Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

dirtrun
post Mar 5 2011, 01:13 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Mar 4 2011, 11:49 PM)
WOW, what a stereo set-up. The singer must have singing Live in front. I dun know how to call the 6 blocks....triple monoblocks?  blush.gif
I tink its 'bridged' for d hard to drive 'Sonus'-es ..
notice tat its all solid state too.. no valves in sight..

Ok.. bck to d real world n puttin my nose to d wheel liao..
D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Mar 5 2011, 01:13 PM
dirtrun
post Mar 10 2011, 03:41 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 10 2011, 12:03 PM)

A fellow member keeps on pondering how a sealed sub will sound if being partner with his powerful ported sub at his home. I told him that it is quite easy. Solution : I loan the sealed sub to him and let him play for 2 weeks to try the integration of both. Then, I take it back. If he can live without the sealed sub, then he do not need it. He dare not take my offer  sweat.gif

Did I poison him?  hmm.gif  Taukeh mpyw, do you want to try out new loudspeakers at your new home? smile.gif
Heck ya..

Any other name u wanna call it .. is still subtle coercion..

D

dirtrun
post Apr 23 2011, 03:51 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Apr 23 2011, 12:19 AM)
what's with u guys and 2 subs laugh.gif tongue.gif
2 !!! Sum got 3 liao... kekeke blink.gif
dirtrun
post May 19 2011, 12:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 19 2011, 12:45 PM)
Not enough ventilation for the amp at the bottom.
Haha..

Faster reason to get de latest emotiva or watever latest digital power amp..

D
dirtrun
post Jun 5 2011, 03:43 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jun 3 2011, 12:43 PM)
Ok forget the headboard, just now i measured my small meeting room projector  distance to the screen is around 7' to get around 5' diagonal display image on the screen.

So say the normal condo bedroom height is around 9', height of the bed is 2' so if i mount the projector 2' above the floor on the wall behind the bed. I should be able to get 7' distance and that 5' projected display on the ceiling (thats 60" diagonal screen same size with queensized bed width).

Hmm now need to remove the 4' high headboard.
Jus curious..

But wat abt de audio part.. ceilin mount spkrs?? surr?

QUOTE(AVJunior @ Jun 5 2011, 12:27 PM)
again, need advise from Sifus around. If i am going to share my front speaker between HT and HiFi, how do i do it without physically unplug and plug my speaker cable from HIFI to HT?

if able to share, i can save some cost and probably go for a better speaker.
There is a mixer thingy which u can use but I dont tink any decent HT/audiophile is gonna recommend it as I dont tink it helps in d sound at all..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 4 2011, 01:38 PM

3,136 posts

Hmmnn..

U mus hv connexions in Fr or originate there..

Not advice but Frenchmen make sum decent spkrs.. Id figure tat instead of uhmm Jamo.. jus curious..

Cool setup..

D

dirtrun
post Aug 5 2011, 02:22 PM

3,136 posts

Haha..

All 'sub poison'-ing to d xtreme eh..
I tot I could live wif a floor stander's bass too.. but in de end, even one sub wasnt enuff.. biggrin.gif

Focal n Triangle are 2 french made speakers [ brand, anyway..] tat come to mind tat are pretty decent .. but ya in HT, jamo will work fine too..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 20 2011, 04:28 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 20 2011, 02:50 PM)
In the midst of projector & screen installation in my living room rclxms.gif
Not an easy job at all.
Now entering 5th hour sweat.gif
Haha..

I remember my diy scrn being put up by my carpenter took awhile too and tat also aftr hvng decided exactly where to centralise de image..

Pro installers or diy??

D
dirtrun
post Aug 20 2011, 09:28 PM

3,136 posts

Yup..

Welcome to de pj club..

Its one of de roads tat is non reversible.. I would add..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 21 2011, 12:13 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 21 2011, 10:42 AM)
Thank you, finally took the plunge after ruminating on it for a while.

Added on August 21, 2011, 10:52 am
The pro installer initially use a pole for the pj but needed keystone +3 correction. After some discussion, and showing him the Mitsubishi PJ Calculator, we decided to do away with the pole.
He also helped to wall mount my Unifi Router and Modem, installed the custom TV bracket at the same time.
He was doing all this alone, so I guess that's why it took him so long.
Also quite meticulous and careful e.g. used a small box to collect the dust as he drilled, drilled very slowly and explained what he was doing all the time.
Nice..

Was just wonderin why u came up wif de 30 inch ht restriction [bottom of screen] .. I mean if u had raised it a bit, u can clear ur floorstanders and have a bigger image .. albeit nid a bigger screen too la..

Actually ur place is considered neat.. mine wif de many hdds on de floor is a lot worst.. not to mention e burgeoning bd collection..
kekeke tongue.gif

D
dirtrun
post Aug 24 2011, 02:01 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 22 2011, 03:11 PM)
Your position is about 1.5x screen width, which is still ok. The numbers are just guidelines, which can be adjusted for personal preference.

Once you get used to it then no issue. I'm sure eventually your HM will sit back with you on the sofa smile.gif
Agrd,

Sum of my relatives still cant sit tat close wifout being uncomfortable..
But once u get used to it..
I started off about 12 ft [720p epson tw700] frm my 110inch image too but am now abt 10.5-11ft away [JVC hd250] n I can go a bit closer stil, wifout any problems..

Bigger is better
D
dirtrun
post Aug 26 2011, 01:09 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Aug 25 2011, 04:06 AM)
wow nice and huge...
Actually..

In de cinema.. if u happen to sit at de back rows, I figure its like 1.5x distance too but if u happen to be seeing a really 'laku' new picture then u might end up in d front few rows and tat is like 0.6/0.5 x distance only..

D
dirtrun
post Sep 2 2011, 05:33 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(palmforest @ Sep 1 2011, 11:45 AM)
Goodday everyone... here's my HT room setup. A special thanks to Sound Fusion for all the advice and recommendation and helping me to setup this HT room...

Room size : 17.8 feet x 10.3 feet
Viewing distance : 13 feet
Paint : Nippon Paint color code 151A Expresso

Display : Panasonic AE4000E Projector
Screen : Grandview Cyber Series Fixed Frame Screen 100 inch
AV receiver : Denon AVR-3311
Speakers : Q-Acoustics Cinema 5.1 system (2010 Bookshelf Speakers, 2000C centre Speaker, 2070S Subwoofer)
Source : Oppo BDP93 Blu-Ray Player with BD Region Free Mod
Speaker Cable : Van Den Hul The Twin
Subwoofer Cable : Van Den Hul The Sub Hybrid
Interconnects : Van Den Hul The Flat 5 feets and 1 feet
Power cords : Van Den Hul Mainsstream Hybrid + WattGate IEC, AudioQuest NRG1
Power Conditioner : PS Audio Quintet Power Center
Alright here's the pics. Although it's a bit dark...
Nice...

Eh...no Rythmik ah???

tongue.gif
D
dirtrun
post Sep 3 2011, 04:18 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(tathoumse07 @ Sep 3 2011, 02:30 PM)
WOH..

Twin Velodynes..

D
dirtrun
post Sep 4 2011, 01:04 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(tathoumse07 @ Sep 3 2011, 04:56 PM)
yaya
you can feel the wave when you watch some explosion part
if you are in ipoh
can come and give some expert opinin
Haha..

I no expert la.. oso still learning only..

Ipoh ah.. got resident expert in J chong mah.... but beware aftr tryin out twin SvS pbU's ...

D
dirtrun
post Sep 9 2011, 03:40 PM

3,136 posts

Try it out n see..

Id jus ditch de passive sub for de workin active one..

Does de pwrd sub hv line in??

D
dirtrun
post Sep 11 2011, 01:15 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(classicrock @ Sep 10 2011, 05:32 PM)
Can't ditch the passive sub as it is part of the home theater system. The sound is ok, just need some extra bass from the active sub..... for the extra oomph!

The active sub has normal + and - inputs, and also pin plugs. I used to be able to use the sub using direct pin plug connection between the sub and tv, but not after fixing the home theater.
Like tis.. If ur sound bar doesn t have another separate output... then best not to add in ..

Soundbars are for WAF n convenience.. I guess they are not for optimising n customising to ur likes..

D

dirtrun
post Sep 17 2011, 04:22 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(jinjoll89 @ Sep 17 2011, 01:04 PM)
Sifu here, i own a samsung UA40D5000, what kind of HT i should get?
Im actually going to get a pioneer HT-212DVD ( http://www.pioneer.my/ProductDetail/defaul...0&CatId=64,8,13 ) , but the shop guy told me don't get it because pioneer parts are hard to find when repair, ask me to reconsider other brands, but i have no idea what i should get since my budget is just below 2k ../.\, any sifu help? I have totally zero knowledge about all this thing..
Me no sifu.. but I ll hazard an answer wif a question.. do u choose a below 2k audio product for its projected repair costs - I would tink de sound will be more of a deciding factor?

AFAIK.. HTIB's are not veri repair friendly .. most will junk it once a major problem occurs.. If its a 2k set of spkrs or amp, then it might be feasible to tink of repairing
dirtrun
post Sep 29 2011, 12:20 PM

3,136 posts

Looks like ur LG HTIB does not hv digital connexions just analog.. so u can connect ur ps3 via rcas for stereo only . U can enable dolby pro logic processing in ur htib while playing stereo thou' .. for pseudo 5.1..

D
dirtrun
post Sep 29 2011, 04:05 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Sep 29 2011, 03:53 PM)
my stubborn brother also bought pioneer 5.1 home theatre set for his house without any HDMI or optical input, now he is being deluded by thinking that his astro byond is producing 5.1 channel sound.

Malas nak argue. Padan muka dia.
Haha,

Sumtimes they tink its good value cos its being offered at a 'purchase wif purchase' price for a few hundred [maybe] .. but like everyting in tis world..

There is no free lunch..
D

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0384sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:21 AM