

7 x 100 watts (8 ohms, RMS) Output stages can be bridged in the following configurations: 1 x 150 watts & 1 x 150 watts (8 ohms, RMS) 2 x 150 watts & 3 x 100 watts (8 ohms, RMS)

By any chance this can bring any improvement to the sound quality or this will be definitely a step down?

I am very curious and tempted to know what it will be like  laugh.gif

Please sifus give some advice  notworthy.gif
mind exposing the model and make of the amp? and the speakers it will paired to?
paskal
post Oct 8 2012, 10:47 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(skyline2202 @ Oct 7 2012, 10:01 PM)
Thanks for your advise
No knowledge on HT so wanna get some comment before I proceed smile.gif
better to go for an audition first before committing to anything. and if possible, avoid retail chain stores as they're usually not really knowledgeable (salesman concerned) like your specialty hifi stores.

it's real easy to make a good component sound really ridiculous by messing up the tuning when home theater are concerned.
paskal
post Aug 3 2013, 09:52 AM

2,801 posts

a better valued proposition would have to be the SEOS project.
it's been put against JTR noesis and a number of other brands in at least one shootout.

paskal
post Sep 7 2013, 02:22 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 7 2013, 12:05 PM)
subwoofer: 18" enclosure X 2 (critically re-inforced structure internally, solid wood finish) + class AB plate amp
is the sub custom made?
paskal
post Sep 10 2013, 07:26 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 9 2013, 01:47 PM)
yes i custom built for the owner requirements

iman_210,
PM sent
may i know what drivers that you used? is it locally sourced?
paskal
post Sep 19 2013, 07:57 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 19 2013, 05:05 PM)
If the amp doesn't have ht bypass and you just plug into the normal line in, what happens?
it will go through the same preamp stage as any other input. which could sometimes be detrimental to sound quality (if you're into that kind of thing).

for those that don't mind the signal going through multiple preamp stage, can connect the avr preout to the int amp input and remember the volume level at which the calibration is done. the target is to get the int amp preamp set at a gain of 1. amps with ht bypass will fix the volume gain at a constant level so that it doesn't change with the knob.

QUOTE(Topet @ Sep 19 2013, 04:12 PM)
can do like that?

i just know...need to read more...

err..baidewey...which amp has the ht bypass?any entry level got this option?
i believe only reserved at higher end of the chain. either use the method above or buy a separate stereo pre.
paskal
post Sep 20 2013, 11:00 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Sep 20 2013, 10:26 AM)
too complicated...
if you consider remembering a particular knob position as complicated, well..

0.0863sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:58 AM