Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

SUSchokia
post Mar 22 2013, 08:52 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(filakenstein @ Mar 20 2013, 07:30 PM)
Dear all,

May I ask..... Will it be a problem if I put the receiver on top of a Subwoofer..... I'm new
Each part will drop detach and fall one by one overtime due to vibration
SUSchokia
post Mar 22 2013, 08:54 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(qqstranger @ Mar 20 2013, 05:15 PM)
senQ website selling Onkyo-HT-S3400 at rm1999, worth to buy?
Harvey Norman sold Onkyo-HT-S5300 at rm1999 two years ago.

SUSchokia
post Mar 25 2013, 09:22 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Mar 24 2013, 12:42 PM)
Sorry - quite new to all this. Interested in getting a home theater system for living room. Budget would be anywhere between RM12k-RM16k, although I care about value (Good performance for value of money)

Looked online but it's kinda hard to start, especially not knowing Malaysian market and are some parts available.

But for what it's worth...
Onkyo TX-NR616 looked like a decent AVR.
DefinitiveTechnology ProCinema 800 looks good..? Don't know if it's available locally though.

Anyone with any recommendations? You can scratch off my research so far.. as I'm sure all you sifus here will have much better idea as to what is worth buying for the price range.

Thanks!

P.S. I know this topic is to show off your own system - but I really have no idea where else to post. Cracking my head here...
Onkyo TX NR 616 = RM2,319.13
Onkyo7.1 SKS-HT540 = RM1,560.49(You can get another sub later if necessary)

Total = RM3879.62 plus shipping right on your doorstep (+25% tax if you're unlucky) = so all less than RM5000

Now you can either give me that balance RM11000 from your maximum budget for the advice or you can upgrade a lot of things listed on your signature that need updated like i7 computer, Iphone 5, Ipad 3
SUSchokia
post Apr 4 2013, 10:10 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

i think the TV is for him to watch while lying down on the bed
SUSchokia
post Apr 4 2013, 08:14 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

lol that is just wrong but i love it
SUSchokia
post Apr 4 2013, 09:48 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Apr 4 2013, 08:57 PM)
hahaha, if you lying on the bed to watch tv in front of you a lot then you know how painful it is.  I used to watch TV where my matress was on the the floor directly, this glasses really served the purpose well.  Now I no longer need to use it to watch TV but rather watch magazine before bed time  tongue.gif
This on the floor picture is like so funny

SUSchokia
post May 16 2013, 10:11 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(BrokenOne @ May 13 2013, 02:28 PM)
thanks! Im using a projector btw !
I love your setup, instead of trying so hard and spending so much making mini cinema with dedicated HT room that will end up rarely utilized, this one is more relax in family area where friends and family can just enjoy not just movie but travel video, wedding video, baby slide show etc on that huge screen with multichannel sounds.

You're such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing.

This post has been edited by chokia: May 16 2013, 10:19 AM
SUSchokia
post Jun 14 2013, 06:20 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

LOL he took the screen using camera/phone, how if could anyone tells any different
SUSchokia
post Jun 26 2013, 07:23 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jun 25 2013, 10:15 PM)
i interested in getting a home theater system for my movie and come with karaoke system ready one, any brand recommended?

budget within 2k, but i kinda like samsung HT-E5550W/XY model
http://www.samsung.com/au/consumer/tv-audi...-E5550W/XY-spec

any advise?
that model no karaoke function
SUSchokia
post Jul 17 2013, 05:35 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Jul 15 2013, 01:11 PM)
dear sifus,

can use electrical cable (pure copper) as speaker wire ? like those thick cable (with lots of strands) people use for aircond wiring.

tq
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speaker_wire
SUSchokia
post Nov 23 2013, 09:29 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(Mushwashan @ Nov 19 2013, 06:12 PM)
watch live tv link to astro (astro byond subscribed) on raspberry pi using xbmc or something else ,,,any idea???

something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Za5KDS-arKY

or any simple setup
Setup maybe simple if you have all the equipment

L-R: Computer - HD Video Recorder - Satellite Receiver (i.e Astro Byond) - Remote Control - IR Blaster

Not in the picture is HDCP Stripper
SUSchokia
post Nov 25 2013, 10:15 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Nov 25 2013, 04:20 PM)

Thanks to advice from htkaki, the HT sifu, I bought this cable from Monoprice.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&...&seq=1&format=2

Thick and stiff but does the job right from day one.
How come the cable you bought only support 720p/1080i Resolution ?

SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2013, 10:58 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Nov 26 2013, 10:06 AM)
When I bought it 2 years ago, those specs were not listed then.
Still, no problems with transmission.
My Dune set to output 1080p and the Denon AVR's HDMI signal info when in operation, also shows 1080p.
that monoprice has ton of HDMI cables and make people confuse. Some even monodirection (redmere) and some has equalizer, high speed, ethernet and without etc, when i thought all HDMI version 1.4 can do all these including 3D.

I can even transmit 4K signal upscaled from my computer to the TV with existing HDMI cable.

click for original reso - cropped 3840 × 2160 to 3840 x 1884 for posting purpose

So im saying do we even need redmere or even HDMI 2.0 to be future proof? (for a cable?)

SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2013, 02:18 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 26 2013, 12:01 PM)
problem is i stay in east msia, shipping those used set (mostly are in the west) are expensive, and most of them doesnt ship.. that's why i am limited to those option.
What's wrong with ebay? youll get cheaper and new product right on your doorstep. All you have to do is find the model you like, read all review and forum concerning the unit, go to ebay, search and sort the lowest price + shipping and pay. Easy.

I used to think that separate AVR and speaker are better too, only to find out that certain HITB is using similar receiver rebranded with different name and sold separately.

Case-in-point: my old HITB Onkyo HTS5300 is using SR508 receiver that people buy separately rebranded to HT580.

So if they're the same why the former is better?
SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2013, 03:05 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 26 2013, 02:34 PM)
So u mean ship all the way from outside malaysia, with all the taxes and shipping fee, i dont think it is cheaper. well normally HTiB are like those philips, samsung, panasonic, sony etc etc.. onkyo will pair their receiver with their branded speaker.
Even the tax up to 150% it is still cheaper compare to SenQ or harvey norman trust me, and usually i never get any tax becoz i pray to God a lot. Duh.

0.0523sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:42 PM